Jump to content
Jump to content

Small & Medium Business

866-625-0242 for sales; Contact HP for support

Product Reviews

HP Photosmart Premium All-in-One Printer series - C309

HP Photosmart Premium Fax All-in-One Printer series - C309
Average Customer Rating:
3.226 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (31 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
8
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
11
20 out of 31(65%)customers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for HP Photosmart Premium All-in-One Printer series - C309
Review 21 for HP Photosmart Premium All-in-One Printer series - C309
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rusty
Location: Orlando, Florida
Best home printer I've owned
Date:July 22, 2009
"What a great experience this printer is. I set up my new printer today, and had NO problems whatsoever. Instructions were clear and precise, and I followed them step by step. No problem setting up hardware. Easy set-up of the wireless link and quick connection to my desktop. Laptop was next, and no problems at all with that either. Print quality is excellent for both documents and photos. FAX set-up was a piece of cake. Haven't tried scanning yet, but I'm sure that will go as smooth as the rest. Printer speed is faster than my old Photosmart and DeskJet, though it does cough and wheeze a little (moving the print heads I guess) when preparing to print. Overall, a smash hit for HP. Has everything I was looking for in a printer!"
11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 22 for HP Photosmart Premium All-in-One Printer series - C309
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Silvia
Location: Santa Barbara, California
Worse Purchase Ever
Date:September 3, 2009
"This printer takes forever to print (i literally left my room, took a shower, brushed my teeth, and changed my clothes and it still had not printed...i had to print off my roommate's printer (a cheap one that works as opposed to this expensive one that doesn't)), runs out of ink in seconds, and is the size of a monster. If you're looking into purchasing one of these for college, think again. It may be useful in some other setting, but for university life it is horrible. Only buy this if you want to print zillions of pictures (and cd covers...). I don't recommend it, it makes a lot of useless noise and random times and it just does not work for the purposes that I would like to use it. It's not good as a work printer in any way."
8 out of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 23 for HP Photosmart Premium All-in-One Printer series - C309
Overall:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ralph the Fuzz
Location: Mesa, Arizona
Fix ing the problem
Date:March 23, 2010
"I bought the HP C 309a because I needed scanning and a fax. I read how much trouble people were having getting the software to work. If you upgraded your computer from Windows Vista 64 bit to Windows 7 64 bit, you will have a problem. I went online chat support 3 times until I found a tech that realized what the problem was with the mismatched software. He gave me two links, one to get a patch and another for the updated software. My wireless now works on all three computers as does the scanning. When I instaled the factory software CD in Windows Vista 32 bit, no problems, it went in right and has been working as it was designed for. SO, if you are still having problems, tell tech support your problem and let them give you the links. I like the whitecolor of the printer, I like the quality and the price fits the product."
3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 24 for HP Photosmart Premium All-in-One Printer series - C309
Overall:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Techmate
Location: Rio Rancho, NM
Sad experience
Date:March 26, 2010
"First of all, I want to be fair. I do NOT want to detract from those who are having a great experience with this machine.
I want to say, I believe, after talking with HP and the store where I bought mine, that they got a batch of bad print heads. I got mine set up on an iMac running OS X Leopard, just fine. It printed just fine. HOWEVER every page came through with blotted black ink down the right side, on the back of the page. When it wouldn't clear up, I returned it for a second one. Got it all set up. 25 pages of text printing all blotted on the back right hand side. I couldn't live with that so had to go with a competitor's printer. I really wish this one had worked as I have heard good things about it. I can say the printing itself looked great. Printed a photo and it looked great! So, I feel and hope my experience was an isolated incident."
12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 25 for HP Photosmart Premium All-in-One Printer series - C309
Overall:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
LOU
Location: San Diego, CA
SO FAR, SO GOOD
Date:March 31, 2009
"Assembly: Easy to assemble. Be careful with removing plastic cover from ink cartridge location. Had to slide to open area in order to remove.
Installation: Loaded CD and wireless connection with no problem. 1 desk top and 1 lap top loaded so far. Everything connected.
Ink: Printed less than 100 sheets of colored 8.5 X 11 and had to replace all cartridges except for photo black. Be careful what you are printing in color and ensure it's needed or you will be purchasing ink quite often.
Fax & Scanner TBD.
So far, so good. Print quality is reasonable. 4x6 colored photo looked like it was from the photo store. My only concern at this point is how fast colored ink runs out as mentioned. HP does have XL versions of ink which is suppose to last longer. My findings were on the normal cartridges. The printer noise is tolerable and not very loud.
More review once I use the remaining options. I am happy so far."
13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 26 for HP Photosmart Premium All-in-One Printer series - C309
Overall:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
CNET
CNET Editor Review
Date:December 17, 2009
"CNET.com Average Rating 4.0 out of 5 (full review linked below)
The Good: Prints high-quality color photos and documents; impressive output speed; attractive design; added extras like Quick Forms, ADF, and an integrated CD drive for custom prints.
The Bad: Higher than average cost for black ink cartridge; minor omissions include a hinged scanner hood and speed-dial fax buttons.
The Bottom Line: The HP Photosmart Premium Fax All-in-One printer makes it easy to increase productivity thanks to its streamlined user interface. The fax, copy, print, and scanning features boast helpful extras like double-sided printing, wireless connectivity, separate photo trays, and quick-access control panel buttons, all while maintaining lab-quality photos and a low cost to print. We highly recommend this printer to anyone who can benefit from its multifunctionality.
©2009 CBS Interactive Inc., a CBS Company. All rights reserved. Used by permission."
48 out of 49 people found this review helpful.
Response from HP:By CNETCNETDecember 17, 2009
To read full text review, please click on the following URL:
http://reviews.cnet.com/multifunction-devices/hp-photosmart-premium-fax/4505-3181_7-33528351.html?tag=mncol;rnav#cnetReview
Review 27 for HP Photosmart Premium All-in-One Printer series - C309
Overall:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
VABEACH Carl
Location: Virgina Beach, VA
Strong Choice
Date:February 1, 2010
"I have owned a succession of HP inkjets - most multi-function. Each generation has been an improvement over the last, but each has required a bit more study and less reliance on the HP Installation Wizard. I purchased the C309A four days ago and I am already very pleased with its performance and capability.
Pros: Easy wireless configuration lets me put the printer anywhere yet have full access to the HP bundle of printer management software ; Two paper sources one which can accommodate small photo paper; Smart photo printing tells me when I have put my paper in upside down; Great photo printing; Solid CD / DVD printing on inkjet compatible CD/DVDs; Solid document feeder - I have already sent a 30 page fax; the ability to configure almost all options from my PC.
Cons: If I had missed the insert I would not have known to go to the HP site for a Windows7 compatible software; HP still has it clunk and whirl at unpredictable times - I am sure this is necessary for good performance but I find it unsettling when I am concentrating on writing and my printer seems to take off on its own project!
All in all I am extremely pleased with the printer. I disagree with the shortcomings identified by other reviewers as each addresses options that can be turned on or off. I cannot attest to ink usage, but expect it to be similar to my past printers. I love being able to CD labels in less than two minutes!
"
14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 28 for HP Photosmart Premium All-in-One Printer series - C309
Overall:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
IFLYMAUI
Location: San Francisco
Excellent & Solid Build! Feature Loaded!
Date:March 22, 2009
"HP gets the OSCAR for this stunning and well built AIO machine. I love it and I did so much homework to make sure this was the right choice.
Perfect? No. It has a few issues with bloated software, a flimsy ADF feeder (don't let the pet near it and keep the kids away) and the largest let-down for a PREMIUM printer being that it does not scan SLIDES or NEGATIVES.
Okay. Negatives done.
What it does do is offer a sort of BMW-like quality build. Solid, stable and a beautiful finish in gel white (almost Apple iPOD like).
It's cockpit of buttons, switches and controls marries very well to its handling. The lid opens with confidence to scan and the ease of installing or changing ink is thoughtless with no effort required. It's very user-friendly.
Scans at 48 bit but HP saw fit to install 96bit on its C8180 and allow the C8180 to scan SLIDES and NEGATIVES. The C309a fails to accomplish this wonderful multifunction feature found on Hp's C8180.
Set up for the fax is superior with software assistance making it too easy.
The LCD screen is way too small! I actually have to put on glasses to see it but in fairness, it is seldom used.
A key reason I bought the C309a was the fact that is uses PRINTABLE (not Lightscribe) CD's and DVD's to add photo and text to your DVD's and CD's! No more black markers. Kudos to HP. Thanks!
SPECS are here on HP so I'm not going into that here. However, I did extensive homework on this purchase and I am a firm believer that this unit exceeds HP's C8180, C7280 and Canon's new and excellent MX860. I am a major Canon fan of their cameras but HP runs circles around Canon on printers and All In One's.
Excellent choice if you are considering having the BMW of HP machines!"
37 out of 38 people found this review helpful.
Review 29 for HP Photosmart Premium All-in-One Printer series - C309
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PC
Location: Bristol, CT
Keeps getting better!
Date:April 30, 2009
"Although a new "name" this is an evolution of the C6180/C7280 PhotoSmarts, and the changes appear excellent! my only real "beef" with the C7280, was that although great for photos, text was not bold enough, and smudged far too easy for business documents. I wanted photo quality output, but also wanted great text, and HP nailed it. Text from this Photosmart is dark, well-defined, and very resistant to smudging!
I have tested and used all the main features: CD/DVD printing/2-sided printing/Faxing/copying(even duplex!)/business docs/photos/etc., everything functions as it should! The layout and design is both asthetically pleasing, and logical.
I love the option of being able to purchase higher-capacity inks!
Print speed both in printing and copying is very good, of course draft mode is fast, but the "normal" mode is particulalry quick, which works for me when printing business documents!
Photo quality has been every bit as good as in a "6 color" printer, a pleasant surprise! Just as good as from the C7280!
The installation although involved (for this printer does so many things!), was not at all difficult. I have it networked and run several notebooks through it...yes, it takes a few minutes to do, but once set up, the HP Solution Center gives easy control of all functions from a given computer. The fax set-up can be complicated, only because there can be so many variables, but if you take it step by step, it is not so bad.
Paper handling IMHO is about as good as it gets, I never get jams and don't even give it much thought.
Sound level is fine...it does (as it should) make "priming" sounds, but no big deal, and I have the printer within arm's reach at my desk, and have no issues holding a phone conversation while printing.
Lots to like here!"
21 out of 21 people found this review helpful.
Review 30 for HP Photosmart Premium All-in-One Printer series - C309
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DS
Location: Laguna Niguel, CA
This must be a "best in class" All In One
Date:April 30, 2009
"We have 5 HP All In Ones in our home (1315 PSC, and 6210). All of them were easy to install and very reliable. Our 6210 All In One with fax was making funny noises and I had wanted to upgrade anyway, so I researched and first bought an Epson Workforce 600 because of it's fast print speed. I got that beautiful printer home and it installed fairly easily, but I returned it because of very many reasons: the Scan only does pix and not documents, which are very important to me when I receive a fax and want to create a MS Word doc to edit and store. HP INCLUDES OCR SOFTWARE for free and it's a BREEZE to use. Also the Epson printed very grainy photos and it actually output text docs backwards in order (when I print a 3 page document, the output is 3,2,1 and I have to pull out the output and reorder the pages. I’m sure this is a menu change somewhere but what a pain. The menu bar on the machine is very confusing and does not work the way you might think. There is a multi control button with 4 icons, 1 at each corner. You would think if you want an icon you would press that corner but not so. It took a while to figure out that one has to keep pressing the button to scroll through choices. Also, adding paper to the back of the machine is a really hassle and it’s not easy or intuitive to figure out how to load envelopes or 4x6 prints at the back. Plastic parts on this machine are really poor quality and do not operate smoothly. Anyway, I packed it up and bought what really was my first choice.
The HP Photosmart Premier installed effortlessly and quickly. I was up and running in less than 30 minutes. Menu operation is simply superior. I immediately printed out a picture from our My Pictures folder and the picture quality is honestly astounding! Regular document printing is also very quick, quiet and excellent, really excellent quality. This is a PERFECT machine for our home "office". We don't require a great deal of output, but when we need documents or photos, I want them to be easy to print and good quality. Hats off to HP for the multi paper tray in front of the machine. Having a spot where you can store 4x6 paper and another slot for 8.5x11 is just so convenient. Scanning is superb, quick and accurate. Very easy - just click icon at bottom of screen and beautiful, simple menu appears and works flawlessly on our Windows XP desktop Gateway. I am looking forward to faxing but I assume it will be as easy as the rest of the machine. I’m also intrigued with the special tray that will PRINT onto CD’s/DVD’s but don’t really expect to use this much. Finally, our DVD drive was not working when I installed this printer and I LOVE that HP keeps all drivers at their website. I really appreciate being able to easily get to their website to find a driver without having to send in verifications, etc. WONDERFUL printer and worth the discounted price I got at Costco ($209). Love buying at Costco because they offer free, lifetime warranty on printers. Just keep original box and documentation with receipt in attic and return if it ever breaks down.
We all love this printer. I have one TINY complaint and that is the the printer does a lot of "hunting" and moving around of internal parts after printing. It just keeps shifting the carriage or doing something, but I offer this as a curiosity, not a complaint.
"
9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 31 for HP Photosmart Premium All-in-One Printer series - C309
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pitbullshark
Location: Los Angeles, CA
I Love This Amazing Machine
Date:August 1, 2009
"If you've done any research at all, you will have found that most printer reviews fall into the "5 Stars, This Is The Very Best Device I Have Ever Owned" or "1 Star, I Hate This Machine With A Passion And Will Never Ever Buy Another HP/Brother/Epson/Canon Product Again" categories. Well, I'm a hybrid reviewer who has been in both places from time to time and yet here I am buying my THIRD HP inkjet printer in ten years (despite my intention to do otherwise) and giving this one a five-star review and really meaning it.
So, what's the deal, why this see-saw?
Well, I think for most people the "hate it or love it" comes from how easy and how well the installation works, and whether or not the product performs as expected. It also comes from what happens when the person needs to call the support line. I will say right off the bat that the installation of this machine worked more or less perfectly, and that's with me installing it to a wireless network that has two Apple computers, an iMac desktop and an iBook laptop, both of them running OS X Tiger (I had Leopard on my computer at work trying to run the latest Microsoft Office and it caused so many troubles that I had both it and the latest Office taken off and brought back to the previous versions, much like many people got rid of Microsoft Vista and went back to XP). But this brings to mind just HOW many different hardware and operating systems and network set-ups this equipment is supposed to work with, including whatever it is that YOU happen to have, and in all honestly, I can't imagine that every one of them will be trouble-free (but, miraculously, my own installation was). And the same goes with trying to get help from the call-in support line...all the configurations all the around the world that they have to deal with, no wonder they have scripts to follow and certain standard steps to plow through. If they could ad hoc solve YOUR particular problem just with their general knowledge, they'd be working as engineers designing and building these things, not suffering through all the frustrations of working a call-in support line. My experience has been that the vast majority of those workers really sincerely do want to help you, but you have to be understanding of the difficulties and justifiably muster up extreme patience in working with them. I have actually found HP support personnel willing to go to the ends of the earth to help solve a problem, although, yes, you do occasionally get the one who will NOT understand what your problem is, and just might make a false promise. But in my ten years of having HP products, that is so RARE, well, it has happened only once, maybe twice, in my experience.
If you do go ahead and "take a chance" and get one of these marvelous machines and do end up running into problems, I suggest NOT calling the support desk right away, but step away from the problem for a while and then see if you can solve it for yourself. In installing THIS machine, for example, I was trying to get it set up to my wireless router, but somehow couldn't find any instruction on how to turn the wireless radio on on my HP; the blue light was on for the Bluetooth, but not for the wireless. I almost called the support desk then, but instead, decided to fiddle around with the various menu options on the printer itself, just looking to see all that was on there, and by the time I was through with that, I not only got the wireless radio turned on, I installed the machine to my network and set up the fax, as well! So I recommend doing the installation from the printer, itself.
Another area that had made me hate HP for a while was the concept that inkjet printers can't be fixed...that is to say that (to my knowledge) there are no repairmen around. They will fix LASERS, sure, but inkjets, they just say "it isn't worth it, it's cheaper to buy a new one". But it isn't cheaper if you have to keep buying them all the time! However, I realized that while I don't want to have to buy a new one, my two previous ones have lasted about five years each. For factory mass-produced items, that's pretty good, I think.
This time I was convinced that I needed to buy a laser, instead, something that could be fixed if it developed problems, but then I realized that they cost just SO much more that I could buy two or three brand new inkjets for the money it costs to buy a laser, plus a laser machine, even a multifunction, wouldn't do all that a machine like this could do. At this point I think a person should buy a laser only if they actually NEED to print 20,000 pages a month or whatever the duty requirement is. The latest report that I printed from my previous HP machine showed that I printed less than 8,000 pages in five years. So while I THINK I print a lot, I guess I really don't.
So, while my goal was to buy anything BUT HP, and to buy a laser, not an inkjet, further research showed that THIS HP INKJET was EXACTLY what I wanted and needed, and now that I have it, I truly do love it. I see no need to repeat in this review a description of all the features it has (although perhaps trivially, I really like the baby-blue backlights on some of the buttons, and the pretty musical tone that plays whenever it is going to print something and then afterwards when the printing is through--something that if it bothers you, I think you can turn off--and, perhaps more seriously, when I printed some photos, I was BLOWN AWAY by how beautiful they were!), there are numerous excellent reviews here that have done a great job doing that. So I guess my purpose here was to speak to the general negatives that people have suffered with printers and multi-function machines of ALL brands, and to say yes, if the features of this machine appeal to you (ADF, color, duplex printing, separate color cartridges, copier, scanning, fax, even prints on CDs/DVDs!), then absolutely you should consider buying this one, I think you will be very happy. But protect yourself with an extended warranty if the price doesn't seem too out of line, for just in case you happen to get one that was made with glitches (rare, I think). Office Depot, where I bought this, had a two-year replacement warranty for $35.99, which I bought; they also offered a three-year for over $50, I think it was. I really don't expect to need it, but with it, I can relax and enjoy this machine for a while without worry--really "burn it in," in other words."
44 out of 51 people found this review helpful.
<<prev12