Jump to content
Jump to content

Small & Medium Business

866-625-0242 for sales; Contact HP for support

Product Reviews

HP Officejet Pro 8000 Wireless Printer - A809n

HP Officejet Pro 8000 Wireless Printer - A809n
Average Customer Rating:
3.722 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
5
12 out of 18(67%)customers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for HP Officejet Pro 8000 Wireless Printer - A809n
Review 1 for HP Officejet Pro 8000 Wireless Printer - A809n
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
bonbonz
Location: NH
horrible
Date:June 26, 2011
"This printer is great when it decides to work, which is maybe at best 5% of the time. Also uses all the ink with all the test pages it prints."
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for HP Officejet Pro 8000 Wireless Printer - A809n
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
gceca
Location: Rifle, CO
Not Happy...
Date:December 10, 2010
"Prints great, when it finally decides to pick up a sheet of paper."
7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for HP Officejet Pro 8000 Wireless Printer - A809n
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
jb
Location: Wheaton, IL
Did not last very long
Date:December 1, 2010
"I have had a lot of HP printers, and this is the worst - failed after 1.5 years, used by only one person, so not a large quantity of printing."
7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for HP Officejet Pro 8000 Wireless Printer - A809n
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Woody
Location: CT
Not a reliable Printer
Date:November 28, 2010
"Broke down on me less than one month after first year. Ink is expensive and product is noisy. I had just brought more ink when it went.
It was on sale when I brought it but at any price, I would never buy it again. This is the first HP product that I was totally disappointed with."
4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for HP Officejet Pro 8000 Wireless Printer - A809n
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TheForkliftWhisperer
Location: North 38°35′ West 121°29′
Truly Worthy of the HP Brand
Date:September 10, 2010
"  After having our first experience that proved it is possible, after all, to go wrong buying a Hewlett Packard product; along came this printer to restore my wife's and my faith in this brand.
  Just about the time our Deskjet D2660 died, after only a few months of use (during which time it fell far short of our expectations for it or any other HP product (See my review of it at <http://reviews.shopping.hp.com/8843/CH366A_BVEP_B1H/hp-deskjet-d2660-printer-reviews/reviews.htm?reviewID=11857474>—much less favorable than the review I am giving this printer.)), a certain office supply chain was having a fantastic sale on this printer, the Officejet Pro 8000 Wireless.  It seemed obvious from the beginning that this was going to be a much better printer than we thought we were otherwise going to be able to afford.
  We have had this printer, now, for nearly a month, and I have to say that it has more than met our expectations, and has truly lived up to the reputation that I have long associated with the HP brand.
  Print quality is impeccable, and the ink, once dried, is very solidly colorfast.
  The included duplexer is a very nice feature, allowing two-sided printing.
  The included driver software—both for Windows and Macintosh platforms—is top quality, and free of all the unwanted popups that the D2660's drivers kept shoving at us.
  The printer even supplies administration and management functions by way of a built-in web-host interface, in a manner that to me seems far superior to the methods most printers use which depend on running certain printer-specific utilities on your computer.  (Such utilities are, of course, provided in case you prefer to do it that way, as I am sure many will.)
  This printer is claimed to have a lower cost-per-page than most laser printers—a very bold claim to make about an inkjet printer.  I can say that indications seem to be that this will indeed prove to be an economical printer to use, very much unlike its immediate predecessor, the Deskjet D2660, which went through two or three sets of ink cartridges in the short time we had it.  After nearly a month of use—more than three hundred pages—the ink cartridges that came with this printer appear to still be about 80% full.
  This is intially a rather pricey printer, especially for home use, but it is well worth it.  I think that in the short time we owned the D2660, we probably spent about as much on ink cartridges for it as we spent for this printer to replace the D2660 after it broke; and I have no doubt that in fairly short order, this printer will easily save us considerably more in ink costs than the difference in cost between this printer itself and any cheaper printer that we might otherwise have bought.
  In the long run, it definitely doesn't pay to buy a cheap printer."
10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for HP Officejet Pro 8000 Wireless Printer - A809n
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Barb
nice printer
Date:August 11, 2010
"It is a very nice printer for the price. If you're not looking for all bells and whistles in a printer then this one is for you :-)"
4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for HP Officejet Pro 8000 Wireless Printer - A809n
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jvh
Location: Springfield, Virginia
awesome printer!!!
Date:May 28, 2010
"The Officejet Pro 8000 Wireless is an awesome printer that replaces my HP C6380 PhotoSmart. Wireless hookup took just a few minutes & was totally trouble-free. I've had it now for about 2 months. It is quiet and doesn't rock & shake like the C6380 does. Setup was simple and fast. I ordered mine from HP on line, with free shipping, and I was astonished at how quickly it arrived - 2 days!!! If I had to do it over, I would do it the same way, and definitely recommend this to others. Awesome printer, trouble-free, and a great partner to my HP LaserJet 5P, an old, reliable stand-by of mine."
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for HP Officejet Pro 8000 Wireless Printer - A809n
Overall:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Jerzoid
Location: Northern NJ
Nothing is perfect
Date:March 22, 2010
"The 8000 has many good points, especially crisp, clear prints. Double sided printing is good also. While the footprint is larger than previous HP inkjets I have owned, it still fits nicely on my desk. The speed of printing is very good as well, with two exceptions I will explain later. The 8000 is certainly an improvement over the 640 it replaced. I am glad I bought it. But nothing is perfect. The 8000 has many shortcomings as well. The two exceptions to speed of printing noted above are paper misfeeds, always an HP shortcoming, (even though I use high quality paper), and an unacceptable delay in printing the first page after the machine has been turned on and fully warmed up. The delay is so long that a print error message comes up before it will finally print the page. This delay is over and above the two minutes plus required to boot up the printer to begin with. Setting up the wireless function will challenge an IT professional. A consumer will find it to be impossible. If you want to know your "print mileage," you must get the answer from the HP website rather than directly from the printer. Does "big brother" sound familiar? Finally, the 8000 absolutely GUZZLES ink. I am amazed that HP printers still have so many shortcomings after all these decades in the printer business. Overall, I rate the 8000 an "average" score of 3."
15 out of 17 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for HP Officejet Pro 8000 Wireless Printer - A809n
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ECI
Location: San Diego CA
GREAT Printer
Date:February 17, 2010
"I needed a new printer that would print on cardstock. I read another person's review that recommended this printer for that purpose. Boy was that reviewer right! It whips through cardstock just fine. The wireless portion was easy to set up, too. And, the price on HP.com was the best. Super fast shipping, as well. Highly recommend."
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for HP Officejet Pro 8000 Wireless Printer - A809n
Overall:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
wood
Location: South Carolina
Sucks ink FAST
Date:January 12, 2010
"I lost 10% of my ink just by installing the printer. I cleaned the print heads 3 times because the black was not working and after using only 25 pages of normal printing (NO PHOTOS) and all three colors were exhusted. I had maybe 10% of the black left. If your color runs out and you want to print just Black...you are out of luck. You must replace any color that is empty...that's right...right in the middle of printing black type and you run out of color, you must run and buy color ink."
20 out of 23 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for HP Officejet Pro 8000 Wireless Printer - A809n
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
amou812
Location: Huntington, NY
Awesome Printer
Date:October 12, 2009
"Wow. I was impressed with the price and now I am even more impressed with the product. This printer has it all. High-res color photos and documents print very fast and are crisp. Black and white are laser quality and print in a flash. The wireless feature is awesome. Great printer."
4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for HP Officejet Pro 8000 Wireless Printer - A809n
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Owned a lot of printers
Love this printer
Date:October 9, 2009
"They've really improved in both software and hardware. The driver dialogue is nice. Wireless definitely worth the extra 20 bucks. Maybe it's just the business inkjet class of printer. Way better than any Epson or previous HP photo inkjet I've owned. Maybe I'm just used to photo inkjets."
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for HP Officejet Pro 8000 Wireless Printer - A809n
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
fybcdave
Location: Alameda, CA
Best Inkjet Printer Ever
Date:September 2, 2009
"Having supported and owned many brands of printers, this is the best I have ever used! The wireless setup was the easiest yet, and the printer actually lived up to advertised specs... It produces laser print quality. HP has produced a winner, it is easy to install, maintain, and is fast with high quality output, even two sided printing... all for a reasonable price!"
4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for HP Officejet Pro 8000 Wireless Printer - A809n
Overall:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Convert
Location: Fátima, Portugal
Noisy!
Date:August 27, 2009
"I recommend this printer for anyone who has a lot of printing to do. In color or just B/White at low cost. Great printer on all office type medium.
BUT it gets only four stars because . . . This printer is way too noisy for the small office. This little baby rocks, rolls and prints quick as a wink and does everything HP says it would. So, if you need a real good work horse and don't care about the decibel level this printer is for you.
Set up on our network for our Mac's was a snap."
7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for HP Officejet Pro 8000 Wireless Printer - A809n
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GerryL
Location: Redmond, WA
Wireless makes this a must-have!
Date:August 17, 2009
"My wife loved the appearance as soon as I took it out of the box. The sale price and rebate for old printers just made the deal that much sweeter.
Print quality is excellent, even on two-sided pages. I was concerned, but with standard 20# paper, it looks great.
I did have one snag in setup: the wireless could not join my network that was protected with WPA2 security, but I changed security to WPA and then it could join the network just fine. Be sure to follow instruction to allow port 427 in your firewall, too."
4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for HP Officejet Pro 8000 Wireless Printer - A809n
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Curly
Location: Bronx, NY
Fantastic Printer
Date:June 6, 2009
"Not only does this printer look good, it is a fantastic printer. The print speed is great, the print quality is excellent and the networking is great. HP got it going on with this printer."
8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for HP Officejet Pro 8000 Wireless Printer - A809n
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Big E
Location: Romeoville, IL
Excellent printer
Date:June 5, 2009
"Have been using the printer for a week now, prints great. The printer was easy to hook up to the laptops I have floating around the house.
Bonus feature; you can turn the wifi off and on, I suppose that will come in handy someday.
My only TWO complaints are;
1.it make a lot of (KLUNKY) noise when printing
2. Price of ink; the commercials say you get twice as many pages; but who will ever know.. I know I am paying extra up front..
Overall am happy with the unit
"
10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for HP Officejet Pro 8000 Wireless Printer - A809n
Overall:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Menatour
Location: Kingsport, TN
Works Great
Date:May 26, 2009
"Works extremley well. Prints fast, colour or black & white. Alot of paper printed on the ink.
No real complaints at this point in any Windows(c) OS other than Windows 7. All drivers I have tried haven't worked, otherwise it has been pretty much flawless as expected.
"
5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.