Jump to content
Jump to content

Small & Medium Business

866-625-0242 for sales; Contact HP for support

Product Reviews

HP ProBook 4520s Notebook PC series

HP ProBook 4520s Notebook PC series
Average Customer Rating:
3.533 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (30 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
8
3 stars
5
2 stars
6
1 star
2
19 out of 30(63%)customers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for HP ProBook 4520s Notebook PC series
Review 1 for HP ProBook 4520s Notebook PC series
Overall:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
dtomazzoni
Location: RS, Brazil
Is not PRO, very bad
Date:April 28, 2011
"I had an HP 6710b that was excellent. I bought a week ago ProBook the 4520s and I was disappointed with some things, especially with the toutch pad. Who invented this toutch pad decentralized and horrible to use was a bad day. I think HP could recover from this error by sending a wireless mouse for those who have bought this notebook. Where is the PRO style in this product?"
4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for HP ProBook 4520s Notebook PC series
Overall:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Dave
touch pad
Date:April 22, 2011
"Overall: good.
Touch pad: horrible. But you can make it bearable by going into the mouse settings and customizing the settings i.e. disabling "pinch and zoom" etc.
Also - I called HP for an emergency recovery disc and did a clean install of Windows 7 Pro 64 bit. This gets rid of all the bloatware that's preinstalled"
8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for HP ProBook 4520s Notebook PC series
Overall:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Jason
Location: Ohio
Great, except
Date:April 19, 2011
"The laptop is great, like almost everything about it. Screen is bright and clear, battery life is good, keyboard is great, even has the number pad. Wish it had a docking station port....but I can live without that. One thing however, the touchpad is so bad that I've disabled it completely. If not for the sensitive parts under it, i would put a few buckshot through it. Did nobody test this thing? Really? Is this the first laptop you've ever designed? Has the designer ever used a laptop before? If you wanted it to be off center then move it under the number pad where you won't touch it while typing. Its in the wrong place so your left hand hits it constantly when you are trying to type. And second, if its going to be that sensitive, you have to make it recessed! Which you did on the 4510, And many other models going back 10 years or more. Why then mess up the 4520? Its bad enough to bring a 5 rating down to 2. You need to offer replacements to this atrocity you call a touchpad. For everything else I would give it a 5 rating."
6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for HP ProBook 4520s Notebook PC series
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Rosario
Location: Italy
Awful
Date:April 16, 2011
"The touchpad is unbearable. It is impossible to work with. I had to buy a mouse to be able to work. The software installed by default caused so much trouble that I spent most of my day uninstalling everything from the computer. It gets dirty very easily. Overall I wish I would have never bought it...."
4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for HP ProBook 4520s Notebook PC series
Overall:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Giorgi
Location: Georgia, Tbilisi
Good
Date:March 12, 2011
"I use probook 4520s with i5 processor and 4 GB Ram since February 2011 and I am satisfied with its performance. On Windows 7 notebook works perfect.
Only think I don't like is, that battery life too low. Only about 3 housr instead of promised 5 hours."
30 out of 31 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for HP ProBook 4520s Notebook PC series
Overall:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
silvone
Location: Bucharest, Romania
Worst wifi card ever manufactured !!!
Date:March 7, 2011
"I bought this notebook one week ago. HP Probook 4520s with i3 Intel CP, 640 GB HDD, 3GB RAM, P/N xx761EA. The biggest problem is the wifi card Ralink rt3090 ! I couldn't manage to have this working in a proper way ! I started to use my notebook with included OS linux SUSE 11.0 Enterprise edition. I tried Opensuse x32 and x64, linux Mint 10 x32 and x64, Windows 7 x64, Windows Vista... This Ralink wifi card is disconnecting when it want, after 10 minutes, 1 hour or 2 hours, random mode. I'll try to change this with a HP or Broadcom wifi card, or replace this notebook now, in waranty. Wifi Ralink is not good at all !!!"
8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for HP ProBook 4520s Notebook PC series
Overall:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Marky
Location: Atlanta.
Poor LCD. Pity.
Date:February 26, 2011
"Overall, the notebook would be great all-rounder if it has different type of screen. I couldn't stand it so the NB was returned.
Its viewing angles are just too narrow. Simple test of showing black screen proved that it is unable to display darker content on whole screen without any distortion or inversion.
It is perfect for "white screen" work (word, excel, etc), though.
"
3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for HP ProBook 4520s Notebook PC series
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
FearlesS
Location: Karachi
Nice Choice
Date:February 19, 2011
"I bought this notebook 2 months ago and I m really very please on my decision to choose this notebook. I really recommend this notebook to all professionals."
9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for HP ProBook 4520s Notebook PC series
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
apro
Location: sri lanka
warning
Date:February 11, 2011
"too much heavy to carry.nice key board.full screen.speed processor."
7 out of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for HP ProBook 4520s Notebook PC series
Overall:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Chriswm
Location: South Africa
Good quality, BUT......
Date:February 7, 2011
"After 4 months of use I still love/hate this laptop (but regret purchasing it)..
It has good quality build, has a bright screen, is fast with good keyboard, etc, but oh boy, the cons are just so strong and constantly in your face..
The 4520s has the worst Touch Pad I have ever experienced - just cannot get to grips with its jittery motion.
My bigger problem from a business perspective is however the poor maximum screen resolution - any business person wanting to use this laptop for spreadsheets, viewing multiple documents, etc can just as well forget it. For a large 15.6" screen, the 1366x768 resolution is just not good enough.
Poor battery life with a mediocre 6-cell battery.
Apart from these three (serious) gripes, the 4520s performance is up to standard, runs cool and is pretty fast with its i-5 processor and 7200 rpm HDD"
23 out of 24 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for HP ProBook 4520s Notebook PC series
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
faulkit
Location: maine
awesome machine
Date:January 24, 2011
"Can not find anything wrong with this machine. Works and performs better than expected.
Some advice to all the people whinning about the touchpad. Plan on spending another 25.00 at the time you purchase the laptop and buy a wireless mouse! Problem solved."
5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for HP ProBook 4520s Notebook PC series
Overall:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
tem-meh
Location: maine
Not bad for the money
Date:January 24, 2011
"I have owned this notebook for over a week now and other than the fact that it didn't come with any recovery media or program to create my own, I like it. It feels pretty rugged, the components are in an accessible area that is easy to make upgrades. ie: changed hard drive to 500gbs and updated ram to 4gbs. If you call HP support regarding the lack of any recovery media they will send you a copy free of charge. This is a must in case of hard drive failure, virus, your data, etc. Hope this helps!"
15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for HP ProBook 4520s Notebook PC series
Overall:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
jay
Location: New Jersey
Good value for the money
Date:January 24, 2011
"It is definitely worth the money. I got the i3 model with 2gig.
PROS:
Solid feel, well built
Good screen
Good speakers
very quiet
runs cool
Power port on the side instead of back
DVD aligned with back edge instead of front edge.
Thinner than comparable models
Lighter than comparable models
Not much bloatware
CONS:
Battery life is MUCH lesser than claimed.
Touch pad is not usable - buttons are touch sensitive which causes me to send pinch signal every time I use the pad.
Touch pad is off center due to the presence of numeric keypad on the right - so both your arms can not be centered while using it - it is more of a problem than I thought it would be before I bought it.
"
10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for HP ProBook 4520s Notebook PC series
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
007
Location: UAE
EXECELLENT LAPTOP
Date:January 24, 2011
"HI,
I BUY THIS LAPTOP BEFORE 2 DAYS,
ITS VERY NICE AND EASY TO USE,
ITS VERY POWERFUL WITH I3 PROCESSOR
THANKS.
"
3 out of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for HP ProBook 4520s Notebook PC series
Overall:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
raju
Location: UAE
not good
Date:January 21, 2011
"Main phroblem of the hp probook 4520s is over heating and bad touch pad. if we are working 30 minuts countinuous it will start over heating the main problem is it has no ventilation in down side for free air circulation. and other one is bad touch pad design this long touch pad also will making problems for typing we cannot type easy..dont buy any one.."
8 out of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for HP ProBook 4520s Notebook PC series
Overall:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
OVERROFF
Decent Laptop
Date:January 20, 2011
"I purchased this laptop for my son, a college student, and he was delighted. While not up to the caliber of my work laptop, it was able to handle everything that he needed. It was a great deal and although I would not recommend it to heavy duty users, I would recommend it to casual computer users."
6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for HP ProBook 4520s Notebook PC series
Overall:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
dj-h-
Location: New York, NY
Good basic laptop
Date:January 3, 2011
"I got the Core i3 version with 2 GB ram. I had to deduct a star for the bad mouse pad. It needs BUTTONS! Good thing you can turn it off when typing documents. I also wanted to deduct a star for poor hard drive and memory location. But then again, if you never have to upgrade it then you will not be frustrated by the whole process of taking apart many screws and your keyboard just to add memory. The laptop overall is a nice performer for the money. I have one of the least expensive models and it is made well enough to satisfy the price point. No complaints. However, the OS image did not contain a copy of their HP Recovery Manager to make a recovery disk. Instead, the manual suggests we use Windows recovery to make an image. Lucky for me I had a USB hard drive with 35+ GB free space to make the system recovery image. This is just HP's way to cut costs. It would have been better if they gave us recovery DVDs."
19 out of 20 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for HP ProBook 4520s Notebook PC series
Overall:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
frankmazz
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Don't make 'em like they used to
Date:January 3, 2011
"I had an HP Pavilion 3000 series for 6+ years. It was an everyday, all-day warrior. This 4520 is a toy by comparison. The touch pad is worst in the history of the world. The keyboard is off center (OK, I know it's because of the numeric keypad which is nice to have) but being off center makes viewing the screen hard. The 15" (diagonal) screen isn't good enough to shift your bod to the center of the keyboard - right side of screen goes dark. USB ports on the side consumer desk space (bad). Video port on the side is cheaply made are REALLY consumes desk space. I've never had a screen that tires and drains my eyes like this screen - starting to give me a headache. HD is fast and quiet. Battery life, not so great, about 2 hours."
Review 19 for HP ProBook 4520s Notebook PC series
Overall:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Atlanta2k
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Decent
Date:October 22, 2010
"Overall its a decent machine. As a former HP user (currently using a Mac at Home), this machine gives you a lot of bang for your buck but the one major drawback is the mouse. When you travel for sales, like myself, relying on the mouse is obviously important. Using the right/left click functions is cumbersome. It feels like the mouse is sticking so you really need to click with force. I'd also recommend an upgraded battery since I found its life to drain pretty quick.
Otherwise the machine is responsive, has a decent processor and is robust. For accessing the internet and applications like MS Office, the machine is perfectly adequate and then some. The display is back lit with LEDs but I do find it a bit muted and would have like to have seen AMOLED technology.
Overall its a decent machine and given its price tag, a really good value."
27 out of 28 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for HP ProBook 4520s Notebook PC series
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RL
Location: Brighton, MA.
I Love This Computer
Date:October 13, 2010
"This computer is amazing, the quality of the Media Player is amazing, built in security is great comes with a camera with facial reconition included and voice reconition and even capable of doing a finger print scan for security purposes. I had a regular run of the mill lap top befor this so the mouse pad was a little weird at first but after one day I am comfortable with it. I'll probly just buy a wireless mouse for convenience. Very fast computer I installed all my desired programs so easily thanks to Windows 7, plus I am a student and I love the free trial of Microsoft Office 2010, I want to keep it. I seriously love this computer I was going to get a Apple but now I am so pleased with my choice and for the price, I seriously got a deal. I am so happy with my choice, great product for the money."
12next>>