Article Reviews

HP The Art of HP Audio

Average Customer Rating:
2.957 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (47 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
9
3 stars
7
2 stars
7
1 star
13
31 out of 47(66%)customers would recommend this article to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Art of HP Audio
Review 1 for The Art of HP Audio
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nick
Beats Audio
Date:January 14, 2012
For everyone with an HP Beats Audio laptop!!! I myself thought the beats audio was highly lacking and somewhat pitiful, being an audiophile and Dr. Dre Beats enthusiest, I was highly let down...what I found out though is that for the first week my Beats Audio wasn't even on! For those of you that don't know, you can toggle between the Beats audio and regular audio (to conserve power). To do this either hit the function button and B at the same time (fn + b) and the red Beats logo will pop up or go to the bottom right of the screen where the audio buttons and etc. lie and click the little arrow, scroll to the top of the little pop-out, right click the Beats logo and open it and you will not only be able to turn on the Beats Audio surround sound here but also be able to customize your listening experience for Movies, Music, etc. I really hope this helps out a few people. I know it made me much happier. Though, you could have send a little pamphlet about this HP. =p
13 of 13 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for The Art of HP Audio
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Old School
Location: Bowie Maryland
Point of view
Date:February 24, 2012
On the Pavilion H8 desktop it does sound stunning...I 've been reading some of the negative comments on this page about beats.
Laptop speakers are a basic provision , but for real sound quality you have to hook up external speakers for the full sound
The better the speaker system, the better the sound enhancement from BEATS.
10 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for The Art of HP Audio
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
red fox
Location: sacramento , ca.
beats audio
Date:February 24, 2012
hello about beats audio , it has to be turned onn, go to the Hidden icons ^ bottom of screen next to battery icon click on you will see little beats icon double click will go into settings click listening you will see beats click box next to it , you see check in box , its onn . when you turn onn bass boost it might take away from the volume . my sounds realy good ,had to lower the volume. way down my other laptop was a toshiba 2 speakers I realy like my HP DV6 and I dont write Reviews
8 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for The Art of HP Audio
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jon B
Location: Ypsilanti, MI
BEATS Audio and Pavilion dv6
Date:May 13, 2012
I am not an audiophile, but I do listent to lots of music (all types) on a quality home theater sound system and premium car audio system. I have to beleive that foks who feel BEATS audio is not worth the money have either not turned it on, or have not plugged in their headphones. BEATS gives you pre-set settings as well as all kinds of equalizer adjustments that you can easliy make. General settings are included for music, voice, and movie. Graphic equalizer settings are available for noise reduction, in -ear, and passive.
All this said, I can relate to the laptop computer speakers not being that great. My old 2 speaker Pavilion zv5000 Harmon/Kardons with Soundmax sounds almost as good. Folks do need to undestand that a subwoofer is not part of the dv6 package as I understand it. The larger dv7 has the subwoofer. I have not listened to it to determine its effectiveness.
I give BEATS two thumbs up. Along with the other features my HP dv6 offers, it clearly was the best deal out there for a high performance laptop. No buyer's remorse here.
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for The Art of HP Audio
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
isdageek
Location: IL
Beats audio doesnt really impress me at all
Date:January 22, 2012
I purchased a new DV7-6199 a few weeks ago and I have to say I am not impressed with the Beats AUdio at all.
No matter what settings I have tried the beats audio in this laptop don't sound like they say it should. I have tried changing and tweaking every option and still not that great.
I previously owned a G61 and yes the DV7 does give off louder sound and a bit better than g61 but it's not anywhere near what the hype is.
Don't get me wrong the audio sounds very nice with a quality headset plugged in but without the headphones it's not really anything to brag about.
I would definately not recommend someone to buy an Hp with beats audio just because of the beats.
I was really dissapointed and very bummed that the laptop doesn't sound all that great with the speakers in it.
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for The Art of HP Audio
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Music Monkey
Location: Dallas-Ft Worth, Teaxas METRO PLEX
best purchase ever
Date:January 19, 2013
I love fine Jazz,Symphonies,Country,Hip but not hiphop, it stinks,rock n roll,The Really Fun stuff.
I like light, I like a great beat.I love a strong Full sound that JUST WAKES YOU UP INSIDE......
.Later!! BUT When all is said and done "IT` my new Hp Notebook laptop I Truely Love!!
THE MUSIC MONKEY
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for The Art of HP Audio
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
wwbigal
Location: Roseboro, NC
Beats Audio is Ok but not all that!
Date:April 28, 2012
These tiny speakers with Beats Audio are ok but do not live up to all the hype. My HP Pavilion dv6 claims to have 4 speakers and a subwoofer! Really?? A Subwoofer?? My Beats audio is on and I've tried all combinations of adjustments and just can't find that much bass. They are kind of loud but so was my Acer with only 2 speakers. I feel they could have done better considering the cost. As for the rest of the dv6, I love it!
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for The Art of HP Audio
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Guessing
Location: louisiana
Beats audio
Date:January 21, 2012
I expected some tutorial not just reviews. Beats may be the best system available however without the knowledge to use it to it's full capacity it is just another sound system.
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for The Art of HP Audio
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
arosemena
Location: Miami, FL
How to set it up.
Date:August 4, 2012
This page is an advertising. I does not help me get the sound out of my computer. I presently have a monitor with built in speakers through HDMI. I have not been able to add a sub woofer. Nothing I tried works.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for The Art of HP Audio
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PLANE
Location: Indiana`
Beats Audio
Date:July 13, 2012
Although I was expecting a more customizable sound... with possibly even some other program, i guess i was over expecting, I am still very impressed with the beats audio.. no dissapointment.. I have never heard another laptop this loud.. dv7 with beats audio, the way to go.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for The Art of HP Audio
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Denny
Beats Audio
Date:May 15, 2012
I expected more.Its ok.Its just sounds ok.Nothing awesome like I thought it would be.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for The Art of HP Audio
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
tomjw217
Location: Memphis TN
Beats Audion Beats What?
Date:May 6, 2012
All I can say for Beats Audio after owning this computer for a month or so is that it flawlessly captures all the nuances of 1940's AM radio.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for The Art of HP Audio
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Blazer50020
Location: PA
HP Beats
Date:April 12, 2012
Very very disappointed… With all the hype, I thought it would sound like a Bose System. It doesn’t…not even close. To top it all off, my mother board crashes after I had it 22 days, one day out of warranty…go figure. Should have stuck with a Dell.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for The Art of HP Audio
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
1CPA
Location: Dallas
DV6 w/beats
Date:January 29, 2012
I don't know what I was expecting exactly, but with the adv campaign put out from HP I expected more than what I have. The sound quality from the speakers are no better than those from my 4 yr old Sony VAIO. I have played with the eq trying to fine tune, but the reality is the speakers are not capable of a better sound.My iPad speakers blow the HP's away.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for The Art of HP Audio
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hobart, IN
Location: Hobart, IN
Great Sound
Date:December 17, 2011
This is my first laptop purchase from a desktop after many years on a desktop with 5.1 Dolby external speakers. I can tell you that although my external desktop speakers are awesome, I bought this laptop because of the sound and hardware components. I tried probably 30 different laptops and this 17" HP laptop with beats is the best of the laptops. Most sound tinney and small. This has big sound. I cannot say the 15.6" laptop was as good in the store. Originally I liked the all-in-one for the sound, but all in the under $1000 price range were low end hardware components. This was the best blend of hardware and speakers I found.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for The Art of HP Audio
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
musiclover2
Location: Florida
Beats
Date:December 9, 2011
I don't get it. Beats audio is flat. Have to go to my desk top Sony standard speakers to enjoy the music. Will prob install ext speakers in the future to my HP laptop.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for The Art of HP Audio
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
mlj_
Location: New England
Glad I'm not the only one ...
Date:September 22, 2012
Glad I'm not the only one that thought this was a useless ad. But check out the Alicia Key's video. Not much to say about beats audio but she is passionate about her music. Good to hear her.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for The Art of HP Audio
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
salty
Location: central US
disappointed with Beats
Date:May 13, 2012
I was expecting more. It's NOT crisp or clear with some distortion at the loudest. I need an easy way to adjust the structure of the sound but haven't found a way yet,,,, still getting to know the computer. I love everything else about my HP though and it does surpass my old HP from 2007, sound and programs. I must say, with headphones, I had more volumne. But I bought this so I wouldn't have to use headphones.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for The Art of HP Audio
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
brpsych
Very Disappointing
Date:February 5, 2012
I was expecting something close to Bose. Bose makes tiny speakers with amazing sound..- This is definately no comparison. Unfortunately, I agree with the others....This is no better than my 5-year-old Dell
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for The Art of HP Audio
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
popeish
Location: Connecticut
what's the beef?
Date:January 14, 2012
I recently bought an HP laptop with beats audio, and although I was using a dell w/speakers they make (pretty darn good for 60 bucks!), I bought into the Beats hype, and decided to go with a Bose speaker system, which was much more than 60 bucks...HOWEVER- when I combined the Bose system with the beats system and fine tuned both, I can stack my sound system against any Club system. I can crank the sound enough to shake the walls (not even all the way) and I get no distortion, clear and defined
instrumentation and a base line, as I said, that rivals most Club systems. I could not be happier with my system and the terrific combination that create this great sound. Yes, from a laptop.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
123next>>