Jump to content
Jump to content

Small & Medium Business

866-625-0242 for sales; Contact HP for support

Product Reviews

HP LaserJet Pro CP1525 Color Printer series

HP LaserJet Pro CP1525 Color Printer series
Average Customer Rating:
3.211 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
6
12 out of 19(63%)customers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for HP LaserJet Pro CP1525 Color Printer series
Review 1 for HP LaserJet Pro CP1525 Color Printer series
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Wire--less
Location: Colorado
Wire--less Printer!!!
Date:August 20, 2012
"The printer is great!
But the wireless setup on Mac Mountain Lion (10.8) is TERRIBLE!!!!
Nothing seems to work!!!!
HP it shouldn't be this hard to setup a wireless printer!!!!"
Review 2 for HP LaserJet Pro CP1525 Color Printer series
Overall:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
elliphant
Location: British Columbia
Terrific printer for the price
Date:April 12, 2012
"Can't explain why there are so many gripes about setup, that's like blaming the car because you don't know how to drive it. I did spend a couple of hours on installation but that includes unpacking, setup, software, etc. Installed without problem on two Win7x64 systems and a Vista_x86. Used the included CD for initial installation, then software downloaded and installed updates. Runs perfectly off my server's USB, and wireless setup for everyone else was simple using WPS. Would use ethernet as well, except I'm out of ports at the moment. Colour is excellent, and B&W printing produces first page from sleep mode in about 20 seconds. Love the ease of cartridge installation, separate cartridge for each colour. As one user noted, lack of a backlight on the display is a bit of an annoyance, the only other thing is it doesn't have built-in automatic duplexing, but I didn't think to look for this beforehand. Manual duplexing does seem to work OK though. This printer replaced my 10-year-old Lexmark e210 and is faster, quieter, more versatile, takes up little less space (still fits on the shelf under my desk) and great colour to boot! What's to complain?"
11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for HP LaserJet Pro CP1525 Color Printer series
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Espere
Location: Poughkeepsie, NY
Horrible Experience
Date:March 23, 2012
"I bought this printer around Christmas and three, THREE!!, months later it doesn't even turn on. No power. Nothing. I didn't even use the toner it came with. VERY frustrating. Additionally, I haven't been happy with its performance...very slow, mediocre output and always cleaning which makes it even slower. Stay away from this printer."
2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for HP LaserJet Pro CP1525 Color Printer series
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Benny
Location: Philadelphia, PA area
The best printer I ever Owned
Date:January 22, 2012
"I have it set up in my home with 2 Laptops and 1 Desktop using this printer wireless. The prints are the sharpest I have ever witnessed from any previous owned printers. I purchased this printer about a year ago. Great longevity form ink cartridges Paper feed always works. No complaints. Stgrongly recomend, It's the best."
6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for HP LaserJet Pro CP1525 Color Printer series
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
not happy
Location: sacramento ca
very bad
Date:January 20, 2012
"This printer is slow, sometimes it prints darker on one page then the other and sometimes misses spots. It seems like it's cleaning itself after every print so you have to wait even longer just to have it print. The quality is also very poor. I expected more from this laser printer."
9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for HP LaserJet Pro CP1525 Color Printer series
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Warsawtech
Location: Warsaw, MO.
Excellent printer for price break
Date:January 1, 2012
"Client wanted one and found them on Newegg for an excellent price, so I bought one for me. Being an IT person I downloaded the latest software from HP site (I never use the CD included). Also downloaded the newest firmware at the same time. Installed it in about 15 minutes and setup the ePrint feature and the app on my Iphone 3GS and was printing to it in 30 minutes (total setup time) from my phone.
Went ahead and ordered additional memory module for it to boost the speed. For a SMB I find it to be acceptable in speed and quality. Time will tell on toner usage, but pleased with it over all.
"
9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for HP LaserJet Pro CP1525 Color Printer series
Overall:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Rae
Can't Read Control Panel
Date:December 30, 2011
"I'm SHOCKED that no one has mentioned the fact that the control panel screen has no light! The screen has no LCD (backlit) feature which is required for "indoor" displays on any machine. It's VERY difficult to view the menu options and to operate the printer as desired. It blows my mind that such a simple feature that is so significant for the functioning and "user-friendly" experience is missing! Seriously guys?? No recall yet on this fact? Ridiculous."
11 out of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for HP LaserJet Pro CP1525 Color Printer series
Overall:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
BBWI
Descent job but buggy
Date:October 1, 2011
"I have a Mac Mini running Lion connected to a Time Capsule. I'm ok with the quality and speed of this printer. Not the greatest in either category but at this price point it's good. Setup was awful. I couldn't get the printer connected to my wireless network using the "Add Wireless Clients" and WPS feature built into the printer and Time Capsule. I ultimately had to connect ethernet to printer then setup the wireless for it to connect to WPA2. ePrint is great when it works. However, when the printer goes into sleep mode ePrint does not wake it up. I actually have to power cycle the printer for it to connect to the wireless again. The firmware updater does not work with Lion, it just crashes. I don't have a problem with the bulk, it's a color laser printer and is only slightly bigger than my previous B/W laser."
12 out of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for HP LaserJet Pro CP1525 Color Printer series
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
700rpm
Location: Portland, OR
I'm pleased
Date:September 30, 2011
"This review covers only my first two hours, but I am very pleased with this printer. I have owned and used an HP 2500 for about ten years, and I sure got my money back on that, but it finally had given up. After some research, the HP CP1525 seemed like a good replacement for my home office.
So far: very easy set up and installation of printer drivers for ePrint. About 1 hour to download the drivers and install and set up.
First prints: NICE color! Especially after the weird color interpretations my 2500 was giving me.
Noise and speed: again, compared to the 2500, this printer is almost silent, and about twice the speed.
Overall design: The industrial design on this will not ever get into the Smithsonian, but it's small enough as laser printers go, and doesn't look TOO clunky on my desk. But with ePrint, maybe I can put it somewhere out of the way and out of sight."
4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for HP LaserJet Pro CP1525 Color Printer series
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
imprza
Location: Jakarta, Indonesia
Worst printer I ever bought
Date:September 9, 2011
"Not your regular daily printer. Extremely slow. Extremely hard to orient where and how you want to print. Cartridge status is solely based on the number of printed pages compared to how many pages can be printed in full spectrum of the colors so they are extremely misleading and borderline useless. Extremely big and bulky. Doesn't forgive wrong paper size. Can't override installed software language."
13 out of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for HP LaserJet Pro CP1525 Color Printer series
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Happy cowboy
Location: Livermore, California
Easy Install - 1st Download Driver
Date:August 25, 2011
"A number of people have experienced difficulty in the setup procedure. Follow my advice and you will be up and printing in 20 minutes. I have a MacBook Pro and a wireless router, Cisco E4200-RM with WPS support. DO NOT USE THE INCLUDED CD. 1.Turn on your printer and connect it to your computer via the USB2.0 cable. Then download the driver software from hp.com 2. Install driver by following instructions for installing HP software. 3 Check box for configure for wireless network, enter router password, click box to turn on hp device and wait for it to configure. Record all IP settings for reference. 4. Disconnect the USB cable. 5. Register 6. Wait for Congratulations and you are finished. Select something to print & MAJIC, the color print comes out of the printer!! The quality is excellent for 600 x600 dpi. I can print from anywhere in the house!"
5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for HP LaserJet Pro CP1525 Color Printer series
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
chrissy
Location: Aurora, CO
Excellent printer for text and photos
Date:June 17, 2011
"I purchased this printer two months ago and had a very good experience with it. I am rather picky when it comes to printers. This one delivers. It's easy to use. The wireless printing (even email-based, e.g. to print from your phone) was very easy to set up. Speed is excellent. Same for the quality of text and photo prints. I printed some photo test targets whilst letting the printer manage the colors. I then visually checked the color accuracy, which I found to be perfectly adequate. Unfortunately, HP doesn't provide custom ICC profiles, but given the quality out of the box, I currently don't see the need to profile the printer. It's of course not a dedicated photo printer and can't rival the quality of one, but for quick proofs of designs or photos, it does a great job. All in all, highly recommended."
8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for HP LaserJet Pro CP1525 Color Printer series
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TechSupportGuy
Location: Denver, CO
Excellent low price color laser printer
Date:May 30, 2011
"I have owned this printer for 2 months now and it works flawlessly. The setup was a cinch and except for when I changed my wireless network name, and had to reset the printer to reflect the new name, I haven’t had to tinker with the printer in anyway. The print quality is excellent and the manual duplex also works with no issues. If you have an issue with paper curl, as mentioned by another reviewer, just change the paper weight or brand. Some papers are too thin, hence the curl. Since a laser printer uses heat to bind the toner to the paper, some thin papers can cause curl.
I have had at least 10 HP printers over the years, currently have three, 2 lasers and a large format inkjet; I am still a very satisfied HP products user. As a user and a tech support person, I would say to those who are considering buying this printer, go for it. Just follow the installation instructions and you would be alright. I give this printer 5 stars.
"
11 out of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for HP LaserJet Pro CP1525 Color Printer series
Overall:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
KCR
Location: NM
Right outta that box
Date:May 21, 2011
"I have read several reviews both positive and negative about this printer and how difficult it is to set it up. If you plan on using this printer on a wireless network, be sure that your router supports WPS. I followed the directions outlined in the setup manual and set up was flawless. I was printing wirelessly in about 15 or 20 minutes. I used the CD to setup and connect the printer to my network and had no problems."
4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for HP LaserJet Pro CP1525 Color Printer series
Overall:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
JP
Location: Marietta, GA
Good printer - don't use the CD
Date:May 3, 2011
"I have to agree that if you try to use the included CD, you will have a frustrating experience. However, the printer is solid, the image quality is excellent and the wireless printing is flawless. The best advice is simply to download the latest software from HP's website and in a few minutes you are working fine. I've used it with both my Windows 7 machine and my PC and it works great in both cases."
7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for HP LaserJet Pro CP1525 Color Printer series
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
KS
Bad Experience & Terrible Waste of Time
Date:April 20, 2011
"I was the proud owner of an HP LaserJet Pro CP1525nw printer for about 3 hours today to replace my excellent HP LaserJet 1200 monochrome printer as a turn key change.
First problem in loading software - "not enough memory" Nothing on the box or in the skimpy owners instructions speaks to this that I could see. The salesman suggested going thru the control panel as an end run around the CD. That got me the icon on the printers list, but no prints. The print menu said I had 6 prints in the queue but there was no sign of life except the pilot light on the printer.
The Owners instruction manual is way too abbreviated and in too many languages to be useful. How am I supposed to know how to run the thing? Remember we aren't all geeks!
I had already spent too much valuable time on this so-called turn key exchange so I took it back and retrieved my trade-in printer.
Disappointing experience from HP since my laptop and 1200 printer have been so good."
9 out of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for HP LaserJet Pro CP1525 Color Printer series
Overall:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
wotjeimage
Location: Maryland
Plug and go
Date:December 27, 2010
"My experience, quite the opposite of recent reviewer. I have a macbook. Started by downloading software updates from hp.com, gave it a quick installation process and restarted the machine (though I didn't really need to do that but did it anyway). Following the powering the computer, pressed and hold "wireless button" on the router, then press and hold "wireless key" on printer for few seconds then whalla, the two become one. Printing from anywhere in the house now possible. And the print quality is excellent. Other computer in the house needed only "Printer Installation" process by inserting the accompanied CD in order for the printer apps to be loaded. After loading, Printer's IP address was given as the new printer added. And that's it.
The key to a successful installation is purely this: follow direction faithfully. And I mean that literally. That's it.
Downside to this printer are two:
1. loud
2. paper ends tend to curl
Other than that, a perfect gift for Christmas."
29 out of 30 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for HP LaserJet Pro CP1525 Color Printer series
Overall:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ike96
Location: Northern Virginia
Big improvement over inkjet
Date:December 5, 2010
"I decided to get a laser printer after years of frustration with inkjets at home. I don't print often, so routine head cleaning was a hassle.
>This printer is everything I expected from a color laser, with similar print quality to a larger color laser I use in the office. Photos even print well, although I've only tried it on standard office paper. The printer handles other paper types as well, including glossy paper (haven't tried it yet) and mailing labels (worked great through manual sheet feeder).
>Setup documentation did provide some conflicting information. The setup guide tells you not to connect the printer to your computer via USB; but that only works if you have detectable SSID broadcast and WEP security on your home network. Otherwise, you have to plug in your computer to the printer and configure those things first. The installer software helps walk you through that process, but you have to make a few assumptions that aren't clearly described. Despite that, I had it up and running in about 15 minutes using a Macbook.
>I was concerned that while in powersave mode it would drop the wireless connection, but it doesn't. Printing from any room of the house is just like it's on a wired network, even after it goes dormant. Warmup is acceptable, too - it takes about 1 minute to produce the first page from powersave mode, even full-color.
>The CP1525 doesn't have the speed, paper capacity or features (e.g. duplexing) like an office printer, but I am very pleased with this product for the kind of printing I do around the house - calendar pages, grocery lists, kids' projects, small documents and the occasional picture or graphic. By the way, this printer has Postscript emulation while the CP1025 doesn't...presumably it will have more consistent WYSIWYG output.
"
24 out of 25 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for HP LaserJet Pro CP1525 Color Printer series
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Tom
Location: Orlando, FL.
Awful Documentation
Date:December 3, 2010
"I spent over 2 hours trying to install this printer on my 27" iMac, following the instructions in the provided manual, with no success. I then tried to install the printer off my HP Windows laptop, and the CD that came with the printer kept crashing the OS. I finally got the printer working on the HP laptop by downloading the drivers from hp.com. I then found a document from HP online called "HP Support for Mac OS X Snow Leopard. This document tells you not to use the HP CD for installation on a Mac because the drivers are already built into OS X Snow Leopard. By simply adding the printer through the Apple "Print & Fax" Preference I was finally able to make a wireless connection to the Mac. Now, here's the real joke. When I went to install ePrint, so that I could print from my iPad, I was told that ePrint is currently not available for my printer. Unbelievable!! I have not had such a frustrating experience with a printer since the early DOS days."
38 out of 64 people found this review helpful.