Jump to content
Jump to content

Small & Medium Business

866-625-0242 for sales; Contact HP for support

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

HP Officejet Pro 8500 All-in-One Printer series - A909

Average Customer Rating:
3.265 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (49 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
6
3 stars
5
2 stars
7
1 star
12
28 out of 49(57%)customers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for HP Officejet Pro 8500 All-in-One Printer series - A909
Review 1 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 All-in-One Printer series - A909
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MAC User
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Almost Perfect Printer
Date:August 26, 2009
"Perfect in almost every way.
Summary: Photo color is more accurate than most, even when copying from the scanner bed. Photo quality is a mixed bag. Excessive ink makes non photo/brochure paper wet and crinkly (which is not great for graphics). Even on recommended HP "color loc" plain papers.
To explain further: I ran the printer through the paces the first few days, here are the negatives...
Photo prints WILL scratch easily and your fingers will remove the ink and leave a fingerprint. I tried the HP Premium Photo paper, extended drying time and four other brands of photo paper. The problem is present across brands. Oddly, the issues is a little worse with the HP premium photo paper.
When printing photos, the colors produce a dull finish, (even on glossy stock), except for the white (unprinted) areas, (which remain glossy). Very odd looking.
The ink is in NO WAY water or smudge resistant. Not even slightly resistant on the "Color Loc" papers from HP (although better with generic quality plain paper).
Printing graphics and photos on plain paper causes the ink to bleed through to the other side. Not great if you are duplex printing.
Mac software for the IRIS pro does not load. (shipped with the Premier Pro version).
Printing on envelopes, photos, alternate papers or letterhead is impossible unless you remove the stack of paper in your tray and replace it with your special stock or envelopes. The workaround is to purchase the Premier Pro edition and leave the tray empty for immediate use. *Be aware that you will receive "paper out" notices when the tray is empty.
Other than the above mentioned shortcomings, the printer is great. The best one on the market so far."
20 out of 20 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 All-in-One Printer series - A909
Overall:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mariah
Location: Westboro, MA
Good Upgrade
Date:March 22, 2010
"As an upgrade, I am very happy with the faxing and scanning capabilities, and I like the card slots. Problems: 1) The printer does not always pick up the paper when it's printing and says that the paper tray is empty even though it has plenty of paper. This happens frequently and is frustrating. 2) Also, the automatic feeder stops working when using the manual Scan entry system on the printer. The printer notes that there is no connection between the printer and computer. This is not true because I can go on the computer and use HP Solutions to scan and it feeds from the top perfectly. 3) You have to be very careful when using the top feeder because it will pull in more than one piece of paper. This is a replacement printer because the first one had more problems and I returned it. I'm sorry that I didn't return this one."
16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 All-in-One Printer series - A909
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anne
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
Worst HP Purchase Ever
Date:August 22, 2010
"I bought the 8500 printer specifically for scanning documents and efaxing, I already own the HP 4500 printer so I did not need a printer. I am very sorry I purchased this product, it has not worked properly in the four months I have owned it. I loose the scan feature regularly and spend hours on the phone or internet support trying to recapture it. I have never had such problems with an HP product before and normally think they are highly reliable - but not this product."
11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 All-in-One Printer series - A909
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Doc
Location: Tennessee
fastest yet great printer
Date:May 26, 2009
"my last all in one lasted for seven years.. this time I stepped out of my confort zone and went for a better machine. Its easy to use fax works great printing is way fast . one thing printing envolopes could be set up better."
10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 All-in-One Printer series - A909
Overall:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
DP
I like the product - problem with Scan feature
Date:July 31, 2009
"Purchased unit 6/20/09 from Costco. Setup was reasonable. Prints great, faxes quickly. We use for personal and home office. I work outside the home office and I use professional printers, copiers and fax machines. My biggest problem is with the scanner menu on the LCD. The unit continuely looses the shortcut menu. Have to turn on/off to restore. I have spent six trouble shooting sessions with HP to resolve. NOT happening (thats six hours)! Problem not solved. Is anyone else having this problem?"
9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 All-in-One Printer series - A909
Overall:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Gin
Location: Louisiana
sufficient
Date:July 12, 2011
"It works well, easy to set up. My problem, is that it has to stop and "clean printhead" and check device between every printing, and it takes a long time. Also, it goes "to sleep" and I have to unplug it to wake it up and then wait for the cleaning and checking thing again!"
8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 All-in-One Printer series - A909
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gills Indoor Air Quality
Location: Southern Oregon
Love This Machine!!
Date:March 30, 2010
"We are a small business and print about 300-600 pages per week. I have used my HP Officejet Pro 8500 A909n for the last 6 weeks and absolutely LOVE it. It is a workhorse - it prints wirelessly so everyone in the office has access to its duplexing, colating and automatic document feed capabilities. It prints extremely fast and cranks out the work hour after hour after hour. I am EXTREMELY satisfied with this printer. I would highly recommend it. Thank you for your time. Jorna"
8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 All-in-One Printer series - A909
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Jo
Location: Lansing, MI
HP 8500 -DO NOT BUY
Date:March 21, 2011
"The salesman and reports said this machine utilized ink well and did have some issues with "warm up time" What an understatement!!!
Takes forever to warm up, and keep trying to rewarm during coping. Copies are good, but not worth the frustration and time of this piece of junk.
Wouldn't recommend to my enemy."
6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 All-in-One Printer series - A909
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kt
Location: Elkton, MD
crystal clear printing!
Date:October 12, 2009
"Printer gives excellent quality for both copying documents and receiving fax's. Initializing and aligning times were a little long but worth the wait."
4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 All-in-One Printer series - A909
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
redneckpoet.com
Location: San Diego, CA
Awesome printer
Date:September 4, 2009
"This series of printers from the base to the wireless and premium model are just incredible well designed. The print quality is just as good or maybe better than any laser color units I used. Very economical on current cost of ink. Even photos look stunning, I couldn't see a difference between the 8500 and the Photosmart Premium with the 5ink 564 series."
4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 All-in-One Printer series - A909
Overall:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
PJS
Location: Goodville PA
This could be an awesome printer
Date:September 20, 2011
"BUT--
Automatic Feeder frequently doesn't feed - jams often
takes forever to get ready to do anything
sometimes it decides to do a long winded check of some kind right when I MUST fax or print something
"
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 All-in-One Printer series - A909
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Risctaker
Location: Northeast PA
Great All-in-One!
Date:June 15, 2011
"I have had HP office Jet All-in-One printers for many years now and this one is by far the most cost-effective, feature-rich printer I have bought. The Setup using an ethernet connection was easy and the print control including double-sided and special papers is great. A full size flatbed scanner/copier works every time on auto feed or single original. I have used all the features (fax/scan/copy/dbl-sided print, etc) and find them all great. Compared to previous OfficeJets, this one has more features, built-in intelligence and a lower price point. Highly recommend."
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 All-in-One Printer series - A909
Overall:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
MV
Location: Tucson, AZ
Good Device for the Price
Date:June 4, 2011
"Getting all the features installed is not as simple as most HP products where it is mostly plug-n-play. But the printer itself is quite simple. Once each device is installed (fax, scanner, printer) it all works beautifully. I had to make sure I had the latest firmware and drivers, but that is commonplace in any digital device these days. Can't beat the value for the price."
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 All-in-One Printer series - A909
Overall:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
dissappointed
Location: Hawaii
Lousy for picture printing
Date:March 15, 2011
"Have had this for over 1 year. Like to print photos but no matter what I do, they do not print nicely. Often results are streaked. Info on printing pictures is useless or non existent."
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 All-in-One Printer series - A909
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
t
Location: Cheyenne WY
frustrating product
Date:April 27, 2011
"Have had this product for 4 months and already copies have a black line running verticle through the copy. Also, without warning, signing on the computer one day the software for this machine created a "solution center" error and was trying to reload something and I lost the touch screen ability to scan. Although no connection between the computer and printer has changed an error says "No computer connection" yet Ican still print to the machine. The only solution to fix this is to uninstall and reinstall software which requires admin rights (I don't have) so I have to wait for one of our IT specialists to reinstall. This has happened several times and the last time this happened the "fix" lasted 2 days. Now the "solution center" error locks my computer at times and I must restart. I'm looking for something else...preferably not an HP product."
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 All-in-One Printer series - A909
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MARKVIII
Location: McKinney TX
Fantastic buy
Date:October 13, 2010
"I am IT Pro since the late 70’s. For the money, this is the best printer I have ever used, installed or tested. It uses less ink than anyone estimated. (Verbal or written) The cost per page is very low. Anyone who has trouble with this printer is challenged in a variety of ways. When any of my customers have had problems with this printer, it has ALWAYS proven to be Operator Error!!! I have had my 8500 for more than a year and I have not had a single problem. Thank you HP! (I am in no way associated with HP, My customers are my Private Customers. I have purchased all of the 8500’s from retailers (Whoever is cheapest at the time))"
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 All-in-One Printer series - A909
Overall:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
HarleyMYK
Location: Greater Los Angeles Area
Very Good with some qualifications
Date:April 26, 2009
"I bought this printer for my home office. The construction could be more solid for my use. The whole unit shakes when performing some operations, but this has not impacted the unit or the quality. It has also jammed, although rarely (like when only one envelope was left in the tray). It can also decide to take a couple of minutes to clean the heads, just when you are in a hurry for a single copy.
I can find no way to feed secondary stationery like envelopes through with the primary stationery loaded. If you need to alternate stationery often, consider the Premier version with the second tray, extra ink, and extra software which looks like a good deal for $100 more. Otherwise you will be swapping the contents of the single paper tray, which is a pain.
Scanning and conversion is very slow. There are minimal hard buttons for things like fax quality and such. Printing seems much slower than claimed. Scan to mail, incoming fax to network, and scan to network do not seem to work if you connect with USB. I am not sure if I have figured out how to scan legal size documents to a fax with legal size paper without scanning and faxing with reduction.
In real use, the paper exit tray extension is setup 4.5" past the front of the paper tray. This is not shown in any of the photos I have seen, so make sure you can accommodate this (not a problem for my desk setup).
Overall the software is very useful and powerful. The scan to searchable PDF does a great job on OCR. The conversion to Word was pretty amazing. Both are very, very slow -- so only practical if this is needed for smaller documents or only once in a while.
I would definitely buy my HP Wireless 8500 Pro again. But be aware of its weaknesses and drawbacks."
71 out of 72 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 All-in-One Printer series - A909
Overall:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ROGER
Location: Boca Raton, Fl
Not great
Date:June 28, 2010
"Bought this unit several months ago and had barely fair results. Prior to this one I had the
HP- G85xi that I used for nine years and thought it was great. Well made and did its job very well. This one is kind of junky, plastic. Paper tray is clumsy and wait till you have to do an envelope. In my G85xi I would stick the envelope in a slot, click print and voila I get an envelope perfectly printed. This one you have to take all the paper out of the paper tray, put the envelope in the tray, then slide the two side to stabilize the envelope, then print, then slide the side pieces back, then replace the paper- what a chore to print one envelope. Thank goodness I don't have to print many envelopes because it is a real pain. It is very noisy and when first starting to print you have to wait a long time until it gets its act togerther to print the first page. After that it prints quickly and gives good quality. Overall I gave it 3 stars and I think I was a little too generous. I wish I had repaired my old G85 no matter how much it cost.-
"
19 out of 20 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 All-in-One Printer series - A909
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
vrs
Location: Tennessee
Excellent Printer
Date:October 3, 2009
"Having been a Director of IT departments and a Systems Engineer I have reviewed many printers over the years.
Years ago I made HP printers from, small departments’ installations to large format printers the standard in companies I supported.
The Officejet Pro 8500 is replacing my HP Officejet G85, which I have had in production for more years than I can remember, in my business. And as an aside the G85 is still running great and will remain in production.
The Pro 8500 has all the features that I was seeking for my small business, from built in Ethernet to the vast paper handling capabilities.
Setup was an absolute breeze; HP's setup sheet has the printer ready to plug in to the network router within minutes. HP certainly has setup down!
The software installation ran just as smoothly and configuring the networking was straight forward. I have installed so many HP's it was second nature setting up the IP, gateway and subnet through the LCD panel. The networking portion was flawless.
I like the new software management tools, which have matured over the G85 quite nicely, with excellent built in features.
The energy saving sleep mode is great and saves on electricity and the printer comes out of sleep mode on demand. The 8500 does take longer than the G85 to power up from a cold boot as the printer performs its advanced diagnostics.
I am very happy with the ink system, having separate ink cartridges, which translates to savings on ink cost. And, also like the pigment based ink which will resist fading over time.
My first high color business flyers and fax applications ran spot on.
Great design, easy straight forward installation and rock solid performance! An excellent all round printer for home, small business or departmental applications.
I have had a long run with my G85, which is like an old trusted friend, but the Officejet Pro 8500 is an excellent replacement which has greatly enhanced our production speed and capabilities.
Good job HP."
34 out of 36 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 All-in-One Printer series - A909
Overall:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
trader
Location: OK
Envelope Printing Problems
Date:August 3, 2010
"Printer seems good in every aspect, except it will not print MS Word Envelopes unless you change drivers. It also does not print the "return" address correctly on WordPerfect envelopes. Other than that, it seems slow on the setup process, but prints good quality and fast."
10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.
123next>>