Article Reviews

HP Scan photos for enlarging

Average Customer Rating:
2.636 out of 5
2.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
5
6 out of 11(55%)customers would recommend this article to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Scan photos for enlarging
Review 1 for Scan photos for enlarging
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
reddog
Location: Delaware
Enlargeing a photo
Date:February 11, 2013
Enlargeing a photo is so EASY! 1st step, ignore what they tell you on this page.
2. open control panel. 3. Select devices & printers. 4. Right click your printer & select open. 5. Select scan a photo. When the box opens, select 1200dpi from the drop down, and TIFF as the type of image. 6. select preview (this is a MUST). 7 put your cursor on the lower right hand corner of the preview to show a double arrow. Hold the left mouse button down and drag it up 'till no more white is showing. Click scan, and name the image. THAT'S IT you will get a full picture, with FANTASTIC resolution.
8 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Scan photos for enlarging
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
zoeygirlz101
Location: Hollywood, FL
Enlargment Solution!
Date:December 30, 2012
I was trying to figure out which file format was the best to enlarge a poster i needed for school and i found it finally! .tiff and now i can finally send it to office depot for printing. Thanks!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Scan photos for enlarging
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
x_x_x_x_x_x
Enlarging Photos
Date:November 4, 2012
This is a response to everyone who is having trouble enlargening thier photos, it really has nothing to do with what scanner you have....... the way i have done it, for years, is to scan an image at a very high resolution, 1200 or so, then in whatever photo editing program you use, photoshop for example, create a new file the size that you want the new image to be, say you are taking a 3 x 5 photo and turning it into an 8 x 10, 300 dpi resolution is print quality so create a new image in your photo program, 8 x 10 300 dpi, then open the photo you scanned at 1200 dpi or so, drag it into your new 300 dpi file then resize to fit!
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Scan photos for enlarging
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
carync
Enlarging? Impossible
Date:August 29, 2012
I simply have a newspaper image that I want to copy in larger format. Just blow it up. I cannot for the life of me figure out how to simply make an image larger and print it. This is not even dealing with photo transfer. This is just a piece of paper that I want larger. So I guess I will go to KINKO'S and do it in 2 seconds. This HP printer is so stupid.
7 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Scan photos for enlarging
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Kingmax
Location: Moreno Valley, CA
difficult to work with
Date:June 17, 2012
Finding a way to enlarge a copy without having to scan seems impossible. A feature to allow enlarging should be right at hand, but I cant find it. The solution presented (by scanning a photo then enlarging apparently cannot be printed.
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Scan photos for enlarging
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ladyluck
Location: North Carolina by way of NYC
Recommend it so people will know how bad it is
Date:June 16, 2012
I love my hp computer window7 BUT I absolutly dis like the process of scanning,enlarging,editing etc of my photos.
I didn't like the Vista Ihad BUT THe photos,scanning,enlarging transfering etc was wonderful & so easy...This is horrible,so if anyone wants this PC for doing & working with pictures I would not recommend it even to my worst ememy..I'm totaly digusted with it!!!!!!
I didn't have to go through hp photo smart on my vista,,,Is there any other way for me to get around this and do it a easier way??????
I used to just scan it,I had choices how to crop,enlarge etc and sizes to print etc,I never had to go through all this stuff and my pictures came out good!!!!!!
I want to take my scanned picture,transfer it to my ancestry spot ,enlarge it to fit in the space & it is done,,this is terrible!!!!!
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Scan photos for enlarging
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
hotrod
Location: TX
6510
Date:March 30, 2012
terrible printer. Have not figured out how scan and enlarge. Help article does not tell you anything about your question. To bad HP isn't selling selling the C5180. This is a terrible replacement.
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Scan photos for enlarging
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
lisa
Location: Birmingham UK
photo enlargement
Date:March 8, 2012
No help at all! why on earth is it making my photos smaller!
0 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Scan photos for enlarging
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Beezie
Very useful information
Date:February 24, 2012
I could't read fast enough! I found every word of this information very helpful. Some would say I must have a lot to learn. So I guess I do but the information was so easy to understand that even I will be able to apply it to my printing projects. I am sold on HP printers. ( I have had three). I am still sorry my second one HP Photosmart 8250 went down on me and I couldn't find out how to fix it. The photos printed on it were great! I started out with a Photosmart 1215 and now have Photosmart plus series B209. I love it!!
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Scan photos for enlarging
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Kami
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Did Not Help
Date:February 2, 2012
This article did not explain how to enlarge my photo.
2 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Scan photos for enlarging
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Unhelped
Location: Holland, MI
Does not give an answer
Date:January 19, 2012
This tells how to set up for enlargement but does not tell yo HOW to enlarge. I have scanned and scanned and can not make the picture get any larger. My old HP scanner and old desktop had no problems until they wore out. The new laptop and HP 8500 can't seem to manage this task.
7 of 17 found this review helpful.