Jump to content
Jump to content

Small & Medium Business

866-625-0242 for sales; Contact HP for support

Product Reviews

HP Officejet J6480 All-in-One Printer

HP Officejet J6480 All-in-One Printer
Average Customer Rating:
2.526 out of 5
2.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (57 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
5
3 stars
3
2 stars
10
1 star
25
22 out of 57(39%)customers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for HP Officejet J6480 All-in-One Printer
Review 1 for HP Officejet J6480 All-in-One Printer
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
disgusted
Location: Rocklin,CA
The worst yet
Date:May 29, 2009
"I bouught this printer 5 days ago installed it yesterday and exchanged it today because of an awful grinding noise thinking it was just a fluke. I just brought the new one home set it up and attempted to send a test print. The paper jammed the ink cartridges will not move even after clearing the paper jam .It wouldn't even turn off without disconecting the cord. Now I know why it was on sale. I loved all of the potential things it was supposed to do.
Thank goodnes It won't be around for me to find out how awfull it could really.
"
1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for HP Officejet J6480 All-in-One Printer
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
JistaRocks
Location: Texas
Don't buy it
Date:May 29, 2009
"After a couple of months of use i would have recommended this product to you and maybe even gone to the store to help you pick it out but now it's a totally different story.
I wasted a lot of ink maybe about 3 to 4 cartridges a month, and that was just for school, Not a small buisness. But that wasn't to bad compared to everything else.
Let me start off by saying the install was a piece of cake, i had it out of the box and installed within 20 minutes. My documents printed fine with out going OFFLINE. It was great i hit print and my documents would just shoot out.
Then the first sign of a problem was that every time i turned on my computer a WINDOWS INSTALLER window would pop up everyday asking for me to insert a cd so i figured let me put the one that came with the printer, NOPE it didn't want that cd. So i've just lived with it for like a month now.
Now i go to print a very important document that i have time restraints on and it flops. First it says error, then says printers offline, then it says printing and the whole time the printer does nothing not even an alert light or anything. Finally a couple minutes later it just starts printing out of no where and only prints half of the documents before apparently going offline. I just don't know what to do with it now.
This was not the first incident a couple of weeks ago i printed something to it and it never came out, untill TWO days later. Didn't need it anymore the due date for that doc. had passed.
And don't think i didnt try everything in the book. Turn off printer, then turn on, restart computer, disconnect from internet reconnect, unplug every last cord to printer and internet still nothing. Let me add that restarting did help alot of times but you shouldn't have to restart you computer everytime you want to print something!!!
So if the annoying WINDOWS INSTALLER doesn't get you, down the line your printer will start going offline when you have a really important deadline to meet. So do chance that this will happen to you, and please don't buy it.
I've always used HP usb printers without a flaw besides a few paper jams here and there but nothing major, but thought i would get upgraded, boy was i wrong i think i should downgrade to a regular usb connection. to bad i sold my old usb 5610 series."
Review 3 for HP Officejet J6480 All-in-One Printer
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
jpw
Location: California
HP Officejet J6480 All-in-One
Date:May 20, 2009
"This piece of equipment was recommended to me by an HP Online Buying Consultant. I told her I print a lot of bills and pages, and she recommended this printer, fax, scanner. It is totally inadequate for my needs. It is extremely slow, it jams, and was not a good solution. I was willing to pay more (and told the consultant this) to get a faster, higher performance printer. This printer is probably a good solution for home use only, but not good for a small business."
Review 4 for HP Officejet J6480 All-in-One Printer
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Travisty
Location: Champaign, IL
Great printer... not for the weak
Date:May 12, 2009
"I felt compelled to write this review after hearing so many negative responses. I feel this is a great printer and others who like it are too busy using it to share their good experiences with it.
I have been using this printer for a couple months, I like the sleep feature which others are referring to it dropping connection. In reality it goes into a sleep mode which terminates upon receiving a wake-up and print request. I have never had to do anything special for it to respond.
I am an artist and was very apprehensive in purchasing an all in one copier/ fax/ printer/ scanner, but my tensions were eased at the ability to literally plug an play. The wifi install was easier than any other device I have had to setup.
As an experienced computer user I followed the on-screen installation instructions carefully as any literate computer user should do, and not let my ego burden the install process.
I am very impressed with the quality of scanned pictures and photos. Files sizes are not optimized which is annoying when other scanners do this. This way I can maintain high resolution/quality originals.
The color output is the best I have experienced in color/photo printers, and this is growing into my favorite HP printer of all time. I used to work in a print shop and copy center, and have had lots of experience with color printing, copying, etc. I can honestly say that technology in the inkjet world is finally arrived.
I do have to withold my experience in the faxing application of this printer, as I am more of a tech junky and use an email fax service vs phone line fax. So I do not use the faxing application of this printer.
The duplexing feature is really nice. I cant compare to other units as for speed as this is the only one I have used, but as far as folks complaining about paper jams and crooked copies/faxes/prints, I can only say that I am certain the originals they were feeding into the printer were more than likely the culprit. Dog-eared pages, folded corners, mangled sheets can cause these issues, no matter the device being used.
This printer is a work horse as I have already done more than 1000 scans and 3000 prints from this printer and it has performed like a champion.
I highly recomend this printer, and would encourage those having issues to review the installation notes and be sure your systems are updated prior to installation. Put away your ego and follow the installation instructions for a rewarding install and experience.
I would normally withold the 5th star in my reviews, but I feel this printer is not receiving its just rewards and people need to see that this is a great printer at a great price."
19 out of 20 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for HP Officejet J6480 All-in-One Printer
Overall:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
scarlet
Location: Inverness, Scotland
I like it
Date:May 7, 2009
"It's a lot smaller than my previous HP printer, and features are similar. Document feeder always copies straight, which was a fault with last one. Seems to use a lot of ink, and keeps having to re-boot my PC if i switch it on while printer is running, but that's my only criticism. haven't set it up wirelessly as my internet connection is not brilliant. easy to install, good copying, automatic two sided is great. Very easy to use. And much cheaper than its competitors. Overall a good value printer."
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for HP Officejet J6480 All-in-One Printer
Overall:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
flowermaker
Location: butler pa.
badpurchase
Date:May 7, 2009
"consant paper jams , will not copy, says out of paper when not . Has lots of features but if they don't work what good are they I am not happy with this purchase. I will probably return it."
1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for HP Officejet J6480 All-in-One Printer
Overall:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ken
Location: Fremont, CA
Many Issues
Date:May 5, 2009
"OK the install goes easy.
The wireles connection works OK, but I ended up re-installing with USB connection because it kept dropping offline.
The Solution Center portion of the software keeps trying to install itself as it is nothing I am trying to do. It just poops up and starts tring to install when I start the PC.
It has also quit working for no apparrent reason. I have had to reinstall the software every couple of months (annoying).
Now a new problem has popped up with Flash Player. I was having a problem with a web site whose services I use. It kept asking me to install Abode Flash Player 10 so I did as asked. Now the Solution Center stopped being able to scan. There is a conflict between the Adobe Flash Player installed with Solution Center v10 and the latest version Adobe Flash Player v10. I need the web site services for my day to day business as well as the printer, but now I have to make a choice it seems.
"
5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for HP Officejet J6480 All-in-One Printer
Overall:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
HPPAL
Location: Los Angeles
j6400 ISSUES
Date:May 4, 2009
"I expect HP to offer a flawless product. I have a workhorse HP in the Deskjet 6840 - thousands of copies, b&w and color without a hitch.
This machine, I have only had for about two months. Sucks up the ink. And now, paper jams and black and white smearing.
I have only gone through about six cartridges. For my small business, I cannot afford the down time.
I have been hesitant to purchase an all in one and now I want to return it and purchase another HP workhorse."
3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for HP Officejet J6480 All-in-One Printer
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sad
Location: N.C.
Lemon
Date:May 2, 2009
"Paper jams. Copies come out crooked. Lights on printer sometimes go off by themself."
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for HP Officejet J6480 All-in-One Printer
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cooger
Location: Georgia
Good Product
Date:April 30, 2009
"I almost didn't buy this product based on some
of the negative (or less than glowing) reviews.
I'm 75 and the only problem I encountered
was getting the thing out of the box.
Installation was simple and quick (using Vista
Ultimate), instructions very clear, product runs
very nicely, not noisy etc.
I was replacing an HP5610xi All in One which
also ran well. Couldn't pass up the $130 price
less the $50 recycle rebate.
Really great purchase of a quality machine for
$80!!!
By the way, I don't use 'wireless' so don't
know how that install would be.
"
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for HP Officejet J6480 All-in-One Printer
Overall:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
officeguru
Stunned
Date:April 30, 2009
"Every printer I have owned has been HP. ( 5 or 6?) So I had high expectations when I purchased the J6480. It has been a nightmare. I have paid for it two times over in tech support. The bottom line is that it is not dependable. Offices have deadlines; just when you are on a roll printing invoices and estimates; the printer stops printing. It printed just a minute ago - you did NOTHING to it. But suddenly it does not work and there goes an hour getting it back on line. Then when it finally prints - it is missing the bottom line of the document."
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for HP Officejet J6480 All-in-One Printer
Overall:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
wammon
Location: Trinidad and Tobago
Very Good Printer
Date:April 29, 2009
"I have had this printer about a year now and am happy to say - no problems. I felt compelled to write a review when I saw some of the other posts. This printer was ideal for me: The wireless feature meant quick install, no wires. The fax works well and I especially like the auto answer feature. I like the multiple sheet feeder for fax, scans and copies. I would like to think that many of the negative reviews were partly because the proper setup was not followed.
HP would get the last star if the scans were of smaller size. For some reason they are quite large even at lower scan resolutions but overall it is a good buy. I work from home and this is an essential device and it has not disappointed.
"
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for HP Officejet J6480 All-in-One Printer
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
afsatlas
Get another printer
Date:April 27, 2009
"The software/drivers have lots of issues. The first I found was not printing text at the bottom of page. Help says that it has problems in Word, with Times New Roman, and font size 12-14. Not a good start. Next finding help for issues is difficult in FAQ and on-line resources. Paper seems to jam more often. The manual doesn't present answers to questions that I have come across. This is not the first time I have had software/driver problems with HP. When there is a problem, you are out of luck."
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for HP Officejet J6480 All-in-One Printer
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Chas
Location: Nashville TN
All problems in one
Date:April 22, 2009
"If you want to spend your life trying to solve printer problems, this is the one for you. The printer goes offline frequently for no apparent reason. I now realize the rigamarole to go thru to solve this, but I'd like it solved permanently. If I try to scan, usually nothing happens. If I am in Solutions, a screen comes up which tells me to go thru up to five steps to solve the problem, the last being to reinstall. I wanted a device which would work without a lot of trouble. I've spent so much time on these problems that I haven't gotten to the problem of why the fax doesn't work. I wish I had my old printer back; at least it worked when you wanted it to."
6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for HP Officejet J6480 All-in-One Printer
Overall:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
varkbro
Location: Florida
What they don't tell you
Date:April 21, 2009
"The 6480 is my 5th or 6th HP printer. Also my last. I paid the extra cost to get a wireless printer. Trying to get it setup for wireless printing was a nightmare. I am fairly competent with PCs but had to pay a technician to do the setup. It functioned wirelessly until the next startup. I then paid several more times to have the setup made again but always had the same result, no connection to my router. I finally gave up and use the USB connection.
Last week a dialog box began appearing on my PC for "Solution Center". There was nothing to identify the associated product / manufacturer, nor the cause of the popup box. After Googling for the name I find it is from the HP software. So I inserted the CD but there is still no indication of what is causing the dialog box to appear.
HP wants feedback, but only about information to help their marketing effort. They should be soliciting information about the poor performance of their product and taking steps to correct it. I would very much like to return the printer since it doesn't perform as advertised."
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for HP Officejet J6480 All-in-One Printer
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Frustrated w/HP
Location: California
Don't Do It!!!
Date:April 17, 2009
"I was so excited, I purchased this product online, carefully ordered enough ink to get me through and thought it would be an easy install. Could not get the disk to install the drivers, tech support couldn't log into my computer and I wasted hours of my life trying to get the thing to work HP wanted to charge expedited shipping to get a replacement disk! What? Why? The disk is no good, it's a new printer, why should I be out of pocket? After giving up on tech support, I finally got the drivers to download from the HP website. I am not impressed with the print quality of PDFs which printed just fine on my old HP. Like another reviewer pointed out it prints in blue/gray and is smaller (compressed) than the original document. I didn't set the printer to do that, it does it on its own.
Duplexing seems to work but it's not as fast as I thought it would be. Fax seems to work.
I would never, ever do this again and I'm a faithful HP user. Charge me to get a non-defective disk? Tell me it's okay that the print isn't right? Please, HP you've got a problem. Address it."
4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for HP Officejet J6480 All-in-One Printer
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Hector
Location: Florida
Worst HP Product Ever
Date:April 15, 2009
"Not able to print in black, keeps printing in gray/blue color, no matter what option and set-up I choose. Will print only some parts of a letter, no matter what I do with page set-up."
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for HP Officejet J6480 All-in-One Printer
Overall:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
TJ
Would not purchase
Date:April 15, 2009
"I have never had so many problems with a printer going offline. Can't get to print so I have to reinstall. Very frustrating. If anyone has a solution to this problem, I would love to here about it."
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for HP Officejet J6480 All-in-One Printer
Overall:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sandra
Location: San Francisco, CA
Not good
Date:April 14, 2009
"The print quality is good and I like the printer itself but nothing else. The HP Solution Center software sucks! When I try to scan documents, the software loses its connection to the computer. I have my laptop configured only to print, and I have no issue printing. But my desktop has the Solution Center installed and I have all kinds of problems with that. I'm very unhappy with trying to figure out how to update the software as well. I tried to download the solution center from the HP site, but that keeps failing as well. HP has lost its leadership in quality and service."
1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for HP Officejet J6480 All-in-One Printer
Overall:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
blondy_87
Location: Denver, Colorado
Not so great!!
Date:April 8, 2009
"I have never had so many problems with my printer. When I first got this printer I had to take it back because if I scanned something the printer would quit working. I can't get the fax to work and half of the time the printer won't print. I replaced the cartridge, simple right???, wrong, now ever since I changed the cartridge the words don't fully print out. It only will print the top of the words and not the bottom. I'm trying to make my wedding invitations and this printer just isn't helping me at all."
5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.
123next>>