Top Rated Article

Article Reviews

HP Netbooks vs laptops What's right for your needs

Average Customer Rating:
4.429 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
4
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
0
20 out of 21(95%)customers would recommend this article to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Netbooks vs laptops What's right for your needs
Review 1 for Netbooks vs laptops What's right for your needs
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Indiana Student
Just for school
Date:July 28, 2011
I was looking for something that would handle my internet reserch and capible of running my word program. This is exactly what I need, nothing more.
22 of 25 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Netbooks vs laptops What's right for your needs
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
blue
Location: san jose california
very helpful tips
Date:April 19, 2011
This customer did not provide a text review.
4 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Netbooks vs laptops What's right for your needs
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
paklucas
Location: Mpls
good comparison
Date:March 25, 2011
Helped me see exactly what the practical differences are between a netbook and a laptop.
16 of 17 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Netbooks vs laptops What's right for your needs
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sys Lib
Location: Trinidad
For the uninitiated
Date:February 8, 2011
The article is simple, and uncluttered. The comparison chart makes it very easy to analyse one's need and make a definitive and quick decision. For my colleagues who are generally afraid of technology, this is a great tool for educating them and convincing them of their need. Therefore, I expect less dissatisfaction when laptops are given to some and netbooks to others, based on their need and the functionality of the hardware.
15 of 18 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Netbooks vs laptops What's right for your needs
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jazzy
Provides valuable info
Date:November 20, 2010
This customer did not provide a text review.
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Netbooks vs laptops What's right for your needs
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sillyone
Location: Tyler, TX
Good info for making a decision
Date:November 4, 2010
This customer did not provide a text review.
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Netbooks vs laptops What's right for your needs
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jewelyaspice
Date:August 24, 2010
This customer did not provide a text review.
14 of 19 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Netbooks vs laptops What's right for your needs
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kumar
Location: India
comprehensive info
Date:August 24, 2010
as usual, very informative page from hp, in comprehensive manner, that can be used by users from various backgrounds / levels.
6 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Netbooks vs laptops What's right for your needs
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mgood
Date:August 18, 2010
This customer did not provide a text review.
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Netbooks vs laptops What's right for your needs
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MSg JLC
Very Informative
Date:August 15, 2010
This was worth reading. I recommend it to anyone who has basic questions about whether they should choose a notebook vs. a laptop.
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Netbooks vs laptops What's right for your needs
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Joe C
Location: Sydney, Australia.
Ignores the blurry line
Date:August 7, 2010
I really struggled with this article, it is well written for sure and delineates the utopian differences in netbooks and laptops but ignores the fact that there is a very blurry line between the netbooks and entry level notebooks in so far as price. Take for example the HP Compaq 620 - it sits in the same price bracket as the Mini - with generally better CPU and screen; as well as a professional version of Windows 7. Build quality is very close but the spec of the 620 leaves the mini far behind. The 'high end' netbooks are even more confusing because I have seen the excellent value HP 4720 - with an i3 and 17 inch screen at the same price point!
If it is purely the form factor of sub 13 inches you need without an insane price tag - I totally get it. But if you can choose your form factor then they just cannot compare with the other excellent value full-spec entry level laptops hp have on offer.
12 of 13 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Netbooks vs laptops What's right for your needs
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Murphy
Date:August 5, 2010
What is Ubuntu, the information was very helpful, but being somewhat computer illiterate I don't understand some of the terminology
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Netbooks vs laptops What's right for your needs
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
YellowGal
Location: Minnesota
Great Information
Date:August 5, 2010
I had never really understood the difference between laptops and notebooks -- this was very helpful. This info will help me decide what I am buying for my next computer -- laptop or desktop
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Netbooks vs laptops What's right for your needs
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ernel
Location: dubai
hi-tect and save space, easy go lucky
Date:August 5, 2010
Buy only those electronics can be upgrade easily at lowest price in the legitemate shop or accridited retail shops. ask a receipt.
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Netbooks vs laptops What's right for your needs
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mako
Location: California
Helpful article, needs a little polish
Date:August 4, 2010
The article hit the high points well enough, but could be improved with a discussion on battery life between recharging and the impact of SSDs vs. hard drives on battery life, speed and $ costs a little better.
I would also like to see Ubuntu Netbook Edition discussed as an option in the netbook line. This option would lower the purchase price a considerable amount (allowing families to afford more than one netbook, say one for each child) and provide more capabilities/features than any of the handicapped Windows "Home" or "Media" versions.
For example, Win7 Home does not allow you to create a share for any directory you want (say C:\shares\MySharedStuff\ )as you can in Win7 Professional and Ultimate and Ubuntu.
Win7 Home locks you into using the Win7 "Library", which is far less flexible. You have to pay for the Premium or Ultimate versions of Win7 to get those missing features.
Win7 while reasonably fast and very feature complete in the Pro and Ultimate versions, requires a 3rd party antivirus and security product, which is yet another cost that is mostly hidden behind a "trialware" 30 to 90 day demo period.
Antivirus software also impacts system performance negatively, which is critical for netbooks in particular, as they have much less capable CPUs and limited resources like memory and disk space, than a full laptop has.
An Ubuntu option can save customers the costs of both Windows and antivirus software licenses with the bonus that a resource limited netbook is very likely to run faster and be able to handle more demanding applications without the extra demands placed on it by the antivirus software.
Even if only 10% of customers selected an Ubuntu netbook, the positive press and HP offers customers Choice "glow" could be worth the modestly higher costs of adding one more SKU to the product line.
21 of 21 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Netbooks vs laptops What's right for your needs
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gustaf
Delineates what Netbooks & Laptops do & don't do
Date:August 4, 2010
This customer did not provide a text review.
5 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Netbooks vs laptops What's right for your needs
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
wajju
Date:July 30, 2010
This customer did not provide a text review.
5 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Netbooks vs laptops What's right for your needs
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gibbler
Date:July 21, 2010
Good information on the difference of the two products which is exactly what I wanted to know.
7 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Netbooks vs laptops What's right for your needs
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ktquilt
Location: Coalinga, CA
Good Information
Date:July 14, 2010
Well balanced with good information both pro and con.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Netbooks vs laptops What's right for your needs
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
warpath416
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Very Helpful
Date:July 4, 2010
Good information if you are not sure what are your needs, and want to make an informed decision.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
12next>>