Jump to content
Jump to content

Small & Medium Business

866-625-0242 for sales; Contact HP for support

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

6730b

Average Customer Rating:
3.444 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
3
11 out of 18(61%)customers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for 6730b
Review 1 for 6730b
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Loki
Very reliable, excellent for work.
Date:April 10, 2012
"My company purchased this laptop for me, and I am very satisfied with it's reliability. This laptop has traveled a lot, worked outside, once I even accidently spilled full kettle of boiled water on it, and after it was dried it still works fine. Good performance, enough for applications I use, and it has a COM port! But I had to upgrade hard drive capacity to 1 TB and plan to upgrade RAM to 4 GB, only to run multiple virtual machines simultaneously. The only drivers issue I had was with fingerprint reader, this driver in my case lead to some bugs in logon dialog, so I simply do not install it. Anyway, I like this laptop very much and would recommend it as excellent laptop for work."
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 6730b
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rix
Location: Fiji
Good one
Date:January 26, 2011
"For studing purpose i recommed this 6730b.
only the built in camera is pathetic or else its a good buy.
"
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 6730b
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jannie
Great value for money
Date:April 24, 2010
"I have been in PC technology since 1980.
I have used many brands of laptops from less expensive to more expensive units . The HP 6730b with expanded RAM, operating on Windows 7 has given very little incompatibilities, compared to most other types of laptops used by me, in the past. I do find the finger scanner and mouse functions a bit of a weak point, but using an external mouse is mostly used, solving the problem. The unit is a great buy - in my opinion.
"
6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 6730b
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ruk
Location: Doha, Qatar
Great Laptop
Date:December 22, 2009
"Hi,
I'm using HP6730B and i'm really happy with it. I'm a IT professional and it makes my life easy to do my job better. With windows 7 it is even better.
"
6 out of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 6730b
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NetworkPro
Location: Dallas, Texas
A Great Work PC
Date:December 5, 2009
"This is my work PC and it I have found it to be a great balance of power, weight and size. A high quality display is important to me and this large 1680x1050 display increases my overall productivity in a package that is also a reasonable travel weight and size. Overall quality and performance is very good. I would recommend this PC for anyone interested in getting serious work done."
5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 6730b
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ian
Location: Nairobi
Great notebook
Date:August 27, 2009
"Hi! It is my fourth notebook. Before i was using Toshiba models only and it is my first HP. I do some graphic designing - using heavy applications and I found that this notebook is perfect. I highly recomend it."
16 out of 18 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 6730b
Overall:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
IT Admin
Died but back
Date:January 16, 2011
"We bought couple of 6730b. Just after the warranty expired, the processor died. We replaced it with a T5550 with a lower clock speed. Since then its been fine.
We do open up notebooks for repairs if the warranty is expired. One thing we noted about this notebook is that it has very week connections between internal components. Most of the connections are without locks including the button panel and the touch pad.
But overall I would recommend this laptop."
4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 6730b
Overall:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jernej
just works on linux
Date:December 19, 2010
"model with intel graphics & intel wifi
just works on linux
"
7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 6730b
Overall:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
albuli77
Location: Oshkosh, WI
Great Travel Notebook
Date:November 11, 2009
"As a company we decided to go with these notebooks for our next generation of laptops that replace laptops we bought 3 years ago. I was tasked with configuring the first one we ordered to go to the owner of the company. Since he travels a lot, we decided to get the Bettery Extension kit. Connected to Wifi, running office suit products I was still getting between 10 and 12 hours of battery from this notebook every time I unplugged it. The feel when working on the machine was great. We did have to downgrade to XP for now, since we are not ready to make the jump to Windows 7. There were time when the laptop lagged, especially when Windows was indexing something or loading multiple heavy pages on Firefox. The lag was not too annoying, not any more annoying than on any other laptop.
Two reasons why I gave it 4 stars instead of 5. First, the keyboard was defective when we first got it, and had to be replace. Second, I think the design of the mouse pad is slightly flawed. The finger printer reader is set between the two mouse buttons on the mouse pad. I very often we lightly tough it and it almost always turned on the HP Security package provided with the notebook. This got very annoying, and I had to switch to a USB mouse just to keep my sanity.
Overall great business laptop for heavy traveler or employees on the move often (such as IT personnel). I just wish the finger print scanner was better located."
17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 6730b
Overall:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
muro
Location: Poprad, Slovakia
Sureness of classic
Date:September 2, 2009
"If you are looking for stable and comfort solutions for your work and entertainment, this notebook is the real product for you."
5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 6730b
Overall:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
richarduie
Location: Atlanta
Pretty Solid Box
Date:May 8, 2013
"Bought mine refurbished for $229 (including shipping) last June. Includes 2GB RAM.
Immediately wiped the hard drive of XP and installed Kubuntu 10.04. All of the hardware EXCEPT the external mic jack work. My Logitech web-cam's mic works perfectly well via USB. No additional drivers were required for any the hardware. Web-cam works both with Skype and Cheese.
Fan's loud and runs hard when I play Flash games in a web browser. Same but less often and less long for some movies.
Keyboard is a little squishy for my tastes, and resting your wrists on the case, risks producing wacky mouse tricks.
Touch pad can be set to be very responsive - single gesture only.
If I'd bought it new for its original price, I'd probably feel burned. Given what I paid, and the fact that I've had it for a year, the title of the review says it all.
Really more 3.5 stars, but that's not an option, and it's definitely not 4."
5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 6730b
Overall:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Jono
Location: New Zealand
Bad drivers
Date:June 12, 2010
"The drivers on this system are terrible, I'm using the official XP drivers.
- Network card device disappears when the network cable is unplugged, fixed with driver update but now system won't boot if cable plugged in.
- Wireless network rarely works when using Windows WZC, only sometimes with Intel utility.
- USB devices sometimes not recognised after wake.
- External monitor sometimes not recognised without reboot.
"
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 6730b
Overall:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
student
Location: urbana, IL
questionable notebook
Date:September 2, 2009
"Personally, I'm rather convinced that my notebook was defective. I've had it for a little over a year, and have had numerous problems, and have had to send it in several times now.
1)my hardrive died after less than a year
2) it spontaneously shuts down, and at one point would take several tries to turn on (like up to 10-20) and would shut down in the middle of turning on
3) when I sent my laptop in to be fixed the 2nd time, when the operatives i talked to on the phone were unable to isolate the problem, I was told it was probably my motherboard, but it wouldn't be fixed, because there was external damage to a port, although i didn't notice anything, and the port worked just fine.
4)my power adapter is on the verge of breaking a second time. After the first one broke, (and was replaced under warranty) I was as careful as i could be with the new one, and still less than half a year later, I am having trouble with my new adapter.
Another problem is that the "mouse" keys that you use to click are made of a rubbery material, and mine became damaged rather quickly.
Other than the problems, the laptop works fine, I don't use it for anything particularly strenuous, but it seems efficient. (I chose to use the downgrade to windows xp, because vista takes up so much more ram. )
Overall, I would say that it has been a major hassle for me, but at the same time, i know others who have the same model with no troubles. To be safe, I would recommend the extended warranty, so you don't have to worry about the warranty claims."
34 out of 36 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 6730b
Overall:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
roadwarrior
Location: Atlanta GA
average computer/brick
Date:February 9, 2010
"This is an average computer, which means it will do what you need it to do. But, it is best suited to sit on a desk, with occasional trips to the conference room. It is not friendly for travel. It is heavy, and provably more unforgivable, thick, making it difficult to carry. Battery life is worse than average, which means it needs an external batter to have a reasonable run time, adding an extra inch of thickness and 1.2 pounds making it unwieldy.
There are better choices.
Software wise, its windows, it crashes occasionally and doesn't sleep well."
8 out of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 6730b
Overall:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Bruce
Location: Berlin, Germany
Heavy
Date:January 25, 2010
"Even though I am on the road for 250+ days a year, our Company recommended this model as a robust tool. After 1 year, I find that the weight of this computer is a real downer. At 2.7 kg + the battery pack and other accoutrements, it's just too heavy for someone who travels very frequently. If you fit my profile, get a smaller, lighter computer.
Also the HP Tools software is more annoying than helpful. The fingerprint recognition is still buggy and the multiple log-in entry requirements is a hassle.
Sorry for the negative feedback.
"
8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 6730b
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
SteveD
Location: WI
Worse Business Laptop ever....
Date:April 12, 2011
"Simply put this is the worse laptop I have ever had the misfortune to use. I think the XP drivers are bad. Constant network issues with it dropping off the hardwired LAN or the wireless network. Also I have a fairly standard docking station setup and I can't undock go to a mtg and re-dock afterwards without losing the laptops display. On re-docking I only get the external monitor unless I reboot. Finally constantly locks up for periods of time does not recognize the C drive, even though the drive is fine."
11 out of 26 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 6730b
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
AlejandroARG
Location: Argentina
One bad laptop
Date:June 14, 2010
"The 6730b lacks of a usability test.
The front audio jacks make you jam with the cables and renders the 6730b almost useless to work in bed and using headsets.
The weight of the 6730b is incorrectly balanced, it tends to fall over the display instead of staying stable over the lap. It's very uncomfortable if working in a chair.
This could have been easily solved if the battery were in the front.
The lock chain hole is in the back of the 6730b, it would have been easier to use if it were at the side
I've bought it only for the name of HP, but I regret the invested money.
"
7 out of 17 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 6730b
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
itsmejs
Location: Madison, WI
hp6730b Crashes Everyday
Date:March 21, 2010
"I get the blue screen of death everyday, sometimes twice a day."
3 out of 14 people found this review helpful.