Jump to content
Jump to content

Small & Medium Business

866-625-0242 for sales; Contact HP for support

Product Reviews

HP Photosmart Plus All-in-One Printer series - B209

HP Photosmart Plus All-in-One Printer series - B209
Average Customer Rating:
3.191 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
5
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
6
13 out of 21(62%)customers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for HP Photosmart Plus All-in-One Printer series - B209
Review 1 for HP Photosmart Plus All-in-One Printer series - B209
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bobkatz
Location: W Palm Beach FL
Wireless nightmare
Date:September 20, 2010
"Got the B209a Photosmart Plus at Office Depot at a great price. I wanted to upgrade my older PhotoSmart 2700... what a mistake!!! I have lost 5 hours of my life trying to get the printer to connect to my wireless network. Using the setup software while connected via USB it REFUSES to configure for wireless printing, either with a password or even if I make it an open WiFi. Rebooting, reinstalling, reconfiguring routers, shutting down my network - HP just lost me as a customer."
2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for HP Photosmart Plus All-in-One Printer series - B209
Overall:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
MikeFlavor
Location: Chicago, Il
Awesome for the price and value.
Date:September 8, 2010
"First off, I noticed people complaining about the wireless set up. I'm thinking they didn't know much about computers because it was a breeze! I have thoroughly tested this printer and found no bad issues. I also landed it at a great low price. As far as ink usage and cost, every printer will get you on the ink! Again, I believe it is also above average in that department as well. If you have an outdated or corrupt computer, I would imagine any printer would be a hassle to set up. If you have Vista then upgrade to 7 already and many issues with all sorts of things will go away. Bottom line, Very good buy."
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for HP Photosmart Plus All-in-One Printer series - B209
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Whatever
Location: North Carolina.
Nwewst HP junk
Date:September 1, 2010
"I am not a novice at computers this unit has the most frustrating set-up and initialization I have EVER had. Should things not be PinP simple anymore?? The little disc I con lingers on the desktop and the program locked up numerous times requiring Big button shutdowns. Still can not get to the "wireless feature"
I should have known better but many years of success with my old P1100 (no longer supported by Vista or HP)
I even downloaded the latest drivers and "FIXES" still no help. NO MORE HP FOR ME"
3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for HP Photosmart Plus All-in-One Printer series - B209
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Eya
Location: Toronto, ON
HP Photosmart Plus All-in-One Printer Series B209
Date:August 22, 2010
"I have always been a dedicated advocate of HP products throughout my career history. In my capacity as purchasing manager and on my recommendations, the firm in which I worked purchased all HP products.
I have recently purchased the above-noted printer (HP Photosmart Plus series-B209) for my personal home use. I am thrilled with the features, the ease in set-up, the excellent quality of my printing projects be it, photos, documents, flyers, etc. The HP Photosmart B-209 is now being offered at a phenomenal price.
I did in-depth research at various retailers and wholesalers and could not find another printer that was even close to comparable with respect to the features, ease of use, and printing quality of the HP Photosmart Plus series-B209.
I recommended the HP Photosmart to a dear friend and after he purchased and used the printer, his opinion was as highly rated as the one I am writing hererin.
Thank you, Eya"
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for HP Photosmart Plus All-in-One Printer series - B209
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Happy Genius
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Amazingly marvelous, marvelously amazing
Date:August 13, 2010
"My seven year old printer didn't like connecting
to my new desktop.
So...I crammed $300 in my wallet...and went printer-hunting.
An HP all-in-one for $99 ? Wow...
Features, I had not heard of! Quick Forms...
Scan, copy, beautiful pictures...even music paper!
They really worked on making getting it installed.
easily. Highly recommended.
"
Review 6 for HP Photosmart Plus All-in-One Printer series - B209
Overall:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
shobby
Location: India
Better Printer
Date:May 24, 2010
"It's my First Printer which I Buy. Good Printer with wireless connection, but one problem is that it's ink is very quickly over. These printer give me best color print which I used in my Business and it's help me than other printer. it's also have facility to print 4x6 pictures from my phone and USB drive, Memory card etc."
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for HP Photosmart Plus All-in-One Printer series - B209
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
disappointed
Location: Cincinnati
get something else
Date:May 20, 2010
"I have always used HP with great success and that is why I decided to get this printer. Big mistake. The machine is supposed to be wireless but continues to fall off-line. The best solution is to keep it hardwired to the PC for consistanly good results. But, when you get good results it has a voracious appetite for ink - colored or b/w - To add insult to injury, the ink does nott get very many copies. Save your money and don't get this copier."
8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for HP Photosmart Plus All-in-One Printer series - B209
Overall:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
intheory
Location: Overland Park, KS
Great for a super-mom, and the family too
Date:May 15, 2010
"Purchased this for my wife with a new laptop for her home-based business and super-mom activities. Lots of coupons, lesson plans for church, a few spreadsheets for budgeting and lots of coloring pages for the kiddos.
Wireless printing will change your life. The ability to work in the backyard (or anywhere else in the house) and print to the office is really nice. Speed is pretty good; I haven't clocked it but I rarely have to wait for a 2 or 3 page job to finish. The copying speed and quality is surprisingly pleasant.
It does seem to go through the ink, but the cartridges are less than those for my 4-year-old Epson, and the print quality is a step up. For the volume we print, I guess I'm not too unhappy with yield on black. Color is hard to tell; we've replaced a full set at least once in the past 3 months.
Having not shopped around much for printers or MFPs, I'd comfortably recommend this to most average home users. So far performance is above my expectations and for the price, I feel like we got a great printer for the family."
Review 9 for HP Photosmart Plus All-in-One Printer series - B209
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Lauren
Hate It
Date:April 4, 2010
"After an older HP printer I had stopped working I decided to get the B209 because I wanted a scanner. The scanner works well, and the print quality in general is ok, everything else about this printer is terrible.
First of all, it goes through ink faster than any printer I've ever had. But it will tell you it's running low or out of ink WAY before the ink is actually gone. If you replace the cartridge every time it tells you to then you will be wasting a LOT of ink.
It will also refuse to print a job (or stop half way through) if it feels like there isn't enough ink left instead of doing it anyway and letting the ink get lighter. After it printed out the first half of a color intensive document three times I knew there was plenty of ink left to complete the job, it just wouldn't do it.
It is also excruciatingly slow. It will print things out at a reasonable speed but then just stop and think for minutes and minutes for no apparent reason. It once took me 10 minutes to print out a 5 page paper that was just text. It would have taken my old printer 30 seconds to do that.
Overall this thing is terrible and I would absolutely not recommend it to anyone."
11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for HP Photosmart Plus All-in-One Printer series - B209
Overall:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ally
Location: iowa
HP photosmart
Date:February 17, 2010
"I really like the printer....but it goes through ink really quickly...and the ink cartriges are not cheap.
I love that it is wireless...very easy to setup. i have it printing from 2 separate computers in my home office.
It prints very nice photos, and also great color. the only downside is the ink.
"
8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for HP Photosmart Plus All-in-One Printer series - B209
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mike B.
Location: Lancaster, CA
GREAT Printer
Date:February 8, 2010
"Installation using the CD went GREAT. No problem at all. Works wonderfully with my network. Only thing is no transparency adapter. My fault. I had an Epson for the last 6 years and it finally died. This printer was highly recommended by CR and they are right."
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for HP Photosmart Plus All-in-One Printer series - B209
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buddha
Location: CT
AWESOME PRINTER!!
Date:February 7, 2010
"I have always owned HP printers and when it came time to buy ink I said why not spend $20 moreand get this beast. I absolutely love it and the print quality is amazing. Super easy setup and the ink replacement on this printer ends up being cheaper than my old 7760. I highly recommend it."
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for HP Photosmart Plus All-in-One Printer series - B209
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
DISAPPOINTED JOE
Location: West Palm, Beach
Worst purchase ever
Date:February 5, 2010
"This is the worst printer hp has produced. a) difficult to configure to wireless network, b) scan problem at the touchsmart screen. Only thing I have been able to do is copy documents and print documents."
7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for HP Photosmart Plus All-in-One Printer series - B209
Overall:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
eljayem
Location: Savannah GA
Gobbles Ink, level indicator inaccurate
Date:February 2, 2010
"Find that while the output is good, especially artwork, this thing goes through ink cartridges at a very rapid rate, which is very frustrating. And to compound matters, the supply level indicator is nigh on to useless. I ran out of black ink this morning while the indicator was a 25% and the HP message center said the supply was low."
4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for HP Photosmart Plus All-in-One Printer series - B209
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Dan
Location: Methuen, MA
Constantly Drops WPI Connect
Date:January 11, 2010
"Every time the printer was used I had to re-establish my WPI connection as the printer would constantly go off-line. Very Frustrating!!!"
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for HP Photosmart Plus All-in-One Printer series - B209
Overall:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jay P
Great Purchase
Date:January 7, 2010
"I recommend this product to any one who gets great pleasure out of going wireless. The print quality on this printer is outstanding. HP is one the leaders in excellent print quality. I must say that the photo quality had a little to desire. I found the pictures came out a little messy and not so clear. This can be overlooked by the convenace of printing from anywhere in the house and without wires. This is a must have product."
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for HP Photosmart Plus All-in-One Printer series - B209
Overall:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sig1024
Location: Chicago, IL
Installation issues
Date:January 3, 2010
"I had a heck of a time getting this printer installed. If you want to connect via USB rather than wireless, the printer only comes with a 2-foot USB cable and will NOT function correctly (won't scan and photos are just crazy) if you use an extension on the USB cable. I had to purchase a 6-foot Hi-speed USB 2.0 cable in order to get the scanning and the photos features functional. It's finally up and running fine but not without a 1-hour live chat."
10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for HP Photosmart Plus All-in-One Printer series - B209
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AdRoCK
Location: NC
VERY PLEASED
Date:December 3, 2009
"Great printer! I'm simple amazed at all the things I can do from the printer alone. Several computers connected wirelessly to it. I can scan and select what computer in the house to scan it to without even being close to a computer. I could rant for pages about all the cool stuff you can do. If you're question is should I? The answer is yes."
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for HP Photosmart Plus All-in-One Printer series - B209
Overall:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
disappointed
Location: Olympia, wa.
not all that
Date:October 8, 2009
"I agree it has great printing, but the process of the one I had was terrible. Turn it one and for 5 minutes it's clunking and hitting hard, noisey, when I scan I do not have the option to select the area's I want to print, it only prints the whole page. My old stand alone scanner is way more reliable, quiet. I thought the all in ones were better, but not as they seem."
12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for HP Photosmart Plus All-in-One Printer series - B209
Overall:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
StevenK
Location: De Pere, WI
Amazing prints
Date:September 23, 2009
"My whole family was amazed at the photo print quality from this Photosmart Plus printer. We used the included samples of photo-quality paper and were immediately rewarded with the best prints we've seen come off an inkjet printer! Definitely will be buying more photo grade paper for this printer! Black and white printing was fast, and the printer was silent while doing its work. Setup was simple and the wireless connection worked great, even with our Wi-Fi network setup that requires secured access(WEP/WPA). After using regular DeskJets for years, this was a big step-up in photo printing quality. Cost of those replacement ink cartridges might take some of the thrill off this printer; we'll have to see. Highly recommended."
13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.
12next>>