Jump to content
Jump to content

Small & Medium Business

866-625-0242 for sales; Contact HP for support

Product Reviews

HP EliteBook 8440p Notebook PC

HP EliteBook 8440p Notebook PC
Average Customer Rating:
3.707 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (41 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
6
3 stars
8
2 stars
5
1 star
4
25 out of 41(61%)customers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for HP EliteBook 8440p Notebook PC
Review 21 for HP EliteBook 8440p Notebook PC
Overall:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
offero
Very good notebook
Date:October 21, 2010
"This is a quality machine; it has a tight feel to it, kind of like a new car with tight steering.
Keyboard: A little harder to push on the keys than I am used to, but I don't really find myself minding it all that much.
Media Keys: There are finger touch media buttons on the top above the keyboard. They launch the default mail client or web browser, enable/disable wireless, scroll lock, trackpad, and volume control. They are a nice feature, but every now and then I accidentally activate one of the buttons by sliding my hand from screen to keyboard. I'll get used to it though.
Also, there is a light on the top next to the camera that you can activate which shines down on the keyboard. So in case you are in a dark place and cannot see the keys, you can turn the light on. It's a nice feature, although a back-lit keyboard would have been coolest.
Camera: The integrated camera is nice to have for video calls.
4 cores in a single machine makes it quite snappy.
Battery life: I have been impressed with the battery life so far. It may not be as much as they claim on the specs, but much better than I am used to.
Screen: The screen is nice. I do wish it were an inch taller. There's some room at the top that should be covered by screen and not plastic!
OS: I have Ubuntu Maverick 10.10 running on there no problem. I have desktop effects on max and It works great. The video card and processors are more than enough to handle the good effects. The only thing I haven't gotten to work just yet is the finger-print reader, but I read that the driver for this version is being worked on and it will be updated soon.
Ports: 3 usb (I wish there were 4). Esata (nice touch), HDMI (nice touch), Smart Card reader built in.
Overall: very pleased, mostly because of the computing power and how Ubuntu looks and works great on this machine."
37 out of 39 people found this review helpful.
Review 22 for HP EliteBook 8440p Notebook PC
Overall:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
whaddaheck
Location: Thailand
Windows 2003 on hp elitebook 8440p
Date:September 28, 2010
"I tried many time in install Windows 2003 server on it but does not work.
It thrown blue screen while installing.
"
1 out of 17 people found this review helpful.
Review 23 for HP EliteBook 8440p Notebook PC
Overall:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Other Means
Location: Liverpool, UK.
Super fast but loses marks for screen
Date:July 6, 2010
"One caveat: if I'd realised how much having a screen of 900 height would mess with me I'd have probably thought again about getting this. Part of my job is creating websites and as they are made for a higher Y axis pixel value I've got to work around it.
However that aside I love this. Physically the finish is excellent. It's a lovely object to interact with. OK, maybe another little proviso, I'd have preferred more Thinkpad-like keys on the keyboard rather than the chiclet style but still, the action is nice and it's well laid out. The "end" key is nicely positioned, the "delete" could be bigger but you get used to it very quickly. This is the first laptop I've not put a keyboard on when at my desk - it's that nice to type on.
The best thing about it is the most important to me: it's super fast.
I swapped out the HDD for an SSD and that, coupled with the i7 architecture means that it flies. I get Photoshop loaded in < 3 seconds - every other computer I'm forced to use now seems glacial.
It seems extremely robust, there's no flex to it when in use and the metal in front of the keyboard means it's a nice place to put your hands.
Overall an extremely nice laptop."
31 out of 34 people found this review helpful.
Review 24 for HP EliteBook 8440p Notebook PC
Overall:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
AB
Location: OC, Ca
Docking Issues
Date:October 11, 2011
"laptop is a good stationary laptop. apparently this laptop does not undock very well as it crashes 60% of the time if i pull it of the docking station to go to a meeting. This is an issue as i am frequently changing locations and monitor set ups. After speaking with our IT dept apparently it does not come configured to undock. a laptop that does not undock, sorta defeats the purpose. It does perform well other than that. I am currently replacing with a more suitable model (also HP) that can reportedly undock."
5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 25 for HP EliteBook 8440p Notebook PC
Overall:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
RegBusinessUser
Location: Texas
Buggy and unstable
Date:August 24, 2011
"I have only had this 3 weeks, and have major stability issues. Our company's loads XP instead of Win which you would think would make it more stable instead of less stable. I can't work an entire day using ms office apps without one catastrophic failure.
Please, if you buy/issued this laptop, be prepared for frequent crashes, and save often"
4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 26 for HP EliteBook 8440p Notebook PC
Overall:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
xtin
Location: Zurich, Switzerland
Overall OK, but some strong drawbacks
Date:June 26, 2011
"Generally the computer is quite ok. It lives up to the expectations on performance and physical stability, while the battery time decayed to an ok 1.5hrs quickly.
The two real drawbacks are for one the lousy display. It's extremly sensitive to viewing angle both vertical and horizontal and the colors are "ok" at best. Contrast is fine though.
The other drawback is the audio. At first I was using the horrid drivers that came along and had some real issues where it only very inconsistently detected an unplugging of the jack, which was very annoying.
The sound is flat at best, without any noticeable bass.
"
11 out of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 27 for HP EliteBook 8440p Notebook PC
Overall:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reviewer
Location: Sacto, CA
IT
Date:February 4, 2011
"Not for home user. Could be better if the screen can turn brighter. No HDMI port."
25 out of 40 people found this review helpful.
Review 28 for HP EliteBook 8440p Notebook PC
Overall:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
topher
Location: alberta, Canada
Not as good as expected
Date:November 27, 2010
"have only had this laptop turned one for a few months and now i have a disk read error which is near fatal and requires the recovery disk
not good"
3 out of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 29 for HP EliteBook 8440p Notebook PC
Overall:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
lejeczek
Location: Cambridge
HP is no exeption...
Date:September 22, 2010
"and follows a silly trend, just like most other vendors do, namely:
it is a laptop aimed at professionals with LCD designed for entertainment - what a joke this is.
Ask anybody who ever seriously worked on WSXGA+ resolution. This standard could have been easily incorporated by this laptop with much greater benefit to the end user, but no! instead we get fancy srancy HD/HD+..
this is a massive downside which spoils otherwise good product.
!one more thing, again potentially interesting to professionals, touch-typers, namely
Arrow keys are about whole 1cm to far too the right. Whole keyboard is a bit too "spread"
all my friends are "pro" so I would not and do not recommend them the 8440p"
9 out of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 30 for HP EliteBook 8440p Notebook PC
Overall:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pro
Location: Toronto, Canada
Could have been the best notebook
Date:June 8, 2010
"The Elitebook has many amazing features but sadly there are some things that needs to be worked on. Many things about this notebook is great such as 1600*900 resolution on a 14", webcam, keyboard light, strong design, etc, but there are a few things (which are big to some) that I am disappointed in:
1) The colours are WAY off
The screen has some sort of tinge to it. It's really bad for a notebook of this calibre and am quite disappointed. Adjusting it with nVidia's colour control is time consuming and don't think I can calibrate it well. Please HP, looking at pictures looks terrible for an Elitebook. Many people have complained about this.
2) It gets hot
There is no reason for this. When I'm using for average thing such as surfing the net, it gets hotter than my old laptop. When I'm gaming, it gets incredibly hot... and that's with the lowest settings.
3) HP Secure Tools screws up with VMware
It took me days to figure out that VMware and HP Secure do not like each other and won't let you log in to the machine. Instead it will lock up and I was annoyed with this so I can't use HP Secure Tools at the moment.
4) No improvement on the point stick
I love using point sticks and was one reason why I got this laptop, but unfortunately my old Compaq laptop had a much better pointstick. ThinkPads have a great pointstick as well. The problem with this point stick is that it's too soft and oddly shaped, making me lose precision. With other point sticks it's a blast using as I can do things as fast as a mouse but not with this :(
I love HP but they really need to fix these things!"
21 out of 22 people found this review helpful.
Review 31 for HP EliteBook 8440p Notebook PC
Overall:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Dave
Location: Atlanta, GA
Fast notebook, Stability, well ehhh...
Date:May 18, 2010
"This notebook is FAST! This notebook could make the Kessel Run in less than twelve parsecs, but it is not entirely stable.
This notebook works great with Windows 7, except the graphics driver likes to randomly change the screen resolution on the built in screen. The notebook ships with a W7 license downgraded to XP. This notebook will not take a custom XP image at all. I wasted days on this endeavor. If you are one of the companies waiting for W7 SP1 you will need to work around that.
The 1366x768 resolution screen looks great, but do not buy the model with 1600x900 resolution for the 14.1" onboard LCD. The 1600x900 screen also does not adapt well to having the resolution reduced. If your users are like mine, they like to take a 22” Viewsonic Graphics Series monitor and turn the resolution down to 800x600. This will not work on the 8440p. You get a small image in the middle of the screen with black around it. The biggest complaint for the preceding model was that the screen was too dark. This has been fixed in the 8440p.
The docking station connectors that have been around since early 2005 have finally changed. You will need a new dock if you are replacing an aging HP/Compaq Business Notebook. The new docking stations have the same capabilities as the old style. HP seems to have changed them for the sake of change.
The new Gobi mobile broadband cards from our old 6930p notebooks seem to still work in the new 8440p notebooks. Good for you Qualcomm.
This 14.1" business notebook is still noticeably heavier than the rest of its competition, but HP's business line notebook features as well as the ProLiant servers keep us with HP as our primary notebook vendor.
W7 Windows Experience Index for i7 version
Processor 6.5
Memory (RAM) 6.7
Graphics 5.0
Gaming graphics 6.0
HDD 5.9
"
110 out of 121 people found this review helpful.
Review 32 for HP EliteBook 8440p Notebook PC
Overall:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
PNC
Location: London
Worst one
Date:July 26, 2011
"I got this at my work and this is the worst system. While testing different security levels, suddenly it gets a blue screen and I should restart the system. All my work is lost and don't know if the data is secure. I don't know how to test it in production."
4 out of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 33 for HP EliteBook 8440p Notebook PC
Overall:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Joe
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Better options out there
Date:July 20, 2011
"For the price i suppose it's OK, but it leaves much to be desired. Missing HDMI port so you can't connect it for high-quality video output. It works fine as a business machine, but the graphics and sound capabilities are lacking, so you won't be playing any games if that's your cup of tea. Also i've had problems with the network card suddenly going offline and NOTHING will bring it back other than a complete reboot - a real annoying time waster."
6 out of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 34 for HP EliteBook 8440p Notebook PC
Overall:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Al
Location: San Jose
Crash when plug/unplug headphone
Date:May 31, 2011
"I had this computer for 2 months, battery only last for 2.5 hours, it gives me blue screen every time I plug in or unplug head phone when computer is running."
8 out of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 35 for HP EliteBook 8440p Notebook PC
Overall:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
HPSHAREOWNER
Location: San Jose, CA
Not as good as the past models.
Date:October 10, 2010
"This model was a replacement for another HP 8510 and was expecting more.
System locks up frequently:
When docking/undocking.
USB ports lock up.
Worst is that the screen resolution quite low and affects the usability, especially when using dual screens and different resolutions."
13 out of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 36 for HP EliteBook 8440p Notebook PC
Overall:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sammie
Location: Washington, DC
Not Convinced
Date:September 29, 2010
"Have used Dell notebooks for years. First time using an HP (company purchase). My biggest complaint -- the touchpad (and the left/right click in particular) are frustrating to use. I haven't used a mouse for years, but was forced to go back to using one with this notebook. I've read that this has to do with HP deciding to go with a hinge design for the left/right click, which apparently is not typical. Maybe there's a reason it's not typical. It doesn't work very well! As other commenters noted, hibernation is sometimes an issue -- have had to force a shutdown a few times due to black screen; and the notebook does get incredibly hot at times. I am not impressed."
15 out of 18 people found this review helpful.
Review 37 for HP EliteBook 8440p Notebook PC
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bernie
Location: MUNICH
BAD
Date:September 8, 2011
"Crashed after 3 weeks with HDD failure. If you type with 10 fingers the ENTER key is too small. The keyboard is lousy, no real feeling for the keys..buy another one instead!"
4 out of 18 people found this review helpful.
Review 38 for HP EliteBook 8440p Notebook PC
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The disabled professional
Poor laptop
Date:August 6, 2011
"Poor screen graphics and size. Why companies are buying these for their employees is beyond me. oh wait.. the price... you get what you pay for... dont buy it. you wont be happy..."
14 out of 25 people found this review helpful.
Review 39 for HP EliteBook 8440p Notebook PC
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Debus
This thing is junk.
Date:June 30, 2011
"Screen: Terrible. Trackpad: Terrible. Keyboard: Terrible. I got this at work and it is about the worst laptop I have had. We had thinkpads prior to these. Much better."
18 out of 36 people found this review helpful.
Review 40 for HP EliteBook 8440p Notebook PC
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Rajesh
Location: Bangalore
worst laptop
Date:September 27, 2010
"This laptop is one of the worst ever i used. Tje laptop does not come out of hibrenation properly."
5 out of 26 people found this review helpful.
<<prev123next>>