Jump to content
Jump to content

Small & Medium Business

866-625-0242 for sales; Contact HP for support

Product Reviews

HP Officejet 6500 All-in-One Printer series - E709

HP Officejet 6500 All-in-One Printer series - E709
Average Customer Rating:
3.02 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (49 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
7
3 stars
10
2 stars
10
1 star
10
23 out of 49(47%)customers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for HP Officejet 6500 All-in-One Printer series - E709
Review 21 for HP Officejet 6500 All-in-One Printer series - E709
Overall:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
cody5188
Not truly wireless
Date:January 8, 2010
"I recently purchased the 6500 wireless printer. It has one major flaw. It goes to sleep after being inactive for a time and the only way to wake it up is to go to the printer and push a button. It will not wake up wirelessly. Wireless in this case is not wireless."
5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 22 for HP Officejet 6500 All-in-One Printer series - E709
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KCSinger
Location: Bozeman, MT
Great AiO
Date:October 25, 2010
"I've had the 6500 E709n for about 8 months. It's been terrific. Especially as I have a 3rd-floor home office and typically work from my 2nd-floor living area, the WiFi connection has been a blessing.
No problems with any jamming, scanning, etc. Well worth the price."
Review 23 for HP Officejet 6500 All-in-One Printer series - E709
Overall:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mpleah
Location: New Jersey
Top Feeder Jamming
Date:July 30, 2010
"I had this printer for 25 days and to this date I cannot get the top feeder to feed the pages thru without jamming. (This is the feeder for faxing or scanning doc)It does not make a difference if it 1 page or 5 pages it jams all the time. Any one else finding this to be a problem?"
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 24 for HP Officejet 6500 All-in-One Printer series - E709
Overall:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
brian
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Not so Great
Date:July 17, 2009
"Had it for 10 days trying to get it working with Windows 7 - NO DRIVERS - Using Vista compatibility, I have only BASIC functionality.
Printer is noisiest gear thrasher I've ever owned. Initial page takes upwards of 15 seconds to "set up" with constant noise.
I will be returning it."
16 out of 19 people found this review helpful.
Review 25 for HP Officejet 6500 All-in-One Printer series - E709
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Kwailoh
Location: Cape Town south africa
An excercise in frustration
Date:March 30, 2011
"If you have windows 7 on your PC don't but this product as it will be the cause of endless frusration getting it to work.
The installation software is for XP, and will not instal.
One can't even order a new CD from HP and the download does not provide all of the required functionality
"
8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 26 for HP Officejet 6500 All-in-One Printer series - E709
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
marky
Location: Idaho
6500 - Excellent
Date:July 7, 2009
"Ive had the 6500 now for 3 days and have found it excellent. I was amazed how easy (although a bit long) the set up was. I didnt do anything other than hook everything up. The CD rom did all the installation. Im quite happy, where I hardly ever am happy with anything. Dang I love this machine!"
14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 27 for HP Officejet 6500 All-in-One Printer series - E709
Overall:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Queenie
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
so so....
Date:November 29, 2009
"I've always owned HP printers and run a small business. When I upgraded to Sno Leopard on my Mac and had to get a new printer. My old HP 6310 I loved but this one has gone backward. It does some sort of coughing or sputtering when it is done making a copy and is terribly slow from computer to printer."
8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 28 for HP Officejet 6500 All-in-One Printer series - E709
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
unhappy
Location: SF Bay Area
worst hp printer i ever purchased
Date:February 21, 2010
"Problems from inception. Wireless took an inordinate amount of time to set up and then it stopped working. Have given up on it! Connection with computer is frequently breaking up and at this particular time it is not working. I have erased the software from the hard disk and re-installed with no help. It is going to the electronic dump this very day!"
4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 29 for HP Officejet 6500 All-in-One Printer series - E709
Overall:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
T.H.
Location: Iowa
OfficeJet 6500 - poor first impression
Date:August 24, 2009
"Hard copy user guide is not included in fact I can't find one on line. The Solution Center info on line is too complex and poorly designed for ease of use. A simple hard copy of basic use and explanation of the control panel would be helpful. Not worth the money at this point.
Noisy and slow to start. Requires an update of USP port for this computer."
4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 30 for HP Officejet 6500 All-in-One Printer series - E709
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Poppy
Location: IN
very pleased
Date:August 2, 2009
"I have had this for 10 days and I am very pleased with it. The Windows Vista setup was time-consuming but easy. The hardest part was trying to understand the printed material but I have to consider the fact that I am old. I would definitely recommend it to others. I am sure there are better and more sophisticated printers but I am satisfied that I got what I paid for."
13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 31 for HP Officejet 6500 All-in-One Printer series - E709
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Dee
Location: Fairfield, CT
Poorly Designed
Date:March 26, 2010
"Worst Printer I ever had--10 seconds after every print or copy, the device goes into a carriage alignment process that lasts about 10 seconds--this means that if you don't time yourself to copy individual pages, you'll have to wait until that re-alignment process is completed. Very annoying, very irritating, very distracting. Further, the advertised ppm rates are not true."
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 32 for HP Officejet 6500 All-in-One Printer series - E709
Overall:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
bcwain
Location: Utah
Troubleshooting
Date:October 22, 2009
"When this wireless printer works it is a great little machine. However, I constantly have to work on it's wireless capabilitieis and the support-troubleshooting is not good. I usually spend 3 hours trying to find the solution and it seems like each time it is a little different issue. If HP would make specific 709n series troubleshooting easier and more helpful, then I could recommend this machine"
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 33 for HP Officejet 6500 All-in-One Printer series - E709
Overall:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Play Hard
Location: New Jersey
Simple Easy HIgh Quality Printer
Date:September 14, 2009
"I just purchased the printer and ran the CD for a hard wired network and it handled everything. All I had to do was press the appropriate keys and respond. The process took a long time but if you have had other Office jet products this is standard for HP Printers. Everything went as planned and no issues.
(I purchased this after my 7210 Office Jet finally died, 5 years).it wouldn't recognize the Black cartridge.)"
9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 34 for HP Officejet 6500 All-in-One Printer series - E709
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mike
Location: Toled,Ohioo
perfect machine
Date:July 23, 2009
"perfect for the average household,works great,does make some noise after printing is done but not as bad as some reviews make it out to be,my only problem is machine does not ship with u.s.b. cable (w.t.f.) ink replacements nicely priced,also machine looks good,pictures are a snap,just load the memory card and go from there. I almoat bought the 8500 series but got cheap and bought this machine....go get yours today"
5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 35 for HP Officejet 6500 All-in-One Printer series - E709
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Lefty
Location: Chagrin Falls Ohio
Not Satisfied
Date:March 29, 2010
"I absolutely HATE this printer. Bought it for our small business, and for and all in one the only thing it is good for is faxing. Prints sporatically, will print one page and go to print another, and it will jam. Cancel a print, and look out, it will continue to print the cancelled doc for days, can never leave paper in it for this reason. Tried uninstalling and re installed program, but this was no help...so frustrating!!!"
7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 36 for HP Officejet 6500 All-in-One Printer series - E709
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Starman
Location: Greenville, OH
Not Happy
Date:August 24, 2009
"I am not happy at all with this printer! My previous printer was an HP Officejet 7210. That printer was wonderful, so I expected the same type of performance from the Officejet 6500, I WAS WRONG! This printer is slow. When you click to print it goes into all kinds of chugging around. It takes about 20 seconds to finally start printing once it receives the command. When printing envelopes, it always smears ink onto the edges. I wish I had my 7210 back."
6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 37 for HP Officejet 6500 All-in-One Printer series - E709
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
devmah
Location: Vancouver, BC
great if your not a dumb f***
Date:February 20, 2010
"This printer sets up in minutes. If you are having wi-fi problems or wired connection its probally you have a piece of a artifact computer or your router is a pre historic dinosaur! Works great on two windows 7 x64 laptops. Running via a Linksys WRT-610N router. This is between a router and printer and computer 100 feet! Highly recomend! Prints close to 600pg per refill. If having problems its you not the printer. No probs on windows 7 and setup is so simple."
6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 38 for HP Officejet 6500 All-in-One Printer series - E709
Overall:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
einzigal
Location: Mount Vernon, Illinois
Unfortunate Step Backward In Tech
Date:November 20, 2009
"I have owned several HP printers and all-in-one's but this one doesn't impress me. After every print job is completed it goes through some sort of incredibly annoying "self-check" or whatever, that is noisy and disruptive. Also setting up custom printing shortcuts is more cumbersome or not even possible in some instances. Communication with computer is SLOOOWWW. Print quality is very good and setup was relatively painless, but I'm still not happy overall with it."
7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 39 for HP Officejet 6500 All-in-One Printer series - E709
Overall:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Tara
Location: Sherman, CT
Troubles galore!
Date:January 27, 2010
"The other review comments are all on target. This unit is noisy, wireless set-up was extremely difficult and required technical support to do so, and the "automatic" duplexing is a joke. The first page of the print job ALWAYS jams, requiring me to take off the duplex attachment, clear the jam, and resend the print job. On a second try, it prints fine. However, if I wait more than 5 minutes to send the next duplexed job, I have to go through the whole thing all over again."
10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 40 for HP Officejet 6500 All-in-One Printer series - E709
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
desertdaddio
Location: MPLS
Sweet!
Date:March 7, 2010
"I bought this unit because I use mostly black ink for statements. It has the XL capacity. I like the double sided printing ability it offers and it works flawlessly. Just check "duplex" on the dialogue box.
Yes, as the others have said, it takes time to install the software, but I enjoyed waiting with a cup of coffee.
Fax??? Well, I might set it up, I usually scan, then digitally fax. But the option is there. Very nice.
The copy, scan and printing features are just what I expected from HP, FANTASTIC!"
7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.
<<prev123next>>