Jump to content
Jump to content

Small & Medium Business

866-625-0242 for sales; Contact HP for support

Product Reviews

HP Officejet Pro 8500 Wireless AiO Printer

HP Officejet Pro 8500 Wireless All-in-One Printer - A909g
Average Customer Rating:
2.797 out of 5
2.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (79 reviews)
5 stars
23
4 stars
11
3 stars
6
2 stars
5
1 star
34
36 out of 79(46%)customers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for HP Officejet Pro 8500 Wireless AiO Printer
Review 1 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 Wireless AiO Printer
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
bear
Location: Martinsburg, WV
Steer clear of this one
Date:February 23, 2011
"Just do a search in the HP support forums for "HP 8500 offline" or "HP 8500 freezes" or "HP 8500 Wireless" (without the quotes). It will tell you all you need to know about this printer.
*You've been warned.*
"
Review 2 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 Wireless AiO Printer
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
redhd
Location: Houston, TX
Feeder jams continually
Date:February 17, 2011
"We are finally going to have to throw this thing away. The print quality is good, when it works. It worked for about 2-3 months and then the paper started jamming. Tried good paper, bad paper, little paper, a lot of paper. None of it helped. Then it got to where it wouldn't even recognize paper in the tray. Tried taking it apart, nothing works. Of course, it was after the year mark before it wouldn't work AT ALL (shortly after) and we are told it's too costly to get it repaired! Piece of trash. I'll never buy and HP printer again!"
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 Wireless AiO Printer
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Printman
Location: Montgomery AL
There's gotta be better options
Date:December 31, 2010
"print quality is fine, and I like the features (scanner, duplex, printer, copier, fax machine. My main complaint is that I keep getting "printer is out of paper" errors even though the print tray is full. I don't recommend this printer."
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 Wireless AiO Printer
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Notimpressed
Location: Portland, OR
Paper Won't Feed
Date:December 4, 2010
"Worked great at first. Than it quit pulling paper thru. The office supply place suggested 24lb paper. That cost a small fortune but I bought it. Still did not Work!!!!! I have tried everything. This is my 3rd HP Printer and I hate this one more than any of them. It is loud and will not pull the paper at all. Do not buy this product."
3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 Wireless AiO Printer
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Just me
Location: New Jersey
DRINKS INK LIKE SODA
Date:December 3, 2010
"I had the HP722C If I could marry that printer I would. Still works great but can't be used with a mac and they won't give upgraded software for Windows 7. THIS PRINTER IS AWFUL. Quality is mediocre and it takes FOREVER to print. And changing the print quality on the Mac is IMPOSSIBLE. I really hate this printer."
4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 Wireless AiO Printer
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
still waiting
Continue Looking
Date:November 20, 2010
"Like others, had many HP printer / office products and this is by far a complete miss on what HP must have intended! If you are planning to send more than a single page fax, share more than one computer and or ever hope to scan to a computer (USB memory stick works great...) then suggest you continue looking."
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 Wireless AiO Printer
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
AndyR
Location: Smithtown, NY
Unusable most of the time
Date:November 12, 2010
"I have owned many HP printers in the past, and have found these printers to be excellent. Not so for HP 8500. My point of sale system is configured for the 8500, so this purchase was mandatory. After only a month, the paper does not feed correctly most of the time. I have an older version of this printer, and the paper feed is flawless after years of use. I have tried turning the paper over, curling the paper,... nothing works, and why should I have to go through this each time. In addition, the blacks do not fuse properly and smear when you touch the page."
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 Wireless AiO Printer
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
HPUSER
Location: Northern California
Don't Buy This Printer
Date:October 30, 2010
"Buy this printer only if you want see error messages all day long. Buy it if you want to wait and wait while it goes through time consuming diagnostics in the middle of print jobs. Another problem is that the "load paper" indicator comes on repeatedly even when paper is loaded and ready. This HP shimmys and shakes while printing and it is noisy."
4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 Wireless AiO Printer
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
HP fan
Terrible printer
Date:October 28, 2010
"I've had this printer for just under a month and it completely locked up"
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 Wireless AiO Printer
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Unhappy with HP
Location: Chical Il
Don't purchase
Date:October 19, 2010
"This product for the most part does not work. The printer will disappear from the network and there is no easy way to make it available to the PC. If you are printing and run out of paper during printing, you have to start over. Otherwise you will continue to get paper jams. I have to make sure each time I print there is enough paper in the printer. The only way to clear paper jams is to cancel all print jobs, clear the jams, reset the paper in the paper tray, and turn off then on the printer. What a waste of time."
7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 Wireless AiO Printer
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
JCT
Location: Texas
Worst Purchase Ever
Date:October 16, 2010
"Had printer for one month; it failed. returned and exchanged it, still very unhappy. Use only for home, cannot walk away with print cued up, will have paper jam after just a few copies. Tried the high priced HP paper still jams. Would not recommend it to anyone. Going broke buying ink for copies thrown away due to jams."
6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 Wireless AiO Printer
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Android
Location: Texas
Steer Clear!!!
Date:September 27, 2010
"Noisy, Clunky, will NOT stay connected to your network. EVERY TIME you 'reset" this printer it goes through a multitude of gyrations, trying to re-calibrate itself.
Prints OK when it works, scans great, easy to use......if you are not in a hurry.
"
6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 Wireless AiO Printer
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Suze
Will Not Feed Paper
Date:September 12, 2010
"Print quality is fine, but unless you want to stand in front of your printer and shove the paper in one sheet at a time, do not buy this printer. The paper feeder is incapable of automatically feeding paper into the printer from the paper tray. If HP says it is because you are using cheap paper -- DON'T BELIEVE IT. I am using expensive HP paper, and am still having the same problem. This was a very pricey printer, and I am very disappointed."
4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 Wireless AiO Printer
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Rojo
Horrible
Date:August 18, 2010
"Worst printer I have ever used. Can not handle its main ingredient- paper."
5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 Wireless AiO Printer
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Consultant
Location: south Carolina
Worst HP I've ever owned
Date:August 5, 2010
"After reading all the other negative reviews there are many issues I will never know about because this machine refuses to work on a wireless basis and I will take it back to the store for a refund. The machine indicates it's connected to the network, my desktop says it is not. It either doesn't print at all or prints 15-45 minutes later, even when I have cancelled the print job. My laptops cannot find the 8500 even if I take the firewall down. From what I have read, Toshiba laptops never work with this device."
11 out of 17 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 Wireless AiO Printer
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ASResq
Location: Washington, DC
This really isn't a Printer
Date:June 23, 2010
"The 8500 has caused me more stress than any other since my first computer in 1984. It looks good in my office, it has great apps, the touch screen interface is convenient, and it does everything I need it to do ... when it works. But it's very quirky and constantly going off line to run diagnostics, etc. Some apps don't work wirelessly, so I still use a USB connection. It also wants to be constantly connected to the internet. Why? Because this is not a printer--it's a cheap computer with printing capabilities added on. Three clients who admired mine later purchased 8500 or 6500 HP printers and now complain of the same problems TO ME. Unfortunately, help desks are useless because you cannot understand the people and they're just reading from scripts. It's disappointing as a small business owner to routinely address printing problems as part of my day. I want to love my 8500, but can't."
18 out of 18 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 Wireless AiO Printer
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Dr. Cathy
Location: Albuquerque, New Mexico
printer rarely works
Date:May 13, 2010
"Do not buy this product. This printer has never worked from the start. Paper feed is extremely poor and print quality is "iffy" at best.. It is not a dependable model and I do not recommend anyone buying this product.."
13 out of 17 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 Wireless AiO Printer
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Unhappy
Location: Kuwait
Worst HP Printer Ever
Date:May 12, 2010
"I have been using HP printers since the days of HP Laserjet 2 and this is the worst one I've ever had. I had to return the first one back to the store and get it replaced because it couldn't be installed, and now I keep getting "paper tray empty" messages when it is full."
13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 Wireless AiO Printer
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Kokeemon
Location: Longmont, Colorado
Print Heads Quit, Doesn't Feed Paper
Date:April 13, 2010
"It prints fast enough but the paper feed system leaves much to be desired. When the tray is full it indicates that the papaer tray is empty. Now the yellow print head is not working. Good thing I have an extended warranty on this thing. Taking it back to Staples!"
6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 Wireless AiO Printer
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Unhappy customer
Location: Ireland
Rubbish Purchase
Date:April 7, 2010
"Only have this printer 3 months and already hate it. 1) The paper feeder does not work half the time. 2) There are streaks on the scans that come from the document feeder and there is no way of cleaning the concealed viewer. 3) The wireless connection gives problems. Do not waste your money!!"
4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.
1234next>>