Jump to content
Jump to content

Small & Medium Business

866-625-0242 for sales; Contact HP for support

Product Reviews

HP 35s Scientific Calculator

HP 35s Scientific Calculator
Average Customer Rating:
3.979 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (47 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
14
3 stars
7
2 stars
4
1 star
2
37 out of 47(79%)customers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for HP 35s Scientific Calculator
Review 1 for HP 35s Scientific Calculator
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jdog1
Location: Istanbul, Turkey
Pictures don't do the 35s justice
Date:September 3, 2010
"Just got my 35s over the weekend. Two words: GET ONE!
Pictures don't do the 35s justice; it's really a good looking calculator.
The plastic case is black, and the aluminium cover plate is a very dark brown, almost black. The lower half of the key pad, the enter and backspace keys and are black. The rest of the keys are a very dark grey. The colour difference is so subtle it's hard to even notice. The blue and yellow functions stand out very clearly against the dark brown cover plate.
The new zipping hard case is cool too. Much nicer than the cheesy looking slip case the 33s had.
HP definitely got the classic HP-high-quality look right on this one. It reminds me of the first time I saw a 32sII in the university book store. Sitting there next to comparable TIs, Sharps and Casios and at two to three times the price, something about the look of the HP justified the price.
The 35s reminds me of the 32sII. The key feel is very similar to my 48GX, though maybe slightly more clicking sound. Could be that my 48 is just worn out and has been 'clicked' out. All of the keys on the 35s are larger than the 48 keys. Once the word gets out about the 35s, I expect this calculator to put a real dent in the used HP calculator market.
I've said before that I like the 33s as a daily user, or maybe I should say liked.
Quality-wise, the 35s is way better than the 33s, hands down, no question. The keys are softer and quieter than the 33s.
The traditional keypad layout with the large enter key is very nice. The 35s is what the 33s should have been to begin with. The 33s got me through the PE, so I'll always have a soft spot in my heart for it, but the 35s is my new love.
The 35s carries over a few minor quirks of the 33s...but it's executed so beautifully, that those quirks don't really matter much. It would be nice to have a matte screen, more pixels for better digit quality and a larger decimal point, but that's all stuff I can live with.
There is one new aggravating problem though. Really, really aggravating! I like to have my display set to ALL rather than fixed, scientific or engineering notation. I don't think in E to some power and I don't like to see a bunch of place holder zeros. The problem, which I think someone has already mentioned, is that when you have a long answer (like sin25 = 0.422618261741E-1), the exponent is not displayed on the screen; you have to scroll right to see the exponent. This about drove me crazy when I first got the calculator and was playing around with it. I've decided that the next best thing is fixed notation with 4 decimal places, which is the most I'll use for most things. Inexcusable, but I love the 35s enough that I'll just have to live with it!
The plastic packaging they ship the 35s in is bullet proof.
Mere scissors are not enough to get into the package. I recommend tin snips or a circular saw. Me? I was so excited to get my hands on my new little black box I risked life and limb and used a razor sharp hunting knife to hack away at the packaging. (I'd like to meet the shoplifter who inspired that kind of elaborately secure packaging)
While everyone might have their little gripes about what HP should have done with it, considering that HP has the burden of trying to produce a scientific calculator that is all things to all people, I think they did a pretty good job. IMvHO the HP 35s represents HP's best effort in many years."
22 out of 24 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for HP 35s Scientific Calculator
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kyle
Location: Oregon State University
HP-35s from a dual math and engineering major
Date:December 3, 2009
"I was given this calculator as a high school graduation present, having used TI's Algebric system through high school, I found RPN has a superior data entry format. The 35s has completly replaced my TI-89, I find that I do better in my classes by doing everything "old school"; that is without all of the fancy commands and menus that graphing calculators have to offer. I will admit that I am one of the very few students at my university who has a HP calculator and time and again it has proven itself invaluable. All this said, I do have some issues with this calculator espicially after being intoduced to an older HP calculator (HP-15c). I would like to see HP come out with a calculator similar to the 15c, chaning the orentation from portrat to landscape, and removing the worthless temperature, lb to kg, mile to kg, in to cm, and l to gal conversions. Drop all of those worthless conversion buttons and add a Polar to rectangular key. I am not a big fan of menus but the ones that are present on the 35s do have their place I suppose, the most common menu I use is the SUMS, and I have yet to use %CHG or % functions and I'm currently in Real Variables! So to the designers: (Hopefully your still in Oregon) Overall great calculator, but can you bring back the HP-15c? :) or at least get rid of the fat lol. Last comment; the 35s is about 20% larger then the 15c and half as thick... And it was made 30 years ago. IT NEEDS A SLIP CASE! I hate the zippered case and having some basic calculator functions printed on the back case would be nice too! Thanks HP for finally comming back to where you belong - the calculaor business."
14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for HP 35s Scientific Calculator
Overall:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Drilling Engineer
Location: Denver, CO
Return to Roots
Date:October 17, 2010
"The HP 35S shows that HP can still build the best handheld calculating devices in the world. The HP 35 gives the feel and look of the pass devices. Overall I would give high marks for the calculator. This rating is from a person that had his first HP 41C in college back in 1982. I have used HP calculators through the years and have a HP 50G in my office. I carry the HP 35S in my briefcase on a daily basis. I have several HP calculator emulators loaded on my laptop.
Although the calculator rate high there are issues with the calculator. As mention in other reviews, I don’t understand the key layout. Why do you have two left-shift keys to set ENG on the display? The display can be change from the Menu Display. The unit conversion keys are also a puzzle. First, do you really need them? If you do, why are they not in a menu format like the LOGIC key? A unit conversion menu would free up 14 key spots.
The other issue is on number input on the display. As a number is entered in the display there is no commas displayed during the input. Once the enter key is pressed, commas are displayed on the number. Somewhere between the HP 42S and the HP 48G the display input changed. I deal in large numbers and miss the old input display like the HP 41 and HP 42.
Some type of storage access would be helpful. It would make loading and saving program a lot easier. Typing in program lines remains me of the HP 41 days.
And last, is an Algebraic mode necessary on the calculator. I would bet most people use the calculator in RPN mode.
Even with the minor issues, it is a great calculator that you should have at your disposal."
5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for HP 35s Scientific Calculator
Overall:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Brett
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Pretty good, not great
Date:July 28, 2009
"This calculator is a bit of an improvement over the rather poor and bizarrely styled 33s. It has a real enter key, in the right place and a very good display ( a very solid improvement on the 33s). Unfortunately it has some rather poorly-thought-out features in common with the 33s, particularly the strange base conversion features and menus. Instead of putting the calculator in, say, hexadecimal mode, and being able to enter hex characters directly, ALL entries are assumed to be in decimal unless you post-pend an "h", or "o", or "b". Even worse, the suffix is buried in a menu that needs to be dug through every time. And the A-H keys are not even marked! You just have to remember that the row with "sin" and "1/x" is actually where A-H are. I put a little bit of white-out next to each and wrote in A-H - but how hard would it have been to just silkscreen it on at the factory, for goodness sake!
Also common with the 33s, the menus (any of them) come up with the first selection highlighted, as opposed to the current setting. For example, the "display" selection menu always comes up with "1 FIX" selected, regardless of what mode it was in. This makes it all too easy to accidentally change the mode.
For the most part the key feel is right, but it's still possible to get a click, but not register the stroke. That *never ever* happened on the quality calculators of the "pre-Carly" era.
Still, the calculator is plenty usable, and this one is the best of the current bunch by a wide margin. But if you are expecting HP32 or HP15c quality and engineering, you will be disappointed."
19 out of 20 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for HP 35s Scientific Calculator
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TU Delft Engineer
Location: Holland
Insanely great (well, almost)
Date:December 4, 2010
"HP's classic RPN calculators have achieved cult-like status. And for good reason. They're functional, robust and dependable. The tactile feedback of the keys is unsurpassed, and input mistakes are rare.
It's actually fun to use these machines!
The 35s is the latest model that fits in the "classic" category, and despite some minor annoyances, it's the best scientific calculator available right now. Bar none. Buy it, you won't regret it. And once you get the hang of RPN, you'll NEVER return to algebraic input.
Give an HP to your kids as their first calculator (I did). It takes them 3 minutes to understand RPN, and when they see their friends fumbling with brackets and memories on their TI's and Casio's, they "get" the elegance of the RPN input method.
------------------------------ HP, listen up ----------------------------
As nice as the 35s is, I'd like the old 15c back!
The 15c (which looks like the 12c) seems to be the favorite of almost every engineer I know. It's probably the only HP product that has an Apple-like fan base. It's surprising that despite years of pleading from the community, HP hasn't brought it back (with a faster processor).
The beauty lies in its simplicity: it doesn't have a lot of bells and whistles, which you don't really need on a calculator. For fancy stuff you're better off with a computer (who needs graphic calculators).
So HP, dust off those old templates and bring us back the 15c!
Until then, people, get the 35c. Its good."
22 out of 23 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for HP 35s Scientific Calculator
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A. Physicist
Location: Reading, UK
Best current HP scientific
Date:November 3, 2009
"This calculator is by far the best HP has on offer in the scientific range.
I have had this calculator since 2007 and it has served me very well indeed. Someone commented on battery-life: I never had to change the batteries once. Someone commented on the keyboard quality: they must have had a dud one; the keyboard on mine is perfect with the classical HP click feel and beautiful beveled keys - perfect.
I actually agree with the gripes some of the other connoisseurs have put forward:
- no external I/O (I would have liked an SD-card )
- some sub-optimal key settings (e.g. STO is a shifted key; there are no menu keys; some other minor points)
- The complex number implementation is not great: you cannot take square roots of negative numbers although you can raise them to the power 0.5 and get the correct answer.
- The vector implementation is awkward, but then, I would not find much use for it.
- It would be nice if it was RPN only, although the algebraic mode is in fact quite useful in when using SOLVE to numerically solve all your awkward equations.
Note that these are gripes of a perfectionist; this is by far the best scientific on the market and I would recommend it without hesitation. I hope HP is aware of such comments that are widely aired in the community.
So, to conclude, it is not an HP15C or an HP42S, but it is pretty darn close. Buy the HP35S while HP decides when it will finally bring out a revived HP15C - you will not be disappointed."
13 out of 17 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for HP 35s Scientific Calculator
Overall:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Phil
Location: Minnesota
4-1/2 Stars, Best HP Calc in a long time
Date:January 17, 2010
"The pluses are obvious, a welcome return to the old color scheme, easier to use, very solid feeling. It's almost like I had my old 15C back. I own the 33S too, which is comparable on features, but what a difference!
Here are the misses, they are not very serious:
1. Cheap plastic clamshell package, not a very good first impression. Also, should include the printed manual (though it is available for free by mail). I would be really impressed if the manual was spiral bound, but that's just the way they used to do it.
2. Screen has more glare than the 33S. Not unacceptable, just surprised they went backward on something so basic.
3. The Store and x^2 keys are shifted functions. I'm not sure how I would do it differently, I happen to use the x^2 a lot, so I noticed. It is not shifted in the 33S.
4. Polar/Rectangular keys are completely gone. This is advertised as a surveyor's calculator, but no Polar/Rectangular conversion? Really? Probably one of the first programs I will add.
5. I will expect to take some heat on this... The Enter key got bigger and moved back to it's traditional location. I actually find it more usable where the 33S puts it, next to the decimal point. It is easier to use one-handed that way. Can't please everyone!
Thanks for this revivial product. Make a graphing calculator with the same style, and I'm in for one."
11 out of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for HP 35s Scientific Calculator
Overall:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
e2eyepi
Location: Minneapolis MN
almost there
Date:August 5, 2009
"It's great to see HP edging back toward the calculator designs that made them famous with the HP 35s. It's the best they've come out with since the HP 15c, which to my mind was the best they ever made. It feels just right in your hand, the printing is sharp and very legible, and tactile and build quality are excellent. I would like to see exponential and STO returned to direct-keystroke access (in place e.g. of the MODE and GTO commands). I also don't see the point of the ALG mode, which however much one may like it is clearly a kludgy afterthought in this design. I can't imagine why anyone who prefers algebraic entry would buy this over a TI or Casio. Meanwhile, for us RPNers the ALG add-ons are just wasted space.
Unlike some users, I much prefer the two-line display, though I can't believe it really requires 4 full size arrow keys to navigate it... wouldn't a small nub the size of one key suffice given that this is not a graphics machine? Also, though the display is great for numbers, I find many of the symbols in e.g. the table of constants very hard to read. You'd think that with display tech where it is a higher-res and more legible two-line screen would be within reach. I would have gladly paid an extra $10 or so for one.
But all in all, a very welcome product that I will recommend without hesitation."
3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for HP 35s Scientific Calculator
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
FAAEngineer
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Must have
Date:February 8, 2010
"I was sucked in by the retro look of the HP 35S, and have not been disappointed. Keyboard tactile feedback is excellent, with a bit lighter spring pressure than my HP 25 and HP 45. Screen contrast is good and very readable, although the characters are a tad grainy for my tastes. Love the return of the double-wide ENTER key!
If you do a lot of base conversions, this calculator is going to frustrate you. They choked a bit here in the design. Note that the hex digits A-F are NOT the same keys as those on the calculator marked A-F. Argh! The polar/rectangular issue is workable, you just have to get used to thinking about your problem as a vector problem instead of a polar/rectangular conversion.
Personal preferences - I would have left simple conversions such as lbs to kg, miles to km, etc off the keyboard (techie people purchasing this calculator already know them anyway) and found a way to have x-squared as a direct key. I use that function often and can't fathom why it's a shifted function.
This calculator has a ton of capability packed into it, including 32kb of keystroke programming space I find to be very usable. HP has shown an interest in returning to their legendary designs, and I'm loving it. Additionally, this calculator is simply fun to use and I highly recommend it."
27 out of 30 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for HP 35s Scientific Calculator
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jeff
Location: Greenfield, IN
Great piece!
Date:May 28, 2009
"Great to see HP returning to their roots with high-quality calculators. The retro 35S is a solid package with excellent feedback from the keys. I actually prefer the 35S keys over my HP-45 and HP-25 keyboards. A little lighter touch but good feedback. The two-line display is easy to read in all lighting conditions and angles, although I wish the dot matrix had slightly higher resolution. The characters are a little too "pixellated" for my tastes. For quick math/log/trig calculations, I definitely prefer the 35S over my HP-50g, simply because it's easier to use. If you're going to do a lot of programming, you might miss some of the nicer features of the 50g, but there is plenty of memory on the 35S, and it will get the job done. Gotta love the return of the double-wide "Enter" key, and it's just as usable as ever. If you do a lot of base conversions, it's a little klutzy on the 35S, but it works. Would have been handy to have a way to transfer the memory contents to a memory card or PC, but you can't have everything for this little money. Ja, it costs more than a TI calculator, but honestly, none of my TI calculators have lasted more than about 10-15 years."
7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for HP 35s Scientific Calculator
Overall:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
brucha
Location: Pullman, WA
A solid RPN calculator
Date:December 24, 2009
"I've owned and used HP's RPN calculators since 1978. I bought the HP 35s shortly after it was introduced, and have used it continually for about 2 years. Keyboard layout is fairly simple and uncluttered, and a two-line display (of the stack) is much appreciated. The only issues I've experienced are: key bounce, and display glare. The tactile feel is similar to models such as the HP 32 (etc.), but a quick test reveals that the construction is not the same. Slowly push and release a numeric key and see how many numbers appear! It doesn't take much skill to tease multiple digits with one key press. Regarding the display, it would be great if HP retained the polarizing filter they've used in the past for other LCD models. A filtered display would help immensely for desk use.
I like the carrying case, and the protection it provides against accidental drops (i.e., from the lab bench). While I've purchased new cells, the calculator is still running on the orginal set; not bad for nearly two (2) years of operation!
All in all, the HP 35s is a good RPN calculator, and a solid performer for my engineering needs. I'm glad HP is still providing an RPN option."
5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for HP 35s Scientific Calculator
Overall:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sparky
Location: Pennsylvania
Good calculator - bad batteries
Date:August 28, 2009
"As a long time HP user I needed a straight forward calculator to replace an HP41CV that gave up the ghost after 26 years. I do not need the graphing ability, and was happy with the reviews I had read about the 35s so I bought it. Yes, the base conversion is awkward, and entering in hex is involved, but once used to it, it's not that bad.
What *is* bad is the battery life. The web site says "0.73 years" assuming 1 hour per day of use. I use it less than that and have yet to see more than a few months of battery life. I do like how thin it is, but I do question the choice of the button cells and their ability to hold/deliver the necessary power.
Also, it would be nice to be able to save the programs onto my PC so I can retrieve them after a battery failure..."
15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for HP 35s Scientific Calculator
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Duke engr
Location: Charlotte, NC
No rectangular/polar functions
Date:January 12, 2010
"This calculator is insufficient for electrical (power, nuclear, microwave) engineers. I don't know what irritates me more, the fact that HP makes a calculator that doesn't convert or perform mathematical functions in polar/rectangular coordinates or the fact that the NCEES put this calculator on the "approved" list for the PE and FE exams.
If you are an electrical engineer (or surveyor based on someone else's review), you have been warned. It's bad enough to make a calculator that will not perform math functions on a set of polar coordinates, forcing one to convert to rectangular, perform the math function and convert back to polar; but to make a calculator that doesn't even convert between rectangular and polar is just plain unacceptable.
"
26 out of 34 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for HP 35s Scientific Calculator
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
B Dogg
Location: Las Vegas
LOVE my hp
Date:February 6, 2012
"I wish I knew about RPN 10 years ago.
I'm a former military comm elec technician and instructor, now a civilian pursuing my electrical engineering degree. Put simply, this calculator has given me an edge in my program. It has an extensive range of features that no other exam approved calculators can match. The most important thing is how RPN has changed the way I do math. After using the RPN stack for a year now, I'm able to think 4 levels deep into the equation and I have a better understanding of what I'm doing. The best way to explain it is that using RPN just naturally trains your brain. Learn how to use it, and you will not regret it. Infact, it's actually easier than algebraic entry once you've got the hang of it."
8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for HP 35s Scientific Calculator
Overall:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bikeridr
Location: North Norway
Best non-graphic I've had
Date:July 21, 2010
"Very good design, like it.
Mine had a few "hiccups" in the beginning, and was chewing batteries. But after about 3 or 4 hard resets (with pin on backside), it now works flawlessly and have done so the last couple of years.
As mentioned, the Base conversion/calculation is not very user friendly.
Apart from that, this is my preferred and most used personal calculator.
I also own a 49G+, and will await until the 50G is upgraded before a new graphing calc is entering my calc collection.
When it comes to retrocalculators, I would really have a new 28S, with SD card slot and USB. I still have my old and in perfect working condition, albeit those funny-size batteries start to get tricky to get hold of.."
1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for HP 35s Scientific Calculator
Overall:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Metallemist
Location: In eastern half of U.S.
Awkward but Not Bad
Date:June 15, 2009
"The HP35s has good scientific calculating firepower, and I'm glad it's mostly designed for RPN logic, but the two-line menus that are twice as wide as the calculator, requiring those four arrow keys to navigate, make it fairly awkward to operate. And it takes an extra keystroke to execute programs, too. I may be old fashioned, but I think there should be no reason to need arrow keys on a small format scientific calculator. Those should be reserved for the larger format so-called graphing calculators where that utility is more obviously needed and is more fully implemented."
5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for HP 35s Scientific Calculator
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DBcoyote
Location: Palmdale Ca.
I love hp calculators.
Date:June 14, 2012
"I own 14 hp calculators. hp-67, hp-41CX, 19bII, 28S, 32SII, 48gx, 49g, 50g, 33s, 35s, ect. I find the 35s to be a good version of the 67 & 41 for the money. The keyboard has a wonderfull classic feel & layout. I favor the bar type Enter key. Memory volume & usability is good. The arrow keys with access to system memory, display, & flags are a welcome improvement. Scince I value the 67 & 41 too much to take with me. I find myself using the 35s everyware I go for work & hobbies. I keep my 33s in my truck due to its strange layout & lesser quality than my expectations."
7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for HP 35s Scientific Calculator
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DrJaysDad
World's Best Calculator
Date:September 17, 2009
"This is a little present for Dr Jay.
It's the Best Calculator in the world today.
It's name is the HP35.
It was born before Dr Jay was alive.
It all started in nineteen seventy-two.
When slide rules were all that engineers knew.
It took the engineering world by storm.
Then the pocket calculator became the norm.
After 35 years had passed since then.
The 35 calculator was born again.
The new 35 is a real sensation.
And it even still has Reverse Polish Notation.
This little present should be more help than a beer.
As Dr Jay pursues his new career.
"
13 out of 17 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for HP 35s Scientific Calculator
Overall:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
kat
Location: AUS
hp no good for surveyors
Date:December 10, 2009
"removing the polar/rectangular function was a bad mistake with the HP35 if you are a surveyor. You need to use a program for the simple conversion, making the overall computing time far more extended than on the previous version (eg a simple close). With respect to the buttons - they look good, but the functionality is somewhat lacking - not sure quite why, perhaps it is the stiffness..or the bevilled edges. Love the dual line screen and the layout - but next time bring back the old school simple stuff for surveyors!!"
14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for HP 35s Scientific Calculator
Overall:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Architect
Location: San Francisco
Good, but give us a landscape layout
Date:May 23, 2010
"The BEST scientific HP right now (except no x^2 and store functions under direct key).
But I would love to have the old horizontal format back, just like the HP 12c. For the same reason that PC keyboards are not vertical: it's easier to work with!
Idea: HP, why don't you enlist the online community to design your next machine. For instance, issue a program that lets everyone design their own (working) layout. I bet you'll find many people with good ideas and designs that are willing to share them with you!"
22 out of 23 people found this review helpful.
123next>>