Jump to content
Jump to content

Small & Medium Business

866-625-0242 for sales; Contact HP for support
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

HP LaserJet Pro P1600 Printer

HP LaserJet Pro P1600 Printer
Average Customer Rating:
4.077 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
10 out of 13(77%)customers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for HP LaserJet Pro P1600 Printer
Review 1 for HP LaserJet Pro P1600 Printer
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jacksone
Location: Lansing, MI
Best for the price
Date:May 14, 2013
"I have used this printer since it was first on the market and have not replaced it yet and it prints as if it were newly purchased today. We also bought one for our school computer lab (K-8 school) and it gets A LOT of use. We had it in the lab for the past 3 years and it works as well as the day we bought it. It is fast, always excellent quality printing, wireless or wired, and seems to take forever to go through one toner cartridge. Has an indicator light that blinks when the toner is low and stays lite when there is about 50 pages left. You will not be sorry for purchasing this printer."
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for HP LaserJet Pro P1600 Printer
Overall:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Wheel N Dealin
Location: Illinois
So Far So...
Date:May 2, 2013
"I purchased this printer for our small office (5 people) about a month ago and so far it has lived up to its rating. Previously we had a HP4000 and it on its way out. Replaced it a cheaper predecessor (1606) and it has sufficed thus far. It is not as quiet and makes an impressive THUD when it shoots out paper, but the quality, speed, and price is well worth it. One thing to mention, the toner that comes with the 1606 is not a full toner, so it is recommended to buy a full one with the purchase of this printer, overall would recommend"
Review 3 for HP LaserJet Pro P1600 Printer
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MeeKum
Location: Maine
Great Printer
Date:November 15, 2012
"I have been using this printer for about a month now, and I really like the way that it prints. I haven't timed how may copies I get per minute but I do know that it is way faster than my old HP laser printer. The quality is great. Would highly recommend this printer to anybody."
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for HP LaserJet Pro P1600 Printer
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love it!!
Location: Winter Haven
Have it for about a year
Date:October 29, 2012
"I would have to buy ink ever three months now ones a year!!!! Talk about savings"
Review 5 for HP LaserJet Pro P1600 Printer
Overall:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Tarkus
Location: Albany, NY
Nice little printer.
Date:September 11, 2012
"Nice little home printer. Duplexes fine, quick to start up, print quality is good. Investigated purchasing the recommended print server to go wireless, but the cost of the print server is more than the printer. What gives? Cost of accessories should not be 1 1/2 times the cost ot the unit itself."
5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for HP LaserJet Pro P1600 Printer
Overall:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
chiro
Location: lakewood,CA
printing quality
Date:August 7, 2012
"Very poor printing quality. Prints fast but no better print quality than an inkjet printer."
1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for HP LaserJet Pro P1600 Printer
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mike G
Location: Houston, TX
Best Printer Ever
Date:June 3, 2012
"I am an auctioneer and use this printer in our auction business when we go on location. I have hammered these printers with tons of work and they keep on working hard.
I own six and have never looked back, one of the best machines I have ever owned.
Great Buy....workhorse."
11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for HP LaserJet Pro P1600 Printer
Overall:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Erlybarn
Location: Santa Barbara, California
Not so happy
Date:May 28, 2012
"I have three laptops and 3 hp printers and everything is working fine. I bought my fourth hp printer laser jet pro p1606dn and installed it on two laptops and is working fine. When I installed it on my apple computer- MacBook pro, 10.7 os lion, my problem started. The feature of automatic printing in duplicates is gone. This is very frustrating."
5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for HP LaserJet Pro P1600 Printer
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Loran
Location: Cloquet, MN
Painfully slow and needs constant restarting
Date:March 6, 2012
"Do not buy this printer to use as a network printer. It takes minutes to print, hangs often, and has to be restarted to print. Plus the default setting is to shut itself off after 5 minutes. Weird. I purchased 4 of them. Ugh."
9 out of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for HP LaserJet Pro P1600 Printer
Overall:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Notmyrealname
Location: Chciago
Great printer except
Date:January 26, 2011
"Great value, great printing speed. Does a great job on all printing jobs I have sent to the printer. Documents are clean and easy to read.
One issue is that when printing in duplex it throws occasional pages out of the output bin onto the floor. Except for this annoyance the printer is perfect."
31 out of 38 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for HP LaserJet Pro P1600 Printer
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Killowatt
Location: San Francisco, California
A few 'setup' tips...
Date:July 22, 2010
"I've been a happy owner for twelve years of an HP Laserjet 4000, but finally its Duplexer-unit began consistently jamming, and so I was
motivated to look for a repair, a replacement, or other alternative. The new HP Laserjet Pro P1600 appeared to have incorporated every
feature I considered essential, including duplex capability, plus built-in networking (I have six computers), much faster printing (26ppm versus 17ppm), much lighter in weight (15 lbs versus 50 lbs), much smaller desktop footprint, and a much lower purchase-price. It was delivered in 2 days, and I must say that after one week of
daily usage I'm highly pleased and have already recommended it to a long-time colleague. The two things I had to give up were the 500-sheet paper-input tray and the helpful 100+ page HP User's Manual, but I think these are minor sacrifices in view of the
delightfully improved duplexer-technology and faster printing speed.
Nevertheless, I'll mention a few discoveries that may save some other new owner from wasting time doing initial setup.
The machine's black color is indeed handsome and elegant, and matches my recently purchased mid-tower workstation, keyboard and mouse, yet it DID hamper me in setting up my machine. I didn't see the vital front-panel power-on switch for a long time,
nor the deeply recessed ethernet-cable connector around back, even with the help of a flashlight, and I also didn't see the preinstalled toner-cartridge which was deeply buried down
inside -- and invisible under normal room-lighting. Thus I was delayed getting going until I had time two days later to buy
a new toner-cartridge at an Office Depot across town and to try inserting it in the expected location, only to find that it fitted just fine, but then the printer's lid wouldn't shut. That's when I brought in some brighter lamps and finally saw it wasn't needed because an HP toner cartridge is preinstalled. Thankfully, when it came time to connect my ethernet cable, I
have fingers small enough to fit down inside the deep and tiny well where the USB and RJ45 connectors are situated. And happily
these connector-plugs won't need to be accessed very often!
Finally I'll mention that I'm mainly a Linux user, so there was the issue of which printer-driver to install for network printing. The HP Pro P1600 is so new that my existing Linux distribution, with its thousands of printer-drivers, didn't
include one specific to this printer model. The HP website suggests downloading a package of drivers, but I was wary of attempting that because new software downloads so often
have had unexpected side-effects that disrupted my working systems. So I just tried installing one of the other HP drivers that supports duplex and network capabilities, and
so far it's been working just fine: I used the HP Laserjet P2015 Series Postscript driver and have had no problems.
Hope this info is helpful."
84 out of 93 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for HP LaserJet Pro P1600 Printer
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Paul
Location: Highland IL
Exceeded Expectations-Delighted Customer
Date:June 25, 2010
"Delivery was quicker than promised. Set up as a network printer for WiFi and RJ45 nodes was a breeze using the Printer webserver ap. This is the perfect printer to connect over a home network. Supports all my boxes with different operating systems. And its got a nice, small footprint for my crowded office. Thanks HP."
16 out of 23 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for HP LaserJet Pro P1600 Printer
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Church Boy
Location: New Mexico
New Laserjet
Date:April 21, 2010
"This printer is amazing great price for all it does. Duplex , network and great print speed. What more can you ask for ? Thanks Hp"
35 out of 43 people found this review helpful.