Article Reviews

HP Introduction to photo scanning

Average Customer Rating:
2.333 out of 5
2.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
2
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
6
5 out of 12(42%)customers would recommend this article to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Introduction to photo scanning
Review 1 for Introduction to photo scanning
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
photomom
Location: Utah
Good info on what to look for in a scanner
Date:December 2, 2012
I am looking into purchasing a scanner for my photo needs. This article was perfect for my needs. Explained what to look for as far as dpi specs on scanners so I can make digital copies of my photos. I am particular about photo resolution, but am by no means a pro, so this basic explanation helped a ton. Thanks!
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Introduction to photo scanning
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ldyswan
Horrible "How to"! Just want to know HOW to scan.
Date:November 17, 2012
This customer did not provide a text review.
13 of 21 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Introduction to photo scanning
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mike Carolina
Location: east coast
managers don't understand either
Date:October 12, 2012
I have always found scanning and scanners to be horribly difficult to work with. Principally because of the great disconnect between what we need them to do, and the terrible manuals/help that is provided. Rather than say, it can't do that, it just explains all the things you will never do. All I need is two simple items. I need a simple button for scan. And I need a slider for dpi or whatever you want to call it this week, that shows THE SIZE OF MY FILE, or let me pick the size of my file before the scan. I am sick of getting scans that are 100 meg files that can't be used. Let me select, 1 meg file for all scans. Then I can email easily, or store on the computer easily. WHY IS THAT SO DIFFICULT?
12 of 16 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Introduction to photo scanning
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
G54ARK
Read the relevant article
Date:September 21, 2012
This article gave me exactly the information I was looking for. It's painful to read the negative reviews of this article because it shows just how much people struggle with technology. Maybe, HP, you could put a question with a link at the top such as "looking for simplified scanner instructions? Click here" or something like that.
7 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Introduction to photo scanning
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
CatMelu
No info at all!
Date:September 5, 2012
All I want to do is a simple scan of old photos to a file in My Pictures. Seems I have to buy a scanner to get it done.
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Introduction to photo scanning
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
medonna
Location: mo
scanning documents
Date:July 23, 2012
just wanted basic info on how to make the scanner work. I think i will take this printer back.
6 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Introduction to photo scanning
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
BruceAlan
Location: Charlotte, NC
How to Scan
Date:June 10, 2012
Speaking from a non computer old man point of view, I didn't learn anything. I thought there would be some basics somewhere.
5 of 12 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Introduction to photo scanning
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Frustrated
Unsatisfied
Date:May 20, 2012
This is the first time scanning with this product and it would not work. I came here to figure out why it would not work and got NOTHING.
4 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Introduction to photo scanning
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
PhotoEnthusiast
Location: Kirland, WA
What is PPI for scanning negatives and slides?
Date:March 31, 2012
This article spends a lot of time talking about PPI and DPI, but does not mention it at all when talking about scanning slides and negatives. (The link pages don't either). In addition to the abiltiy of scanning transparent media, the scanner also needs to have a very high scanning PPI for slides and negatives.
I really wish that this included the typical grain resolution of old photographs. I have not been able to find this out, but HP might have the access to the information. The idea is that the scanning ppi needs to match the grain resolution of the print of negative to give the best picture.
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Introduction to photo scanning
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
megs1987
Location: batesville
scanning article
Date:March 24, 2012
The article was very easy to understand. Just the basics. Perfect for quick review.
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Introduction to photo scanning
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sierra
Date:March 14, 2012
need to know how to get to scan, this tells you what to do once you're already there
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Introduction to photo scanning
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Jonathan
No clear instructions
Date:March 10, 2012
I came to this page expected to hear about how to make it so that I can scan the image to my computer. Instead, I was simply told about all the wonderful things I could do if it worked. Well it didn't.
7 of 13 found this review helpful.