Jump to content
Jump to content

Small & Medium Business

866-625-0242 for sales; Contact HP for support

Product Reviews

HP Compaq 6530b Notebook PC series

HP Compaq 6530b Notebook PC series
Average Customer Rating:
3.454 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
2
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
0
6 out of 11(55%)customers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for HP Compaq 6530b Notebook PC series
Review 1 for HP Compaq 6530b Notebook PC series
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AD
Location: Atlanta, GA
Very Sleek Laptop
Date:April 23, 2009
"- Laptop is sleeker than the previous generation(6510b) it is replacing.
- Super fast.
- Very well-built.
- HP Business support is awesome. I have used HP business laptops since nx6100->nx632x->6510b- and now 6530b, and have been impressed with their support.
"
5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for HP Compaq 6530b Notebook PC series
Overall:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
John H
Location: Seattle WA
Good value, solid performance
Date:December 20, 2008
"Have had my 6530b for 3 months now and am quite satisified with only a couple of complaints.
On the plus side the machine has top of the line processing and communications capabilities. Keyboard is efficient and comfortable, mouse pad well placed, and screen bright and easy to read in all lights with its matt finish.
Unexpected pluses were better than average speakers and an exceptionally quiet fan. Like the size and weight advantages of a 14.1 sized screen and it is still large enough to be very workable.
A couple of not so good attributes. The case is not as solidly put together as my previous Fujitsu laptop -- keyboard a bit loose at one corner and you can catch your finger on the edges of the case. Second ongoing problem is from the touch sensitive volume control. Sometimes (like right now) it comes onto the screen without being asked. It comes and goes and seems to be something to do with static electricity. Doesn't affect perfomance but is annoying. So far HP has not been able to figure it out, although they tried.
Overall, I'm very happy with this purchase -- not a perfect laptop, but a very good combination of performance and ergonomics at an excellent price point."
60 out of 62 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for HP Compaq 6530b Notebook PC series
Overall:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bonn
Location: Singapore, SG
Very good notebook
Date:January 8, 2010
"Just got the notebook for a week. Feels much faster, lighter in weight and the screen is brilliant.
The only qualm is the keyboard. I do wish the Home, PGUP, PGDN and End can be place together with the Scroll, Pause, Insert and Delete keys. It does feel pretty awkward though coming from a ex-Thinkpad user.
Some earlier reviewers mentioned that the screen brightness cannot be adjusted. But it can be done and it works. Maybe they got a faulty unit.
I do agree that the placement of 2 USB ports (on he Right hand side) does cause inconvenience esp when you are using a wired mouse. Personal preference is to locate the USB ports where the lock and RJ-11 plugs are. The other 2 on the Left hand side are fine with me. Actually the lock and RJ-11 placement logically will be good if it is at the back. This is esp so if the RJ-11 and RJ-45 are put together. Oh well, not much real estate at the back though unless the battery is made shorter but wider.
Wish list :
1. To allow user to choose whether the CPU should regulate its speed. I do at times prefers the CPU to run at full speed rather than waiting for it to ramp up its speed. User can feel a lag.
2. To include at least one Esata and USB combo connector.
3. Better quality speakers.
4. Include backlighting for keyboard.
Overall, a fast machine (and light weight as well) for daily work and internet surfing."
19 out of 20 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for HP Compaq 6530b Notebook PC series
Overall:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Dawn
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
School Use and Home
Date:May 21, 2009
"I didnt get much of a choice of what computer I would get. I ordered it through my school and I love it. Great features, fast, and great size when you have to carrie it with you all the time. Ive only had mine for 2 weeks so the only bad thing is the volume buttons. I eather have it on or off. Trying to lower or higher the volume is a little difficult but all in all very good computer. We are going to buy my husband one next."
6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for HP Compaq 6530b Notebook PC series
Overall:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Donald D
Location: Albania
Sound problems
Date:March 4, 2009
"The 6530B works just fine, ecept for a few problems that are really anoying me.
First, it's the volume thing. When I'm watching a movie, and I try to lower or move it, it keeps on changing.Don't know why.
Second, it's the keyboard.The refresh rate stuck, even why I've put it on the maximum speed(when i keep pressed a key, it doesn't keep on typing that key, in stead i've to push it several time).
Besides these prob. the 6530b has been a good friend, even in gaming :-))"
6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for HP Compaq 6530b Notebook PC series
Overall:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Rock
Location: Kansas
Screen and Brightness Issues
Date:November 14, 2009
"Three problems
1) Screen glare is bad when working in direct sunlight.
2)Screen brightness buttons do not work at all.
3) Almost impossible to see screen when working outside in sunny areas.
Fast but hard to use if you want to travel with this unit."
10 out of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for HP Compaq 6530b Notebook PC series
Overall:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
OleTange
Location: Copenhagen, DK
Only 8 GB RAM
Date:March 4, 2013
"The machine can only be extended to 8 GB RAM and only of the expensive type of RAM.
The sound card is flaky when using GNU/Linux.
The good part is that the power supply works with different HP laptops."
6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for HP Compaq 6530b Notebook PC series
Overall:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
ACtinium
Location: California
Laptop experience
Date:November 24, 2009
"The laptop was a school choice - so I am happy to have been provided with one. The laptop itself is pretty good except for the display the positioning of the USB ports and the screen quality.
1. The display on the laptop screen is pretty dull. Lighted or dimmed or controlled environment - it is horrible, which makes a viable reason for me not to recommend this product. VISION FATIGUE IS INEVITABLE. There are no set controls that will improve this.
2. The USB ports are placed around in such a manner that external devices such as a wired numeric key pad or an external hard drive just gets in the way of their functionality.
Microsoft did their part by improving their software experience HP on the other hand charged a lot to our schools in producing this unit with lots of room to improve - get on with it HP recall this unit and fix this.
"
7 out of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for HP Compaq 6530b Notebook PC series
Overall:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
beautiful_bc
Location: Sydney, Australia
My School Laptop
Date:March 31, 2010
"This is the laptop I use for school. In my opinion it's pretty good because it does has alot of memory for you to fill. But it has died out and have been unresponsive on me a couple of times. Sometimes the arrow key pad might pop up a bit and you have to press it down. Too bad there is not that much security tools (fingerprint scans and photographic sign in). It does have a little weight but it's great for students because I don't take it everywhere with me. The laptop is not that bad"
10 out of 23 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for HP Compaq 6530b Notebook PC series
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Khan
Location: Pakistan
HP
Date:January 20, 2013
"excellent system it works very good and the best system in the world."
3 out of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for HP Compaq 6530b Notebook PC series
Overall:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sunshine
Location: hayward, ca
Great Buy
Date:September 2, 2009
"a very good laptop and very reasonably priced. i didnt like windows vista at all but all other programs worked very well."
2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.