Jump to content
Jump to content

Small & Medium Business

866-625-0242 for sales; Contact HP for support

Product Reviews

HP Officejet 4500 Wireless All-in-One Printer - G510n

HP Officejet 4500 Wireless All-in-One Printer - G510n
Average Customer Rating:
2.029 out of 5
2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (137 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
16
3 stars
6
2 stars
13
1 star
85
37 out of 137(27%)customers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for HP Officejet 4500 Wireless All-in-One Printer - G510n
Review 1 for HP Officejet 4500 Wireless All-in-One Printer - G510n
Overall:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
YourPal
Location: Kentucky
HP 4500 All In One - It works for me
Date:February 19, 2012
"This HP 4500 All-In-One Printer, Copier, Scanner, FAX works well for me.
For the money it is well worth the price!
It's pretty fast and the print quality is good.
It prints super- fast when set on Draft quality!
I use it at home and I make copies all the time. It makes black and white or color copies quite well. I can make one copy or several with the push of a button.
It has a lot of features. I like the display!
If anything goes wrong just look at the display and it will tell you whats wrong.
... If it is out of ink,
... out of paper
..., or a paper jam
It even tells you How To Clear a paper jam and How to Change the Ink.
I didn't set up the Fax so I cant comment on how well that works.
I print out photos from my camera on it.
I am happy with the quality of the print.
I have had it a couple of years and it has been reliable.
The only two problems I have had are
(1.) It loses connection for no reason.
I have to either find the printer in the Control Panel and tell it to restart, or I can restart my computer and it hooks up again.
(2.) It doesn't like cheap light weight paper it will eventually jam using light weight paper.
The guy at the computer store told me to buy good heavy weight paper and that did the trick.
Another Plus is: Ink is readily available.
I have even bought ink for this HP at the grocery store.
Check the price of Ink for any printer you buy. - that's where your real cost adds up.
I bought this HP All in one 4500 Wireless (Printer, Copier, Scanner, FAX) for just a little more than what it costs me to change the ink cartridges in one of my other printers.
Ink is not cheap for this (or any) printer, but the ink is reasonably priced.
I would not hesitate to buy another HP4500 All-in-One."
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for HP Officejet 4500 Wireless All-in-One Printer - G510n
Overall:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
MidwestProfessional
Location: Omaha, NE
Good Product / easy on the ink
Date:December 6, 2010
"Purchased the printer 5 or more months ago, rarely print, scan, or copy but anytime I have had the need, it works great. I have gone through more than 500 sheets of the Xerox 24 lb (96 bright) 8.5" x 11" paper (sold at Costco), not one issue. Well, okay, yesterday the scanning wouldn't work but the simple solution was to reboot the (wireless) server and power off the 4500 Wireless printer.
I believe part of the problem was finding the wireless server (in my case vs laptop). The last time the printer saw the server, the IP was x.x.x.101 and now the IP is x.x.x.104. Due to a number of new devices in the house since I purchased the printer and the fact that the printer was down when the server acquired the 104 IP, well, not a big deal.
So, if your device changes IP frequently, maybe you need to assign a static IP to devices that are normally in your home and everyone else can get the other IPs available on your network.
Before you blame the product, try to understand what is happening in your own network.
Also, for those of you are running VM (virtual machine) services on your laptop or desktop, this printer works fine there as well.
I am running Windows 7 Ultimate with at least 2-XP Pro SP3 clients which print to the wireless 4500 Officejet as well. So no need to save an XP document within the client to a share then print with Win7, I can just print from the XP OS. Slick, eh?
The only thing left is to configure CUPS under Linux or Solaris running as a VM client under Win7 to print wireless to the 4500."
9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for HP Officejet 4500 Wireless All-in-One Printer - G510n
Overall:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
AG Madrid
Location: Madrid, Spain
Wireless trouble solved
Date:December 21, 2010
"I bought this printer 2 days ago and I had a wireless problem: I was losing the connection without any reason in both computers linked to the printer.
My router has a DHCP range beginning at 192.168.1.200 up to 192.168.1.255 (56 avalilable dynamic IPs asigned by the router). Also one of my computers had a dinamic IP asigned by DHCP instead of a static IP.
I opened HP Digital Imaging Monitor in the system tray and chose HP Officejet 4500 / Network Configuration (EWS). That opened my own printer webpage (in my network). In this webpage I had 2 tabs: Information and Networking.
I chose "Networking" tab and I set the IPs to "Manual". For the printer I chose a static IP out of the DHCP range: 192.168.1.150. Manual subnet = 255.255.255.0. Manual Default Gateway = 192.168.1.1. Manual DNS Server 1= 192.168.1.1 Manual DNS Server= 8.8.8.8
I also set all IPs in my network (even the wireless IPs) that would use the printer to static. Since then the problem looks solved.
The printer is oriented to home use, and it prints fast (in economic mode), scans fine, makes photocopies Ok, and send faxes w/o any problem. It is for a home or a very small business use, so if you want to get more than this, maybe this printer it's not enough for you.
I can only say "So far so good", and Ok. Very satisfed to have a "All-in-one" at home. Very useful to be able to make photocopies at an acceptable speed (for a home)."
7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for HP Officejet 4500 Wireless All-in-One Printer - G510n
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Depressed in Scan-land
Location: Riverside, CA
Don't buy if you scan multiple pages
Date:November 27, 2011
"On the box and ads there is a lot of mention about printing and faxing capability. But there is no mention about SCANNING. This machine is very slow at scanning. Approximately, one minute per page.. then it still has to load the page to the PC. You also have to attach the HP4500 to your computer/laptop for scanning, you can't do wireless on it.. only for printing. Then you have the PDF File size. 1375KB for a single page. I regularly scan 20-40 pages for e-mail and don't plan on sending 41 meg files to my clients. It's good having the quality, but I could not find a place to lower the settings to avoid scanning at the molecular level (LOL). Then you talk about the install.. not sure if all newer software is like this, but it takes about 30-45 minutes to install... just too much.
Sadly enough, my hand fed scanner works much faster, I have more control, like color vs. black/white, scan size, scan detail, rotating pages, relocating order of pages, etc, all before saving to PDF... this product doesn't offer any of this, you'd have to buy a PDF editor to do such work.
I'm taking this back in the morning.
"
8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for HP Officejet 4500 Wireless All-in-One Printer - G510n
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Trissa
Location: Middle, Georgia
HP Office Jet 4500
Date:March 14, 2012
"I purchased this product almost a year ago and have not had any problems with it. My husband and I called HP to get help in setting up the wireless protion of printer because we are not techies...lol Our printer, fax, copier and scanner have worked well for us. I would say that the only problem I've had with this product, is that it goes offlne more than I would like to experience, which can be frustating at times-but also this could be do to something we are doing, but won't know until we speak w/HP to see if this can be remedied. The directions also state that the load is up to 20 sheets for faxing or scanning, I have gotten up to 32 pages in this area....As far at the print quality-it's great!... Hubby loves this product so much-he refused to let me put it in my office-hence the reason for setting up the wireless..lol Anywho..I love it and would recommend it to a friend, which I have, and she loves hers too! Good luck in your purchases with HP- It's the only product we buy:)"
4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for HP Officejet 4500 Wireless All-in-One Printer - G510n
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Shoesie
Location: Baltimore, MD
Awful Piece of Junk
Date:July 2, 2011
"I bought this printer to do light printing duties, medium scanning, and no faxing. It was adequate as a scanner -- not fast, but not terrible. However, I have had nothing but problems trying to print with it.
After the first problem, I read numerous other reviews that repeated the same complaint: an owner inserts an ink cartridge that works for a short period of time, then kaboom -- the cartridge has a catastrophic failure and the only fix is to replace the cartridge, which fails once again. Its not "empty," mind you; it's a system problem. New cartridges fail well before they're empty.
I've replaced the black ink cartridge 2x, but only printed about 150 pages TOTAL since I bought this machine. That's right --3 black ink cartridges later, I'm being told there's yet another "failure." I can't even scan because of the problem.
This is the worst piece of junk I've purchased. I hope if you bought this, you have a better experience!"
14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for HP Officejet 4500 Wireless All-in-One Printer - G510n
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
snakehandler
Location: Birmingham, AL
Another disappointment from HP
Date:April 4, 2011
"I swore to my wife after the last HP printer (Photosmart 2250) "No more HP's". But she bought a "special" she had been e-mailed from HP about 6 months ago. Oh, it looks nice, but has to be the most needy printer ever. If you don't load the paper just right (and twist your face a certain way) it will not pick up the paper. If it finally picks up the paper after pampering it, it forgets what it was supposed to be printing. It randomly thinks there is a document on the glass and the motors and print-heads do more moving before and after printing one page than they would printing a copy of the Oxford Dictionary. And don't even get me started on the software which sits and spins and hoards all your system's resources for itself just on the possiblity you might want to scan and webprint a document. Is it too much to ask for a no-nonsense AIO that is reliable from HP?"
3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for HP Officejet 4500 Wireless All-in-One Printer - G510n
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Puurrfect
Location: Minnesota
Very Nice Machine
Date:November 17, 2011
"I have been using this machine for over a year and am very happy with it. I use all the features it has. We fax daily on it and have faxes that come in between 10-18 pages long and they come through great. When I print copies on the fast mode it will print so fast it spits the copies out past the tray so it is not slow. As for the ink cartridges HP offers a 901XL and I can get up to 2-3 months use out of it and that is with a lot of use. I have easliy ran 5000 sheets through this machine with no problems. Would I buy it again? Absolutely! Couldn, believe all the negative things I read on here about this model. I did have to deal with one paper jam but only because my son sent a copy through that had a staple in it and that is what caused the jam. I also run it with windows 7 with no problems."
5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for HP Officejet 4500 Wireless All-in-One Printer - G510n
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Avalon
Horrible printer!
Date:July 28, 2012
"I purchased this printer approx. 6 months ago and used it with my HP desktop. The paper continues to get stuck or not load at all.
I purchased an acer laptop 2 months ago and the printer will not connect to the laptop at all. Even when I use it to scan and print documents the printer doesn't feed the paper or it gets stuck mid way through.
Horrible printer. I will never purchase another HP printer and this will be my first and last.
With such a horrible quality printer I have to wonder how reliable their new computers are.
I've read other reviews for this particular printer ... its reputation is less than other HP products. I'm a little confused as to why."
2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for HP Officejet 4500 Wireless All-in-One Printer - G510n
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Lilac
Piece of Junk
Date:October 14, 2010
"We were attempting to use this product on 2 laptops, one running Vista and the other Win 7. I have installed, uninstalled, and re-installed yet nothing seems to keep it working. It loses connection, the installation takes forever, and has sat virtually unused for the last month.
I wish I had read the reviews for this printer before buying it, as I would have left it sitting in the store. I have had 4 HP printers before this, with one of them currently still in great condition. Beware, this product is not up to HP's typical standards."
8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for HP Officejet 4500 Wireless All-in-One Printer - G510n
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Zerostars
Location: SoCal
Officejet 4500 - Do Not Buy
Date:December 23, 2011
"If you are thinking that you will be purchasing a print device that--after buying their proprietary ink and photo paper--will be able to print even just a single photo, well...Ive got news for you. I build nationwide networks for a living and cannot understand how a device with one simple function can bring me to the brink of literally throwing out the window of my home office! This is junk. No, you are not saving money buying this as you will have to pay to fix whatever you break when you throw it."
12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for HP Officejet 4500 Wireless All-in-One Printer - G510n
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Disgusted Customer
Location: Pennsylvania
Worst Purchase Ever
Date:August 27, 2012
"I have had this printer for a year and a half now and it is absolute garbage. I wish I could have rated it lower than 1 star.
It will print wirelessly maybe 1 out of every 30 times if you're lucky. I have had issues with a'paper jam' when there wasnt any paper in the printer at all. It goes offline whenever it wants. I constantly have to clean and align the catridges just to possibly get it to print.
It is not reliable AT ALL.
DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT unless you like wasting money.
"
4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for HP Officejet 4500 Wireless All-in-One Printer - G510n
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ExtremeHeat
Location: South Florida
2nd Unit Almost As Bad As the First.
Date:August 20, 2012
"First unit went brain-dead just outside of the warranty period. It would power on, but would never come to a ready state.
I received a 2nd unit, and it's almost as bad. From a the power saver state, the copy function won't work unitl the unit is power-cycled. It says it's copying, but it won't respond until it's re-initialized. Also, once a copy/print is completed, the unit's carraige assy does alot of clunking until it sounds like it's going to die. Not a reliable product."
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for HP Officejet 4500 Wireless All-in-One Printer - G510n
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Frustrated College Student
Location: Orange County, CA
Worst Purchase Ever
Date:August 30, 2012
"Piece of garbage! I have to unplug the computer every time I need to print a document. So EVERY time I click print, I have to unplug it. And then it tells me that there is problems with the alignment of the cartridges. EVERY SINGLE TIME. It does thing where in goes in "power save mode" that makes no sense to me. I still don't know how to get out of the mode other than unplugging it. Not shuting it off...unplugging it. I don't know why HP is still selling this item."
4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for HP Officejet 4500 Wireless All-in-One Printer - G510n
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
nurse 541
Location: OHIO
worst printer I have ever had!
Date:January 18, 2012
"This printer is about my 15 th in my life time and it is, by far, the most UNreliable. It goes into power save mode and the only way I can find to get it to print is to disconnect it from the power source or to turn if offand then reboot the computer and then turn the printer back on. I've been on line multiple times in an attempt to solve the problem but all I find are postings complaining of the same problem I have. I won't purchase another HP."
4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for HP Officejet 4500 Wireless All-in-One Printer - G510n
Overall:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Shadow
Location: Georgia
It works
Date:January 17, 2012
"Reading the reviews it seems like a lot of people aren't that tech savvy and that HP should of included better instructions.
In order to scan wirelessly you have to download the full HP software on the machine you'd like to get the scan copied too.
However, this printer is VERY slow. Scanning takes forever, printing takes forever, and scanning to pdf was a bit buggy for me. However the faxing was satisfactory and worked like any other fax does."
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for HP Officejet 4500 Wireless All-in-One Printer - G510n
Overall:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Allie
Location: Omaha, NE
Shake my head ..
Date:March 5, 2011
"This printer will NOT print. We have tried everything. It will scan, and we believe it will copy, but we have had it for months and we still have yet to be able to print one document from it. Also, when you scan a document with it, a black smear is left on your document and shows up on the final scan on the computer as well. I very much wish we would have just gotten a standard printer. This one is such a hassle, and an overall waste of money."
8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for HP Officejet 4500 Wireless All-in-One Printer - G510n
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Gordg33
Location: Vancouver, BC.
Absolutely Terrible!
Date:August 12, 2011
"Worst printer I have ever experienced, only works when it wants to. It contantly asks to be aligned, which even completed successfully 1000 times won't stop it from asking. Scans and faxes may work after several repeated attempts, but likely will just continue to error. And that's with the firewall completely disabled, good luck to you if you have any network security.
Absolutely a terrible joke, never will I purchase an HP printer again."
7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for HP Officejet 4500 Wireless All-in-One Printer - G510n
Overall:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ellen_FL
Location: Orlando
Used to LOVE HP printers
Date:December 11, 2011
"I bought this because of brand loyalty but regret the purchase because: when loading paper the front edges always catch and bend , therefore lot's of jams. Wireless is very slow to begin print. The top lid is made cheaply, not locked in and pulls off if not super gentle. "Best" and "presentation" print quality does not meet my expectation. I threw away my old HP2600 (6 years old) but would go back to it if I could...or buy another brand."
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for HP Officejet 4500 Wireless All-in-One Printer - G510n
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
annabelle
Location: Plano, TX
Not what I would expect from HP
Date:February 29, 2012
"Bought this printer with my new HP all-in-one desktop computer (which I love). The printer was a suggested add on and priced cheaply. However, I find it difficult to deal with for many reasons. No catch tray for output, noisy, jams easily, screen hard to use, etc. I, too, discarded the box or it would be on its way back to HP. I'm totally disappointed since I have liked all the other HP printers that I have had over the years."
2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.
12345 ...7next>>