Jump to content
Jump to content

Small & Medium Business

866-625-0242 for sales; Contact HP for support

Product Reviews

HP Officejet Pro 8500 AiO Printer

HP Officejet Pro 8500 Premier All-in-One Printer - A909n
Average Customer Rating:
2.515 out of 5
2.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (68 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
11
3 stars
4
2 stars
10
1 star
30
28 out of 68(41%)customers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for HP Officejet Pro 8500 AiO Printer
Review 1 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 AiO Printer
Overall:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
MojoJoJo
Location: Apex, NC
Great Printer
Date:March 6, 2011
"We've had the HP Officejet Pro 8500 for about 18 months. The printer is for home/personal use, although my wife uses it for scanning work documents and printing in color. I'm not sure if the other people are reviewing the same printer. We print photos, school reports, recipes, and lots of pictures of skateboards. The printer we've been using has worked fine. Occasionally (once every couple of months) a print job gets stuck in the queue, but it's easy to fix. It may be a quirk in the wireless network. We have Mac and Windows computers using the printer, without issue. Plus, the replacement cartridges are reasonably priced, and last a long time. We use the printer as a light office/home use machine to print, copy and scan. I have not had the "Clean Printer Head" issues that some complain about, but I'm not making 100 copies a week. I don't have the fax hooked up, either, but I haven't sent a fax in years."
Review 2 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 AiO Printer
Overall:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mel
Location: Phoenix, AZ
waking up from hibernation
Date:October 25, 2010
"My unit goes into sleep mode and touching any button on control panel will not wake it up nor will hitting the print command on any document. I have to turn unit off then back on and wait for a reset. Unit only been in service for 4 days."
Review 3 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 AiO Printer
Overall:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Rev
Location: Kingston, Jamaica
We Like IT!
Date:September 13, 2010
"This printer has worked great right out of the box. It loaded all drivers perfectly, on our XP machines, Vista machine, MACbook PRO, and our Windows 7. We have had no problems with the feeder, the scanner, the copier and the fax. They have all worked just as they are supposed to. We have most connected via wireless, one by USB connection. We are having difficulty in finding ink cartridges for it. But since we have moved out of country, we kind of expect that."
Review 4 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 AiO Printer
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JLV
Location: Granby, QC
Love this printer
Date:March 21, 2011
"I have owned many different multifunction machines and this is the best one so far. I did own a previous HP and it lasted for a few years, which is why I purchased this one."
0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 AiO Printer
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ginny
Location: Louisiana
too needy
Date:January 25, 2011
"I use it for a small office. It makes good copies and sometimes I run many copies a week. The negative is that is wants to "clean printheads" after the printing and this takes a long time. Slows me down. Also, lately,I have to unplug and wait a minute and replug it. It doesn't want to come on. Wouldn't buy it again."
0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 AiO Printer
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not Happy
Location: S,F,Bay Area
Conflicts ith Excel
Date:November 19, 2010
"Printer & out-dated drivers conflict with Excel, resulting in 2 to 3 minutes for Excel to save a file."
0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 AiO Printer
Overall:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mrs. B
Location: CA
Mixed feelings
Date:February 9, 2011
"I have two of these, at home, and at office, and I have paper loading issues in both feeders, the top fax/scan tray, and the lower paper tray. There are a lot of jams, and false paper "outages". Otherwise, I like the features it offers, I use it daily."
1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 AiO Printer
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
wellsuited
Location: Orange County, CA
Very happy with this machine
Date:March 23, 2011
"Although it was WAY more machine than I went into Staples intending to buy, I bought it after the sales rep asked me a number of questions and guided me to three machines that he thought might best suit my needs.
I purchased it in Dec. 2009 and use the printer, scanner, automatic feeder, fax and duplex features almost daily. It's printed business cards, 4x6 pictures (color & b&w), 2-sided color brochures, gift certificates, wedding invitations, formal letters and more... all like a champ. I have not had any problems with it until trying to print about 30 pictures in one sitting a few days ago. The problem was actually due to low ink levels caused by my being economical (read: cheap) by trying to suck as much ink out as possible. The printer apparently tried to self adjust causing some double images that went away AFTER I changed the ink cartridge.
I thought it was overkill when I first purchased it, but am very happy that I did.
As for the negative reviews I've read here, my guess is that are (like any product in the marketplace) a few bad ones that make it thru q/c and need to be exchanged."
1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 AiO Printer
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anniep
Very Disappointed
Date:September 2, 2010
"I have only owned this printer a few months, but now every single time I print something the cartridge jams. I have to turn the printer off, wait and turn it back on, then it jams again. Non stop all day! I am ready to get rid of it fast."
1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 AiO Printer
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LarryF
Location: Peoria, IL
Great Unit!
Date:November 6, 2009
"I bought this unit for a repossesed car lot and it just works fantabulous! It's fast, it makes great copies and printouts, it faxes effortlessly, it scans to network-attached PCs with ease! The best feature? It's so easy to use that I didn't have to train the people to use it!!!!!! Now I want that Premium one for MY office!"
2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 AiO Printer
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
PoPo
Location: Maine
No more HP printers for me
Date:February 25, 2011
"OMG! By far this is the worst HP printer/scanner I have ever owned, and I've had a few. Between the jams and the half black scans, my fustration level each time I use it, which unfortunately is a lot, increases to near anger. A new brand seems to be my only choice, not HP, I've only had this printer for a few months, it appears that it is a few months to long. Come on HP! The least you could do is when you send a patch (as you did for the 'out of paper' error) check it to ensure it works, mine didn't. To buy this printer would be a costly mistake."
4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 AiO Printer
Overall:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
ohyeh
Location: Seattle
Another Pretty Face
Date:December 3, 2010
"This printer has a great user interface on the printer and from the software (improved from my officejet 7410 which it replaced.). For b/w printing and simple graphics, it's superior. However, the print quality of photographs is very inferior by a large degree when compared to the 7410. On material that is at all dense, I get lines and black ink smearing. So why spend the money on a machine that really doesn't "do it all". I will probably go back to the 7410."
4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 AiO Printer
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Dominated4Life
Location: San Francisco
Not Compatible with Microsoft Office
Date:November 2, 2009
"Older hp printers worked fine with office. This printer will not print envelopes with Office 2007 Mac.
Cannot use Avery product templates either.
If you need a printer for business, sadly, the Officejet Pro 8500 is not the one.
Save the box and try it yourself."
8 out of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 AiO Printer
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Vic
Horrible
Date:February 24, 2011
"Bought the machine because our IT person recommended it for ease of set up. Well it was easy to set up and that's where it all ended. Clients are constantly calling to tell us to refax because the fax did not come through clearly. The machine is slow and you can not do two functions at a time as our former unit did."
2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 AiO Printer
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
IT Pro
Location: Tampa, FL
Choose another product or brand
Date:January 27, 2011
"Bought two one for my wifes office one for home. Home one failed within 30 days, got it replaced and while it works 70% of the time, it jams pretty frequently. The office printer had to be replaced after 4 months.
The printer is just unreliable for any kind of regular printing in an office. The office has xp, vista and windows 7, which definitely work better than mac , I would NOT recommend anyone with an apple to consider this. The HP driver code is massively bloated, "basic print and scan drivers" are at 241MB? The full drivers are 356MB!? Even the so called IT PRO drivers are 30MB.
"
2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 AiO Printer
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ramblin
Location: Paso Robles, CA
no automation
Date:November 2, 2010
"Did not come with the required usb cable. After I got the cable, set up was easy. Places an extra toolbar on ie explorer with advertising. Tray 1 does not have a backstop. Will not automatically select paper size nor paper tray. To print legal, I must manually select legal size and tray two in the printer selections on the computer each time I print that size. Scans will include the extra portion between the edge of the paper and the scan bed unless I manually select to crop the document before scanning regular letter size. This lack of automation is totally terible and unacceptable!"
2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 AiO Printer
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
F Rustration
Location: Atlanta, GA
Trying again
Date:July 12, 2010
"This "all-in-one" has it all. Excellent, color and print quality. Reasonable speed of printing and low priced ink replacement cartridges. I have loved and purchased this brand for over 15 years. They were the best in my opnion! So, I purchased two for our new small business. After 3 months I ordered a new laser printer for my Husband. After 6 months of putting up with the foolishness, I am shopping for a new one for myself. I don't have time to put up with the all the paper jams (both from the tray and through the feeder). It continually tells me it is out of paper when the tray is full. I have tried using different weight paper but it has trouble lifting anything lighter than 24 pound Linen paper. Anything I scan or copy through the automatic feeder, now has long black lines on the face of the reproduced document. I must have messed something up when I was trying to retrieve a document the feeder was trying to eat. This was my first inkjet . . . my fault, I'm going back to laser. No smudges there."
2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 AiO Printer
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
anesthesia
Location: north carolina
impossible to copy
Date:September 22, 2010
"wish I had read the reviews-this printer prints ok but won't copy-have had to spend too much time researching fixes-will never buy another one! I own 5 other HP printers, and they work fine."
4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 AiO Printer
Overall:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Rnsco
Location: Seattle, WA
MISSING FAX OPTION
Date:September 18, 2009
"The 8500 is my third HP all-in-one. The last two models 7780 and 7410 BOTH have the capability to create a fax cover page from the computer as well as send a fax from the printer glass (instead of using the top feeder). It would be great to have the ability to create a cover sheet containg a message with or without aditional pages. I can't understand why such a nice feature(s) would be discarded by HP."
4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 AiO Printer
Overall:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
gweedy
Location: South Australia
Great Product and Service
Date:January 14, 2010
"Just bought this printer upgrading from a HP Photosmart 3100 (which was also a good printer except for the amount of ink it chewed through). The set up of this printer was smooth and easy - not one problem though I'm still trying to figure out how to work it effectively with my telephone answering machine. Photos are of high quality and prints quickly. XL print cartridges are worth their money - last a long time. Had trouble printing landscape from Photoshop but could do it using the HP Photosmart Studio- still exploring this though - could be my fault and not the printers. Its also very quiet compared to the last printer and the 250 sheet paper tray is excellent though would have like the separate photo paper tray (though you can purchase an additional tray). Love it - so far so good."
5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.
1234next>>