Jump to content
Jump to content

Small & Medium Business

866-625-0242 for sales; Contact HP for support

Product Reviews

HP Deskjet D1600 Printer series

HP Deskjet D1600 Printer series
Average Customer Rating:
1.889 out of 5
1.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (45 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
3
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
32
12 out of 45(27%)customers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for HP Deskjet D1600 Printer series
Review 1 for HP Deskjet D1600 Printer series
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
thurston
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Absolutely best for the money
Date:November 25, 2010
"Baffled by all of the negative reviews here...
Second HP printer on my network -- older one is PSC 1600, still working perfectly after 5 years.
Bought the D1600 for the unbelievable low price for my upstairs computer and it is the definition of plug and play (on MAC OSX). No set up problems -- just plain works.
Quality is exceptional for a printer at this price point -- use it for resumés and for color photo pre-proofing (Final output is on Epson R2880).
Driver updates are automatic -- 2 so far.
Jammed once because of misaligned paper, turned unit off and the on, cleared, no problem.
Bought 2 more and gave them to friend and daughter. Really, folks, no complaints!
"
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for HP Deskjet D1600 Printer series
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
leon
Location: Manchester NH
the best
Date:September 24, 2010
"i needed a portable printer. I searched high and low. then i finally found the hp desk-jet d1 660.
well let me say it is the best $30.00 I ever spent.
"
0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for HP Deskjet D1600 Printer series
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A.R.T
Location: Ca
Good product
Date:September 23, 2010
"I bought my Printer September 24th at Target. I had no problem puting the ink cartridge or the printer test pagesat all. I guess that if you go some where and get one use at some cheep place or if the box is open then I guess you get what you paid for, A bad product!!!!!!!!!!!"
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for HP Deskjet D1600 Printer series
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
trippyvic
Location: deep dark woods in Maine
a monkey could use it
Date:July 13, 2010
"This is my first computer and printer and I have to say installing ang using the printer has been the only easy part.When I encountered a problem the support was fast and clear.The problem was directly related to my lack of knowledge and hp support led me thru and no problems since.I love the printer and the ongoing support is comforting.People having problems w/jams - just make sure paper loaded evenly and try not to fill tray too tightly.I had to print out homework and 60 pages of text used 1/3 ink-inexpensive to purchase and maintain.Keep checking hp online for deals on ink-saves money and gas and free delivery.I am very pleased with whole package.If only win7 was as easy to use I'd be a totally happy camper.........Thanks!"
1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for HP Deskjet D1600 Printer series
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cinderella
Location: Canada
Good deal
Date:July 6, 2010
"I found this to be a great little printer. Installed right away and have had no problems"
2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for HP Deskjet D1600 Printer series
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
techie
Location: Tennessee
Great Quality for the Price
Date:June 28, 2010
"The printer works great, prints fast and ink is cheap (it does cost more than the printer, but when I went shopping I looked at ink prices first then purchased the printer), compared to others...I ve gone through an entire box of paper and have not had any problems"
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for HP Deskjet D1600 Printer series
Overall:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Celt_Music
Works well for me
Date:December 23, 2010
"I've had the printer for at least 7-8 months, and use it daily on a pc running XP Pro. I think I've run into some kind of off-line problem once or twice. I get good performance including very simple manual duplexing which really surprises me. It works great. Print quality is good for a $30 printer (I wouldn't expect laser quality out of this guy). I'm thinking of getting another of these for home use. It's been easy to use and reliable. My only complaint is that the paper catches a piece of plastic as it comes through the guides, and puts a slight notch on the edge of the paper. It has never caused it to jam."
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for HP Deskjet D1600 Printer series
Overall:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
TheInsomniacGamer
A bit of both, actually
Date:December 4, 2010
"Okay, when I first got this, it worked great with little to no problems. A few months later, it started having the "wont start printing until you restart the PC" problem. This is just going by my experience, but the problems really lie with the PC in use.
This printer is rather picky. My old computer, which I used the printer with, had WinXP home edition (i dunno what service pack, though), and was severely bogged down with rubbish, despite the HDD being less than half-full. It had a history of viruses, though. If your PC is slow and has had viruses and malware before, this is most likely the source of the problem.
On my newer PC, which had WinXP Pro SP3, it works great. Absolutely no problems when it comes to the printing process itself. The only issue I have is the HP Deskjet Monitor thingy. Its the software that was on the CD. The "estimated ink levels" bars are rather screwy and for me are way off. They say that I still have about 1/2 to 1/4 of my colour ink left, and 1/4 of my black ink left. When I attempt to print in colour, the hues are all messed up, because it no longer has the ink to print in that particular shade. I am completely out of black ink, and when I tried to print a grayscale image, the printer used the closest colour it had to black: green. Very odd.
In general, this printer is a hit-or-miss type that depends on the host PC, but when you do hit, it's a home run. Despite its considerable potential problems, I WOULD recommend this printer to a few mates.
"
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for HP Deskjet D1600 Printer series
Overall:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
stilts
Location: Dallas
Worth it for the cartridges alone
Date:June 28, 2010
"I got this to replace our home printer, which for some reason stopped working. The set up was easy. (I had a usb cable from our other printer.)
It prints quickly and efficiently. The 2 ink cartridges sell for over $60 separately. The printer, which comes with the 2 cartridges, costs less than half that. Of course, I haven't had it for months like the other reviewers. But so far it is better than expected. It does great with pictures.
"
Review 10 for HP Deskjet D1600 Printer series
Overall:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous
Location: Virginia
I'm not sure...
Date:July 18, 2010
"The on/off button does not work. I have to turn it off when I shut down my computer, by turning off the power strip. No matter how long or quick I press the button, the printer stays on.
I had to delete the drivers and the entire set up the first time around after installation. I installed it all over again...Now it works, but I'm wondering for how long. The old saying...You get what you pay for, I guess. I honestly hope I'm wrong and it keeps working for a long time."
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for HP Deskjet D1600 Printer series
Overall:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Catdog
Location: Indiana
Okay for the price
Date:June 23, 2010
"Annoying to get it to turn off. Considering $30 buys the ink the printer was free so who can complain? For simple printing jobs I see no problem so far. I have had none of the problems stated in the reviews I read."
Review 12 for HP Deskjet D1600 Printer series
Overall:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
katinwy
Location: Wyoming
Paper Jam
Date:April 10, 2010
"I bought this printer a month or so ago to use with my laptop. It prints such good pictures and the cartridges last far longer than I thought they would given the price. I loved this little printer...until today. I had printed half a document, turned the pages over to print the backsides. I got a message there was a paper jam which there wan't....there wasn't any paper in it at that point. I got out my book, followed the instructions and it still won't print. It was cheap, small, lightweight and did such a great job...I should have known it wouldn't last. Hopefully I can resolve the paper jam issue and continue to use it.."
9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for HP Deskjet D1600 Printer series
Overall:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Jessica
Location: Concord, NH
Wouldn't Recommend
Date:November 16, 2010
"When I but things, I expect them to work. This printer has given me trouble from day one. It constantly just stops in the middle of a job, and a complete system reboot is necessary to get it working again. No matter how many times you click cancel on a print job, it will not cancel.
This printer is pretty speedy when it is actually printing ink on paper, and I can say that so far it hasn't been jammed, but that is probably due to the fact that I haven't used it very much due to how much time it actually consumes. Today it stopped in the middle of a job and said that it had a cartridge problem. I popped the cartridge in question out and then put it right back in, then of course had to restart my computer, and it worked fine.
Also, although this comes with cartridges, it does not come with a printer cable. Joy."
3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for HP Deskjet D1600 Printer series
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Amy
Can't even print a word document
Date:February 2, 2011
"This is the worst printer I have ever purchased. The installation process would not work and it took me close to an hour to even install the software. Once it was finally turned on the test page had streaks all over the place and aligning and cleaning didn't help whatsoever. When I tried to print something for school it left out the majority of the document and only printed four or five words per page. I have never had an hp printer that worked and I will never purchase another one in the future. DO NOT BUY THIS PRINTER!!"
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for HP Deskjet D1600 Printer series
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
jackie s.
Location: CA
HP D1660
Date:January 23, 2011
"This printer is just horrible! It worked for a very short time. The print cue said it was out of ink. I purchased more ink, replaced cartridges and that didn't work. Out of money and a waste of time trying to troubleshoot this worthless piece of plastic."
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for HP Deskjet D1600 Printer series
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
madprinter
Location: Rock Spring, GA
Poor printer
Date:January 20, 2011
"The printer is a horrid piece of wasted plastic. Paper jams constantly. I have to uninstall the software to try printing again. Have to stop the print spooler to clear the failed prints. The failures occur on my XP comp and my Vista comp. Now the drivers are not recognized. The ink cartridge will print about 25 word docs. DO NOT PURCHASE THIS PRINTER!!!!"
Review 17 for HP Deskjet D1600 Printer series
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ed2tall
Location: Cedar Hill, TX
HP Deskjet D1600 Printer issues
Date:December 24, 2010
"Printer worked then things started happening. Printer made loud clicking noise. I first thought the printer was going to break in to. The printer would always hang up. I would have to re start the PC to make it print the doc. Lemon from the start."
5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for HP Deskjet D1600 Printer series
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
amanda c
Location: houston,tx
thinks about beating this printer with a bat.
Date:December 13, 2010
"Just as others have stated. The printer doesnt want to print. It will say it is printing only to wait an hour and still nothing."
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for HP Deskjet D1600 Printer series
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
hallamj
Location: Nottingham England
A poor printer
Date:December 7, 2010
"Often chews up paper, has alignment problems. Says it prints labels and card but it doesn't - labels never print in the same place twice, sometimes 2 or 3cm difference between sheets. The problem is that instead of paper being fed in from the top and coming straight through the printer it goes in from the front and is curved round a cylinder before coming out just above the point where it goes in. So anything thicker than plain paper - even label sheets - it struggles with."
Review 20 for HP Deskjet D1600 Printer series
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
tracey
Location: Dubai
totally annoying printer hp deskjet D1600 series
Date:November 15, 2010
"this is such a time consuming product of HP. It is not a good buy. dont waste money in this printer!
it always says printer offline"
5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.
123next>>