Jump to content
Jump to content

Small & Medium Business

866-625-0242 for sales; Contact HP for support

Product Reviews

HP EliteBook 8560w Mobile Workstation

HP EliteBook 8560w Mobile Workstation
Average Customer Rating:
3.333 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
7
14 out of 21(67%)customers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for HP EliteBook 8560w Mobile Workstation
Review 1 for HP EliteBook 8560w Mobile Workstation
Overall:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Winston
Location: suriname
elitebook 8560w
Date:August 23, 2012
"I encountered the same keyboard issue as "eliteman" reported earlier. other than that it's a good powerfull laptop."
3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for HP EliteBook 8560w Mobile Workstation
Overall:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
otto
trouble with touchpad on/off
Date:August 3, 2012
"Nice laptop. I've been using it for quite a while now.
There is a problem with the touchpad on/off. I'm not a big fan of touchpad, and the touchpad, being non centerally located, i often touch in accident with the palm of my hand. Pretty annoying as it moves the mouse or it believes i clicked a button.
There's the on/off button on the top left of the touch pad, but i doesn't work under Ubuntu (10.4).
I suspect, it can only be turned on/off when Windows is running....
Anyone posting an idea to fix would be greatly appriciated...."
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for HP EliteBook 8560w Mobile Workstation
Overall:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
eliteman
Location: Toronto, ON
good workstation, difficult keyboard
Date:July 17, 2012
"I have been using this new laptop for several weeks, and everything works just fine except for the keyboard: every time you type faster than its allowed speed it just misses some characters and this puts you in the situation that everything you type must be reread and rechecked to make sure what you type is actually getting through the keyboard.
I ended up installing an aditional keyboard on my desk just to get the comfort of actually typing without worrying of missing characters.
I did check on internet and nobody seems to have enountered similar problems, other than 2 other workmates who got the same kind of laptop.
Another issue I noticed, some keys (Shift, Ctrl, etc) may get stuck when pressed for longer periods of time, although you cannot notice that visually (just their status is felt by the computer as 'pressed') and you have to hit them repeatedly until they are 'released'
"
6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for HP EliteBook 8560w Mobile Workstation
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Benny
Location: Sydney
Awesome mobile workstation
Date:May 30, 2012
"For some time ive been looking for a sturdy, reliable, powerful mobile workstation, and im very glad to say I have found it.
Initial impressions reveal a smart-looking pc that is built like a tank, excellent range of shortcut buttons and backlit keyboard, the metallic chassis is beautiful and functional.
I have owned about 5 generations of HP's DV7's, I bought them all for the large 17" HD screen. Because the 15.6" screen on the 8560w is so brilliant, ive opted to go smaller instead.
The specifications of this laptop are generally impressive. Im running i7-2860QM, NVIDIA Quadro 2000M, 8gb ram, 15.6" diagonal LED-backlit FHD WVA anti-glare (1920 x 1080) and an SSD to run programs. Combine that with the best HP architecture to date and you have a real-world mobile workstation.
Quite simply, this laptop is just a pleasure to work with, from an aesthetic and functional standpoint, I have no complaints whatsoever.
Big kudos to HP for producing a powerful, no b.s. laptop.
If there's two areas that I wouldn't recommend this laptop it would be gamers: not designed for this, and those doing loads of rendering."
5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for HP EliteBook 8560w Mobile Workstation
Overall:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
real engineer
people didn't read specs
Date:April 3, 2012
"why complaining of xp drivers...???
just read specs before post silly things...
THIS PC IS NOT FOR XP!!!!!
i cant't understand why you said that this pc lack xp drivers since this ps is not supposed to be supoprted in xp...LOL"
13 out of 20 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for HP EliteBook 8560w Mobile Workstation
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
singulus
Location: Sofia, Bulgaria
Full of defects
Date:April 2, 2012
"Mine was replaced two times during the first month of use!
The first one died a week after I bought it. It could not power on. The battery indicator was constantly blinking. During this week it was constantly freezing. It was replaced with a second one that had two red stuck pixels right in the middle of the screen but was working OK. The third one seemed OK until a dead pixel appeared again in the center of the screen. I am just sick and tired of replacing this piece of junk. I hope at least it will work OK from now on.
A recent software update of the HP Power Assistant caused the sound to break every 30 seconds or so.
Is this the quality of the mighty EliteBook series?
P.S. Having stuck/dead pixels on a DreamColor display is insane! After all these displays are targeted to graphic professionals."
17 out of 23 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for HP EliteBook 8560w Mobile Workstation
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
James
Location: Bangalore
The most worst Elitebook 8560w notebook from HP
Date:March 26, 2012
"Guys, this is really great and strong laptop in terms of body, configurations and performance.
I have evaluated this laptop on all the fronts and reviews.
But there is a catch on this one, there is a trip issue in battery mode. As soon as you put this laptop on battery mode after 100% charging, this laptop suddenly trips without any warning, also the processor is drained once its on battery mode. Another issue is with the system partition, it is better to use by default partitions on this laptop as it cant handle the various partitions created on 800GB drive.I strongly recommend to all the guys not to procure this laptop. It works good only in power mode, there is a bug in the hardware on battery mode.
"
9 out of 24 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for HP EliteBook 8560w Mobile Workstation
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Field Engineer
This is bad design
Date:March 25, 2012
"I have been watching all kinds of y-tube videos before I got this, I was happy that I am getting a good one, but after I actually received it, I am just so disppointed.
1. The keyboard layout is terrible, yes, the touchpad is large but when you try to use thr trackpoint, so often you try to use right key and end up land on middle key. The arrow keys are designed for babys,
2. Lack of XP drivers, even it listed all kinds of XP drivers, but some of them will fail at the installation.
3. Don't know if it's absolutely necessary for the large power supply. but even the power supply ofmy previous laptop Dell M4400 is smaller than this one. If you ever look at the one for docking station, you'll be more amazed.
4. indication lights are tiny, don't know why, baiscally useless.
so this is a bad designed laptop."
11 out of 24 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for HP EliteBook 8560w Mobile Workstation
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
HappyWithHP
Location: St. John's, NL
Amazing Notebook
Date:March 20, 2012
"Great product. Use it for development and gaming with no issues at all. Solid build feels sturdy unlike many notebooks that feel flimsy and fragile. Keyboard has a nice feel to it and built-in finger print reader is very handy for logging into the computer and websites.
The graphics card handles most tasks with ease and only shows signs of slowing down with high-end games on max or graphical rendering in 3D studios.
5 stars from me."
4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for HP EliteBook 8560w Mobile Workstation
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Officer
Location: EU
very good
Date:March 8, 2012
".. and that in title could be just so valueless as the other opinoins, but my all real expectations are fullfilled and with extra drives (which is the only bottleneck of the laptop as it is) also more virtual pcs under Windows 7 work perfect."
1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for HP EliteBook 8560w Mobile Workstation
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Captain
Location: London,UK
Worst ever laptop.
Date:February 5, 2012
"I am on my second laptop in 2 weeks. This laptop is full of defects,mouse problems,window 7 is not working properly, lack of performance and graphic problems same as the first laptop.
HP calls this an Elitebook Mobile Workstation. It's just a piece of waste of money and time.I asked for a refund.
"
11 out of 32 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for HP EliteBook 8560w Mobile Workstation
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ehbubba
Great computer, powerful - but heavy!!
Date:January 30, 2012
"My company purchased this computer for me and it has worked flawlessly as a desktop replacement. It has a plenty power and is also built well to withstand the wear and tear that occurs with frequent travel.
My only warning would be that this is a very heavy machine. Heavy units do not bother me when they contain a sizeable amount of features like this computer does - 17" widescreen, keyboard with additional number pad, plenty of computing power, etc. I travel - but I travel in between buildings frequently. If I traveled via airline, or something of that nature, the weight would probably be an issue or hinderance. For what I am getting, its something that I can easily overlook.
I have not had any hardware or software issues as of yet and battery life has been good. (3-4 hours depending on usage)"
5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for HP EliteBook 8560w Mobile Workstation
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ben
Location: Australia
Good workhorse
Date:January 29, 2012
"Battery lasts 3+hr for good performance machine is pretty good
The gesture multi-touch touchpad is awesome, you can zoom & scroll etc very nicely
Quad-core machine is fast
Heavy duty case, survived my recent drop to concrete from 2 foot
Con: a little heavy, not as good looking as some others.
"
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for HP EliteBook 8560w Mobile Workstation
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
IloveIt
Location: New York, NY
Awesome laptop
Date:January 24, 2012
"I have this laptop since Dec 2011 and I have to say that is the best laptop I had in years. (and I had many anything from Asus and IBM to Apple)
Battery life is excellent, I upgraded my RAM from 8 GB to 32GB. CPU shows up as 8 cores (Quad with HT) . I also got ATI video card. I can play games and run my Virtual machines (several at the same time). IF you are IT person, do any video editing or run presentations with a lot of multimedia, this is machine for you. It costs money but its worth every dollar.
Thank you HP"
Review 15 for HP EliteBook 8560w Mobile Workstation
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
hp user
Location: oslo
terrible mashin
Date:January 22, 2012
"What a terrible waste of money.
This thing doesn't go anywhere, it will die on my desktop just behind the real workstation. disappointing performance, disappointing display,
"
3 out of 31 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for HP EliteBook 8560w Mobile Workstation
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Fabio
Location: Rome, IT
Tankbook
Date:January 12, 2012
"Not my choice, my company bought them for the entire office. What a terrible waste of money.
This thing doesn't go anywhere, it will die on my desktop just behind the real workstation.
>3Kg, 2 hours battery life, bad wifi reception, seriously, who need it? I can't figure it out yet.
"
2 out of 26 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for HP EliteBook 8560w Mobile Workstation
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brian
Location: San Francisco, CA
A beast.
Date:December 8, 2011
"Love this machine - been using it for several months now and it really is a beast. Heavy, durable, and powerful.
Pros:
- Powerful mobile workstation, crunches tasks quickly
- Metal case that dissipates heat well, even while on my lap.
- Battery life is better than expected: 2.5 hours alone, and 6 hrs with the extra battery.
- 3 yr warranty out of the box
- backlit keyboard with numpad
Cons:
- Metal case is heavy, even for mobile workstation.
- Can only access 2 of the 4 ram slots easily
- 120 SSD drive is partitioned with a 20GB seperate for "HP backup".
Other:
- Adobe Shockwave doesn't play nice with the ATI card, but that has more to do with the Google Chrome software.
- ATI card can push five monitors, but there are only two monitor ports on this machine. Even with the laptop bay you will get up to 3 monitors plus laptop screen.
Final Notes:
So I tried several metrics to push this machine. My i7 quad, 12 GB ram, ATI display runs Skyrim on high settings. It crunches through Adobe Premier Pro high-res videos in minutes, while giving good color on the RGB LED screen. It also runs a 200-population dwarf fortress without much problem. If you want to get full performance from the machine, you will need to adjust the power options, to create a high performance profile that unsleeps all 8 cores.
One thing to be aware of is that it's only easy to upgrade 2 of the ram slots, and that if you get an SSD HP will partition part of it that will sit there forever as a "backup".
Other than that, this works great as a machine for consulting or being on the road when you need performance. Heavy weight, yes, but it's also heavy where it counts. I lug it around every day and know I can rely on it."
15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for HP EliteBook 8560w Mobile Workstation
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
red
Location: Longmont, CO
Great machine
Date:December 6, 2011
"Contrary to some folks here, I've had no video problems -- in fact using the external monitor connectors has been a snap. Machine is fast, so fast that I'll be using it instead of a desktop (my normal choice for day-to-day work). No complaints.
The one nit I have to pick is that the usb etc connectors are mounted on a slightly sloping side of the case. The first couple of times I put in a connector I tried the wrong angle (perpendicular to the sloping case rather than horizontal to the world). See -- I told you it was a nit!
I love this laptop."
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for HP EliteBook 8560w Mobile Workstation
Overall:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
clovernz
Location: New Zealand
Performs ok but...
Date:September 28, 2011
"...the graphics card is really odd. Forms appear out of proportion and we have to scroll where on other machines with the same settings this is not the case. We've tried all sorts of ways to fix it through display and DPI settings and by applying newer NVidia drivers but just no success. It is pretty heavy too with its iridium like shell and keys but it does otherwise perfom quite efficiently."
8 out of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for HP EliteBook 8560w Mobile Workstation
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
cab
Location: Australia
Big dissapointment
Date:August 16, 2011
"Been trying to get the computer running similar to old set up for three weeks now and it just does not perform.
Can not get external display to work - in any of the 3 modes."
9 out of 61 people found this review helpful.
12next>>