Jump to content
Jump to content

Small & Medium Business

866-625-0242 for sales; Contact HP for support

Product Reviews

HP LaserJet P3005 Printer series

HP LaserJet P3005 Printer series
Average Customer Rating:
2 out of 5
2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (22 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
4
1 star
13
6 out of 22(27%)customers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for HP LaserJet P3005 Printer series
Review 1 for HP LaserJet P3005 Printer series
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
crazyprinting
Location: Nairobi, KE
Good return
Date:January 19, 2010
"Purchased 11 of these printers in a busy office environment. Have used them for almost 3 years with no major breakdowns. Two have had teflon sleeve replaced and one fuser. 3 out of the 11 have printed over 200,000 pages each with no issues. The others have over 100,000 pages also with no problems. Users have to make sure no foregn objects like pins get in to the paper path as these damage the teflon sleeve"
2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for HP LaserJet P3005 Printer series
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nansie
Location: Northern Colorado
Wonderful printers for our schools
Date:August 26, 2009
"These sturdy printers are fast and reliable in our computer labs and school offices. Out of 50 of the P3005dn models we purchased, we have had only one memory card fail in two years, and it was speedily replaced by HP under warranty. Many thousands of pages have been printed without jamming, so everyone has nothing but good to say about them. The display screen is great and the 500-sheet paper tray is a must for us."
7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for HP LaserJet P3005 Printer series
Overall:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ljs
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Was great until ...
Date:May 23, 2010
"We have 4 of this model and they have for the most part been very good. One was sent back as part of the exchange program and I don't know what issue it had. Our tech office finally determined mine has the bad formatter board. I am so disappointed because I have had no issue with this one ever and really like it. The printer is only a couple of years old and in great shape but after reading these reviews I wonder if replacing the board will still find me with issues again.
Has anyone had to replace the formatter board more than once in the same printer and is there a warranty one can buy on it if I do replace it?"
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for HP LaserJet P3005 Printer series
Overall:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Larry
Location: California
Fast, trouble free
Date:February 17, 2009
"I managed to catch the 50% off sale, which made the 5004dn a terrific deal.
From sleep mode to first page is very fast -- as addvertized, under10 seconds. It's print rate is also very good, about 1 sec. per page.
You can't beat HP Lasers for resolution and as a PostScript printer, any Unix/Linux/Mac can "just print to it!""
7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for HP LaserJet P3005 Printer series
Overall:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Anonymous
Gear issues
Date:June 28, 2010
"Just before warranty was out gears began grinding in the printer. Unfortunately, we did not take care of the problem in warranty time. It appears that gear issues are a known problem with the P3005. I replaced the fuser and a gear that I thought might be the problem, but it was money wasted. We depend on this printer, so will have to replace it."
Review 6 for HP LaserJet P3005 Printer series
Overall:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
dissatisfied
Location: Utah
Not impressed
Date:May 10, 2010
"We purchased this printer expecting to plug it in and set it up and it would work. Not so, we fought to get it network ready, then it wouldn't work. They sent us a new one and it did the same thing. We finally just plugged it to one computer. Prints wonderful, until the board goes out. We are working on our 4th board. Looking to replace printer. Horrible!"
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for HP LaserJet P3005 Printer series
Overall:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
john
Location: buffalo, ny
LJ P3005
Date:September 2, 2009
"Was a decent printer until the formatter board broke. This printer had very little use as it was my home printer. It is just out of warranty and the formatter board is very expensive so it might as well go in the trash heap."
7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for HP LaserJet P3005 Printer series
Overall:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
CPA
REGRETS
Date:July 9, 2009
"DIMM WENT AFTER 2 YEARS. OTHER PROBLEMS ALONG THE WAY.
MY 6P, KEPT FOR BACKUP, IS SLOW BUT KEEPS ON GOING. THE DURABILITY OF THE OLDER MODELS MUCH BETTER."
9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for HP LaserJet P3005 Printer series
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
hpuser
Same formatter problems
Date:June 4, 2010
"I have the same formatter board problems everyone else mentions. When it worked, this printer was great. But, the formatter board died just out of warranty. I'd look for a different printer."
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for HP LaserJet P3005 Printer series
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous
works fine until the board goes
Date:March 15, 2010
"We have 2 of these printers. works fine until the board dies, then printer won't complete startup process or will just be offline. Both of ours have needed the board replaced. 1 was out of warrenty and the 2nd was still under warrenty but had to take it somewhere for repairs, they don't come to you."
1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for HP LaserJet P3005 Printer series
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
SJVC Fresno
Location: Fresno, CA
I do not recommend this one.
Date:February 8, 2010
"We have eight of these printers at our school. I have already had three of them go bad and repair cost is more than price of new one. They will go to around 50,000 page count and then problems start happening. Not to mention that the unit has had numerous driver issues that did have updates available, but updating over 200 PC's was not fun."
6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for HP LaserJet P3005 Printer series
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
LG
Location: Barcelona, Spain
Bad formatter
Date:February 3, 2010
"The formatter board broke after four months after the year of warranty. Seems that it is a design fault."
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for HP LaserJet P3005 Printer series
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sad
Location: Irvine, CA
Good printer, bad formatter
Date:January 6, 2010
"Printer worked great until the formatter board died 4 months after the 1-year warranty expired.
The printer worked exceptionally well, with very few problems until the board died and the cost to repair was over 50% of buying a new one."
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for HP LaserJet P3005 Printer series
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
t
Location: Mesa AZ
good until bad
Date:January 4, 2010
"worked for 1.5 years. Then had a bad printer board and dim. Repair cost more than a new printer."
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for HP LaserJet P3005 Printer series
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
D
Location: Washington DC
Buy something else
Date:December 8, 2009
"My company has 4 of these in our office, and one of them seems to have died. Won't even complete it's startup sequence to let you into diagnostic mode."
4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for HP LaserJet P3005 Printer series
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
upset
Location: honolulu, hi
junk
Date:November 20, 2009
"this printer works like a charm.. when it is brand new. if your workers are not so good with technology and are harsh with equipment, this is not the printer for you. the repair shop has fixed this thing 3 times in 2 years, and this printer is only 3 years old. I have a laserjet 4 and 5si still working. it has never had to be repaired... ever. why cant hp quality be like this. to take the fuser out of this thing, i swear there must be 30 screws i need to take out... hp laserjet 4100... twist two tabs and pull.. fuser..."
11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for HP LaserJet P3005 Printer series
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
not happy with printer
worst waste of money yet
Date:October 28, 2009
"We purchased this printer about 7 months ago, have had it repaired once with the support staff from india, replaced once and have yet to get it to do what we purchased it for. it is a expensive hunk of junk sitting in the corner of my office!"
5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for HP LaserJet P3005 Printer series
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
marvin
Location: CA, USA
LJ P3005
Date:October 20, 2009
"This was a good printer until the formatter board broke about a month after the year warranty ran out. Out of the blue, the USB port on the printer refused to work so we had to use the parallel port. Trying to upgrade the firmware using HP's "easy" utility ended in tragic failure. Formatter boards are quite expensive..."
5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for HP LaserJet P3005 Printer series
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Evan
Location: wi
Broke after 3 weeks
Date:August 11, 2009
"Printer worked great for three weeks until the I got error 59.50 and the drive motor needed to be replaced"
12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for HP LaserJet P3005 Printer series
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
mammoth_one
Location: New York, NY
HP Laserjet p3005
Date:July 1, 2009
"Absolutely horrible printer. We have well over 200 of these unfortunately and we constantly have problems with them. The 2420 printers that we have are much less trouble a much more stable product. These p3005 are the most unreliable that HP has ever produced. I can not and would not reccommend these to anyone."
26 out of 26 people found this review helpful.
12next>>