Jump to content
Jump to content

Small & Medium Business

866-625-0242 for sales; Contact HP for support

Product Reviews

HP ProBook 6550b Notebook PC series

HP ProBook 6550b Notebook PC series
Average Customer Rating:
3.8 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
7 out of 10(70%)customers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for HP ProBook 6550b Notebook PC series
Review 1 for HP ProBook 6550b Notebook PC series
Overall:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Foxy
Location: Sydney, AUS
Laptop Review
Date:November 3, 2010
"I have been using the 6550b i5 with 4GB RAM and Win 7 Pro for a while and I find it quite good.
The full keyboard including number pad is ok. The position and size of the delete key is absolutely the worst feature (to stop you deleting things by mistake???? the only reason I can think of). The keyboard would have been perfect if not for that. Nice to type on.
The touch pad is very good.
The laptop is responsive, quick to boot up and once you mod Win 7 with the XP menu bars etc the interface is great.
However I do have a couple of complaints.
1. The screen is too short and cuts off web pages, so you have to scroll a lot more than I am used to. The screen size really is very annoying. I would not recommend it for that fact alone.
2. The HDMI port is not standard which makes connecting it to the TV a bit more challenging.
If you don't mind the screen size/resolution then you will probably be quite happy with this laptop. I personally recommend you look for something with a better screen size."
42 out of 46 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for HP ProBook 6550b Notebook PC series
Overall:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mike
HP Probook 6550b
Date:December 23, 2010
"I've owned the computer for a month now. Very pleased with perfomance. The computer does in fact have bluetooth. Screen resolution is decent but there are better choices out there if superior picture quality is your goal. The i5 processor gets tasks done qucikly facilitating good speed during multitask functions. Very durable, I drop it from 6ft up and its fine. Good choice for travelers."
9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for HP ProBook 6550b Notebook PC series
Overall:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Hoss
Location: NY, NY
HP Probook 6550b
Date:February 23, 2011
"Good laptop, the only issues I have with it are the standard display is very dim, even when at its brightest settings. The other issue is that when taking the laptop on trips, it won't boot until it is warm enough. I don't know who designed that "safety" enhancement but it is truly unacceptable. Working at customer sites I have to have immediate access when I need it. Other than those two issues, the laptop is great for the mid range user."
11 out of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for HP ProBook 6550b Notebook PC series
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Programmer
Location: Europe
Keyboard asymetric location
Date:December 28, 2010
"I received this computer from my company so I didn't have a choice. Someone who designed keyboard layout should be fired. I'm working on this computer 8 hours a day. I'm typing a lot on keyboard and because of left side keyboard location my position is not ergonomic. I have left shoulder pain/strain after 2-3 hours of working and my neck is twisted into right side because I need to watch the screen.
The only solution is to attach external keyboard :(
"
37 out of 55 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for HP ProBook 6550b Notebook PC series
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Slim
Location: Northern CA
Excellent business laptop
Date:June 16, 2011
"Business laptop that is well built, powerful, and right size and weight for business users. Has i5 processor, 4 GB RAM, and Win 7 Pro 64 as standard, as well as docking station connection for office use. Very satisfied with purchase."
11 out of 17 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for HP ProBook 6550b Notebook PC series
Overall:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Heart Saver 1956
Location: Blue Bell, PA
HP probook 6550b
Date:April 26, 2011
"I purchased this laptop so that I could have performance, speed and efficiency. I teach nursing at the MS level.
What I do not like about this computer is that it is actually slower than my Vista operating system (HP Pavillion dv9000). The start up is inconsistent. Sometimes it starts right up and other times it "freezes" on the start up screen.
The Probook 6550b also goes into sleep mode when not used for a period of time. In order to re-start it, I have to do a soft re-boot by depressing the "start" button for approximately 5 seconds. I just do not think this is the computer that it's meant to be.
I am comparing a commercial version with a professional version (ProBook), but after all, don't we all expect excellence with a product that is so expensive? Hp was built on excellence, but I am seeing that their computers are not functioning as they should, and I believe the quality is beginning to decline."
18 out of 29 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for HP ProBook 6550b Notebook PC series
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bassassassin
wonderful
Date:January 25, 2011
"hey all you people who say the keyboard is off center, the postion of the keyboard didn't change. the screen got wider and they added a numeric keypad. so everthing is in line as it was before..."
5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for HP ProBook 6550b Notebook PC series
Overall:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
dolma88
so far so good... except
Date:June 9, 2011
"whenver on the docking station, it'll site at the hp logo on bootup forever. when taken off the docking station and turn on, it'll boot right away.
coworker has the same computer but not the same problem.
"
3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for HP ProBook 6550b Notebook PC series
Overall:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
DooDoo
Work Computer
Date:November 29, 2010
"This is a pretty nifty computer. But it doesn't have BLUETOOTH!! i can't use my bluetooth wireless keyboard with it."
4 out of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for HP ProBook 6550b Notebook PC series
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
New User
So far so good...
Date:December 14, 2010
"I've had this computer for a month and so far I've been really happy with it. Haven't come across any issues with the screen size as noted above.
I do like the keyboard, but it took a little getting used to."
0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.