Jump to content
Jump to content

Small & Medium Business

866-625-0242 for sales; Contact HP for support

Product Reviews

HP Photosmart C4700 All-in-One Printer series

HP Photosmart C4700 All-in-One Printer series
Average Customer Rating:
2.638 out of 5
2.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (47 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
7
1 star
20
20 out of 47(43%)customers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for HP Photosmart C4700 All-in-One Printer series
Review 21 for HP Photosmart C4700 All-in-One Printer series
Overall:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Frustrated copier
less than a year and the printer stopped copying
Date:December 28, 2010
"The review title says it all. I've had this printer for less than a year - don't use it too often; rarely user the copy function. I'm going on a trip and need to make some copies of pages from a schoolbook to take with me on the plane and after about 30 pages copied, the copier function completely stops working. No response at all. Not sure what is wrong with the copier function but the troubleshooting site doesn't address this problem.
Also, ink cartridges run out pretty fast, too."
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 22 for HP Photosmart C4700 All-in-One Printer series
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
mtjkc
Location: Ohio
had so many problems
Date:December 13, 2010
"I have an All-in-One Photosmart C4795 that is just over a year old. We loved this printer when we first got it and for about 7-8 months after. It was easy to set up and worked great! However, since then we have had SO many problems with it. It never wants to align when putting in new cartridges (and we use original HP ones), a lot of times it copies a smaller version of items that you want copied, and many times the printing is not clear, you can see double on the words. We don't scan items, so I don't know about that feature, other than when we align cartridges it says that it can't scan the alignment page. We have tried opening the HP Solution Center and it says that it cannot run because the device installation is not completed. I have uninstalled this printer and reinstalled several times. I've used the USB cable only when needed and still doesn't work. The printer will mysteriously print jobs that have already been completed (usually it prints them a day later). One day we came in and found 10 alignment pages that had printed and that was at a time we never even tried to align the cartridges...go figure! Not only is it using up my paper unnecessarily, but also the ink. (That's only when it wants to print, which many times it won't do when you want it to.) I have spent MANY hours trying to fix this printer without avail. If I had written this review when we first bought it, I would have given it 4 or 5 stars, but now I only give it 1 star with all of the problems we have had."
5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 23 for HP Photosmart C4700 All-in-One Printer series
Overall:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Gumby
Location: Caribbean
Nice Purchase
Date:November 28, 2010
"Great little printer,nice for home projects.True it was a little troublesome setting up but after that it runs like clockwork,very nice photo printing for a home machine."
Review 24 for HP Photosmart C4700 All-in-One Printer series
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Junk Printer
DO NOT BUY IT
Date:November 20, 2010
"Wait a real wireless printer. This one fails most of the time."
4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 25 for HP Photosmart C4700 All-in-One Printer series
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lil Cakes
Location: Bay Area
Great Purchase
Date:November 5, 2010
"I am not tech savy and the set-up for this printer was very easy. The alignment was off during the initial installation but after following the instructions given I have no complaints.
Wireless was easy and I am now able to print from my room which is awesome. The scanner works well too! Thanks HP!"
2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 26 for HP Photosmart C4700 All-in-One Printer series
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I thought I was buying a wireless printer.
Location: world of hurt.
Buyer Beware. Not Wireless.
Date:October 10, 2010
"After 4 very long configurations... the wireless still does not work. This printer does not have wireless capabilities. I tried connecting to my Macbook and my imac and nothing worked. I repaired all disk permissions, upgraded router firmware, and spent 2 days trying to make it work.
It did print half a sentence after 40 minutes of waiting, but it cut off the bottom half before failing.
Don't buy this printer. Wait until a real wireless printer is on the market."
9 out of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 27 for HP Photosmart C4700 All-in-One Printer series
Overall:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
cmbranch
Location: Suwanee, GA
Print Problems Continue
Date:October 5, 2010
"Initial install went fine (Windows Vista - Wireless network). Worked for about 2 months. Now continually receive Printer Offline and Print Error problems. Have spent too many hours trying to fix the problem. Still not working. When it does print - quality is good and scanning works very well. I just need it to work properly."
3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 28 for HP Photosmart C4700 All-in-One Printer series
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Never again
Location: Urbana, IL
Never Again
Date:September 22, 2010
"This printer's wireless capabilities are TERRIBLE. You basically have to have the thing hooked via USB or else the printer becomes disconnected and is impossible to reconnect use HP's "Solution Center". You get no help from reconfiguring the printer nor running the diagnostic test. Purchase I different brand. I will not use HP ever again. Additionally, this print gobbles up ink."
2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 29 for HP Photosmart C4700 All-in-One Printer series
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
otter
Location: Seattle
easy
Date:September 19, 2010
"Five stars. Easy to setup, easy to use. Prints great. Wirelessly prints from 2 laptops simultaneously. No jams, no smudges, excellent photo quality. Honestly I think most of the bad reviews are coming from idiots that cannot follow simple instructions. Took 2 minutes to setup and has worked flawlessly for over a year now. Easy on print cartridges too."
4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 30 for HP Photosmart C4700 All-in-One Printer series
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
unsatisfied
Location: Provo, Utah
Worst Purchase Ever
Date:August 25, 2010
"The printer froze when I tried to configure the wireless. I have never been able to get it to fully power on again. It freezes at the loading screen every time."
4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 31 for HP Photosmart C4700 All-in-One Printer series
Overall:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
diddy93
Location: concord california
works
Date:July 25, 2010
"Its a good printer i had some problems with it during the school year but being good with computers i re-installed the program and its seems to be working just fine and i love it."
0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 32 for HP Photosmart C4700 All-in-One Printer series
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Katie
Location: North East PA
Very Nice Product
Date:July 14, 2010
"Have had this printer for several months now.
I found it very easy to set-up and have used it for several different projects. I have printed on card stock, labels, T-Shirt Transfers, and plain paper, and find that the color and clarity is very good.
The scanner-copier is also very helpful to have combined in the printer. It is sleek, and very convienient that it is wireless. I would recommend this product. It's a great buy for the price. Ink seems to last quite long and is reasonably priced to replace."
5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 33 for HP Photosmart C4700 All-in-One Printer series
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
baygirl81
Location: NL, Canada
Many Problems - Stay Away
Date:July 8, 2010
"I have been having trouble with this printer since I bought it 5 months ago. It randomly will not print and I am always spending hours troubleshooting. Currently, this printer has not printed a page in the past two weeks. Everything is connected, I wonder if it is because I am using an imac? I have uninstalled and re-installed, and searched for a solution. This is very annoying and stressful as a student. I think the solution is to just bring the thing back to the store. Hopefully I can get a refund or a better printer. If I could give this no stars I would!"
8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 34 for HP Photosmart C4700 All-in-One Printer series
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Papa Vege
Location: Milton Keynes
Three-in-one? More like two-in-one
Date:June 29, 2010
"I got this printer, nice looking, sleek, wireless and all, at the time. Setting up was easy and it prints alright.
But scanning is a nightmare. You scan a document you can behold the preview of the scanned image, but click finish and try looking for your scanned item in the destination folder. By the gods- nothing!
I will not recommend it. You see, a product has to do what it says it does without any hussle to the user."
3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 35 for HP Photosmart C4700 All-in-One Printer series
Overall:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reiko
Location: New York
Nice Printer
Date:April 26, 2010
"Easy installation and set up. After about a month since purchasing, though, I ended up pushing the printer off its shelf (yeah, I'm clumsy like that >.<") and broke the screen/button thing (broke as is in it popped out completely and no longer works at all >.>). Despite that, it's still easy to use. I simply plug it into my computer's USB port and handle all the printing/scanning/copying from the computer, rather than from some external outlet on the printer itself. I use it daily, actually, and I've never really had a problem with it aside from the rare paper jam that's easily fixed by restarting the computer and/or the paper queue. It's pretty fast, too, and the images turn out pretty nice. Also, it's really just lovely to look at. I so love the brown color. Very stylish."
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 36 for HP Photosmart C4700 All-in-One Printer series
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
lunadog
Location: Greensboro, NC
crummy!
Date:April 24, 2010
"Had this for 8 months. In the last two months the paper tray is cocked so the paper is going in crooked....can't straighten it. But the main thing seems to be the tiny ink cartridges. Since I use the black, quick draft setting most of the time, I am surprised at how quickly the black ink is used up. Will be researching and replacing this one shortly."
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 37 for HP Photosmart C4700 All-in-One Printer series
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
stryder2004
Location: Colorado Springs, Colorado
Didn't even want to give this printer a half star
Date:April 19, 2010
"I bought this printer a couple weeks ago and have had nothing but problems with it.
Supposed to be a photosmart...prints the worst pictures I have ever seen.
When I try to print a document one of 3 things happens 99% of the time:
1) Won't print
2) Takes like 10 pages at a time
3) Grabs and wrinkles the paper and then jams.
DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY FOLKS!!!
"
1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 38 for HP Photosmart C4700 All-in-One Printer series
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
HariGo
Location: Seattle, WA
Worst Purchase Ever!
Date:April 8, 2010
"I bought this printer not 2 hour ago..still trying to get it working after over 1 hour plus! Printer setup fails while trying to align cartridge..wow! This is even before I've installed the software on my PC. The feeder tray is simply horrid..tries to swallow an entire 20 pages and obviously..the printer crashes! What a waste of time and money. Stay away..if you can help it. Second HP printer I'm returning to the store after the HP 6500 Series"
2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 39 for HP Photosmart C4700 All-in-One Printer series
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kev
Location: Liverpool, UK
Good value for money.
Date:March 23, 2010
"Got this recently in a special offer. Easy wireless setup and works perfectly for my Macbook and my mums Compaq laptop."
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 40 for HP Photosmart C4700 All-in-One Printer series
Overall:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sheila
Location: KS
Good Deal
Date:March 20, 2010
"I didn't have any trouble setting it up to use with my laptop, and I'm not that tech savvy. No problems, have had about 6 months and need to get new ink. Good product for the price, I use the scan quite a bit, too."
1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.
<<prev123next>>