Jump to content
Jump to content

Small & Medium Business

866-625-0242 for sales; Contact HP for support

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

HP Officejet Pro 8500 All-in-One Printer series - A909

Average Customer Rating:
3.265 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (49 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
6
3 stars
5
2 stars
7
1 star
12
28 out of 49(57%)customers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for HP Officejet Pro 8500 All-in-One Printer series - A909
Review 41 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 All-in-One Printer series - A909
Overall:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mariah
Location: Westboro, MA
Good Upgrade
Date:March 22, 2010
"As an upgrade, I am very happy with the faxing and scanning capabilities, and I like the card slots. Problems: 1) The printer does not always pick up the paper when it's printing and says that the paper tray is empty even though it has plenty of paper. This happens frequently and is frustrating. 2) Also, the automatic feeder stops working when using the manual Scan entry system on the printer. The printer notes that there is no connection between the printer and computer. This is not true because I can go on the computer and use HP Solutions to scan and it feeds from the top perfectly. 3) You have to be very careful when using the top feeder because it will pull in more than one piece of paper. This is a replacement printer because the first one had more problems and I returned it. I'm sorry that I didn't return this one."
16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 42 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 All-in-One Printer series - A909
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
t
Location: Cheyenne WY
frustrating product
Date:April 27, 2011
"Have had this product for 4 months and already copies have a black line running verticle through the copy. Also, without warning, signing on the computer one day the software for this machine created a "solution center" error and was trying to reload something and I lost the touch screen ability to scan. Although no connection between the computer and printer has changed an error says "No computer connection" yet Ican still print to the machine. The only solution to fix this is to uninstall and reinstall software which requires admin rights (I don't have) so I have to wait for one of our IT specialists to reinstall. This has happened several times and the last time this happened the "fix" lasted 2 days. Now the "solution center" error locks my computer at times and I must restart. I'm looking for something else...preferably not an HP product."
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 43 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 All-in-One Printer series - A909
Overall:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ROGER
Location: Boca Raton, Fl
Not great
Date:June 28, 2010
"Bought this unit several months ago and had barely fair results. Prior to this one I had the
HP- G85xi that I used for nine years and thought it was great. Well made and did its job very well. This one is kind of junky, plastic. Paper tray is clumsy and wait till you have to do an envelope. In my G85xi I would stick the envelope in a slot, click print and voila I get an envelope perfectly printed. This one you have to take all the paper out of the paper tray, put the envelope in the tray, then slide the two side to stabilize the envelope, then print, then slide the side pieces back, then replace the paper- what a chore to print one envelope. Thank goodness I don't have to print many envelopes because it is a real pain. It is very noisy and when first starting to print you have to wait a long time until it gets its act togerther to print the first page. After that it prints quickly and gives good quality. Overall I gave it 3 stars and I think I was a little too generous. I wish I had repaired my old G85 no matter how much it cost.-
"
19 out of 20 people found this review helpful.
Review 44 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 All-in-One Printer series - A909
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sargerob
Location: Bellevue, NE
Great Printer
Date:October 15, 2010
"This is the second HP printer I have owned. I bought my old one 6 years ago and it died 4 months ago. I bought this one because of the features and because I like HP devices. I tried several in the stores and this one seemed to fit my needs the best. I'm sure that there are others that print better or scan better or do other things better... but it is made to be an office product.
Pros:
The wireless network setup is simple and it reconnects when you have a power flash.
E-Scanning = Scan a document and email it to anyone straight from the printer. You can set different users, different email accounts, user passwords and edit the subject line. It scans to PDF files.
Full Duplex printing and scanning = it works very well
Easy interface
The web browser interface is easy to read and understand in most areas and allows for full control over the device.
Nice touch screen
Cons:
E-Scanning has to be previously setup before it will work... and it's a pain. You have to know or research all the information for your incoming and outgoing server.
It's a BIG printer."
19 out of 21 people found this review helpful.
Review 45 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 All-in-One Printer series - A909
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Foxy1
Location: Ormond Beach, FL
GREAT PRINTER!
Date:October 8, 2009
"I just purchased this HP Officejet Pro 8500 (All-in-One) printer and am extremely happy with it. I did hire a professional to install the printer as I had a mountain of trouble with an earlier printer installation that resulted in it not ever working.
It was well worth the cost to have this printer installed by a professional and there were no gliches. Even if this printer might be easy to install, problems in the set-up can occur during installation due to not slecting the right choice when different windows pop up during the installation. My printer is correctly installed and works properly on my network.
I am now busy printing a large project (duplex printing) that is a breeze. Duplex printing is a bit on the slow side but is turning out really great.
I love the ink cartridge indicator that shows in the window pane just how much ink is left (can also be view by opening the HP Solution Center). Having separate color cartridges is a big cost savings as you only replace the color that is out.
This printer is the tops! So glad I bought it and I highly recommend it for office or home use."
25 out of 28 people found this review helpful.
Review 46 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 All-in-One Printer series - A909
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tiphareth
Location: New York
HP 8500 Wireless
Date:July 14, 2009
"I bought this unit primarily for office work with the intent of using another printer for photos. Since photo quality is a big concern for me, wasn't expecting it to be great as both an office printer and a photo printer. Boy was I wrong.
The photo quality is excellent. Even printed photos for a wedding album on it and am amazed. It is slow for quantity printing but for 1 here and 1 here, very quick with excellent results using the HP software that came with it.
My regret is not getting the Premier version with the extra paper tray. The cost of it is well worth it and besides you also get extra ink. The paper tray is really a must for office work as changing the tray from paper to envelopes is a bother. Set-up was easy using the install disc, just have to remember to disable the wireless blinker light if you are installing as USB as I did. I would recommend the extended warranty as 1 year warranty is a bit disappointing considering the price of this unit. That is my only concern so far. I haven't used all the features on this yet in the 2 short weeks of ownership; but, if everything else works as these features do, this is one heck of a machine!
"
11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 47 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 All-in-One Printer series - A909
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MAC User
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Almost Perfect Printer
Date:August 26, 2009
"Perfect in almost every way.
Summary: Photo color is more accurate than most, even when copying from the scanner bed. Photo quality is a mixed bag. Excessive ink makes non photo/brochure paper wet and crinkly (which is not great for graphics). Even on recommended HP "color loc" plain papers.
To explain further: I ran the printer through the paces the first few days, here are the negatives...
Photo prints WILL scratch easily and your fingers will remove the ink and leave a fingerprint. I tried the HP Premium Photo paper, extended drying time and four other brands of photo paper. The problem is present across brands. Oddly, the issues is a little worse with the HP premium photo paper.
When printing photos, the colors produce a dull finish, (even on glossy stock), except for the white (unprinted) areas, (which remain glossy). Very odd looking.
The ink is in NO WAY water or smudge resistant. Not even slightly resistant on the "Color Loc" papers from HP (although better with generic quality plain paper).
Printing graphics and photos on plain paper causes the ink to bleed through to the other side. Not great if you are duplex printing.
Mac software for the IRIS pro does not load. (shipped with the Premier Pro version).
Printing on envelopes, photos, alternate papers or letterhead is impossible unless you remove the stack of paper in your tray and replace it with your special stock or envelopes. The workaround is to purchase the Premier Pro edition and leave the tray empty for immediate use. *Be aware that you will receive "paper out" notices when the tray is empty.
Other than the above mentioned shortcomings, the printer is great. The best one on the market so far."
20 out of 20 people found this review helpful.
Review 48 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 All-in-One Printer series - A909
Overall:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
HarleyMYK
Location: Greater Los Angeles Area
Very Good with some qualifications
Date:April 26, 2009
"I bought this printer for my home office. The construction could be more solid for my use. The whole unit shakes when performing some operations, but this has not impacted the unit or the quality. It has also jammed, although rarely (like when only one envelope was left in the tray). It can also decide to take a couple of minutes to clean the heads, just when you are in a hurry for a single copy.
I can find no way to feed secondary stationery like envelopes through with the primary stationery loaded. If you need to alternate stationery often, consider the Premier version with the second tray, extra ink, and extra software which looks like a good deal for $100 more. Otherwise you will be swapping the contents of the single paper tray, which is a pain.
Scanning and conversion is very slow. There are minimal hard buttons for things like fax quality and such. Printing seems much slower than claimed. Scan to mail, incoming fax to network, and scan to network do not seem to work if you connect with USB. I am not sure if I have figured out how to scan legal size documents to a fax with legal size paper without scanning and faxing with reduction.
In real use, the paper exit tray extension is setup 4.5" past the front of the paper tray. This is not shown in any of the photos I have seen, so make sure you can accommodate this (not a problem for my desk setup).
Overall the software is very useful and powerful. The scan to searchable PDF does a great job on OCR. The conversion to Word was pretty amazing. Both are very, very slow -- so only practical if this is needed for smaller documents or only once in a while.
I would definitely buy my HP Wireless 8500 Pro again. But be aware of its weaknesses and drawbacks."
71 out of 72 people found this review helpful.
Review 49 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 All-in-One Printer series - A909
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
vrs
Location: Tennessee
Excellent Printer
Date:October 3, 2009
"Having been a Director of IT departments and a Systems Engineer I have reviewed many printers over the years.
Years ago I made HP printers from, small departments’ installations to large format printers the standard in companies I supported.
The Officejet Pro 8500 is replacing my HP Officejet G85, which I have had in production for more years than I can remember, in my business. And as an aside the G85 is still running great and will remain in production.
The Pro 8500 has all the features that I was seeking for my small business, from built in Ethernet to the vast paper handling capabilities.
Setup was an absolute breeze; HP's setup sheet has the printer ready to plug in to the network router within minutes. HP certainly has setup down!
The software installation ran just as smoothly and configuring the networking was straight forward. I have installed so many HP's it was second nature setting up the IP, gateway and subnet through the LCD panel. The networking portion was flawless.
I like the new software management tools, which have matured over the G85 quite nicely, with excellent built in features.
The energy saving sleep mode is great and saves on electricity and the printer comes out of sleep mode on demand. The 8500 does take longer than the G85 to power up from a cold boot as the printer performs its advanced diagnostics.
I am very happy with the ink system, having separate ink cartridges, which translates to savings on ink cost. And, also like the pigment based ink which will resist fading over time.
My first high color business flyers and fax applications ran spot on.
Great design, easy straight forward installation and rock solid performance! An excellent all round printer for home, small business or departmental applications.
I have had a long run with my G85, which is like an old trusted friend, but the Officejet Pro 8500 is an excellent replacement which has greatly enhanced our production speed and capabilities.
Good job HP."
34 out of 36 people found this review helpful.
<<prev123