Jump to content
Jump to content

Small & Medium Business

866-625-0242 for sales; Contact HP for support
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

HP Designjet Z3200 Photo Printer series

HP Designjet Z3200 Photo Printer series
Average Customer Rating:
4.111 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0
8 out of 9(89%)customers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for HP Designjet Z3200 Photo Printer series
Review 1 for HP Designjet Z3200 Photo Printer series
Overall:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Bryan
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Great prints, horrible software
Date:January 18, 2010
"We have been using this printer for a few weeks now, as it was a replacement for our Designjet 800 42".
The good:
-colors are bold and sharp where need be, grays are fantastic.
-setting up profiles actually works!
-network print software tracks print cost and ink levels
-prints will continue if you need to change an ink cartridge
-Ink is cost effective when purchased in 2 packs
the bad:
-Makes Win 7 64bit machines crash if installed straight on, need to be used as a shared printer from an XP station
-no print cue! (Have to buy the PS version for a simple function)
-AutoCAD 2009 prints fine... from XP or Win7 XP Mode
-getting samples of different medias is a task best left to fairy tales (at least samples that you can test print to see how YOUR work looks)
- printer comes with 1/2 size ink carts
-Did I mention no win 7 support and no cue?
"
50 out of 56 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for HP Designjet Z3200 Photo Printer series
Overall:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
bannerguy
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Issues with Windows 7
Date:December 28, 2009
"All around a great printer, the UV inks are incredible and the color is fantastic.
Not quite as fast in draft made as claimed by HP but still not too bad. If you are planning to use this with Windows 7, the drivers will not be available until spring '10 Consider yourselves warned.
"
6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for HP Designjet Z3200 Photo Printer series
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mike
Location: San Diego, CA
nice printer
Date:November 3, 2009
"I upgraded to this printer from the designjet 130 and this printer is so much superior to the 130 because of the print heads. The printheads last 5 or six times longer because the printheads have 2000 nozels per print head so many nozels can be pluged with dried or thick ink but still print perfect. where the 130 only has a hundred or so nozels and they get filled fast and never work again. in a year i went through 30 print heads with the 130 and 6 months with the z3200 i have went through zero(0) wow! and if you look at the price of printheads, well there you have it. if you are using gloss paper you can turn off the extra gloss ink and save that. i bought a photosmart pro B8850 as back up because they use the use most of the same printheads and the ink too if you use refill cartridges. The only problem is that it prints a little slow and will not print close to the edge of paper."
7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for HP Designjet Z3200 Photo Printer series
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Matman
Location: Phoenix, AZ
WOW!
Date:May 22, 2009
"I have had a older 3500CP that finally took it's last breath. When I looked into the new Z3200 it only made sense to get the fully loaded 44" model since I had a 54" before. The ink system just blows away the ancient CP system. The printer driver software has tons of features. I really like how you can input what you pay for ink, paper and add fixed costs so that you can get a real time cost analysis for every page you print. The machine is very easy to set up. The company I bought it from included the set up and the guy was here twice as long showing me features than he was setting it up. We had the first print out in what seemed like only a few minutes. HP has a quick print utility which you can download which lets you choose multiple pdf files and print them with only a couple clicks of the mouse. Also the preview feature saves time and money because you can see what the output will look like before you print it.
Hands down this machine was the best value out there. I have 2 9500MFP color lasers and this machine follows in their footsteps as being a few of the best purchases I have made."
19 out of 21 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for HP Designjet Z3200 Photo Printer series
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jonas B
Location: New York, NY
Impressive Printer
Date:March 3, 2009
""I've been a user of the Z-series for a couple of years now (I owned a 24"" Z3100, and have now upgraded to a 44"" z3200). I had some issues with the older printer, particularly the weak Red gamut, which caused strong reds to appear orange. This has been fixed with the new printer, which outputs strong and nuanced reds.
I use the printer both for gallery prints as well as soft-proofing files for publication, and I find it consistent enough for both purposes. I output some of my gallery prints at long intervals, but with regular calibration, even with months (and I suspect years) in between, these come out identical and delicious.
To get the most out of the machine, one needs to get to know it, but overall the workings of the software is well organized. Two things I wish for is integrated software for tweaking the printer profiles (by way of a more nuanced tool than brightness/contrast sliders - curves would be good), as well as an integrated system for making grids out of print jobs. As it's time-consuming to change the rolls or load single sheets, it's a bit tricky when printing many test strips or smaller prints - one ends up wasting a lot of paper. It would be good to have a way to send a handful of print jobs to the machine as a batch, instead of having to cut and paste them into a photoshop document.
These smaller issues aside, this is one impressive printer, which has really changed how I produce exhibition prints, proofs and reference prints, and let me take more control of my work. Gone are the days of unhappiness due to shabby commercial print lab work. With this in my studio I can get it right, and keep it right, for the future."
21 out of 23 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for HP Designjet Z3200 Photo Printer series
Overall:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Byronwells
Location: New York, NY
Great efficiency & quality
Date:February 12, 2009
"After having seen the prints from a colleague who uses the Z3100, I was eager to try the new Z3200. I purchased a 44 inch model and have been very pleased with the speed and general usability of the printer. Color saturation, tonal gradiation and the black density are good. I wish it were easier to purchase media directly from HP at competitive market prices though."
5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for HP Designjet Z3200 Photo Printer series
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
martin parr
Location: London
me like
Date:February 11, 2009
"We have been using the new HP Z3200 and very much like it. Not only is it much faster , but it does produce much better skin tones with the new red ink. Because we print so much in my studio the speed factor is a real bonus, and we can now produce a whole show in 2 days. I did this when we showed the work I did at The Melbourne Cup last Novemeber and had an instant show at the Niagara Gallery."
4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for HP Designjet Z3200 Photo Printer series
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
photodave
Location: California
Z3200 Performs
Date:February 6, 2009
"I use the Z3200 in producing prints of my own work, for clients, and in fine art reproduction.
Image quality is excellent. Highlight and shadow detail hold up extremely well, showing well-nuanced transitions and holding edges in high-contrast areas.
In fine art reproduction, I often get comments from the artist that the print is "better" than the original.
One of the most impressive things about it is the ease with which I can switch from one media type to another, and if needed create custom paper profiles on the spot. Saves time and money.
As another reviewer said, it's a real workhorse; it also delivers the goods in terms of image quality across a wide range of inkjet media."
14 out of 17 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for HP Designjet Z3200 Photo Printer series
Overall:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Kenny
Location: South Africa
Installation Problems
Date:January 30, 2009
"I've always been a HP supporter so when I bought this printer I was expecting hassle free operation. Unfortunately this is not the case. I have experienced significant problems installing the printer. The drivers also caused svchost problems on my hp notebook. The printer is noisy and the paper feeder no longer works. Sorry but overall not the best printer."
12 out of 21 people found this review helpful.