Article Reviews

HP Scan directly to e-mail or network folders

Average Customer Rating:
3.333 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
2
4 stars
2
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
1
7 out of 9(78%)customers would recommend this article to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Scan directly to e-mail or network folders
Review 1 for Scan directly to e-mail or network folders
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JonPC
Location: Bergen County, NJ
It Does Everything as Advertised
Date:December 5, 2012
Contrary to other reviews I've read, I had no trouble setting up the OfficeJet 8600 Plus.
I easily configured multiple email addresses as the Send From addresses and am able from the printer to select which address I wish to send from each time. Amongst those FROM addresses one is a plain, vanilla SMTP server and another is an Exchange server. One requires authentication and one doesn't. No problem at all. As a result, scanning to email works perfectly.
Also, AirPrint and HP-ePrint worked perfectly right from the start, making this printer very useful for users who wish to print from Blackberries, iPhones, and/or iPads.
Current sales are everywhere offering the Plus version of this printer for $229. That's a ton of printer for the price. I've now setup 3 of these at various sites. No problems.
Review 2 for Scan directly to e-mail or network folders
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
bfdavid
Location: Ottawa Canada
Fax to email - problems but still hopeful
Date:November 3, 2012
I bought my Officejet Prol8600 plus 2 days ago for the fax to email function. This is what I can report so far...
I've set it up as a network device - the setup is fairly complex but the tools are good and I was able to complete the setup without any trouble.
The fax to email function (and the scan to email as well) send something in their email header information that causes my old Eudora mail application to post the wrong timestamp when the email is received - It's off by 4 hours - I think the outbound server is setting an offset from GMT of 0000 instead of 0400 for the EDT zone that I'm in. The wrong timestamp only happens with my Eudora email tool. Curiously, when I receive the email with Outlook 2010, it has the right time stamp - this is annoying but I can live with it.
The received fax is sent in email as a PDF attachment. The page orientation is shifted to landscape. The effect is that a normal faxed page comes in the PDF attachment as short and fat. Earlier in this thread someone suggested setting the 8600's "Automatic compression" option to "Off". I've tried this and it hasn't worked for me. This is a big deal for me and I'll probably return the printer if this can't be fixed.
All of that said, the HP support peole that I've worked with have been excellent and I'm actually hopeful that we'll get this fixed. We've scheduled a callback on the problems tomorrow morning.
Review 3 for Scan directly to e-mail or network folders
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Fury
Location: Georgia
Scan to Network Folder Not
Date:January 29, 2012
To bad the scan to network folder actually does not work. Well not for me anyway. Trying to get the printer setup to scan to network folders on my Segate GoFlex home 2TB drive fails every time. The HP software just refuses to see that network drive, no matter what I have tried so the setup just bombs.
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Scan directly to e-mail or network folders
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
bluesky
Location: Hong Kong, HK
Scan to email and network share
Date:August 7, 2011
It can do what it say. It can send email to smtp server without PC. Also it can send to network share without PC. Yes, the article is unclear, 8500A plus have a web page setup for smtp and network share. It may more easy for people to understand it's ture feature.
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Scan directly to e-mail or network folders
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
jakeB
Location: Cambridge, MA
Scaning to email w/o pc
Date:June 20, 2011
Like other reviewers I landed in this page because I am looking for a AIO printer that can scan to email without needing a pc. I see that other reviewers are complaining saying this is a misleading article since you still need a pc to accomplish this but after reading this article I disagree. It looks to me like the pc is needed only for setup but after that you don't need it, which seems reasonable. Here is a link to a youtube video showing the printer doing this without a pc http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SuJ09-_4aZc
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Scan directly to e-mail or network folders
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sm123
Location: Arizona
Scan To Email Time/Date Wrong - HP Won't Fix!
Date:May 18, 2011
The HP8500A Scan-To-Email function puts the wrong time/date into the email header. It is off by 14 hours when received and appears down in the email list so recipients may completely miss the email!! I reported this in January and Tier-2 Tech support have verified this is a firmware bug. I was recently told that this will NOT be a priority for HP to fix!! HP DOESN'T CARE ABOUT SELLING FLAWED PRODUCTS AND DOESN'T CARE ABOUT CUSTOMERS!!!
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Scan directly to e-mail or network folders
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Jogee
Location: FL
Misleading
Date:May 2, 2011
Like the first reviewer mentioned, most technically literate people are probably finding this article via a web search for "scan directly to folder" or something similar because they're looking for a less-than-enterprise cost device capable of scanning directly to a network folder or to email without the need for a PC. This article doesn't help someone looking for a solution like that because this device doesn't provide those functions. That's unfortunate, and not useful to those landing here.
8 of 12 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Scan directly to e-mail or network folders
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mike
Location: Glendora, CA
Waste of time
Date:March 1, 2011
Reading this article I found it to be misleading. I'm interested in a AIO printer that can "Scan to E-mail". This article hints about it, without giving a little detail of how this is done. I need a AIO that emails from the printer, like the 4345 MFP. This one only scans to a PC that is E-mail capable. The printer is doing the e-mailing, the PC is. So, that is just scan to PC to email from PC.
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Scan directly to e-mail or network folders
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kaushal Joshi
Location: India
Excellent Printer
Date:April 13, 2010
This customer did not provide a text review.
3 of 6 found this review helpful.