Article Reviews

HP Troubleshooting print quality issues

Average Customer Rating:
2.273 out of 5
2.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
0
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
5
7 out of 11(64%)customers would recommend this article to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Troubleshooting print quality issues
Review 1 for Troubleshooting print quality issues
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
June
HP Ink on glossy paper
Date:February 3, 2013
I do a newsletter for Spay Our Strays here in Las Vegas. Recently, I decided to print in color on a glossy stock. I know I must let the ink dry before folding, etc. but I tested a sample printed yesterday and it still smears. I use the 901 cartridge and use plenty of ink on my printings. Can you help us.
Review 2 for Troubleshooting print quality issues
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
samam
HP 6500
Date:December 10, 2012
What a piece of trash....as have been all of my other HP printers...I'm finished trying with HP.
12 of 13 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Troubleshooting print quality issues
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Vermonter
Location: Vermont
Deeply disappointed
Date:December 8, 2012
I cannot say how sorry I am to have the Photo Smart 610. I've had it for a few months, the photos are always distorted and it often won't feed the paper through without help. I've fooled around with it a lot trying to get it to work better but I give up. Time to move on.
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Troubleshooting print quality issues
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
CRAZY PRINTER
Date:November 30, 2012
I HAVE TRIED TO SET THIS PRINTER UP AND ITS DRIVING ME CRAZY. EVERY THIRD LINE IS MISSING AND I HAVE BEEN TO ALL YOUR TROUBLE SHOOTING SITES. THIS ISN'T LIKE THE HP I AM USED TO. USUALLY GOOD PRODUCTS AND HELP. YOUR HELP IS ALSO MAKING ME CRAZY, HARD TO FIND , NOT EASY INPUT. WHAT ELSE CAN I SAY. I THOUGHT THIS WOULD BE EASY AND ALL I AM TRYING TO PRINT IS A LETTER.
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Troubleshooting print quality issues
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Printer Makes Me Crazy
Location: Michigan
Photosmart 7510 Wavy Lines
Date:October 6, 2012
Brand new from the box this printer won't print black without being wavy or leaving white lines. I've changed the cartridges, I've cleaned them, I've aligned them and it doesn't fix it. This thing is not the quality you would expect, it's worse than a old dot matrix printer. Very disappointing.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Troubleshooting print quality issues
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Soccermom
Location: Holt, MI
crooked pictures
Date:September 23, 2012
Every 4 x 6 print is crooked and leaves white crooked edges on at least two edges of the photo. some 8 x 10 prints do the same.
IS there a fix for this?
Review 7 for Troubleshooting print quality issues
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Suzie
Poor Printing Quality
Date:July 20, 2012
I have always purchased HP printers and been happy with them until my last purchases. I have had two different models (c310 & 7510) and both print the thin lines in my photos and wavy lines in word documents new from the box. Doing diagnostic and cleaning do not help. The photo paper tray does not hold the paper so pictures print crooked. I would like to continue to purchase HP but unless these issues are corrected I will need to find a different brand name. Very disappointed that the HP quality has gone down.
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Troubleshooting print quality issues
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Simp2601
Location: West Sussex UK
HP 7510 Extraneous Horizontal Lines on Photos
Date:March 12, 2012
My printer includes thin horizontal lines 1/2 inch apart on all photos printed on photographic paper. I cannot see any fix for this on the hp website. The retailer has exchanged my original printer for a new one but it is doing exactly the same as the original and the lines are still appearing. I think the time has come to ask for my money back and the buy another printer which is not HP. I note that several people have reported the problem but no fix has been suggested by HP or anyone else. Incidently, all the test prints done by HP software have all looked OK, with no suggestion of extraneous horizontal lines.
31 of 31 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Troubleshooting print quality issues
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
happygrandma
Location: Fair Oaks, California
Too complicated
Date:February 11, 2012
Can never find a solution when there is a problem.
9 of 13 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Troubleshooting print quality issues
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Harry
Location: New York, NY
Photo printing issues
Date:January 16, 2012
This article does a good job of explaining the standard printing issues already covered in the guide. Unfortunately it does not address my problem. This printer has the same issues as the first 7510 it replaced. It prints about a one pixel wide line across 8 x 10 glossy prints, about every 13.5mm apart. It passes all of it's own diagnostic printouts, which are done on plain paper. It does not streak 4 x 6's or 5 x 7's, just 8 x 10's on glossy (HP) photo paper. Cleaning the print head with alcohol and a Q-tip per the HP tech rep did not solve the problem . This article needs to address this issue; I only hope it is not indigenous to the 7510.
7 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Troubleshooting print quality issues
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Edward
Location: Oakland, CA
Great explanation of printer mechanics & maint
Date:December 2, 2011
I stumbled on these instructions looking for something else. These are brief, clear explanations of what can go wrong with a printer and how prescient HP was in anticipating those problems and building in solutions. I always wondered why my HP Photosmart C6280 took so long to get through its setup routines; now I know (and appreciate) what it's doing.
3 of 6 found this review helpful.