Jump to content
Jump to content

Small & Medium Business

866-625-0242 for sales; Contact HP for support

Product Reviews

HP EliteBook 8460p Notebook PC

HP EliteBook 8460p Notebook PC
Average Customer Rating:
3.12 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (25 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
5
3 stars
7
2 stars
4
1 star
4
12 out of 25(48%)customers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for HP EliteBook 8460p Notebook PC
Review 1 for HP EliteBook 8460p Notebook PC
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
wingfeather
Worst Laptop I've Owned
Date:November 27, 2012
"The quality simply isn't there. I am constantly experiencing issues with the built-in keyboard & touchpad. It has a ghost in the machine.
Beyond that, it seems very slow for the advertised specs. Very slow.
SKIP this product & buy something better. This is not it!"
Review 2 for HP EliteBook 8460p Notebook PC
Overall:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
WRA
Location: Newport, RI, USA
HD failed in less than 3 months
Date:September 24, 2012
"Purchased for business use. Within 3 months of ownership, the hard drive failed. This obviously caused me significant problems.
Not pleased with the location of the DVD drive- the eject button is practically inaccessible under the curved side edge.
Frequently gets stuck in the docking station and I have to really force it out.
Not a fan of the up/down arrow half-keys. Took me a while to get used to. 'Print Screen' should also have it's own key."
8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for HP EliteBook 8460p Notebook PC
Overall:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
WFH
Office Machine
Date:September 16, 2012
"I was given one of these for my job.
Pros: It's a runs well and I am able to get my work done with it. I love that I can use a dock with it.
Cons: The keyboard is very uncomfortable on my fingers and so is the hp keyboard I use with my dock. The screen has a very small viewing angle, I don't know if it was meant to be for security reasons. I do not enjoy the track pad, it is very uncomfortable on my fingers and I avoid using by using a mouse that I purchased.
It's a good machine, but it's very uncomfortable to operate. For these reasons I would not purchase one for personal use."
6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for HP EliteBook 8460p Notebook PC
Overall:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Gott
Location: Sweden
Well
Date:September 7, 2012
"Fast CPU
Slow HDD
Display below average.
Soundlevel very good
Sharp edges (negative)
Weight above average
This machine sometimes have serious problems with Internet and "Internet video"
FW not possible to upgrade while HP presenting me with 3 possible ELITEBOOK 8460P models to choose from and NO info anywere which of these I own."
1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for HP EliteBook 8460p Notebook PC
Overall:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Longtime HP user
Location: Malaysia
Touch pad
Date:August 26, 2012
"Just switched to this model from an older model HP laptop, with which I was very happy. Overall quite satisfied with this machine. A few highlights:
1) The power port has switched places with the LAN port, which makes me happy since I use the power cable a lot more often than the LAN.
2) The speakers are way too soft.
3) Very poor placement of the touchpad, a quarter of which sits below where the left hand usually is.
It's way too far to the left so that my left hand is always brushing against the touch pad while typing, which is really really really annoying as it causes conflicting responses and sometimes makes the ctrl key freeze so that I can't type anything until I restart the PC."
5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for HP EliteBook 8460p Notebook PC
Overall:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
FiveO
Location: Zurich, Switzerland
Great Specs, but cheap components
Date:August 20, 2012
"The good thing first: It is really fast with the i7 and SSD. I've chosen this Notebook also because of the Resolution, which is also good, but the Screen has such a bad contrast and it's hard to find the angle where the text is readable. Fortunately I use external monitors in the office, otherwise I would change immediately.
The keyboard is very good (but no backlit - the little torch is ridiculous) but the trackpad multi-gesture is not well done and two-finger scroll not ergonomic.
"
4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for HP EliteBook 8460p Notebook PC
Overall:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Lionel
Location: UK
Slightly disappointing...
Date:August 3, 2012
"My company bought three of these machines for business use.
Mine was faulty from day one (the external screen connection never worked). After going back and forth to HP, I got the machine replaced.
The keyboard on the replacement is more responsive but I'm disappointed in the overall finish - the high quality feel of the EliteBook 8440 which I upgraded from is missing. The latch mechanism feels less solid on this machine, the keyboard light is completely ineffective and the display quality is nowhere near as good. Overall, it feels like HP have tried to cut manufacturing costs.
Apart from that, the machine works well but I'm thinking twice about having another..."
5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for HP EliteBook 8460p Notebook PC
Overall:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
n1k1ta
Meh, wouldn't buy it for personal use.
Date:June 20, 2012
"Pros: Screen resolution, HW specs for the price, battery life, build quality, maybe design (a big step forward compared to previous HP models but still looks bulky and is heavy), keyborad and webcam are okay.
Cons: Screen colors and viewing angles (only sutable for office apps), touchpad only looks great but in reality it's unresponsive and muti-touch feature is a joke compared to MacBook's."
9 out of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for HP EliteBook 8460p Notebook PC
Overall:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
chris8383
Location: Switzerland
good overall but the screen ruins it all
Date:May 14, 2012
"Fast, silent and solid laptop but for a high end (high price) laptop, I have been really disappointed with the quality of the screen. No contrast, bad colors render and angles.
I really recommended you to try it and have a look at the screen before buying.
"
19 out of 21 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for HP EliteBook 8460p Notebook PC
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rajeev
Location: Melbourne, Australia.
HP Elitebook 8460p
Date:May 1, 2012
"The Best all rounder that I've come across !!!
It's go all the ports right ports !
Durable !
Exelent finish !
Good choice of batteries for extended use !
Coupled with best Hardware Choices !
What more can you ask for ?????
Thumbs Up HP !! Keep up the good work !!"
3 out of 19 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for HP EliteBook 8460p Notebook PC
Overall:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
alex
Location: Vienna, Austria
Good notebook, bad accessories
Date:April 8, 2012
"The pros:
*) Very well-built, feels like a rock
*) Pleasing design
*) Performance and battery life
The downsides:
*) The screen (1600x900 LED) is the absolutely worst one I've ever seen on nowadays notebooks. No contrast, low viewing angle. Usable for office apps only.
*) Horribly poor accessories. The VB041 90W Docking station is not only expensive and lacks USB3 (!!) and eSATA ports, but also has severe problems with noise feeding from the other connectors signal lines into the audio lines. Even at moderate speaker levels one permanently hears odd sounds when the notebook is processing something. The 2008 docking stations were much better in this regard, probably due to their wider connector... Needless to say, S/P DIF digital audio I/O isn't included too which could solve this problem.
"
14 out of 17 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for HP EliteBook 8460p Notebook PC
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
forrest
very bad
Date:April 6, 2012
"i bought it 3 months ago, but cannot use it always, the screen mess and restart the computer."
4 out of 26 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for HP EliteBook 8460p Notebook PC
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bob
Location: Atlanta, GA
love my 8460p!
Date:March 5, 2012
"I use mine for all my business needs. I love that it meets tough military standards yet still looks great!
I will never use anything but an HP Elitebook.
"
6 out of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for HP EliteBook 8460p Notebook PC
Overall:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
waddie
Location: Ontario, Canada
busniess pro
Date:January 27, 2012
"This is a great overall comuter. The curser pad is in the correct possition. The Key are easy to use and feel excellent. System is fast between programs and has a fast start up time. Mine has only 120G hard drive which means it maybe the solid state hard drive. This may increase the speed of the drive but after transfering my files from the last computer I only have 30 to 40 gigs left to use. This is disappointing. to be honest i would have rather had 500 to 700 gigs than a 120g solid state. So far that is my only beef. Very nice overall computer."
4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for HP EliteBook 8460p Notebook PC
Overall:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
PB
Location: Sweden
Good but with unnecessary weeknesses
Date:January 18, 2012
"I have a Core i5/SSD version running an overburden company Vista installation and use it travelling and at a number of different office locations.
The nice things are that it starts quickly and is fast and doesn't have all the driver hassles my previous HP laptop suffered from. It usually finds different keyboards/screens/networks straight away. And the built in 3G card is brilliant - as fast as most hotel WLANs.
On the minus side, the first SSD packed up after 6 weeks with total data loss, it's heavy for its size, the keyboard light doesn't light the keyboard and the track pad only works when it feels like it.
It's also irritating that it needs new docking stations (3 in my case) which are overpriced and of lousy quality.
//PB
"
17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for HP EliteBook 8460p Notebook PC
Overall:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mike
laptop
Date:December 30, 2011
"Hate the keyboard/mouse and the LED for lighting the keys is useless. These are much better on Thinkpads. It is pretty fast though and I like the SSD."
4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for HP EliteBook 8460p Notebook PC
Overall:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Rajan
Location: Chennai
Aesthetics
Date:November 5, 2011
"1. The power cord connection on the side of the laptop is very uncomfortable and prone to damage when i move around the laptop especillay in my home. I would sugest to ahve all those connections at the back of the laptop for safety reasons.
2. There is no LED indication on the adapter which says if the power is available. I am finding it difficult especially in my office where i need to plug in beneath my desk and keep the ada[ter on top of my desk.
3. Left click (bottom) in the mouse pad is getting struck Again this has to do with design aesthetics.
"
14 out of 18 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for HP EliteBook 8460p Notebook PC
Overall:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Rigusz
Location: Hungary
New design is simply ugly
Date:November 4, 2011
"My first impression is: That's ugly. Go back to the 8440p design!"
15 out of 41 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for HP EliteBook 8460p Notebook PC
Overall:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
hp review
Location: UAE, dubai
ok but to fragile
Date:October 19, 2011
"i just bought it 3 weeks ago and the screen broke from a very small incident. too fragile"
6 out of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for HP EliteBook 8460p Notebook PC
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
thanh1602
Location: Hanoi, Vietnam
nearly perfect
Date:July 11, 2011
"Needless to say, it's one of the greatest laptop on the market. Although, I still found feature missing.
I'm looking for no-hard drive option as the the hard drive and ssd from the manufacturer are quite out of date
some ports can be move to docks such as vga and esata
why not adding a thunderbolt while it can be combined with displayport
adding a backlit keyboard, make it a bit thinner and reduce the space around the screen
replace the material of the case to full-aluminum
"
25 out of 34 people found this review helpful.
12next>>