Jump to content
Jump to content

Small & Medium Business

866-625-0242 for sales; Contact HP for support

Product Reviews

HP EliteBook 6930p Notebook PC series

HP EliteBook 6930p Notebook PC series
Average Customer Rating:
3.961 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (26 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
1
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 star
2
18 out of 26(69%)customers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for HP EliteBook 6930p Notebook PC series
Review 1 for HP EliteBook 6930p Notebook PC series
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
T. Mash
Location: Tyler, TX
Still Going Strong!
Date:January 22, 2013
"Got it cheap and it's worth WAY more than I paid for it!
LOVE this thing.
"
6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for HP EliteBook 6930p Notebook PC series
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mac
Location: Los Angeles
I Love it
Date:October 20, 2011
"This is my second Laptop and I feel like I overdid my upgrade..In short everything about it is perfect, from the battery life to the ease of use, the look, speed and the quality"
6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for HP EliteBook 6930p Notebook PC series
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Beemer 530
Location: San Diego, Ca
6930p Elitebook
Date:April 17, 2010
"Great product with lots of options and functionality built in, plus a great warranty. Just blows anything Dell has out of the water plus it has excellent quality and is fast!! Best notebook I have ever owned! Keep up the great work HP!"
4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for HP EliteBook 6930p Notebook PC series
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JP
Location: Nottingham, UK
Really brilliant laptop...
Date:February 13, 2010
"Got this in May and I've used it virtually every day since then (There's actually noticeable wear on the left click button). I spent a very long time choosing the right laptop, and I think I made the right choice. The laptop came with Vista Business, which I fully expected to be awful - I wasn't let down. I quickly set up a dual-boot system with XP and Ubuntu Linux, which is really the best of both worlds - I can use iTunes, Photoshop and Flash in Windows, and then standard use is fulfilled on the brilliant Ubuntu Linux. Initially there were a few issues with compatibility and Ubuntu, but now with Karmic Koala most of these were sorted (I couldn't suspend it though, turns out I had to blacklist the memory card reader, ricoh_mmc).
Brilliant build quality, a fantastic laptop."
8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for HP EliteBook 6930p Notebook PC series
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ben Hidman
Location: Toronto
GETS IT DONE
Date:January 22, 2010
"this laptop is going to get all of your work done; and do it fast. this laptop is a beast! its wifi range is enormous. battery life is about 3-4 hours with the regular 6 cell battery... if you add a second 12 cell battery you will get about 14-18 hours of battery life!!!! you will have o charge it only once in a day or two.
this is what you will get from this kind of pc.
(i'm no usindg a 12 cell battery. battery is now 84% which is going to get me about 8 1/2 hours of battery life) I've used it (the laptop) for about 6 1/2 hours so far."
6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for HP EliteBook 6930p Notebook PC series
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Piranha
Location: Ghana
Best Lasptop
Date:January 5, 2010
"This is the best laptop I have ever used. Good keyboad, well built and rugged body construction, good performance and secutiy features. I would recommend this product before blinking my eyes. Works perfect for me."
9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for HP EliteBook 6930p Notebook PC series
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
son
Location: Port Harcourt, Nigeria.
A Welcome Experience
Date:November 29, 2009
"HP EliteBook 6930p powered by intel core processor T9600 is an excellent performer with remarkable battery life and high mobility. It feels comfortable on your laps with no heat discomfort even after long hours of work.
However, a keyboard backlight that will illuminate characters will be preferred to the pop-out light on top of monitor. In addition, the fingerprint sensor can act funnily and need to be improved. Otherwise, my purchase of the unit is a welcome experience and I am planning to buy another for my student daughter."
9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for HP EliteBook 6930p Notebook PC series
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
HPUSER
Location: Sao Paulo,SP BRAZIL
Excellent!
Date:November 19, 2009
"Very good performance, keyboard is the best that I ever used!
It cames with wireless N, figerprint, and more!
I would recomend for everyone!
"
1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for HP EliteBook 6930p Notebook PC series
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Deno
Location: Kenya
HP 6930 Elite Book
Date:November 5, 2009
"This machine is too good. I own one and it's a good perfomer. I recommend it for anyone who's looking for a laptop."
2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for HP EliteBook 6930p Notebook PC series
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Greg
Location: Seattle, WA
Great Laptop
Date:October 21, 2009
"I got upgraded about 2 months ago to this machine. It's a solid lightweight machine. Mine is loaded with Vista and it runs great with it. Much better than my old machine running XP. Bettery life is real nice. I am getting 3 - 4 hours. I have read complaints about display brightness on battery. I don't find it to be objectionable but this is something you can easily change by going into the OS power settings. If you want a brighter display while on battery, you can change it and sacrifice battery life.
I like this laptop so much I am trying to figure out how to buy one for my personal use with Windows 7. That way I can use the same docking setup at home for my work and personal laptops. I also like the 3 year warranty and better shock and vib specs."
4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for HP EliteBook 6930p Notebook PC series
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gahhh
Location: AZ
Hey it works
Date:September 2, 2009
"I was discussing support/repair response in an IT community a few days ago. We have about 100 of these units being used in house and in the field. I really couldn't answer that question because since we have had these units as early as the end of last year we have not had to have 1 repaired for anything. They just work."
10 out of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for HP EliteBook 6930p Notebook PC series
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Karl
Location: Amherst, NY
Very capable with good quality
Date:August 20, 2009
"I purchased the EliteBook 6930p w/4GB, 160GB and 2.4MHz and removed XP downgrade for Vista Business (came with discs for both) I also purchased the docking station and extra life battery (fits on bottom of computer).
Battery life:
With the XL batter attached, I typically get 6 hours without doing much in the way of conservation of power. I can't see the screen too well when it is on battery, so I always step it up a few notches and still get good battery life. - I noted that the extended battery fits on the bottom. When you are undocked the battery places a tilt on the machine which is very comfortable for typing. I recommend the battery if not for this reason alone.
Performace:
No real issues here. I don't game or do weird stuff, just business applications like Office and some programming like VB, VBA, ASP, FORTRAN, etc. and no issues here either.
Screen:
While it is bright, it can be regarded as dim if you use the ambient light sensor (a small sensor just over the keyboard). Do to the location, if you happen to place something over it, the screen really dims. Also, even in bright locations, it does not full brighten the screen. It is easily turned off (Fn+F11) and the screen is muy brighto. I am using 1440x900 and can easily see all the text clearly and crisp.
Keyboard/Pad:
Keyboard has a very good feel and I personally like the response and layout. I now have difficulty using an older Toshiba I had. The touchpad is responsive but has the scroll portion along the side and for some reason on this particular unit, it seems to scroll when I don't want it to. I never had this issue on other LT's, so I can't figure why, but nevertheless, it is the only frustrating part of the keyboard (minor too). The touch buttons along the top of the key for additional functions like volume, mute, wireless (enable/disable), etc. work fine except the volume control. It is extremely hard to use and get a volume you like. Slide along and it kinda works, but not. poke at it and it kinda works, but not. It was a nice idea that apparently was never tested by the guy who made it.
Case:
It looks nice and has that aluminum-ish (don't know if it is really) top. It must be some kind of metal as I have dents in it. So far nothing serious, but dents. The lid has a button on the front for opening and locking. The button is somewhat recessed and can be difficult to open one handed, but this is not a real problem as it is clumsy. The lid also has a built in web cam and an led light for lighting your keys at night. I love that feature! The camera is adequate and functions with my Polycom PVX software without issue. The heat comes out the left side and it quiet and not very hot. Appears to have good cooling. Most of the time the ambient noise in my office is more than the fan noise, so I don't even hear it.
Overall:
I have had all the LT's (well a lot) and this one so far is my best. I was a Toshiba guy for years (my second best - Tecra M2) until my last one - a Tecra M9. It was quite possibly the worst Toshiba ever built. I purchased computers for my company and had changed from Dell to Toshiba years ago. I purchased at least 10 of these units and everyone has had issues and cooling problems, and half have been repaired for motherboards, failed HD, etc.
This unit is very good for business users who spend a lot of time in the office but is easily portable enough for traveling. It is a bit heavy, especially if you have the extended battery, but that is what wheelie cases are for. I have dragged my to Mexico, Germany and it rides in my saddlebag on my motorcycle every day to and from work. It has so far been a stellar machine with little to no issues.
I recommend this unit to any business class user."
34 out of 35 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for HP EliteBook 6930p Notebook PC series
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DMVinnie
Location: Legihg Valley area of PA
Outstanding
Date:June 23, 2009
"Unlike many people, I purchased this laptop (FM896UT) for personal/academic use. I wanted a laptop that was rugged, dependable, easy to upgrade, and had the features in needed for the money I wanted to spend. I certainly got what I was looking for with the EliteBook. I like the fact that it comes with XP, but that it includes the disc for Vista Business. A 32 bit operating system was also a "must have" for me as my software doesn't run on 64 bit. The commercially available 32 bit notebooks I looked at didn't impress me with features or quality so that's why I spent the extra money for the EliteBook. The three year warranty was also a big selling point (4 because I purchased it with a credit card) and I know I won't have to worry about paying if and when things go wrong.
Some of the security features aren't necessary for a personal user, but they're easily removed. Setup was quite easy, but I did have a conflict with the "Quicklook" utility. It's not something I need so I uninstalled it and it could be because I'm using Office 2000 as opposed to something current.
For anyone looking for a high quality laptop designed for getting real work done, I urge you to consider an EliteBook. Trust me, you won't be disappointed."
22 out of 55 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for HP EliteBook 6930p Notebook PC series
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bryan
Location: St. Louis, MO
BEST LAPTOP EVER
Date:March 5, 2009
"I get new notebooks all the time and this is the best notebook ever built. It's built like a tank yet very small and light. The case is very durable and scratch resistant. It's very speedy and the video rocks. BUY IT!!"
5 out of 37 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for HP EliteBook 6930p Notebook PC series
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
spirolli
Location: Philadelpa, PA
6930p - Useability
Date:January 19, 2009
"I've been using a notebook computer as my primary device for the past 16 years. Over that time, I have mostly owned HP notebook computers however, my last two units were a Dell and a Lenovo Thinkpad respectively. Most recently, I'm back in HP's camp with the new 6930p in my possession.
It's worth noting that in my opinion the Lenovo T60p was a much better built unit compared to the Dell Precision M50. The Lenovo was a real no frills, work horse computer. The Dell was plagued by a flimsy chassis which eventually led to a loose internal hard drive connection and various other internal connection issues.
The new HP 6930p is by far the best notebook I have owned.
Things I like: The lightweight chassis of the 6930p is both stiff and solid. The screen is bright, crisp and clear. The notebook is fast at running standard applications like the MS-Office suite and various Antivirus programs. Standard battery life is just right (about 2 hours with no power saving features activated) for the size and weight of this unit. The wireless card has great performance. The security features are more than adequate and actually work as indicated. Built in LED light and webcam can come in handy. Springy keyboard is another plus.
Things I don't like:
Touch bar. I'd rather have buttons for those features that require "sliding", as it takes several tries to get the volume just where you want it. I’ve also found that the built in media card reader is somewhat difficult to use and doesn’t always work as planned. It’s possible that the media card reader needs to be replaced, which under the onsite warranty, is fairly painless.
"
49 out of 57 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for HP EliteBook 6930p Notebook PC series
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Block666
Location: Doah, Qatar
The Best Ever
Date:November 19, 2008
"Amazing laptop. As always HP laptops performance and technology are breath taking; 55 hours battery, integrated 2 MP Webcam with business card reader software and much more are some of the unique features this laptop."
13 out of 44 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for HP EliteBook 6930p Notebook PC series
Overall:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cholingo
Location: Virginia
6930p KS084UT
Date:August 4, 2009
"I have owned this laptop for 8 months, and have been very pleased with its overall performance. The Intel P8600 processor performs great at all times, is fast and handles multiple tasks effortlessly. I am pleased with the clear display and the graphics. The chassis is solid and light, dropped once from 2 feet without any problems. Fingerprint security and Credential Manager are features that I can't imagine not having. Wireless connectivity has always been great. Keyboard and mouspad feel superior to others I have used. I also enjoy the nightlight feature and the durable case finish.
Some dislikes include: no ability to play DVDs, heat from fan area is more noticeable after 8 months, Credential Manager sometimes stops working and does not perform automatic logins, and optical drive door easily opens if pressure is applied near button.
I would highly recommend this laptop!"
6 out of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for HP EliteBook 6930p Notebook PC series
Overall:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
First Time HP User
Location: Connecticut
Company laptop
Date:January 1, 2010
"I have experienced very few problems, however the ones that I do experience is signficant. The delete key is right next to the home key, therefore I have accidently deleted network files requiring the help of IT dept to recover. Secondly, the control of the volume on the keyboard is useless, it often raises the volume when I am typing or trying to use the top keys. The speed of the laptop is great, especially since I do alot of computer work when on the go, at home or in the office and I am able to utilize the same computer for all three tasks."
7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for HP EliteBook 6930p Notebook PC series
Overall:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Tyler
Location: Houston, TX
Decent Note Book
Date:September 3, 2009
"A light compatible machine, doesn't however work great with Vista"
5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for HP EliteBook 6930p Notebook PC series
Overall:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Taylor
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Loses out on display
Date:August 7, 2009
"This seems a pretty good laptop, but if you disconnect the power cord, the screen dims to the point where you really can't read it. Maybe I am getting too old for a power conserving laptop, but the brightness controls do not work, so you are stuck with the dimness. I am returning this one and looking for a better and bright display."
23 out of 37 people found this review helpful.
12next>>