Jump to content
Jump to content

Small & Medium Business

866-625-0242 for sales; Contact HP for support

Product Reviews

HP Officejet Pro 8600 Plus e-All-in-One Printer series - N911

HP Officejet Pro 8600 Plus e-All-in-One Printer series - N911
Average Customer Rating:
3.655 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (55 reviews)
5 stars
27
4 stars
5
3 stars
9
2 stars
5
1 star
9
37 out of 55(67%)customers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for HP Officejet Pro 8600 Plus e-All-in-One Printer series - N911
Review 1 for HP Officejet Pro 8600 Plus e-All-in-One Printer series - N911
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Al
Location: North Carolina
Excellent (with one shortcoming)
Date:January 21, 2012
"This machine is everything the experts have reported in their reviews. It does everything, flawlessly. I couldn't disagree more with a few consumers who claim otherwise. The only shortcoming it has, which to me is a major inconvenience, is the lack of an envelope chute for quick, easy printing. Instead, one must remove the paper tray, then the paper and insert an envelope. Once printed (and is also done flawlessly and aligned perfectly), the paper goes back in the tray, which is then reinserted. Other than that, the machine is an absolute dream!"
202 out of 202 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for HP Officejet Pro 8600 Plus e-All-in-One Printer series - N911
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Robert
Location: Author, publisher Redding CA.
Excellent!
Date:December 14, 2011
"After reading the negative reviews of the HP7500 and 8500, I decided to spend a little more and get the 8600. It was the right decision. First, their were no where near the number of negative reviews as with the other two, and second, this past week's trials in printing, copying, photos, faxing - reveal this as an exceptional machine. It is as if HP listened to the previous complaints and endeavored to correct as many of them as possible on this 8600. It is quiet. It is fast. It gives choices I've never seen before, like being able to not only double-side print, but copy two to four of the originals on each side. Only two cautions so far - after loading the cartridges for the first time, a message said something like "cartridge base not connected". There were no instructions how to correct this, but using a flashlight I found a small gray lever alongside the base, indicating to push on it. It clicked, and all went well after that. Aside from this the only other problem (which I'll contact Help for) is that the scanned colors are not true to the original photos. Perhaps this is adjustable. In all, I highly recommend this unit to anyone, for home or business use."
94 out of 94 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for HP Officejet Pro 8600 Plus e-All-in-One Printer series - N911
Overall:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ironmike
Location: San Diego
Envelopes
Date:February 25, 2012
"I upgraded from a HP K80 Officejet to a HP 8600 pro. It works great except that, unlike the K80 it has no separate envelope feeder. You have to take the paper out of the tray, put in the envelope(s), reset the guides, reset the printer settings to a #10 envelope and hit print and more often than not it wall say that the settings are wrong."
25 out of 25 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for HP Officejet Pro 8600 Plus e-All-in-One Printer series - N911
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PrinterReviewer-RC
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Very happy with this printer
Date:August 16, 2012
"What a great multifunctional device! The set-up to my home wireless network was a piece of cake. I have laptops and desktops, both Mac and PC, all hooked up to it, and it is working beautifully. So far, I have tried one-sided printing and copying, two-sided printing and copying, 2-sided-to-2-sided copying and scanning with the feeder, all with no paper jams.
I also love how I can scan while standing at the printer instead of running back and forth between my computer and the printer to hit buttons. It has a touchscreen user interface on the printer where you can pick your computer from a list, and it will automatically save the scanned PDF into My Documents. It is as convenient to use as the giant printer/scanner at work that costs multiple-thousands."
10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for HP Officejet Pro 8600 Plus e-All-in-One Printer series - N911
Overall:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
billm
Location: Sarasota FL
failed out of the box
Date:August 1, 2012
"initial setup,,, scanner feed is putting black lines on copies it makes.
Waiting for replacemnet unit
not a good start
"
10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for HP Officejet Pro 8600 Plus e-All-in-One Printer series - N911
Overall:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Cammy
Location: Fairfield County, Connecticut
Good Purchase
Date:March 24, 2012
"I like this printer very much. I think the user interface is much easier to navigate and the printer is quieter. I am very disappointed, however, that I cannot customize the size of my output. I bought invitations and planned to print them on my own but I cannot do this because I can't do a custom print-size. So, depending on your needs, this printer may or may not work for you."
7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for HP Officejet Pro 8600 Plus e-All-in-One Printer series - N911
Overall:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
ridelights
Location: Texas
Beware Sleep Mode !!!
Date:April 18, 2013
"You should be aware, however, that this printer WILL go to sleep. You have the option of putting off the sleep mode by 5, 10 or 15 minutes, but rest assured it WILL go to sleep. There is no disable for the sleep mode. It is slower coming out of sleep mode for faxes and for printing that when it is running. Therefore, if that kind of thing drives you crazy (pointing at myself), then choose something else. We pay for printing, not sleeping."
6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for HP Officejet Pro 8600 Plus e-All-in-One Printer series - N911
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Doink
Location: Ohio
Hp 8600 MFP
Date:July 19, 2012
"Outstanding MFP but setting up the Scan to Email function is not for the novice."
6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for HP Officejet Pro 8600 Plus e-All-in-One Printer series - N911
Overall:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
leggs8600
Location: Birmingham, AL
Important Feature_Forgotten
Date:May 14, 2012
"Purchased this printer as my 4th HP Printer. Have
been pleased w/ past models & quality of printed product. As I print envelopes as well as 5x7 notecards_ AM VERY disappointed that a second size paper tray is not available as in past models. Trading out paper sizes w/ 8 1/2 x 11 paper takes time from my day!
"
6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for HP Officejet Pro 8600 Plus e-All-in-One Printer series - N911
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Roger
Location: Jakarta, Indonesia
recent purchase
Date:November 3, 2012
"Just to let you know that I bought the HP 8600 printer about two weeks ago and I am extremely satisfied with its performance. Your local service unit answered all my questions. amour dealer has adequate spare ink cartridges in stock> It is indeed the best printer I ever had for home use."
5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for HP Officejet Pro 8600 Plus e-All-in-One Printer series - N911
Overall:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
PinkPickle
Location: Clearwater, FL
HP Officejet Pro 8600 Plus e-All-in-One Printer se
Date:August 17, 2012
"I Love this printer. Very good quality, I just purchased it yesterday and have ran off about 200 color prints on 8.5 x 11 card stock (110 lb) and had no problems at all with the paper feeding.
The only reason I did not give this a 5 star rating is because the blues are a little too dark. It may be in the settings that I have not gone through yet. But I have just adjusted the colors in my document and it is fine!
"
5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for HP Officejet Pro 8600 Plus e-All-in-One Printer series - N911
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sohi
best of the best
Date:May 15, 2012
"compatible with apple
fast printer
best resoulation in print
"
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for HP Officejet Pro 8600 Plus e-All-in-One Printer series - N911
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
printer happy
Location: Birmingham, AL
I love this printer!
Date:February 29, 2012
"I'm a small business owner. And this printer is everything I've wanted. The installation was very simple and the included software walked me through the whole think without a problem. I love the wireless connectivity as I use a laptop for my office. It's quiet. It has a soft chiming noise that alerts you to instructions or lets you know it's "heard" you. And it's much faster than smaller printers I've been using. I also love the duplex feature! The whole thing is making me much more productive, efficient and even makes my office look more professional to my clients."
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for HP Officejet Pro 8600 Plus e-All-in-One Printer series - N911
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ral6475@bellsouth.net
Location: Deerfield Beach, FL
The Best of the Best
Date:February 6, 2012
"I purchased the 8600 Plus two weeks ago and have put this printer through every test that could verify it will accomplish all of the functions advertised. It has not failed on any function. Using this printer is easy and uncomplicated and so is the setup. An office supply store whose name starts with an S offered this printer at an unbelievable sale price and even gave me a $50 trade in for my old printer. And they also gave me credit for an unopened ink cartridge for my old printer. What a deal for an excellent printer."
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for HP Officejet Pro 8600 Plus e-All-in-One Printer series - N911
Overall:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Flyer
Location: California
Printing envelopes?
Date:February 17, 2012
"One reviewer said it was necessary to take out the paper and insert the envelope in the center of the paper tray before printing.. The tray does show that illustration.
However, I can place the envelope on top of the paper in the tray and print from the right side as before with my other HP officejet 6400 that I have replaced with the HP 8600.
Otherwise, I agree this could be a real nuisance. I am using Microsoft Word for my printing.
"
132 out of 133 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for HP Officejet Pro 8600 Plus e-All-in-One Printer series - N911
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cxw3790
Location: Westchester NY
Best Printer Yet
Date:December 6, 2011
"Copier has clear crisp black and white printing as well as color - these days thats expected.
Wireless was simple to set up and all computers (3) in the house are now wireless.
Only issue - The directions didn't say so but to have full functionality with this printer, I had to remove my old HP8500 software.
I expected an option for two-sided printing but
I was surprised to find there is an option for two sided copying. There is no need to change and/or flip paper. It is true two sided copying.
It appears the printer is very efficient when printing and the ink lasts a long time.
It is both faster and quiter than my 8500.
Start up time is less than 45 seconds and there are no 'cleaning' cycles and no wait time for printing.
"
76 out of 77 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for HP Officejet Pro 8600 Plus e-All-in-One Printer series - N911
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
beckyfromatlanta
Location: Atlanta GA
Good Printer
Date:December 8, 2011
"Great printer. I have always had HP printers and this may be the best yet!"
123 out of 125 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for HP Officejet Pro 8600 Plus e-All-in-One Printer series - N911
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Edatwork
Location: Cincifnnati. OH
Bought one now have three
Date:November 16, 2012
"We use the HP 8600 Pro Plus in a small, but growing office. Bought first for a 5 person team about six months ago, now have 3 for a 30 person team.
The 8600 has served us well. We use a wireless connection and install the print drivers on each computer. Set-up is very easy.
Monthly we print about 6000 images on one 8600, 3000 images on another and 2000 images on the third 8600. Also do a fair amount of scanning to a computer on each machine. We have not have any problems with any of the printers.
I have made the HP 8600 our standard printer so we only have to stock 1 set of print cartridges and only have to learn about 1 printer.
I think the HP 8600 is a great all-in-one device. The only complaint I have about it is I wish I could set it to print only with black ink at the printer, instead of having to set that option up for each computer. We use more color cartridges than we need because it is hard to default to black ink for a team of people."
48 out of 50 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for HP Officejet Pro 8600 Plus e-All-in-One Printer series - N911
Overall:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Small Office
Location: Florida
Disappointed
Date:April 29, 2012
"My small office purchased this printer to replace a "too expensive" HP laser printer.
I was disappointed to find no way to feed one envelope or specialty size paper. As a small office I frequently need to print one or a few envelopes. With this printer, I have to remove and adjust the paper tray -- too time consuming.
"
16 out of 17 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for HP Officejet Pro 8600 Plus e-All-in-One Printer series - N911
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Geeg
Location: Glendale, CA
Love it!
Date:July 3, 2012
"I've been using HP products (printers, computers, camera) since the 80's. Have found them more user friendly and more reliable than other brands. Thats not to say they didn't have their less than desireable issues. But it was usually in the design vs mechanics. I got a deal on the 8600, tried it and immediately went out and bought 5 more. Like its predecessors, its user friendly, reliable, services all my needs in various small offices (printing, printing dbl sided, scanning, copying, wireless feature is great and a larger papertray without having the whole machine be a montrosity just to accomodate the tray).
I love it and hope to have it a long time.
"
11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.
123next>>