Jump to content
Jump to content

Small & Medium Business

866-625-0242 for sales; Contact HP for support

Product Reviews

HP EliteBook 8560p Notebook PC

HP EliteBook 8560p Notebook PC
Average Customer Rating:
3.231 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
1
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
3
6 out of 13(46%)customers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for HP EliteBook 8560p Notebook PC
Review 1 for HP EliteBook 8560p Notebook PC
Overall:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
BryGuy
Location: WI
Great Laptop
Date:August 22, 2012
"Going through all of the other reviews and I have to say that they are just plain wrong. I have no screen problems or compatibility problems. The laptop is a total work horse. One guy said the i7 is only dual core...mine is quad.. I have been using the laptop everyday for many hours at a time. I take it from school to home to work and everyplace in between.
The complaints
the laptop is heavy but what do you expect with a 17inch laptop with specs like this?
The graphics card is good unless you want to game with it.
The sound system sucks though.
The track pad can be annoying at times but you can adjust settings to how you like.
I would recommend to a friend for sure."
Review 2 for HP EliteBook 8560p Notebook PC
Overall:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Just another power user
Location: Memphis
Wonderful Laptop-NO regrets
Date:August 13, 2012
"Its probably a little late now to review this laptop since it is an outgoing model, but with all the negative reviews I figured I'd go ahead and put my experience down.
I am a long time Dell owner, but my most recent dell was just plain buggy. Not really bad per se', but just really quirky. Trying to find a laptop that fits MY needs is a bit tricky, but a friend of mine actually found the 8650p, and I took a look....and bought one.
I LOVE IT! Absolutely NO problems at all. I will say this, the screen on my Dell was a little brighter, and the sound quality of the Dell was a little better, but I have NO regrets. This is *almost* the perfect laptop for my needs. Only things I would have changed to make it perfect for me are:
1) Got rid of the full sized keybaord with numberpad-I'm not an accountant; I'd rather have had top mounted speakers for clarity.
2) A little better on the screen. The 8560p's screen is NOT BAD at all-it was only a side-by-side compairson that I noticed my Dell was a tad brighter.
3) Relocate some ports to the back of the unit. The USB 3.0 ports are in a bad location on this model since I am a right-hander and use an external mouse occasionally.
4) Include USB 3.0 ports on the docking station!
That's the only gripes I have. Boots fast, system is plenty fast for me, does everything I need it to, has a serial port (important for my needs), is stable (zero issues since I purchased a month or two ago, and used daily), and I absolutely love the style and build quality. Easy access to the main components for service/upgrades is an extremely welcome touch.
-Alan"
Review 3 for HP EliteBook 8560p Notebook PC
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Nocjock
Location: Texas
lock up , lock up, and more lock up
Date:July 30, 2012
"Ever since a got this PC it has had problems. First it was wi-fi now it just locks after 4 min. of run time."
3 out of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for HP EliteBook 8560p Notebook PC
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
BarryNick
Location: Providence, RI
Terrible!
Date:May 18, 2012
""I bought an EliteBook 8560p in May 2011 and have only had problems with it. Today the hard disc crashed. Do not buy it. It is very heavy, the touch mouse is difficult to handle, screen is flickering, no back lighting of key board, problems with the usb-slots etc etc. It has driven me crazy and today, well those of you that ever went through a hard disc crash know how I feel..."
These are the exact same issues I have with my HP! The hard drive crashed after two weeks of operation, and I had to put in a new one. The screen flickers, and I had to buy an adaptor to hook it up to the tv screen for conferences. I'm going to ride this HP out till November and then go "Office Space" on it!"
5 out of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for HP EliteBook 8560p Notebook PC
Overall:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
LaptopUser
Just Average
Date:February 1, 2012
"I'm using this laptop for office work, i.e. reports, email, web, etc., as well as field work in a power utility sector, e.g. configuring relays, network switches, etc.
Good:
1. Performance not too shabby
2. Looks Good
3. Has a serial port (yes I use it a lot)
4. Long lasting battery life
Bad:
1. Keyboard is miserable, especially the arrow keys that are so small and close to each other. Not everyone loves a mouse... Also, no spaces between F-Key groups.
2. Location of VGA port
3. Location of Headphone connector. Cable interferes with mouse.
4. 'Display' port instead of proper HDMI socket, Why?
All in all, not too recommendable."
22 out of 24 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for HP EliteBook 8560p Notebook PC
Overall:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
gm7
Location: Winter Park, FL
Excellent Laptop with slightly older features
Date:January 21, 2012
"I have the HP EliteBook 8560p. The laptop is quite a workhorse and has lots of excellent features, but suffers from aging specs with a pretty steep price to go with it.
Pros:
Full size keyboard with numpad
Good UEFI firmware provides excellent security features
Dockable
Plenty of USB ports, including USB 3.0
Can support dual monitor out, with a 3rd monitor out (highest-end docking station required)
Cons:
Price is steep for last-year hardware
i7 processor only has two cores
Speakers are just awful. Really surprising given the price.
Color quality of screen is bad compared to others (video-out to a decent monitor and you'll really see the built-in screen fall down color-wise).
Screen tends to dim way too often and way too soon. Kind of annoying.
All in all, it's an excellent office laptop.
Steer clear if you are a graphics editor due to screen."
8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for HP EliteBook 8560p Notebook PC
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
NolongerHPsupporter
Don't buy
Date:January 13, 2012
"I bought an EliteBook 8560p in May 2011 and have only had problems with it. Today the hard disc crashed. Do not buy it. It is very heavy, the touch mouse is difficult to handle, screen is flickering, no back lighting of key board, problems with the usb-slots etc etc. It has driven me crazy and today, well those of you that ever went through a hard disc crash know how I feel..."
11 out of 18 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for HP EliteBook 8560p Notebook PC
Overall:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Justin
Location: Lakewood, OH
Disappointing screen, good pc
Date:December 28, 2011
"The computer is tough, and runs like a champ, no problems there, but I can't help be disappointed in the screen. The screen does not use LED backlighting, and is therefore not NEARLY as bright as any of the other newer laptops we have around here. I don't know if this is something that got scrapped because of the ruggedization, but if you are going to spend a lot of time in front of it you should consider one of the other (I am a big fan of HP) models."
4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for HP EliteBook 8560p Notebook PC
Overall:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
themajesticking
Location: Baltimore, MD
Great laptop except for the Hard Drive
Date:December 9, 2011
"This is a nice solid machine. It's great for engineers and power users. It has a nice solid build quality that is far better than the Dell laptops we've used in the past.
The only problem I have is that the 500GB drive is junk. It's a hitachi 7200rpm drive but it's very slow. We use full disk encryption and the Western Digital 320GB drive in the EliteBook 8460p is wayyyy faster than this one. This needs to be fixed."
3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for HP EliteBook 8560p Notebook PC
Overall:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
DoogieHouser
Location: San Jose
Great laptop - needs better Ubuntu support
Date:September 1, 2011
"I'm a software developer and I use the 8560p as a portable workstation.
I run Ubuntu 10.04 as the main OS with windows 7 as a virtual machine when necessary. This setup works well and compile times are very fast.
HP need to better support Ubuntu for their machines. There are a few basic issues like screen brightness not working and poor video driver support leading to decreased battery life. Finger print reader doesnt work as well but thats not too important.
Full Ubuntu support would result in 5 stars but it is a fast, solid machine."
20 out of 22 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for HP EliteBook 8560p Notebook PC
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tomin8tor
Location: Silicon Valley, CA
Best laptop for CPAs and consultants
Date:April 15, 2011
"My wife is a CPA and she consults for several different companies. So the combination of semi-ruggedized construction along with a separate numeric keypad makes for the best possible laptop for her. I don't know why HP doesnt market these better (eg, at Best Buy, etc); they are SO much better than the consumer laptops (which are flimsy)."
27 out of 28 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for HP EliteBook 8560p Notebook PC
Overall:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Georgie
Location: California
Need backlit keyboard, like your competition.
Date:April 12, 2011
"What's the problem in not offering a backlit keyboard. Ever try entering data or editing a report on a late flight, or in bed next to your sleeping wife. Can't do squat without a backlit keyboard.
You have USB 3, finally, and blu-ray, and strong processors. Now get a backlit keyboard!!
"
48 out of 61 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for HP EliteBook 8560p Notebook PC
Overall:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
erba
Location: Munich, Germany
nearly perfect
Date:March 16, 2011
"great job, but where is the backlit keyboard and the integrated graphics + a more powerful discrete graphics??? Maybe we need a 2nd version :-("
41 out of 62 people found this review helpful.