Jump to content
Jump to content

Small & Medium Business

866-625-0242 for sales; Contact HP for support

Product Reviews

HP Officejet 6500 All-in-One Printer series - E709

HP Officejet 6500 All-in-One Printer series - E709
Average Customer Rating:
3.02 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (49 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
7
3 stars
10
2 stars
10
1 star
10
23 out of 49(47%)customers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for HP Officejet 6500 All-in-One Printer series - E709
Review 1 for HP Officejet 6500 All-in-One Printer series - E709
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
darth
Location: FL
Excellent Printer
Date:January 12, 2011
"Set-up was fast and pretty easy for my old XP windows desktop. The unit is easy to understand, well laid out, and built with quality. Overall pleased with HP products in general and find this model is no exception. Highly Recommend!!"
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for HP Officejet 6500 All-in-One Printer series - E709
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tb
Location: tucson,az
Works Great
Date:December 20, 2010
"I used the Install Cd on windows 7 and everything works great! Wireless print,Fax, Everything!"
4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for HP Officejet 6500 All-in-One Printer series - E709
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KCSinger
Location: Bozeman, MT
Great AiO
Date:October 25, 2010
"I've had the 6500 E709n for about 8 months. It's been terrific. Especially as I have a 3rd-floor home office and typically work from my 2nd-floor living area, the WiFi connection has been a blessing.
No problems with any jamming, scanning, etc. Well worth the price."
Review 4 for HP Officejet 6500 All-in-One Printer series - E709
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RainwaterTubeDotCom - ForToiletFlushing
Location: Corvallis, or
Very pleased
Date:May 3, 2010
"I was reluctant to buy this but was leaning toward the 8500 due to the poor reviews on the 6500 wireless. The salesman at Office Max said his parents had this model and liked it a lot. Not wanting to spend twice or more for the 8500 I decided to go for the 6500. Am I glad I did. Am not sure why everyone had such a low opinion or it. I suspect it has more to do with their computer and wifi than the printer. i had it up and running in a casual 1 - 1 1/2 hours and that was only because of my security software interfering. These things are all complicated so of course to get things to work sometimes you have to tweek things but it was not a major hassle at all. Mine automatically wakes up when asleep so not sure what that criticism was about. The double sided feature is awesome for saving paper. So many times I print for reference anyway. And I do not find it noisy or slow. In fact I find it very fast and adequate quality on draft. Much quieter and faster than my previous Epson. The ink seems to be lasting longer than I expected from the reviews also. The color brochures I printed came out great as well as the business cards. Don't have the awful problems with feeding these heavier stocks as with other printers I have had. The only thing I have had a problem with is the printer margins versus appearance on the screen and the double sided printing from Publisher does not work as it should. But those kinds of things are minor and getting resolved as I get experience. All in all I am not sure what others were expecting but I think this printer is a great buy. And, the wireless priceless."
16 out of 18 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for HP Officejet 6500 All-in-One Printer series - E709
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
desertdaddio
Location: MPLS
Sweet!
Date:March 7, 2010
"I bought this unit because I use mostly black ink for statements. It has the XL capacity. I like the double sided printing ability it offers and it works flawlessly. Just check "duplex" on the dialogue box.
Yes, as the others have said, it takes time to install the software, but I enjoyed waiting with a cup of coffee.
Fax??? Well, I might set it up, I usually scan, then digitally fax. But the option is there. Very nice.
The copy, scan and printing features are just what I expected from HP, FANTASTIC!"
7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for HP Officejet 6500 All-in-One Printer series - E709
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
devmah
Location: Vancouver, BC
great if your not a dumb f***
Date:February 20, 2010
"This printer sets up in minutes. If you are having wi-fi problems or wired connection its probally you have a piece of a artifact computer or your router is a pre historic dinosaur! Works great on two windows 7 x64 laptops. Running via a Linksys WRT-610N router. This is between a router and printer and computer 100 feet! Highly recomend! Prints close to 600pg per refill. If having problems its you not the printer. No probs on windows 7 and setup is so simple."
6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for HP Officejet 6500 All-in-One Printer series - E709
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jen
Location: Dallas, TX
Fantastic!
Date:November 6, 2009
"Although it did take a bit of time to initially set everything up (took me about 25 minutes start-to-finish), it really wasn't difficult at all. I'm not sure what issues other people had installing the cartridges, they seem like the easiest to do of any printer I've ever used. They just snap right in place.
I love the wireless capability. I have 2 laptops and a desktop, and I put the printer on a shelf in my closet so it's quiet and out of the way, and I love that all of my computers can access it and vice versa (but note that you do have to install the drivers either from the CD or from HP's website on all of them, even on Macs which are usually pretty smart about plug'n'play).
The print quality is about as good as it gets for a inkjet printer. I've bought all-in-ones in the past thinking they'd be great and none of them compare. I print and scan documents and photos regularly and it's holding up very well, no issues after 3 months.
All in all, definitely worth the money."
9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for HP Officejet 6500 All-in-One Printer series - E709
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
dummy
Location: Redford Twp, MI
cost was great, product even better
Date:October 27, 2009
"i love this all in one, first one i have purchased my other HP was only a printer. I now have a desk and laptop and wanted a wireless to work on both. this one has a fax and I am illiterate when it comes to technical products, all my books are the "Dummies" version! I was so proud of myself that I was able to set up fax-I called the business I was faxing to and tried just one page, she said she received a "blank page" so I input it the right way and faxed a whole package, they received it no problem. it prints so much faster than my old HP, it does make a little noise, mostly after it is done printing while it resets but it does not matter because I love this product!"
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for HP Officejet 6500 All-in-One Printer series - E709
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PJ
Location: FL
Wonderful printer!
Date:October 22, 2009
"I purchased my new all in one about a month ago. The color is great and it was the easiest set up I have ever experienced. This HP replaced my old HP all in one and I cannot imagine ever buying another brand."
7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for HP Officejet 6500 All-in-One Printer series - E709
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Poppy
Location: IN
very pleased
Date:August 2, 2009
"I have had this for 10 days and I am very pleased with it. The Windows Vista setup was time-consuming but easy. The hardest part was trying to understand the printed material but I have to consider the fact that I am old. I would definitely recommend it to others. I am sure there are better and more sophisticated printers but I am satisfied that I got what I paid for."
13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for HP Officejet 6500 All-in-One Printer series - E709
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mike
Location: Toled,Ohioo
perfect machine
Date:July 23, 2009
"perfect for the average household,works great,does make some noise after printing is done but not as bad as some reviews make it out to be,my only problem is machine does not ship with u.s.b. cable (w.t.f.) ink replacements nicely priced,also machine looks good,pictures are a snap,just load the memory card and go from there. I almoat bought the 8500 series but got cheap and bought this machine....go get yours today"
5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for HP Officejet 6500 All-in-One Printer series - E709
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
marky
Location: Idaho
6500 - Excellent
Date:July 7, 2009
"Ive had the 6500 now for 3 days and have found it excellent. I was amazed how easy (although a bit long) the set up was. I didnt do anything other than hook everything up. The CD rom did all the installation. Im quite happy, where I hardly ever am happy with anything. Dang I love this machine!"
14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for HP Officejet 6500 All-in-One Printer series - E709
Overall:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Steve
The Good and the Bad
Date:February 5, 2011
"Excellent machine; lousy instructions!
Took a long time to set up, Still cannot find directions for some things which I did by accident."
4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for HP Officejet 6500 All-in-One Printer series - E709
Overall:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Leo
Location: Arizona
Great machine
Date:January 8, 2011
"Other than a couple of quirks during the install process, this all-in-one works great. We print wirelessly from all computers (4), anywhere in the house. The scanner makes it easy to scan documents (pdf files) and send via email."
0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for HP Officejet 6500 All-in-One Printer series - E709
Overall:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Hagar
Location: Hollywood, FL
Functional
Date:December 2, 2009
"While most of the criticisms are true, you need to define what you want in a printer before you buy one. For general home computing it is perfect: the noise is incidental and the speed is probably the interface between the unit and the PC. It prints faster than my old Deskjet 960c (which is still operational). I wish that the User Manual was included on the CD - It is on the HP Site (someone said they couldn't find it). It is a bear to print out (287 pages). My complaint is that the 'a' model does not have automatic 2-sided printing - it does do duplex (odd first, then even). Only the wireless model has automatic 2-sided printing. Need a retro kit!!!"
12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for HP Officejet 6500 All-in-One Printer series - E709
Overall:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sal
Location: Orlando, FL
Good enough for what I purchased it for!
Date:December 1, 2009
"This is not the printer if you are looking for a high volume printer/scanner. HP products have always used a lot of toner and ink and this is no exception. The setup is not as difficult as other reviews make it out to be and with a little computer knowledge, it's fairly easy. For my personal printer, it's more than what I need and I'm really happy with the print quality. If I needed it faster and quieter, I would have spent more money and purchased a laser but this is fine for what I needed and the price was right."
8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for HP Officejet 6500 All-in-One Printer series - E709
Overall:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
hp user
Location: Houston Texas
not at all what the others say
Date:October 6, 2009
"Okay, I read the reviews, and to be honest, I don't agree with them.
While not a breeze to set up, the hardest part was putting the cartridges in - the parts didn't want to fall into place all that easily.
However, since then I have had nothing but ease in working it. And I don't consider it noisy at all. It doesn't drown out the TV I'm watching while I print. Perhaps folks need to watch what the surface is like UNDER the printer before blaming the printer for the noise. I will be keeping this one for as long as it works
"
5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for HP Officejet 6500 All-in-One Printer series - E709
Overall:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Play Hard
Location: New Jersey
Simple Easy HIgh Quality Printer
Date:September 14, 2009
"I just purchased the printer and ran the CD for a hard wired network and it handled everything. All I had to do was press the appropriate keys and respond. The process took a long time but if you have had other Office jet products this is standard for HP Printers. Everything went as planned and no issues.
(I purchased this after my 7210 Office Jet finally died, 5 years).it wouldn't recognize the Black cartridge.)"
9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for HP Officejet 6500 All-in-One Printer series - E709
Overall:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
therosebird
Location: Buffalo, NY
Great features, reasonable price
Date:September 2, 2009
"Have been using my 6500 for nearly a month and am loving it already. The installation was easy on my PC (Vista OS, AMD 64 Athlon processor, 3GB) and ran smoothly, needing little attention. The wireless efficiency is so much better, and it's great not to have all those cables around. The color is good quality and I especially like the poster feature. I have used it numerous times already. Unfortunately, color posters use up a lot of ink, and it is difficult to find ink because the product is so new. (Off. Max has been out for weeks!) Hope HP gets the ink cartridges out to retailers quickly so I can replace them only as I need them, which is the way the product is advertised."
2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for HP Officejet 6500 All-in-One Printer series - E709
Overall:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
joe
Location: Boston
Not up to HP Standards
Date:June 4, 2011
"I am an HP fan but the Officejet 6500 just doesn't do it--although OI like the wireless feature the printer itself is slow and problematic"
1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.
123next>>