Jump to content
Jump to content

Small & Medium Business

866-625-0242 for sales; Contact HP for support

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

HP Officejet J4500/J4600 All-in-One Printer series

Average Customer Rating:
1.923 out of 5
1.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (52 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
7
1 star
32
12 out of 52(23%)customers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for HP Officejet J4500/J4600 All-in-One Printer series
Review 1 for HP Officejet J4500/J4600 All-in-One Printer series
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
DoubleD
Very Poor Quality - Do not purchase
Date:February 22, 2012
"Many problems including:
- frequent paper jams
- color cartridridge not recognized and/or reported as bad,even though it was the original HP cartridge shipped with the printer
- documents do not scan to thier original size, but to a shrunken size
- low cartridge ink reported for relatively new cartridges
- poor communication wiht PC
"
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for HP Officejet J4500/J4600 All-in-One Printer series
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
dwolfman
Location: Ohio
worst purchase ever
Date:April 23, 2011
"This product does not work properly. Have spent hundreds of hours trying to make this work. Once you get it to be able to print, then it won't scan."
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for HP Officejet J4500/J4600 All-in-One Printer series
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Jen
Location: California
DO NOT BUY- horrible printer!
Date:April 19, 2011
"I have a J4680 All-in-One and I hate it! It is one of the worst printers I've ever had. It constantly gets jammed and it won't power itself off so I have to manually unplug it. It doesn't know how to feed paper and that's one of it's basic functions! I've already had to replace the ink and I think I printed no more than 50 sheets of paper before the cartridge needed to be replaced."
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for HP Officejet J4500/J4600 All-in-One Printer series
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
wrt
do not buy
Date:April 6, 2011
"This machine wants to dominate my computer, and is high maintenence for ink. I may be exagerating, but I think I spend as much on gas getting to the store and back as I do in Ink. I cant get through a reem of paper before the black Ink runs out.
Print quality is ok, but the ink price is atrocious."
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for HP Officejet J4500/J4600 All-in-One Printer series
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
jdream
Location: Texas
ink and enlarge
Date:January 9, 2011
"I will never buy another HP product and it goes without saying not recommend one. The ink is expensive and goes too fast. One of the reasons I bought it was so I could enlarge patterns. There is an enlarge/ reduce setting BUT to get it to work is impossible."
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for HP Officejet J4500/J4600 All-in-One Printer series
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
MoGrass
Location: NJ
All around prointing
Date:December 13, 2010
"It's GARBAGE! Screws up the pics and only prints 1/2 of it. Doesn't communicate with computer yet it say that the J4800 is ready. The fax used to work but no longer works. I'll never buy another HP product again. The only thing it does right is print text."
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for HP Officejet J4500/J4600 All-in-One Printer series
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Frustrated
Not good!
Date:July 17, 2010
"I got this printer to replace an older EXCELLENT, not top of the line HP, and this one has caused me problems from the get-go. The quality of print is poor. I wondered if I just remembered the "old one" better than it really was until I ran across a picture I'd printed with the old one - and it was incredibly great!!! No bad memory there! (on my part.)"
4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for HP Officejet J4500/J4600 All-in-One Printer series
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous
Location: Nashville, Tn
lc
Date:June 21, 2010
"This printer is not good The scanner went out and then not anything worked except the copier. When then ink ran out I will not waste my money to replace the ink."
11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for HP Officejet J4500/J4600 All-in-One Printer series
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Kyle
Location: Colorado
Terrible
Date:May 10, 2010
"This is the worst printer I've ever had. It malfunctions all the time. I had to send in the first one because it stopped functioning completely for no reason at all."
7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for HP Officejet J4500/J4600 All-in-One Printer series
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
purpledoc
Location: Pacific Grove, CA
Not User Friendly
Date:April 29, 2010
"I have been frustrated with this machine from the beginning. !st it took me forever to figure out how to stop it from ringing. I need it to be silent. Nothing has been easy about using it except for printing and even that sometimes is a problem. This machine is too complicated and not user friendly. I would not recommend it."
5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for HP Officejet J4500/J4600 All-in-One Printer series
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Neverever
Location: Johnson City, TN
J4580 HEADACHE
Date:January 13, 2010
"I received my All-in-One as a gift, otherwise I would have returned it within a week. It continues to torment me regularly : locking up in mid-scan, screaming that something is wrong with its Tri-Color cartridge [the original equipment], and worst of all -- locking up my computer almost daily when the HP Cue Discovery Device gets "hung on start-up" (this according to my Administrative Application Log). HP could diminish my disrespect for their products by sending me a similar product which works more often than it torments."
13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for HP Officejet J4500/J4600 All-in-One Printer series
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
joel
Location: San Juan, PR
bad purchase
Date:January 9, 2010
"model j4680c all in one is a very bad purchase.
I used to have a model 2210 and it worked great for many years and this new model has only given me problems. I have a hp laptop and would expect them to work together but no.
I get incompatible ink messages when Iam using hp new ink cartriges and I have a line that appears on the document when I use the feeder. This is apart from a wireless connection problem that finally was fixed
"
4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for HP Officejet J4500/J4600 All-in-One Printer series
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
dogdom
Location: Lexington, VA
The Worst
Date:December 26, 2009
"I bought this J4540 all-in-one rock crusher several months ago to replace my HP 830Cse which I have loved for years. I figured I could use a scanner and fax for my business. This has not worked correctly since day one. It never aligned the cartridges because it won't scan and it sounds like it is chewing up rocks if you try to align them. I can't get a scan out of it, just black lines or maybe even some little colored ones, all the while the printer is making chewing noises. I am not a novice at computer products, having been a graphic artist for 30 years. This product isn't worth a dime and I paid much more for it than the one it is replacing. Garbage!!!!! And it's only 3 months old. No manual to help you troubleshoot and the online stuff just sends you to the store. Do you really think I'm buying another? Not a chance."
15 out of 18 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for HP Officejet J4500/J4600 All-in-One Printer series
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
bernie
Location: florida
j4540
Date:December 11, 2009
"nothing but problems with thi printer and getting support is next to impossible...wont print says spool is not connecting.."
4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for HP Officejet J4500/J4600 All-in-One Printer series
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
SOM
Location: HOLLAND, OHIO
THE WORST EVER
Date:November 28, 2009
"I REPLACE MY PRINTERS ABOUT EVERY 3 YEARS, THIS ONE ONLY LASTED 3 MONTHS ABSOLUTLY TERRIBLE-SCAN, COPY, PRINT CARTRIDGE PROBLEMS ALL THE TIME BROKEN DOWN MORE THAN USED. DO NOT WASTE TIME OR MONEY."
8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for HP Officejet J4500/J4600 All-in-One Printer series
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
J
Location: Nebraska
worse printer I have owned
Date:October 14, 2009
"This is the worse printer that I have ever owned. You cannot find any help for it, nothing but problems. Total trash!"
6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for HP Officejet J4500/J4600 All-in-One Printer series
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Emma
Location: New York City
worst purchase in my lifeI
Date:October 8, 2009
"Nothing works. Ink cartridges are horrible to install. No way to learn how to use other features.
I also have a printer of the 5500 series. That's a beauty and simple to use. But the 4400 series are terrible.
"
5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for HP Officejet J4500/J4600 All-in-One Printer series
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
dragonrebelwoman
Location: Oregon, USA
This is terrible!
Date:September 21, 2009
"I bought this machine after reading product reviews and being able to get it on sale. It is a replacement for my OfficeJet Pro L7850 which won't print and it was more expensive to replace the printheads on it (and hope that was indeed the problem) than it was to buy a whole new all-in-one.
But this thing won't scan! says SCANNER FAILURE and says to cycle the power and try again. Then it won't shut down from the on/off button, says Shutting Down.... but never does and I have to unplug it.
I try again and get the same results.
"
9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for HP Officejet J4500/J4600 All-in-One Printer series
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Gene
Location: Port Orange, FL
This printer is not worth a dime
Date:September 15, 2009
"I have had this printer for about 3 months now and it is not an easy printer to work with. First of all and my primary complaint is there is no instruction book or site to find out how to do certain things. For instance I have been trying to find how to do quick prints. I select the fast copy icon but no matter what I do or select it prints just the same speed and quality. I would not recommend this printer at all and in the future will check with a technical sourse and get some feed back on a printer before I buy it. Guess you get what you pay for."
12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for HP Officejet J4500/J4600 All-in-One Printer series
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
momma beast
Location: Temecula, CA
Horrible
Date:August 29, 2009
"I have the 5610xi and love it. Bought this J4550 for our other computer because it was cheaper than a wireless connection. Big mistake. Took forever to figure out how to load ink cartridges, no instruction book. It will print from the computer, not from the copier. The only way it will copy is to first scan the document into the computer and then print from the scan. Grrrrrr!"
14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.
123next>>