Article Reviews

HP HP CoolSense Technology

Average Customer Rating:
3.25 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
1
3 stars
9
2 stars
4
1 star
1
11 out of 20(55%)customers would recommend this article to a friend.
Customer Reviews for HP CoolSense Technology
Review 1 for HP CoolSense Technology
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonoymous
Location: NY
Great.
Date:February 5, 2013
HP Cool sense works for me.
I have the Windows 8 Pavillion G7, and my laptop has been cool, even when playing games.
I think HP cool sense is very usefull.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for HP CoolSense Technology
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
PESER
Stop'd working after update
Date:January 9, 2013
It works pretty well but now after the update my laptop is going hot as crazy
18 of 18 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for HP CoolSense Technology
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
useless
Location: minnesora
coolsense
Date:January 9, 2013
coolsense is not as good as i thought...still hear my fan spinning..no air way unlike other laptop brand...pretty much i rather have a fan under instead of building this useless coolsense...half of the time its not even doing its job.....hp need to find a better way to cool there laptop like asus or something, overall the laptop is good and everything ...only issue is the laptop heating that hp need to fix
5 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for HP CoolSense Technology
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
brainybren
hps also make good radiators
Date:December 31, 2012
dear hp i have always had hp laptops but have noticed a fatal flaw in all hp designs they overheat the airflow inside the units is not enough i would rather have a laptop thats 2 inches wider thatn one that overheats. other company ie acer asus dont suffer these problems because when they make there products they actually consider airflow. why do i buy a £700 dv6 8gb ram i7 only to spend another £30 on a zalaman cooling unit why make a gaming laptop if it cant take the heat.
when are laptops gonna have the longevity of pcs?
8 of 13 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for HP CoolSense Technology
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The Junkyard Reject
Location: CA
Glitchy
Date:December 19, 2012
Sometimes when I leave Coolsense on, it actually make my laptop hotter and when I turn it off, it cools down and the fans slow down. PLEASE UPDATE!
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for HP CoolSense Technology
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kimmy
Location: Arizona
Hpcoolsense.com
Date:November 4, 2012
I thought this was very interesting and enjoyed the information, Very easy to read and understand .My family loves Hp we always have great luck with any product that we buy from Hp.
2 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for HP CoolSense Technology
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Paloh
Location: Tempe, AZ
Confused about CoolSense
Date:October 18, 2012
I understand the concept of CoolSense and can appreciate that my G7-12161nr is cooler on my lap but cannot understand why my graphics card has overheated three times to the point of shutting down in the four months since I've purchased this laptop. My previous HP (dv6) never had similar issues. Has anyone else had problems with their graphics cards overheating?
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for HP CoolSense Technology
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Joey
No options
Date:August 29, 2012
Only option is turn Cool Sense software (not the actual fans) on or off.
I play games, and the keyboard gets really hot to the touch.
I would like the ability to turn the fan all the way up when using certain applications.
16 of 17 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for HP CoolSense Technology
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
labs46
Location: MA
Coolsense
Date:August 26, 2012
Never knew this and found it interesting since I always worry about the lapyop over heating.
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for HP CoolSense Technology
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Marco
Location: Milan, Italy
Not so bad
Date:August 22, 2012
On my model (dv6 6169), cool sense works decently. Something could be improved but certainly it is useful when used with high temperatures (summer) and is not required too much power to the CPU, in essence when you prefer to keep it cool. It 's normal that with cool sense active, the power is decreased relative to the heat produced, is its function. It not only decreases the frequency of the CPU but also the voltage (less electrical current) thus less heat dissipation.
With games or heavy processes you should turn off for everything else turn on. I hope HP will improved it. Bye!
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for HP CoolSense Technology
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Rich L
Location: Goodyear, AZ.
Video no help/ but like the CoolSense idea
Date:July 28, 2012
I like the idea that i can have this sitting on my lap and it doesn't get baking hot...had an IMB thinkpad and it used to very hot..I have a g7 1312nr and so far, for my needs its doing just fine. I'm not a gamer, i'm using it for writing..and networking..kudos HP!
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for HP CoolSense Technology
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kelly
Location: Virginia
Great Cooling Technology
Date:July 28, 2012
This approach to keeping you comfortable works. I think laptop makers are taking steps in the right direction when it comes to customer satisfaction. My previous laptops constantly overheated since I need to use my laptop often, but not my most recent. I feel the coolness kick in each time I use my laptop and it definitely makes a huge difference when I spend much time on my laptop! Thanks to whoever created this. I highly recommend it.
Review 13 for HP CoolSense Technology
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
SamIAm
Cool Sense Demo Video
Date:July 14, 2012
The demo video does not run.
Similar to many of the HP laptop features.
My previous HP laptop fried because the cooling fan stopped working.
4 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for HP CoolSense Technology
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
BBNI
Location: Chicago<IL
HP CoolSense Technology
Date:July 8, 2012
This page is garbage.The video does not play under ANY browser
6 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for HP CoolSense Technology
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
vasibii
Location: lucknow
hp coolsense technology not so effective
Date:June 15, 2012
i am currently using hp pavilion dv6 6119tx and i dont fell that this coolsense technology works efficiently . my laptop hrats up when i play games or do something involvng harddisk like scanning , disk defragment etc.
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for HP CoolSense Technology
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ye buddy
Location: Fairbanks ak
Fix problem
Date:May 26, 2012
I just bought a cooling mat with a USB fan it's better than cool sense and it doesn't slow my laptop
8 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for HP CoolSense Technology
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Cedric
Location: Paris
HP CoolSense slow my processor
Date:May 4, 2012
I got a HP DM1 with Zacate processor E450 (3 state processor)
HP Coolsense is cooling my computer by forcing the slow processor state when the computer's getting hot (>65C). For exemple, when i'm playing, i need 1,6GHZ but my computer goes to 850Mhz after 60s of game, because of HP CoolSense. And the game is getting too slow...
So i've uninstalled it...
15 of 18 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for HP CoolSense Technology
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
rafiq
Location: Alllen TX
cool computer.
Date:April 21, 2012
keeping computer cool is good for computer efficiency!!
8 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for HP CoolSense Technology
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Funky Panda
Location: connecticut
I'm staying neutral
Date:April 19, 2012
I find that hp coolsense works better when it's off. Whenever i turn it on, the fans go full on. The laptop gets hotter and hotter. While i'm writing this review i have coolsense of and the laptop is cool.
I think hp needs to fix this in some big update or in a new laptop/desktop model.
10 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for HP CoolSense Technology
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Chris
Location: Hartford CT
Cool!
Date:March 28, 2012
keep it cool! yeah! Great idea. helps keep the quad -core and my legs cool!
3 of 5 found this review helpful.