Jump to content
Jump to content

Small & Medium Business

866-625-0242 for sales; Contact HP for support

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

HP Officejet Pro 8500 All-in-One Printer series - A909

Average Customer Rating:
3.265 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (49 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
6
3 stars
5
2 stars
7
1 star
12
28 out of 49(57%)customers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for HP Officejet Pro 8500 All-in-One Printer series - A909
Review 1 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 All-in-One Printer series - A909
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Juanolo
Best Printer I've Ever Owned
Date:September 7, 2011
"The printer is a great deal; great price; easy to set up; excellent prints. I can't imagine anyone having trouble with this printer. I'm techno challanged and it was easy for me to set up. I highly recommend it.."
2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 All-in-One Printer series - A909
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
dlpcteach
Location: Florida
One sweet machine
Date:July 11, 2011
"This is one of the best little workhorses I've ever found for the money. Fast and economical. I have had absolutely no issues and would recommend (and have) this to anyone. The document feeder is a time saver and the one button functionality makes this as easy as pie to operate. A bit more than the novice plug and play requirement to initially install, but, well worth the extra effort and time. Once up and running, it's a breeze and walks you through every step of whatever you want to do. It even shows you how to insert paper for double sided printing. It just doesn't get any easier!"
3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 All-in-One Printer series - A909
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Risctaker
Location: Northeast PA
Great All-in-One!
Date:June 15, 2011
"I have had HP office Jet All-in-One printers for many years now and this one is by far the most cost-effective, feature-rich printer I have bought. The Setup using an ethernet connection was easy and the print control including double-sided and special papers is great. A full size flatbed scanner/copier works every time on auto feed or single original. I have used all the features (fax/scan/copy/dbl-sided print, etc) and find them all great. Compared to previous OfficeJets, this one has more features, built-in intelligence and a lower price point. Highly recommend."
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 All-in-One Printer series - A909
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
pacjohns
Location: Danville, IL
Excellent printer
Date:January 15, 2011
"We purchased the 8500 printer for our office because of it's 2 side printing capability. We made top quality brochures and other documents not possible with our old printer. It has proved to be an excellent choice for our needs. We networked all three computers to it and it handles all our printing needs."
7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 All-in-One Printer series - A909
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kuma
Location: Seattle, WA
Best HP printer I've ever used.
Date:October 19, 2010
"We've been using this printer for the past 4 months and it's been nothing but the most excellent printer we've used. The boot-up time is 3 minutes, but after that, everything works amazingly."
8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 All-in-One Printer series - A909
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sargerob
Location: Bellevue, NE
Great Printer
Date:October 15, 2010
"This is the second HP printer I have owned. I bought my old one 6 years ago and it died 4 months ago. I bought this one because of the features and because I like HP devices. I tried several in the stores and this one seemed to fit my needs the best. I'm sure that there are others that print better or scan better or do other things better... but it is made to be an office product.
Pros:
The wireless network setup is simple and it reconnects when you have a power flash.
E-Scanning = Scan a document and email it to anyone straight from the printer. You can set different users, different email accounts, user passwords and edit the subject line. It scans to PDF files.
Full Duplex printing and scanning = it works very well
Easy interface
The web browser interface is easy to read and understand in most areas and allows for full control over the device.
Nice touch screen
Cons:
E-Scanning has to be previously setup before it will work... and it's a pain. You have to know or research all the information for your incoming and outgoing server.
It's a BIG printer."
19 out of 21 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 All-in-One Printer series - A909
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MARKVIII
Location: McKinney TX
Fantastic buy
Date:October 13, 2010
"I am IT Pro since the late 70’s. For the money, this is the best printer I have ever used, installed or tested. It uses less ink than anyone estimated. (Verbal or written) The cost per page is very low. Anyone who has trouble with this printer is challenged in a variety of ways. When any of my customers have had problems with this printer, it has ALWAYS proven to be Operator Error!!! I have had my 8500 for more than a year and I have not had a single problem. Thank you HP! (I am in no way associated with HP, My customers are my Private Customers. I have purchased all of the 8500’s from retailers (Whoever is cheapest at the time))"
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 All-in-One Printer series - A909
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bj
Awesome printer
Date:July 23, 2010
"This printer does everything and is very user friendly. Easy to use touch screen and it prints a ton of pages without having to refill ink cartridges. I would recommend this to anyone"
1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 All-in-One Printer series - A909
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gills Indoor Air Quality
Location: Southern Oregon
Love This Machine!!
Date:March 30, 2010
"We are a small business and print about 300-600 pages per week. I have used my HP Officejet Pro 8500 A909n for the last 6 weeks and absolutely LOVE it. It is a workhorse - it prints wirelessly so everyone in the office has access to its duplexing, colating and automatic document feed capabilities. It prints extremely fast and cranks out the work hour after hour after hour. I am EXTREMELY satisfied with this printer. I would highly recommend it. Thank you for your time. Jorna"
8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 All-in-One Printer series - A909
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Texas-kv
Location: Kerrville, Texas
Great product!
Date:November 21, 2009
"This printer does all it advertises. The installation was a breeze - even the wireless set up. Works great with my XP pro desktop and my Vista laptop. I've used all the features and cannot be more pleased with this printer."
14 out of 17 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 All-in-One Printer series - A909
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kt
Location: Elkton, MD
crystal clear printing!
Date:October 12, 2009
"Printer gives excellent quality for both copying documents and receiving fax's. Initializing and aligning times were a little long but worth the wait."
4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 All-in-One Printer series - A909
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Foxy1
Location: Ormond Beach, FL
GREAT PRINTER!
Date:October 8, 2009
"I just purchased this HP Officejet Pro 8500 (All-in-One) printer and am extremely happy with it. I did hire a professional to install the printer as I had a mountain of trouble with an earlier printer installation that resulted in it not ever working.
It was well worth the cost to have this printer installed by a professional and there were no gliches. Even if this printer might be easy to install, problems in the set-up can occur during installation due to not slecting the right choice when different windows pop up during the installation. My printer is correctly installed and works properly on my network.
I am now busy printing a large project (duplex printing) that is a breeze. Duplex printing is a bit on the slow side but is turning out really great.
I love the ink cartridge indicator that shows in the window pane just how much ink is left (can also be view by opening the HP Solution Center). Having separate color cartridges is a big cost savings as you only replace the color that is out.
This printer is the tops! So glad I bought it and I highly recommend it for office or home use."
25 out of 28 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 All-in-One Printer series - A909
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
vrs
Location: Tennessee
Excellent Printer
Date:October 3, 2009
"Having been a Director of IT departments and a Systems Engineer I have reviewed many printers over the years.
Years ago I made HP printers from, small departments’ installations to large format printers the standard in companies I supported.
The Officejet Pro 8500 is replacing my HP Officejet G85, which I have had in production for more years than I can remember, in my business. And as an aside the G85 is still running great and will remain in production.
The Pro 8500 has all the features that I was seeking for my small business, from built in Ethernet to the vast paper handling capabilities.
Setup was an absolute breeze; HP's setup sheet has the printer ready to plug in to the network router within minutes. HP certainly has setup down!
The software installation ran just as smoothly and configuring the networking was straight forward. I have installed so many HP's it was second nature setting up the IP, gateway and subnet through the LCD panel. The networking portion was flawless.
I like the new software management tools, which have matured over the G85 quite nicely, with excellent built in features.
The energy saving sleep mode is great and saves on electricity and the printer comes out of sleep mode on demand. The 8500 does take longer than the G85 to power up from a cold boot as the printer performs its advanced diagnostics.
I am very happy with the ink system, having separate ink cartridges, which translates to savings on ink cost. And, also like the pigment based ink which will resist fading over time.
My first high color business flyers and fax applications ran spot on.
Great design, easy straight forward installation and rock solid performance! An excellent all round printer for home, small business or departmental applications.
I have had a long run with my G85, which is like an old trusted friend, but the Officejet Pro 8500 is an excellent replacement which has greatly enhanced our production speed and capabilities.
Good job HP."
34 out of 36 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 All-in-One Printer series - A909
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CrazyDvd32
Location: AirwayHeights, Washington
Best Purchase Ever
Date:September 30, 2009
"I have purchased eight different makes and models of all-in-one printers, And All were returned for various reasons that are not of good reviews. As for this printer I have only had one issue since using it and that is keeping it stocked with ink. Thanks for the great advances you have made with this machine."
7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 All-in-One Printer series - A909
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
redneckpoet.com
Location: San Diego, CA
Awesome printer
Date:September 4, 2009
"This series of printers from the base to the wireless and premium model are just incredible well designed. The print quality is just as good or maybe better than any laser color units I used. Very economical on current cost of ink. Even photos look stunning, I couldn't see a difference between the 8500 and the Photosmart Premium with the 5ink 564 series."
4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 All-in-One Printer series - A909
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MAC User
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Almost Perfect Printer
Date:August 26, 2009
"Perfect in almost every way.
Summary: Photo color is more accurate than most, even when copying from the scanner bed. Photo quality is a mixed bag. Excessive ink makes non photo/brochure paper wet and crinkly (which is not great for graphics). Even on recommended HP "color loc" plain papers.
To explain further: I ran the printer through the paces the first few days, here are the negatives...
Photo prints WILL scratch easily and your fingers will remove the ink and leave a fingerprint. I tried the HP Premium Photo paper, extended drying time and four other brands of photo paper. The problem is present across brands. Oddly, the issues is a little worse with the HP premium photo paper.
When printing photos, the colors produce a dull finish, (even on glossy stock), except for the white (unprinted) areas, (which remain glossy). Very odd looking.
The ink is in NO WAY water or smudge resistant. Not even slightly resistant on the "Color Loc" papers from HP (although better with generic quality plain paper).
Printing graphics and photos on plain paper causes the ink to bleed through to the other side. Not great if you are duplex printing.
Mac software for the IRIS pro does not load. (shipped with the Premier Pro version).
Printing on envelopes, photos, alternate papers or letterhead is impossible unless you remove the stack of paper in your tray and replace it with your special stock or envelopes. The workaround is to purchase the Premier Pro edition and leave the tray empty for immediate use. *Be aware that you will receive "paper out" notices when the tray is empty.
Other than the above mentioned shortcomings, the printer is great. The best one on the market so far."
20 out of 20 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 All-in-One Printer series - A909
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tiphareth
Location: New York
HP 8500 Wireless
Date:July 14, 2009
"I bought this unit primarily for office work with the intent of using another printer for photos. Since photo quality is a big concern for me, wasn't expecting it to be great as both an office printer and a photo printer. Boy was I wrong.
The photo quality is excellent. Even printed photos for a wedding album on it and am amazed. It is slow for quantity printing but for 1 here and 1 here, very quick with excellent results using the HP software that came with it.
My regret is not getting the Premier version with the extra paper tray. The cost of it is well worth it and besides you also get extra ink. The paper tray is really a must for office work as changing the tray from paper to envelopes is a bother. Set-up was easy using the install disc, just have to remember to disable the wireless blinker light if you are installing as USB as I did. I would recommend the extended warranty as 1 year warranty is a bit disappointing considering the price of this unit. That is my only concern so far. I haven't used all the features on this yet in the 2 short weeks of ownership; but, if everything else works as these features do, this is one heck of a machine!
"
11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 All-in-One Printer series - A909
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Doc
Location: Tennessee
fastest yet great printer
Date:May 26, 2009
"my last all in one lasted for seven years.. this time I stepped out of my confort zone and went for a better machine. Its easy to use fax works great printing is way fast . one thing printing envolopes could be set up better."
10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 All-in-One Printer series - A909
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
dabilene
Location: Abilene, TX
Perfect!
Date:April 13, 2009
"This printer is perfect for my wife's home office! it has dual print heads, huge paper bay, touch screen, wireless, ethernet. it even has an embedded web-server so you can configure and maintain the printer remotely. The print cartridges (black) print up to 2200 pages! It's truely the first business-class inkjet i have ever used."
46 out of 51 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 All-in-One Printer series - A909
Overall:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
bizgirl
Location: Dallas, TX
I like this printer
Date:October 1, 2011
"The printer works just fine and love the fact that I only need to replace ink when one color runs out. The wireless feature works great. I had trouble with the scanner like other review posters have, but I found a work-around. I keep a thumb drive in the USB port on the printer. Select "scan to memory device" and it will scan to the thumb drive. I have not had to reboot my computer or printer since."
123next>>