Jump to content
Jump to content

Small & Medium Business

866-625-0242 for sales; Contact HP for support

Product Reviews

HP Photosmart Premium All-in-One Printer series - C309

HP Photosmart Premium Fax All-in-One Printer series - C309
Average Customer Rating:
3.226 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (31 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
8
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
11
20 out of 31(65%)customers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for HP Photosmart Premium All-in-One Printer series - C309
Review 1 for HP Photosmart Premium All-in-One Printer series - C309
Overall:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
CNET
CNET Editor Review
Date:December 17, 2009
"CNET.com Average Rating 4.0 out of 5 (full review linked below)
The Good: Prints high-quality color photos and documents; impressive output speed; attractive design; added extras like Quick Forms, ADF, and an integrated CD drive for custom prints.
The Bad: Higher than average cost for black ink cartridge; minor omissions include a hinged scanner hood and speed-dial fax buttons.
The Bottom Line: The HP Photosmart Premium Fax All-in-One printer makes it easy to increase productivity thanks to its streamlined user interface. The fax, copy, print, and scanning features boast helpful extras like double-sided printing, wireless connectivity, separate photo trays, and quick-access control panel buttons, all while maintaining lab-quality photos and a low cost to print. We highly recommend this printer to anyone who can benefit from its multifunctionality.
©2009 CBS Interactive Inc., a CBS Company. All rights reserved. Used by permission."
48 out of 49 people found this review helpful.
Response from HP:By CNETCNETDecember 17, 2009
To read full text review, please click on the following URL:
http://reviews.cnet.com/multifunction-devices/hp-photosmart-premium-fax/4505-3181_7-33528351.html?tag=mncol;rnav#cnetReview
Review 2 for HP Photosmart Premium All-in-One Printer series - C309
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Rusty
Location: Durham, NC
A Real Dud
Date:September 7, 2010
"This is the worst printer I've ever bought. It is clunky and slow and I've not been pleased with the photo print quality. There are too many cartridges and they empty faster than any printer I've had before. There are too many messages warning of declining toner with the suggestion that you order cartridges from HP Direct. I've bought HP printers for years. HP quality has been going downhill. I'm done with HP. It is time to move on to a higher quality printer."
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for HP Photosmart Premium All-in-One Printer series - C309
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mops
Location: Memphis, TN
Best Ever
Date:September 6, 2010
"I have had HP printers for about 15 years. This is great! The best!!!"
Review 4 for HP Photosmart Premium All-in-One Printer series - C309
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Col
Location: Chicago
Noisy
Date:August 29, 2010
"I saw the reviews before I bought it some did say it was noisy but I was thnking how bad can it be? Ummm bad and if you are the type that only prints one or two pages at a time forget it. It is Sooooo slow. Once it starts printing its fast but the prep before it prints is so annoying ! I dont know what its doing.. aligning the print heads etc . Its takes forever to get going so if you are only printing page its slow. It ranks as fast but that is misleading. Seems to also use ALOT of ink."
Review 5 for HP Photosmart Premium All-in-One Printer series - C309
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
woody
faxing
Date:July 19, 2010
"unit will not work with answering machine attached."
4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for HP Photosmart Premium All-in-One Printer series - C309
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous
Can hear outside of my house
Date:July 17, 2010
"This printer doesn't deserve a star. It is way too LOUD. My nearly deaf grandpa even heard it, and I can't even get him to hear me. WOW, this needs some re-engineering done to it."
3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for HP Photosmart Premium All-in-One Printer series - C309
Overall:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Yawsman
Location: Houston, TX
Scanning A Document
Date:July 17, 2010
"I cannot get the printer to scan properly. When I put a document into the document feeder, it shows that it is scanning but the document sits in the feeder. I have gone through the user manual several times and stepped through the manual instructions on the printer, but it just willl not work properly. I have no idea what could be going wrong."
6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for HP Photosmart Premium All-in-One Printer series - C309
Overall:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Techmate
Location: Rio Rancho, NM
Sad experience
Date:March 26, 2010
"First of all, I want to be fair. I do NOT want to detract from those who are having a great experience with this machine.
I want to say, I believe, after talking with HP and the store where I bought mine, that they got a batch of bad print heads. I got mine set up on an iMac running OS X Leopard, just fine. It printed just fine. HOWEVER every page came through with blotted black ink down the right side, on the back of the page. When it wouldn't clear up, I returned it for a second one. Got it all set up. 25 pages of text printing all blotted on the back right hand side. I couldn't live with that so had to go with a competitor's printer. I really wish this one had worked as I have heard good things about it. I can say the printing itself looked great. Printed a photo and it looked great! So, I feel and hope my experience was an isolated incident."
12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for HP Photosmart Premium All-in-One Printer series - C309
Overall:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ralph the Fuzz
Location: Mesa, Arizona
Fix ing the problem
Date:March 23, 2010
"I bought the HP C 309a because I needed scanning and a fax. I read how much trouble people were having getting the software to work. If you upgraded your computer from Windows Vista 64 bit to Windows 7 64 bit, you will have a problem. I went online chat support 3 times until I found a tech that realized what the problem was with the mismatched software. He gave me two links, one to get a patch and another for the updated software. My wireless now works on all three computers as does the scanning. When I instaled the factory software CD in Windows Vista 32 bit, no problems, it went in right and has been working as it was designed for. SO, if you are still having problems, tell tech support your problem and let them give you the links. I like the whitecolor of the printer, I like the quality and the price fits the product."
3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for HP Photosmart Premium All-in-One Printer series - C309
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
mike
Location: NH
C309 HP photo smart premium
Date:February 18, 2010
"I purchased this for a home based buisness. Whats the chance that a buisness would need to print on postcards to send to clients. This machine cant feed card stock. What a waste of money."
13 out of 17 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for HP Photosmart Premium All-in-One Printer series - C309
Overall:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
VABEACH Carl
Location: Virgina Beach, VA
Strong Choice
Date:February 1, 2010
"I have owned a succession of HP inkjets - most multi-function. Each generation has been an improvement over the last, but each has required a bit more study and less reliance on the HP Installation Wizard. I purchased the C309A four days ago and I am already very pleased with its performance and capability.
Pros: Easy wireless configuration lets me put the printer anywhere yet have full access to the HP bundle of printer management software ; Two paper sources one which can accommodate small photo paper; Smart photo printing tells me when I have put my paper in upside down; Great photo printing; Solid CD / DVD printing on inkjet compatible CD/DVDs; Solid document feeder - I have already sent a 30 page fax; the ability to configure almost all options from my PC.
Cons: If I had missed the insert I would not have known to go to the HP site for a Windows7 compatible software; HP still has it clunk and whirl at unpredictable times - I am sure this is necessary for good performance but I find it unsettling when I am concentrating on writing and my printer seems to take off on its own project!
All in all I am extremely pleased with the printer. I disagree with the shortcomings identified by other reviewers as each addresses options that can be turned on or off. I cannot attest to ink usage, but expect it to be similar to my past printers. I love being able to CD labels in less than two minutes!
"
14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for HP Photosmart Premium All-in-One Printer series - C309
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Yikes!
Location: MA
NOISY...
Date:January 31, 2010
"Noisy. .noisy.. noisy.. printer.. That's ALL I have to say... !!!!!!!!!!!! the printer cycles for NO REASON...."
13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for HP Photosmart Premium All-in-One Printer series - C309
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
WHIT
Location: TEXAS
FAX
Date:January 8, 2010
"CONSISTENTLY REPORTS COMMUNICATION ERROR AND FAILS TO SEND FAX."
3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for HP Photosmart Premium All-in-One Printer series - C309
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lila
Location: PA
Best Purchase ever
Date:January 2, 2010
"I love it, Just got it for Christmas and very easy to set up. All features are easy to set up. My opinion would be BUY it you will love it. It copies and scans very nice. The Fax is great too confirms when fax is sent which is nice !!"
0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for HP Photosmart Premium All-in-One Printer series - C309
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
KC
Location: Dallas, TX
shame on me...
Date:December 26, 2009
"well, I recently purchased an HP laptop and I thought that an HP printer would work with it. I was wrong. Windows 7 and/or 64-bit is not supported. Shame on me for not reading the specs."
14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for HP Photosmart Premium All-in-One Printer series - C309
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
laine
Location: Interlaken, New York
Its ok, but my old one was better
Date:November 30, 2009
"I had a 7100 series HP, but the ink something died. But the copies were wonderful. So when I saw this one, which had the added feature of auto feed I did not look any further.
HP photosmart premium C309a.
It uses a LOT of ink, ink is expensive, copies very grainy(not the paper). No confirmation on sent faxes>
I would not recomend.
"
11 out of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for HP Photosmart Premium All-in-One Printer series - C309
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Henrik
Location: Sweden
Good with Linux
Date:November 22, 2009
"I really love my HP C309a together with Ubuntu Linux. At last I found a printer that mix well with both windows (xp) and linux computer. I love the wireless functionality, the document feeder and the duplex functionality that save a lot of paper.
Seems to consume a lot of ink though."
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for HP Photosmart Premium All-in-One Printer series - C309
Overall:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Callie
Location: Northern California
Lacks one important element
Date:November 8, 2009
"I've been researching all-in-ones for a few months. Every one I looked at had the ability to have received faxes go directly to the computer. When I decided on the Photosmart Premium, I made the error of assuming it had this feature, too, since all of the others - including the ones under $100 - did. It does not and I am disappointed. However, I really like the machine and the rest of the features. My bad for not specifically confirming this fax feature."
6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for HP Photosmart Premium All-in-One Printer series - C309
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shelly
Location: Lawton, OK
Best printer ever
Date:October 22, 2009
"This is by the far the best all-in-one we have bought. Although we did have a few issues in the beginning until we worked through them now it's all good. With this printer, if you have a HP computer you have to turn off the fire wall. For some reason it will not allow the printer access. Also sometimes the computer will not read the printer so we just reset both and it works great again!"
7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for HP Photosmart Premium All-in-One Printer series - C309
Overall:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Tonyvdb
Location: Central Maine
Great Printer
Date:October 13, 2009
"I've had this printer for about 2 months now with no issues except it doesn't work in the wireless mode with the evaluation version of Windows 7.
HP customer service was very responsive in trying to provide a work around for windows 7, but ended up saying it wouldn't work. They say a windows 7 driver will be available when win 7 is released.
Setup was a snap on my laptop with XP and works great. Photo color is excellent, black and white prints plenty fast."
4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.
12next>>