Article Reviews

HP Quick Guide to Backup and Recovery

Average Customer Rating:
1.444 out of 5
1.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
6
2 out of 9(22%)customers would recommend this article to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Quick Guide to Backup and Recovery
Review 1 for Quick Guide to Backup and Recovery
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Richarello
Location: Washington, DC
Don't waste your money on this product.
Date:June 28, 2011
This customer did not provide a text review.
5 of 13 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Quick Guide to Backup and Recovery
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
turtle 77
Location: Detroit, Michigan
Back Up
Date:March 22, 2011
Most people only have a USB flash, nothing was said about where to transfer the files to? Mine obviously doesn't have enough room and I can't afford the other products...
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Quick Guide to Backup and Recovery
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Dickey
Location: Fresno CA
DOES NOT WORK AS ADVERTISED
Date:February 17, 2011
I had a computer crash. Unfortunately the HP Simple save drive DOES NOT back up the operating system. It DOES NOT back up anything under Program files. It only backs up documents, photos and music files. Attempts to change the settings only allow me to exclude things not add them. The only thing that saved me was my daily manual back up of files to a flash drive otherwise I would have had several weeks if not months to try to recreate the lost data. The recovery process is very poor also. The drive restores the files to a file folder. There is no simple way to retrieve those files. I have to click each one of several hundred files to remove the check mark to keep it from coping the files to the location I want.
10 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Quick Guide to Backup and Recovery
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
exec
This is just a sales piece
Date:February 10, 2011
I searched for troubleshooting. HP apparently assumes the device I bought works correctly.
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Quick Guide to Backup and Recovery
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
mjsm
Location: New Orleans
mind of its own
Date:February 2, 2011
SimpleSave is indeed simple to use for saving data. In that respect the performance matches the name. However, I cannot find any information in the instructions that speaks about how to change the automatic 5 minute back up. I was looking for a file in my HP SimpleSave when I had to answer the door. Before I knew it, SimpleSave was in the middle of backing up my files, which I did NOT want to do, just because my keyboard was idle for more than 5 minutes! Surly there is a way to change this. If so, it isn't in the manual.
5 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Quick Guide to Backup and Recovery
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
jakthelad
Location: Durham U.K
Not a novice but am still very puzzled
Date:January 10, 2011
There was no suitable" how to do" manual with this laptop and having used desktops running XP since forever, I am still trying to find my way around my hp laptop!!!
Any paper t manual would be useful. I thought they would come as standard but Nope!! they are online/on the laptop however, being used to XP desktops it is a totally different can of work/worms trying to find where things are to find one's way about... here I am two weeks later and only just found this!!!!
Come on HP you could go the expence of a decent paperback handbook of how to do this!!!!! I was getting repeatedly lost trying to find how to do the basic things like to connect to my 3 printers... One is a fairly new HP so I would have thought this laptop would find its own make of printer ....but what a job I have .....
Any REAL PHYSICAL help would be a bonus and appreciated ... ..
.. lots of thanks jack
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Quick Guide to Backup and Recovery
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Richard
Location: Dallas, TX
Customer support leaves much to be desired
Date:November 28, 2010
I already have an external hard drive that I will use for backup. The instructions above seem only for the HP backup products. I am not sure weather to try on my drive. The instructions say that Vista has a system that will work but Imy computer came with Windows 7. Will that complicate things?
I would love to have a user manual. I can't find it in the software to print off or on the web site.
Review 8 for Quick Guide to Backup and Recovery
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Gilda E Kurcz
Location: Baltimore (Towson), MD
WORST PURCHASE EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Date:August 10, 2010
Can't Copy or Print so I can try to follow instructions. Why on earth would that be.
I'm trying to find the instructions to complete installation for HP Solution Center and Driver. But how do I know which files they are and how do I find them on my External Hard Drive or Backup (Recovery) DVD's to retrieve them or to complete the failed installation?
7 of 12 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Quick Guide to Backup and Recovery
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Stan K
Back Up Philosophy
Date:August 2, 2010
The articles are great for a novice who is just starting out with computers. I wish there was more "How To" rather than "What You Can DO" detail in the articles. I have an external1 Terabyte drive where I can back up work files. The question of how to set up the automatic update is not addressed. I wish it were.
10 of 11 found this review helpful.