Article Reviews

HP HP SimplePass

Average Customer Rating:
3.115 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (26 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
1
3 stars
5
2 stars
6
1 star
5
15 out of 26(58%)customers would recommend this article to a friend.
Customer Reviews for HP SimplePass
Review 1 for HP SimplePass
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Maroonsista
Location: Chicago
Doesn't work with multiple accounts for same site
Date:February 24, 2013
I thought this option was genius. I felt like I was on "Bourne Identity" when I first got it. But then I found out that adding accounts for multiple usernames on the same site is next to impossible. It did it by accident when I first got the notebook but now it won't work anymore once I accidentally removed it. I have multiple Twitter accounts but it will only remember one. Even when I tried manually adding my second account, it gives me an alert saying that site is already there and cannot be readded. I don't know how but I managed to be able to keep multiple Gmail accounts. I wish I could figure out whatever it was that was done to keep all of my Gmail accounts on Swipepass but not for Twitter. Nowhere on the editing bar does it give you an option for a second account for the same site.
Review 2 for HP SimplePass
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thunderpeel
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Awesome for over 2 years!
Date:February 6, 2013
I have been using simple pass on my HP Pavillion for over 2 years now and never had any problems.
Review 3 for HP SimplePass
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ahofercr1
works but...
Date:January 24, 2013
I must be one of the lucky ones. I've had mty computer for over a month now, and the simple pass has been working great. However, there is one simple problem. Everytime I log into a website it pops up asking to remember the password, EVEN IF THE PASSWORD HAS ALREADY BEEN SET UP! This is getting to be a real pain and I think i'll probably just end up disabling it, at least for sites....what a shame.....
Review 4 for HP SimplePass
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Jvb21
Location: Illinois
Cool idea, doesn't work
Date:August 17, 2012
I loved this when I first set it up! It was great to be able to just swipe my finger and open my applications, but the next day it stopped working. Now, It doesn't recognize anything. This would be great if it worked!
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for HP SimplePass
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Image
Location: Austin, Texas
worked
Date:March 8, 2012
I was really enjoying this program on my computer. It seemed easy to set up and use. It was great...when it worked. I really liked not having to look up all my passwords each time I had to access a site, and it was going great for a while. Now the program won't even open anymore. It gets suck on loading databases and then just turns off. It was a really neat part of my computer, but now its just there to look pretty. Too bad :(
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for HP SimplePass
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
iaryjoabma
Location: Virginia
Simple pass is a pain in the Rear!
Date:February 3, 2012
I have had my new computer for a week. I started right away with simple pass. I will be removing it very soon! Here is why:
1-Anyone else that uses my computer, say kids or husband have my master password. WHY HAVE A PASSWORD if everyone can access everything?
2-I have 2 email accounts with the same carrier. There is no way to differentiate between the two! I have 1 password saved and one not saved. But everytime I go to the website I get the popup for the master password and to log on to email #1. When I log on to email #2 I get asked everytime if I want it to remember my password?! Im like "I said NO" why does it keep asking me?
3-I really don't like all my passwords to be the same. This was really not a good idea for me to start with......Lemme go find some tech support to get this Junk off of my computer!
8 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for HP SimplePass
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
ticked user
pain in the backside
Date:January 16, 2012
only works occassionally
use windows backup
has troubled with secure sites
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for HP SimplePass
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
EdWn
Location: Cincinnaiti, OH
Love it So Far
Date:November 16, 2011
I am running this on the Pavilion dv7. Have software version 5.20.205a currently running with IE browser IE 8.760.17514 32 and 64 bit version on Win 7 64x.
I soooo love this program as I have acces to well over a hunderd different sites.
Reading some of the previous reviews makes me suspect various patches are breaking the functionality.
I'm not broken yet and love this app. I really hope they dont drop support of this product like they did with their predecessor. I would gladly pay for support of this app.
Recommned everyone utilize the backup option and as well as utilize a password manager like KeepPass as the official keeper of your info. No guarantee how long this will work or be around.
But man it makes life so much easier. Quick fingerscan and your into any site you've added!
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for HP SimplePass
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Stephnchuck
Location: Huntsville, AL
Simple Pass
Date:November 5, 2011
Was working great then just quit working. I recently installed the update and now cant find the SimplePass Icon anywhere.
Also, Cannot create seperate profiles. Wife and I share a profile on Windows, Simple Pass, like Itunes, doesnt allow you to seperate users info within the program.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for HP SimplePass
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Missy
Location: San Diego, CA
Not Worth It
Date:September 25, 2011
Laptop was about 3 weeks old when Simplepass2011 just quit working. Tech Support finally gave up on my laptop and told me to do a system restore. It's a buggy software and I do NOT recommend it.
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for HP SimplePass
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Disappointed
Doesn't Work
Date:August 5, 2011
When I first got my computer, the simplepass worked great, and I thought it was the best thing ever. Then one day a few weeks later, it suddenly stopped working to log into websites. I don't think I updated internet explorer unless the computer did it automatically. It still works to log into the computer, but that's about it. I wish I could fix it since I really liked that feature.
19 of 19 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for HP SimplePass
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
igotta67bug
Location: SA
browsers
Date:August 3, 2011
i see a lot of people having problems. for a lot of them like the guy with the dm4 1160us, the only problem is browser compatibility. download the latest version of simplepass so it will work with the newest ie and firefox.
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for HP SimplePass
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Dino
Location: Belgrade, Serbia
could be better
Date:June 19, 2011
The fingerprint reader is a good feature but it's not 100% secure. When you set the sensitivity to low many people can get in, almost everyone in your family and with high setting my mother still gets in. Only my fingerprints are saved! And the second bad thing but it's a software bug you cannot use password manager with Google Chrome.
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for HP SimplePass
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Paul
Location: Sacramento
The worst...
Date:April 27, 2011
I got 5 HP Pavilion DM4 1160us notebook computers at work. I loaded win7 professional on all of them and all of them had the same issue with a Hresult 0x8007ffff error when trying to log in as the domain admin. After troubleshooting it for 2 days, the only clue I had was from google and that lots of people had the same issue with HP laptops. I uninstalled the simplepass software and it immediately resolved the network login issue. So now I have 5 laptops that have fingerprint readers that are worthless.
4 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for HP SimplePass
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
takeout
I like it simplepass
Date:April 24, 2011
:)
just like it nothing else
what I need to say?my god
0 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for HP SimplePass
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
John
Location: New York, NY
Great until recently ...
Date:March 22, 2011
Pretty useful with the fingerprint reader, but beware of the lack of addons support with newer versions of browsers ie Chrome and Firefox.
It was great until they changed to Simplepass 2011, which is surprisingly a gimped version than the previous version.
Old settings are not carried over.
The user interface is fancier looking yet even more unintuitive.
Before the 2011 version.
You had the ability to:
- Handles web ids and passwords on multiple browsers, that doesn't attempt to autofill until till you swipe and verified.
-The ability to create encrypted backups with a master password and restore it.
-Create multiple fingerprint sets for a single website under a single guest account.
now the 2011 version:
-Throws a prompt to require login by finger reader for any site registered before visiting.
- At least, the edit is two clicks away. :)
10 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for HP SimplePass
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buffalo
Location: Lansing, MI
Love it
Date:January 21, 2011
I LOVE the fingerprint reader. I'm worried that the newer models don't seem to have the feature because I will ALWAYS pay extra for it. It is SO much more convenient than typing in every single ID and password -- especially on the few sites that have three or four fields required to login to the site. PLEASE HP, don't retire this wonderful feature!
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for HP SimplePass
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Frustrated
Location: Colorado
Stuck...
Date:January 1, 2011
I initially thought this SimplePass thing was a cool feature. But I've discovered that once you've set the passwords to the fingers, there isn't a way to change a password. It only lets you re-scan your fingerprints, and that isn't what I need. A password was changed for a website (for security purposes), and now I can't use SimplePass for that website until I find how to change the password stored in SimplePass. Why is this so hard to find???
1 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for HP SimplePass
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Errfaz
Location: Singapore
Useful to some extent
Date:December 26, 2010
I love being able to log in to my messenger and Skype with a swipe of my finger but the severe flaw is that it isn't compatible and doesn't work if I download the latest Skype and Windows Live Messenger versions
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for HP SimplePass
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ArticBlue69
Loving The Finger Print Technology
Date:November 22, 2010
That makes things so much easier and better. Not having to worry about your computer being stollen. Because they are unable to use it anyways if they did. Only You are allowed to use it, and makes it better for privacy as well. :0)-
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
12next>>