Jump to content
Jump to content

Small & Medium Business

866-625-0242 for sales; Contact HP for support

Product Reviews

HP Photosmart Premium Fax e-All-in-One Printer series - C410

HP Photosmart Premium Fax e-All-in-One Printer series - C410
Average Customer Rating:
2.778 out of 5
2.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (27 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
6
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 star
9
13 out of 27(48%)customers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for HP Photosmart Premium Fax e-All-in-One Printer series - C410
Review 1 for HP Photosmart Premium Fax e-All-in-One Printer series - C410
Overall:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
flamingoland
Location: Rhode Island
so far so good
Date:August 2, 2011
"I bought this as a replacement for a Lexmark prestige pro 800. I really wanted a dedicated fax, the Lexmark stated it had fax capabilities, but it really didn't, it ended up being a software add on and was very glitchy; after only a couple of years, the auto feed went, and I was tired of messing with it so I gave it to the kids who do not fax, but it was GREAT on ink. Anyway, I did a lot of research before purchasing this printer, from consumer reports, to online reviews. I find that every single printer has at least 20% negative reviews, so I take that into account.
I went into Best Buy and looked around, scanned QR codes and read all the boxes, looked at all the printers. I had it narrowed down to the HP, an Epson (on sale), a Canon, and a Kodak. The Epson and Canon got bad reviews on consumer reports for ink consumption. Kodak is the best, but it essentially had the same auto feeder my Lexmark had.
I liked that the HP has a real fax, that is you can do it directly from the unit, you don't need to go all around the mulberry bush using the computer at all.
Out of the box, I liked HPs green packaging, using a large recycle tote bag around the printer (and it made it easy to get out of the box) and a zippered pouch for the accessories. I put it on a table first and removed all the other minor packaging and tape, looked over where the connections would go, and glanced at the booklet.
I took it to its new home and following the instructions, plugged it in and turned it on, it went right though it's set up, only issue was after it printed its alignment page, it said the nozzle alignment had failed and didn't offer to redo it or any solution. I moved on to the CD and that install, that went fine, then the wireless, which was truly effortless, I just typed in my WEP code (that was a bit of a pain using the keyboard like you would a non keyboard texting phone, had to hit most buttons 7 times to get to a number character).
Then I went to do the eprint, and I have to say, I love that option. My printer has it's own email address that I can just send documents to and they print. Great for when I'm on a iPhone, or not at home and need something printed. It then wanted to print a test photo and I didn't have anything I really cared about on my computer so I let it print it's sample.
I can't even tell you how gorgeous this came out, even the family was wowed.....no idea how much ink it used but the image was outstanding.
I had to print a couple of little things, and I did the duplexing (which I use all the time anyway) and it was fine with that.
The only complaints I have (and they are VERY minor) is it makes this grinding noise when the carriage is over to the right, not sure if it''s okay or not, but it seems fine, so it's noisy in that respect, and it really shakes the shelf it's on.
No idea how it is on ink. I don't tend to print a lot of photos or 'good' colour stuff (I send it out, as it's cheaper) but I'll consider it because of the output. I also like the individual tanks for colour; which is another reason I didn't choose the Kodak printer.
"
10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for HP Photosmart Premium Fax e-All-in-One Printer series - C410
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Happy
Location: Delaware
Great Printer!
Date:January 8, 2011
"I do not traditionally write reviews, but this printer deserves one. This is a great printer, especially for the price. As another reviewer mentioned HP really put some thought into its packaging. It is so easy to take out of the box and know where everything is. The accessory bag and large recyclable tote bag is a great idea and really helped set up. I use a home network for my desktop and laptop, so I was really anxious to see how the wireless capability worked. All I did was plug it in to the power outlet and started the set up process, selected wireless and it went to work setting itself up. Once the printer was done I put the CD into my desktop then my laptop and the wireless function works great. I love that I can print from anywhere in my house. I also love that I don’t have to use a USB cable to plug it in to the computer. All the print features work great. The paper feeder feeds the paper very nicely and prints double sided without any issues. The only thing I cannot comment on is the use of ink. I am still on the original cartridges.
I would like to make a few comments to some of the negative reviews I have read before I purchased this printer, mainly because I found myself reading more reviews to justify myself making this purchase. My strongest advice to those reading the reviews is to make this purchase, you will not be disappointed. Do not pay attention to the negative reviews. Everything about this printer is great. And I am a very picky person. I specifically wanted a printer with many functions as well as a great photo printer. The quality of the photo is amazing. Definitely professional quality. I believe some of the negative reviews were made by individuals who either cannot read instructions or feel they do not need to. The written set up instructions was minimal, but stated everything you need to know to set it up properly.
I highly recommend this printer for all your printing, copying, faxing, and scanning needs from basic to advanced printing."
69 out of 72 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for HP Photosmart Premium Fax e-All-in-One Printer series - C410
Overall:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
brewmann
Location: .Tucson AZ
Pretty good printer
Date:March 14, 2011
"After reading some negative reviews I thought I would share my experience.
1. Wireless: Easy. I just entered our key and it connected.
2. Install disc: Windows 7 and Mac OSX with NO ISSUES WHATSOEVER.
3. Print quality: Very good, but not as good as laser. Duh.
4. A bit noisy on initialization, but when printing, it seems just fine. In an office, this would be no issue.
5. The ink included is just a starter set. This is a negative in my view. The ink is not that expensive, so why not put some in the kit?
6. A nice bag... for what, I don't know. It's not like I am going to carry this thing around! I really can't figure out why HP did this.
7. Outward aesthetics are very good. It is a really NICE looking printer.
8. Printing is relatively fast. Ink takes a few seconds to dry. So, when you print duplex, this is annoying. But, it is an InkJet and not a Laser printer.
9. Time will tell if we bought a nice printer. I purchased an extended warranty, so I think we are fine.
10. I think this is a very good printer for the price. If I had the money, I would have got the color laser.... but money was an issue. Ink is relatively inexpensive anyway. I think that if you
a LOT of printing, you should spend the extra money on a Laser printer. JMHO.
"
22 out of 23 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for HP Photosmart Premium Fax e-All-in-One Printer series - C410
Overall:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Blondie
Poor instructions
Date:February 12, 2011
"This is my second HP all-in-on printer. The first one was 5 or 6 years old, so I decided to upgrade. My main reason for purchasing a newer model is that the original printer would not print on card stock - it jammed constantly. I print a lot of card stock as I teach greeting card classes. This new printer does a great job of printing on card stock. But I have one REAL COMPLAINT. I received an instruction manual with my original purchase that was about one inch thick! What do I receive with this new printer? A small pamphlet - all of 11 pages long! I am pretty computer illiterate. It is very frustrating to sit here with thie printer with all the bells and whistles and not have a clue how to get the printer to perform certain functions. I am going to haunt this site until I can find some answers to my problems. My advice to HP? Spend the extra funds to furnish a detailed, helpful operation manual. You owe it to your customers!"
20 out of 22 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for HP Photosmart Premium Fax e-All-in-One Printer series - C410
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Frank2cool4u
Location: San Francisco, CA
Excellent choice for versatile color Printer
Date:January 8, 2012
"Just replaced an older HP Photosmart (5 years old still ok) printer with this one. I wanted faster wireless and individual ink cartridges.
I was skeptical looking at reviews but I was tempted to take the risk (and return it if I do not like it) based on the very rich set of features for the price.
Bottom Line:
- Installation (very easy: 5 minutes)
- Quality (Great)
- Noise (Great. Much quieter than previous model)
- Shared use: Love the efficient standby/wake-up mode. Silent when not in use)
- Maintenance (Great: Accessibility. Detailed info via control panel or internal web server)
- Ink (Love the fact that cartridges are separate. Do not have to replace them all when one runs out quicker based on kids art projects...)
I would recommend it to others"
5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for HP Photosmart Premium Fax e-All-in-One Printer series - C410
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Nancy
Location: western NY
poor quality pictures
Date:August 6, 2011
"I bought this HP All-in-one because I had used a previous HP All in one and liked it. This one is terrible! I'm so disappointed! I print lots of pictures (which is the reason I bought a Photosmart) and the colors are nothing like they are if I purchase the same print on line. A vivid green tree comes out as green/gray. It takes forever to print the first time I use it each day. The noises are ridiculous. I just installed a brand new black cartridge and copied 30 pages of a photobook in draft (I expected it to make a big dent in the amount of ink I'd use) but it says I need to replace it! Totally unacceptable! I will definitely be looking to replace this soon."
6 out of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for HP Photosmart Premium Fax e-All-in-One Printer series - C410
Overall:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
redroverma
Location: Massachusetts
Don't purchase if you have a dual band router
Date:September 7, 2011
"The printer gets confused if you have a network with newer and older computers that use both the 2.4 and 5 Ghz bands (i.e. mixed mode) on my dual band router. It will in most cases not print immediately, but randomly later. Your only choice is to have all the devices on the network run at 2.4 Ghz only if you want the printer to work correctly. It's annoying that HP didn't make that clear in their product info or I wouldn't have purchased it. Otherwise I find the printing is fine except if you expect to print pictures which I found aren't up to the quality I would expect from HP."
15 out of 19 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for HP Photosmart Premium Fax e-All-in-One Printer series - C410
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
IamaGeek
Location: Toronto Canada
So pleased and surprised
Date:April 20, 2012
"I am thrilled with this printer. I did not buy it for the printer but it works great as a printer. Although if you call support they tell you the scanner will not work with Windows 7 Starter, it does.
The most amazing thing about this all in one is that it will scan two sided pages unattended.
I have not had any issues with this. I do get a funny error on the scanning sometime but I just ignore and try again and all works.
For the price I have seen no other all in one that will do two sided unattended scanning.
I have also been pleased with the page and photo printing.
"
1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for HP Photosmart Premium Fax e-All-in-One Printer series - C410
Overall:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
politicsmajor
Location: Lake Spivey, Georgia
LOVE THE SCANNING - HATE THE PRINTING
Date:February 6, 2012
"I had many hp printers in the past (they are almost like the Toyota's and Honda's owned). Fairly dependable and was able to trade in old printer on this one. Smaller cartridges are great as well as great scanning feature. Started off as wireless, then came printing problems. Half page print, then 30 minutes later, other half prints and this process repeats on same page. Tried to convert to cable with same problem. Finally had to return after 11 mths. of ownership for new unit under warranty. Will try cable setup this time................and followup with results."
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for HP Photosmart Premium Fax e-All-in-One Printer series - C410
Overall:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Franny
Location: Hedgesville WV
Not what I expected
Date:December 27, 2011
"I have had my C-410 for a couple of weeks and am disgusted with it ! It is slow, noisey, and goes through ink like a no other printer I have ever had ! The print cartritges are wrapped like they don't want you to get to them and after you install them they last but a few prints ! I have a 2710 that the C410 was supposed to replace, but the 410 is noting like the old 2710 ! There are no projects on it worth buying it for. I should have found another owner first before purchasing it. I just don't like it !!!!"
3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for HP Photosmart Premium Fax e-All-in-One Printer series - C410
Overall:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
McGizzle
Location: Indianapolis
Nice Printer, but Software Needs Work
Date:January 21, 2011
"Great picture quality and speed. But HP needs to invest in their software application/driver install. It took several attempts on my Windows 7 system, both wired and wireless. And I still don’t think I have it as efficient as it should be, although I can print. Had a similar issue with installing drivers/application on a second system. This is my 3rd HP AIO unit that I've owned, all seemed solid machines while the software application is lacking."
6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for HP Photosmart Premium Fax e-All-in-One Printer series - C410
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
DisneyMom
Doesn't work with Windows 7
Date:March 14, 2012
"I have had nothing but frustration with this printer. It was purchased 7/2011. My computer was purchased 7/2010 and has Windows 7. After purchasing the HP C410 and moving OVERSEAS, where I have NO TECH SUPPORT, I find out that most functions don't work with Windows 7. Then after 6 mos, the printer drivers don't work with the computer at all. All other older computers can send to the printer just fine. NOT WINDOWS 7."
3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for HP Photosmart Premium Fax e-All-in-One Printer series - C410
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Chris
Location: Washington, DC
Garbage
Date:February 20, 2011
"This printer is lousy. I am using it with a MacBook Pro and Aperture. It will not load 5x7 paper from the top tray, routinely prints photos with smudged ink in weird colors, and on top of that it goes through ink at an alarming and expensive rate. I consider this printer borderline defective and would never purchase one again. It is a great idea, but it does not work consistently."
5 out of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for HP Photosmart Premium Fax e-All-in-One Printer series - C410
Overall:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Maggy
Location: Wirral, England
Top of the list for bad buys
Date:September 7, 2011
"I bought this printer because I have always been happy with HP, but this printer does not live up to their reputation. I've had it 4 weeks and it has been back to the shop twice. Yellow ink will not print even after heads cleaned, which shouldn't be necessary after such a short time. Shop have finally agreed to replace it, but I will still be stuck with the same."
8 out of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for HP Photosmart Premium Fax e-All-in-One Printer series - C410
Overall:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
disappointed
Not What I Expected
Date:January 1, 2012
"I have owned numerous HP printers and this is by far the worst I have ever owned. While it has a robust list of attractive features, the feeder constantly jams and it seems to not want to recognize the flatbed scanner, despite adjusting various settings (when you can find them). It is also very loud and there's a considerable amount of vibration when printing."
2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for HP Photosmart Premium Fax e-All-in-One Printer series - C410
Overall:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
amyed137
Location: Ohio
Under Review
Date:February 17, 2011
"Just made the call for a replacement of this model. Have been having issues with it turning itself off while printing. All power connections are secure. Called tech support about the problem, they are sending out a new one. Tech support was very courteous and listened to the problems I was having with the printer. We will see what happens with the replacement."
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for HP Photosmart Premium Fax e-All-in-One Printer series - C410
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
john
Location: TX
should be left on factory floor
Date:February 17, 2012
"Nice paper weight, I should not have to reset my router and turn the printer off every time I want to print something.
I will correct myself, once I get it back online it works. But the second you let it idle and it goes offline, you are screwed. I have tried many options. This was supposed to be wireless. Well it is if you do not want to use it."
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for HP Photosmart Premium Fax e-All-in-One Printer series - C410
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
kidsmom
Photo printing stinks
Date:April 19, 2011
"I bought this printer because I print a ton of pictures and I wanted to go to one printer instead of the two that I have always used before. Paper printing comes out fine, it is the pictures that stink. The color is dull, there are lines in the photos and the color is sporadic at best.
I always buy HP and this is VERY
disappointing.
"
8 out of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for HP Photosmart Premium Fax e-All-in-One Printer series - C410
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Maggie
Location: London, Ontario
Very satisfied
Date:January 30, 2012
"Bought this printer to replace an old 7010. I do find the cartridges do not last as long as the older model but I much prefer the print quality and find scanning so much better. I can resize prints much quicker with this one and the outcome is consistant which I didn't find with the old one. Love the duplex printing feature."
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for HP Photosmart Premium Fax e-All-in-One Printer series - C410
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Frustrated with HP C410
Location: Philadelphia, PA
HP Photosmart C410
Date:March 22, 2012
"I have used and owned HP Printers and All-in-Ones for years. This is without a doubt the worst HP machine I have ever used. Cartridges have a short life. Takes a long time for machine to warm up. Constant errors messages that have to be cleared."
6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.
12next>>