Jump to content
Jump to content

Small & Medium Business

866-625-0242 for sales; Contact HP for support

Product Reviews

HP Officejet J6480 All-in-One Printer

HP Officejet J6480 All-in-One Printer
Average Customer Rating:
2.526 out of 5
2.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (57 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
5
3 stars
3
2 stars
10
1 star
25
22 out of 57(39%)customers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for HP Officejet J6480 All-in-One Printer
Review 1 for HP Officejet J6480 All-in-One Printer
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Very Angry
Location: Cape May, NJ
Trash
Date:February 7, 2009
"I would never recommend this piece of garbage to anyone, not even my worst enemy. Let's see, the scanner is horable, it all ways has lines going through the document. The printer sounds like a mack truck going through the holland tunnel. But most of all, I can not send or receive any faxes. This is my second one I've had. The first I had to send back to HP, because of all the problems. HP sent me a new one of the same printer. Now get this, they sent me a skeleton printer, I actually had to take off parts from the old one, and place the parts on the new printer. I do not know about any of you, but I think this is bad buisness. Now I am stuck again with all the above problems. I rate this product a complete 0."
11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for HP Officejet J6480 All-in-One Printer
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
revenger681
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Great Printer, Great Price!
Date:March 26, 2009
"This was the first All-In-One printer I have purchased. My father has a fax/print/scan printer as well, when I upgraded to Windows Vista Ultimate 64 I wanted a printer that would work well, print fast and be within my budget, and preferably without any cords. The ink for this printer is incredibly cheap! Yet it prints out crisp, clear photo quality prints. It also included the duel-sided automatic printing. The wireless is excellent! I can use the software and printer from any of my 4 computers and 2 laptops from anywhere in my home. Fantastic price, quick scanning, automatic duplex printing. You can't go wrong with this printer!
Note:
My computers are Windows Vista Ultimate Edition, and Windows XP pro, this printer works great with either OS."
8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for HP Officejet J6480 All-in-One Printer
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Chas
Location: Nashville TN
All problems in one
Date:April 22, 2009
"If you want to spend your life trying to solve printer problems, this is the one for you. The printer goes offline frequently for no apparent reason. I now realize the rigamarole to go thru to solve this, but I'd like it solved permanently. If I try to scan, usually nothing happens. If I am in Solutions, a screen comes up which tells me to go thru up to five steps to solve the problem, the last being to reinstall. I wanted a device which would work without a lot of trouble. I've spent so much time on these problems that I haven't gotten to the problem of why the fax doesn't work. I wish I had my old printer back; at least it worked when you wanted it to."
6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for HP Officejet J6480 All-in-One Printer
Overall:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ken
Location: Fremont, CA
Many Issues
Date:May 5, 2009
"OK the install goes easy.
The wireles connection works OK, but I ended up re-installing with USB connection because it kept dropping offline.
The Solution Center portion of the software keeps trying to install itself as it is nothing I am trying to do. It just poops up and starts tring to install when I start the PC.
It has also quit working for no apparrent reason. I have had to reinstall the software every couple of months (annoying).
Now a new problem has popped up with Flash Player. I was having a problem with a web site whose services I use. It kept asking me to install Abode Flash Player 10 so I did as asked. Now the Solution Center stopped being able to scan. There is a conflict between the Adobe Flash Player installed with Solution Center v10 and the latest version Adobe Flash Player v10. I need the web site services for my day to day business as well as the printer, but now I have to make a choice it seems.
"
5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for HP Officejet J6480 All-in-One Printer
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mimzee
Location: Spanish Fort, AL (next to Mobile Bay)
disappointed
Date:February 8, 2009
"The J6450 replaced my worn out 6210 that I loved. After hours of installing and uninstalling and reinstalling -- it said the wireless installation was successful, Yeah! I tried to print a file - It wouldn't print--said there was some sort of error. After several attempts--I gave up. Moral to this story, "Not all HP's are created equal"."
5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for HP Officejet J6480 All-in-One Printer
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Frustrated w/HP
Location: California
Don't Do It!!!
Date:April 17, 2009
"I was so excited, I purchased this product online, carefully ordered enough ink to get me through and thought it would be an easy install. Could not get the disk to install the drivers, tech support couldn't log into my computer and I wasted hours of my life trying to get the thing to work HP wanted to charge expedited shipping to get a replacement disk! What? Why? The disk is no good, it's a new printer, why should I be out of pocket? After giving up on tech support, I finally got the drivers to download from the HP website. I am not impressed with the print quality of PDFs which printed just fine on my old HP. Like another reviewer pointed out it prints in blue/gray and is smaller (compressed) than the original document. I didn't set the printer to do that, it does it on its own.
Duplexing seems to work but it's not as fast as I thought it would be. Fax seems to work.
I would never, ever do this again and I'm a faithful HP user. Charge me to get a non-defective disk? Tell me it's okay that the print isn't right? Please, HP you've got a problem. Address it."
4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for HP Officejet J6480 All-in-One Printer
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Printergal
Location: Bluffton, SC
Hphooray
Date:April 6, 2009
"I purchased this all-in-one a month ago. It was easy to install and get operational. Since then I have used it for all of my printing, scanning, and copying. I haven't tried the fax as yet, but expect that it will live up to the rest of the machine's uses. The print is better than I expected--clear, crisp, and clean. The scanning, especially of photographs, is great, quick, and clear. I recommend it highly and would give one as a gift. It is a great buy for the money."
4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for HP Officejet J6480 All-in-One Printer
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ernie
Do Nothing Attitude
Date:January 10, 2009
"I find this printer mal-functional. Invariably it decides to disconnect from the network, decide not to print somedays, and truncates the last line often. Very frustrating. They should pay you to buy it."
4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for HP Officejet J6480 All-in-One Printer
Overall:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Do Rite
Location: Amarillo, TX
A good all-in-one machine.
Date:December 24, 2008
"This machine goes through ink cartridges very fast. I use the 74XL and 75XL, still replace ink about every 2 weeks."
4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for HP Officejet J6480 All-in-One Printer
Overall:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
George
Not up to speed
Date:December 9, 2008
"Could not get wireless to work; so using cable. Very slow printer -- 45 second to do a spread sheet on med quality. Features sold me but so far not not living up to advertisement. Wish my old HP still worked."
4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for HP Officejet J6480 All-in-One Printer
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
tech1
drivers are garbage
Date:November 24, 2008
"waited over an hour for the piece of junk print drivers to load. might be a great printer but the drivers are absolute garbage. would have given less in the "star" listing if 0 was allowed"
4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for HP Officejet J6480 All-in-One Printer
Overall:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
scarlet
Location: Inverness, Scotland
I like it
Date:May 7, 2009
"It's a lot smaller than my previous HP printer, and features are similar. Document feeder always copies straight, which was a fault with last one. Seems to use a lot of ink, and keeps having to re-boot my PC if i switch it on while printer is running, but that's my only criticism. haven't set it up wirelessly as my internet connection is not brilliant. easy to install, good copying, automatic two sided is great. Very easy to use. And much cheaper than its competitors. Overall a good value printer."
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for HP Officejet J6480 All-in-One Printer
Overall:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
TJ
Would not purchase
Date:April 15, 2009
"I have never had so many problems with a printer going offline. Can't get to print so I have to reinstall. Very frustrating. If anyone has a solution to this problem, I would love to here about it."
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for HP Officejet J6480 All-in-One Printer
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
HPcustomer
Location: Vancouver, WA
Works great
Date:March 8, 2009
"I've read several reviews and I don't know why so many folks are having problems with this printer. I've had it for several months and it works fine for me. The wireless install was fine. I've only had one paper jam so far and it was easy to fix. The features are great.
Maybe I was just lucky but this is my 3rd HP printer and I'm happy with it. Every new one I get has better features than the one before. They last for a long time (usually through 2 PC changes and I keep my PCs for years).
So...."
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for HP Officejet J6480 All-in-One Printer
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ladikarol
Location: Quincy, IL
Awesome So Far
Date:March 7, 2009
"I just purchased this HP All in One Printer,copier,fax and its perfect and I love it.. I work for a office supply store and could have bought any brand I wanted but I chose a HP. Installed great, took a normal amount of time and had NOT one problem. Used it immediately to print a word document and it was perfect. I use it with 3 Win Xp's and a Win Vista. It works wirelessly with all 4 systems. I am very happy."
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for HP Officejet J6480 All-in-One Printer
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
10EC
Former HP loyalist-disappointed
Date:February 3, 2009
"I agree with MANY of the reviews. The printer disconnects from the system CONSTANTLY. You get errors when you KNOW there is NOTHING you've done wrong. The last line is OFTEN truncated and I have to re-set the printing options constantly!!!! This is my 4th HP printer. The last one I had was marginal and completely crashed after 1 year. I thought maybe I just had a lemon and I was excited to get the upgraded version. It seems HP has lost their edge. I will NEVER buy another one!!! I am GREATLY disappointed!! I, too, would have given a lower rating if NO STARS were allowed!"
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for HP Officejet J6480 All-in-One Printer
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
AGrainger
Problems
Date:December 29, 2008
"Don't like the printer. Had hard time establishing wireless on all computers. have recurring problem with scanning. Have had to reload software numerous times to get scanning feature to work. Don't buy this one"
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for HP Officejet J6480 All-in-One Printer
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cooger
Location: Georgia
Good Product
Date:April 30, 2009
"I almost didn't buy this product based on some
of the negative (or less than glowing) reviews.
I'm 75 and the only problem I encountered
was getting the thing out of the box.
Installation was simple and quick (using Vista
Ultimate), instructions very clear, product runs
very nicely, not noisy etc.
I was replacing an HP5610xi All in One which
also ran well. Couldn't pass up the $130 price
less the $50 recycle rebate.
Really great purchase of a quality machine for
$80!!!
By the way, I don't use 'wireless' so don't
know how that install would be.
"
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for HP Officejet J6480 All-in-One Printer
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
afsatlas
Get another printer
Date:April 27, 2009
"The software/drivers have lots of issues. The first I found was not printing text at the bottom of page. Help says that it has problems in Word, with Times New Roman, and font size 12-14. Not a good start. Next finding help for issues is difficult in FAQ and on-line resources. Paper seems to jam more often. The manual doesn't present answers to questions that I have come across. This is not the first time I have had software/driver problems with HP. When there is a problem, you are out of luck."
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for HP Officejet J6480 All-in-One Printer
Overall:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
varkbro
Location: Florida
What they don't tell you
Date:April 21, 2009
"The 6480 is my 5th or 6th HP printer. Also my last. I paid the extra cost to get a wireless printer. Trying to get it setup for wireless printing was a nightmare. I am fairly competent with PCs but had to pay a technician to do the setup. It functioned wirelessly until the next startup. I then paid several more times to have the setup made again but always had the same result, no connection to my router. I finally gave up and use the USB connection.
Last week a dialog box began appearing on my PC for "Solution Center". There was nothing to identify the associated product / manufacturer, nor the cause of the popup box. After Googling for the name I find it is from the HP software. So I inserted the CD but there is still no indication of what is causing the dialog box to appear.
HP wants feedback, but only about information to help their marketing effort. They should be soliciting information about the poor performance of their product and taking steps to correct it. I would very much like to return the printer since it doesn't perform as advertised."
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.
123next>>