Jump to content
Jump to content

Small & Medium Business

866-625-0242 for sales; Contact HP for support

Product Reviews

HP Officejet Pro 8000 Printer

HP Officejet Pro 8000 Printer - A809a
Average Customer Rating:
2.511 out of 5
2.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (45 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
5
3 stars
4
2 stars
5
1 star
21
17 out of 45(38%)customers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for HP Officejet Pro 8000 Printer
Review 1 for HP Officejet Pro 8000 Printer
Overall:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
printerreviewer
OK for a while
Date:May 10, 2013
"This printer lasted me about 4 years, so I did get a good use out of it. I didn't have any real issues with paper jamming unless I put the paper in twisted. I also liked the dual side and color printing.
I give 3 stars because:
-It's bulky and doesn't seem to fit anywhere
-Wireless didn't seem to work
-I thought it was fast until i saw a Brother printer at work, then I realized how slow it was
-In the middle of the night it sometimes "readjusts" itself and scares you (it's never off)
-Ink is super expensive, and off-brand inks don't last as long (not worth it)
Then all of a sudden, the paper feeder stopped working. I don't mean a jam or anything, I mean that the machine mechanics just stopped working and a weird clicking sound started with every attempt. Nothing I know would have instigated it to stop (no hits or anything). I never got it to work after that."
Review 2 for HP Officejet Pro 8000 Printer
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
adam14
Location: Florida
Great printer
Date:January 28, 2013
"One of the finest printers on the market. Low cost and very clean, crisp copies. Only wish I could use it without the color cartridges."
Review 3 for HP Officejet Pro 8000 Printer
Overall:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
brad
Location: denver co
leaker
Date:November 22, 2012
"This printer leaks ink all over. We discovered the leak after moving the printer for a remodel. the ink ran out the bottom and all over the table it sat on. I will be replacing the printer not the cartriages."
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for HP Officejet Pro 8000 Printer
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
inkwaster
Location: Honolulu, HI
Do not purchase this printer
Date:November 7, 2012
"I purchased this printer without reading enough reviews on it. Do NOT purchase this printer. I am one of those folks who don't print much, perhaps a few times a month. This printer EATS INK! I had problems from the second time I used this printer and after spending a lot of time online trying to figure it out, found out that because I turn my printer off when I'm not using it, that the ink dries up (or something) -- and the next time you want to print there's NO INK! Not only that, but when this printer cares to work (when ink is full and I don't turn the printer off, which is a HUGE WASTE OF ELECTRICITY), its start-up time is horribly long and the series of sounds it goes through is utterly disturbing. It leaves you wondering if you should cancel the job you just printed because perhaps the printer has finally broken. Take this or leave it. Either way, DO NOT BUY THIS PRINTER!"
4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for HP Officejet Pro 8000 Printer
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
fred
Location: Delphi, IN
worst piece of junk I ever owned
Date:September 26, 2012
"Do not buy this printer. It has constant paper jams, will not print color anymore, and now continues to show empty ink even with new cartridge, that is in date. Would make a good boat anchor if not for EPA regulations."
4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for HP Officejet Pro 8000 Printer
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
metamurph
Location: Redmond, WA
Solid and compact - save paper and ink
Date:September 6, 2012
"Love ability to print on both sides and save paper and this is reasonably fast for home use. Wireless setup and connection is easy and generally stable, if there is trouble it is usually the desktop side. Large ink cartridges last a reasonable amount of time and that is good because they are pricey. I just picked up a 4 cartridge set at $100. Nothing really flashy about this machine: ie it is only a printer, it doesn't have fancy on-board display etc. but it does what it needs to for us, print. We also have a Officejet 5610 all in one that can scan/copy/fax but that is wired to my desktop machine."
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for HP Officejet Pro 8000 Printer
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
River Keeper
Not a Scanner
Date:August 21, 2012
"I purchased this wireless printer and looking at the size just assumed it was a scanner also as I have another wireless HP printer at home and it is a scanner they look identical. I paid $100. less for my home one! Never thought it didn't scan until I just needed to scan a document DUH, I messed up. Prints fine, just read before you buy. It is not a Scanner!"
0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for HP Officejet Pro 8000 Printer
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Yooper
"Recommend to not buy the HP Officejet Pro 8000".
Date:August 14, 2012
"I highly advise anyone looking at buying this printer, HP Officejet Pro 8000, to not buy it. When I first got it, it did a very good job but after use it has become a dinosaur. The print quality was good in the beginning but has gotten terrible even after trying to clean the print heads several times. It was nice to have the duplex printing but otherwise than that this printer isn't good. It also takes a lot of time to spool prior to printing along with once you have printed a few copies, it starts to go through some sort of recycling process which can take several minutes before it starts again. Very time consuming. As it gets older it gets worse. If I could rate it at less that one star I would."
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for HP Officejet Pro 8000 Printer
Overall:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Rebbor
Location: New York, NY
good printer - if yo have the time
Date:August 7, 2012
"Print quality is excellent. Ink usage is pretty good. But you have to wait literally over 5 minutes for the thing to be ready to print. I've actually taken to leaving it on and shutting off the surge protector. For some reason, this cuts the ready to print time from 6-7 minutes to 2-3. It also needs print head cleaning all the time, which negates its good ink usage while printing - and not just a basic cleaning - the intermediate and large scale cleaning as well. It also is unable to pick up paper from the tray 50% of the time, so you always have to keep an eye on it to make sure it found the paper. Way too frustrating."
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for HP Officejet Pro 8000 Printer
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
indultra
Location: Kankakee, IL
Fast printing, easy on ink
Date:July 23, 2012
"I have been using my HP 8000 for nearly 2 years and I have been very satisfied with it. It prints fast, it uses very little ink, and the images are sharp.
I use it mainly for businesses purposes (printing packing slips and invoices) although once in a while I will print out photos with it as well.
This printer uses much less ink that any of my previous printers which included a HP 5650 and a Brother MFC-420CN.
I use Hammermill Copy Plus paper and I never have any issues with jamming. Once every few months I may need to clean the uptake wheels and I just physically cleaned the ink port for the first time last week but other than that it has been maintenance free."
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for HP Officejet Pro 8000 Printer
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
pastorbudget
bad printer
Date:June 9, 2012
"the printer just received an update and then the Printer started to recycle itself it did this for 5 min.
I finally got to print two pages and then I shut the computer down eight hours later seeing that ink cartridges are empty on my desk computer wanting more ink I just replaced cartridgesjust three days ago.
"
3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for HP Officejet Pro 8000 Printer
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
rsaba
Location: Sanibel, Fl.
ink hog
Date:June 3, 2012
"inconsistant start up. no clue when something goes wrong. small fortune for ink. and like an idiot, I have three of them! but only one is still half way working. HP, you lost a customer."
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for HP Officejet Pro 8000 Printer
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
David
Location: New Yor
Avoid this
Date:May 29, 2012
"Takes forever to boot up. Uses ink at an unbelievable rate. Not worth the low price. You can do much better."
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for HP Officejet Pro 8000 Printer
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NCPAPIO
Location: Greensboro, NC
Excellent product
Date:April 9, 2012
"I have been using my HP OfficeJet Pro8000 wireless printer for two months. I have no complaints. I purchased a new printer because my other printer (also an HP) was not wireless. I purchased both of these printers because of the low per page print cost."
Review 15 for HP Officejet Pro 8000 Printer
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
UNCBYU
The worst printer from HP
Date:February 23, 2012
"I used HP printers since who know when, and never had any problem. I never thought that an HP printer could be this bad. Every time I turn it on, it takes forever to really start printing normally. HP apparently tried to make a smart printer, but turned out to have a very bad printer."
3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for HP Officejet Pro 8000 Printer
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ann
Location: Utah
Do not buy this printer
Date:January 28, 2012
"This is a bad printer!
It doesn't have a screen to tell you what it wrong with it or what it is thinking (which you want, when the printer is constantly having trouble). The printer status software on the computer is useless.
It uses a lot of ink. It won't let you print ANYTHING unless ALL ink cartridges are full. I can't just print a black and white document without all of the color ink cartridges being full."
9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for HP Officejet Pro 8000 Printer
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
bsquared
Location: Branford, CT
not a good buy
Date:January 6, 2012
"I purchased this printer from HP after review from Consumers, reading reviews at your website. The printer produced beautiful prints for one month and then died. The unit wanted new perint heads, more ink. All were replaced. None of that mattered.
I will never purchase another HP printer.
"
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for HP Officejet Pro 8000 Printer
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
gofastnow
Location: SC
wireless---less in this case is very accurate
Date:December 21, 2011
"I have had this printer for about a year.
Can't say anything good about it.
Wireless just works when it wants to.
Printer or Software the problem??? One will never know!!!!
No display on printer, so what it going on with printer is just a guess.
"
4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for HP Officejet Pro 8000 Printer
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
TRISH
Location: Fargo ND
POOR PRINTER
Date:November 4, 2011
"This is by far the worst pinter I have ever used. Buy something else and save your sanity and $$."
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for HP Officejet Pro 8000 Printer
Overall:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
cris
Location: Lincoln, NE
Double-sided printing takes forever
Date:October 11, 2011
"This is a nice inkjet printer, don't get me wrong. The wireless has worked flawlessly with our Mac-based home network. The price is competitive, especially if you find it on sale or closeout. The consumables cost is reasonable, at least based on others' estimates (we have yet to purchase a new ink cartridge). But the duplex printing feature—wow, is it slow. We're using it to print a book proof because our other duplexing printer at the office is down. The book is over 300 pages, mostly straight text with some grayscale graphics. It's easily taken three hours to print the proof—with about half an hour of troubleshooting time since the printer decided midway to stop printing (restarted, no apparent problem, hasn't happened again). Even a short, six-page duplexed document took longer than I expected to print. I marked that I would recommend this to a friend, and I would but with a very strong caveat on the duplexing. We've only had duplexing laser printers before, so maybe this is something to expect with an inkjet."
3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.
123next>>